Mr Lee's advice to other governments is – to have a government that the people support and have confidence in; to have a leadership that's above board, where decisions are made not for personal gain but because it is necessary for the country; and to have able men in charge.
The above about gahmen's decision not for personal gain, gahmen people support and have confidence in, a leadership that is above board and able men in charge - are these lies from LKY?
======================================
Singapore's quest to be less dependent on Malaysia for water started at separation
By Imelda Saad Aziz/Satish Cheney, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 25 June 2008 2312 hrs
![]() |
|||||||||
Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew |
|||||||||
|
SINGAPORE: Singapore's quest to be less dependent on Malaysia for its water supply came about from day one when the country separated from its neighbour in 1965, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew revealed on Wednesday.
Speaking at a dialogue session during the inaugural Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize Award Ceremony, Mr Lee recounted what happened during the early days of independence and explained why water is so crucial to the survival of Singapore.
He said even then, he believed new technology would steer Singapore towards eventual self-sufficiency.
"How do we retrieve water from unprotected catchments, so that the first flush goes off to the sea and the second one is collected and is usable?
"So, I set up a unit in my office and I had a very good engineer who was head of the department and we set out systematically from day one (in) 1965 (to) get every drop of water in Singapore potable...
"If every drop of the 96 inches of rain that Singapore gets a year were collected and consumed, could we have enough for the population of 2 million then?"
Today, Singapore has several water treatment plants which also provide water to industries.
But globally, Mr Lee said the misuse of water in agriculture is a problem, like switching on grass sprinklers in the day.
He said, "I just can't understand why we are doing this? Hasn't somebody invented something that'll make sure that the water drips onto the grass in the evenings when it's cool and the loss of evaporation is minimal? But no, they work 9 to 5 and so they press it on in the afternoon when evaporation is highest and then they close (it) at 5."
He said countries could learn from the Israeli example of drip irrigation - a method which minimises the use of water and fertiliser by allowing water to drip slowly to the roots of plants.
Mr Lee added that he believes water reclamation and waste management will be a huge industry because every society, especially China and India, will have to cope with the problem of water shortage.
When asked if Singapore would be able to sustain the same level of progress without its founding father, the minister mentor said the city state's leaders are built on credibility.
He noted that the problem with a free election system is that when the electorate gets bored, they may place their trust in the opposition. Then, Mr Lee explained, all bets are off because in just five years a country can be ruined.
"If you are Canada or Australia, (which are) resource-rich, the swing of (the) commodity cycle will lift you back. But when you are Singapore, and your system depends on performance... when that performance disappears because the system which it is based (on) is eroded, then you've lost everything."
Mr Lee said Singapore is too small a country to help change the world, but it is willing to share its knowledge of purifying water with others.
He said, "We did not do this by ourselves, we climbed on other peoples' shoulders; we brought things together and built on them. We're happy to have people climb on our shoulders - whether you're from the Middle East, China, India... it's a collaborative effort.
"The world will need this because what we have assumed was limitless, endless supplies of water... we have found it not to be so, and we (have) found a way out of it."
Mr Lee's advice to other governments is – to have a government that the people support and have confidence in; to have a leadership that's above board, where decisions are made not for personal gain but because it is necessary for the country; and to have able men in charge. - CNA/ac
His legal firm - Lee & Lee is making from HDB conveyancing - millions dollar earned for personal gain.
PUt oppositions in jail for personal selfish gain.
Billions earn not millions, 40 over years since HDB is set up
Originally posted by t_a_s:Billions earn not millions, 40 over years since HDB is set up
STrange, if it is not for personal gain why only lee and lee is doing the conveyancing for HDB and none other legal firms in Singapore.
He and his family are corrupted people who only dare to attack weak innocent people. Hiding behind IMH.
Shame !
There is no such thing as the perfect crime there is only perfect fear and perfect ignorance as anything perfect must come only from the mind of the people and not of the result of men's action.
Originally posted by Miracles&Prophecies:
He and his family are corrupted people who only dare to attack weak innocent people. Hiding behind IMH.
Shame !
There is no such thing as the perfect crime there is only perfect fear and perfect ignorance as anything perfect must come only from the mind of the people and not of the result of men's action.
True, that explains why he refuses to have his law suits against the oppositions in the international court. In Singapore, he has the authority and power to make the law work for his personal evil selfish gain.
Originally posted by t_a_s:Billions earn not millions, 40 over years since HDB is set up
den also not billions liaoz..is trillions or brazillians..liaoz..a certain mr lee is suspected to be world's richest man but not able to confirm since no1 dare to audit him. he is also linked with rumors of having natioanl treasury as his spare wallet and another certain govt enforced money saving body acting as his retirement fund.
personal? there are more than 1 what. its a family thing!
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:personal? there are more than 1 what. its a family thing!
Definitely more than one. Since the local media is under his control, nobody dare dig any dirt out of him.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
Definitely more than one. Since the local media is under his control, nobody dare dig any dirt out of him.
then he's right! its not for personal gain. haha.
Mr Lee's advice to other governments is – to have a government that the people support and have confidence in; to have a leadership that's above board, where decisions are made not for personal gain but because it is necessary for the country; and to have able men in charge.
emperor lee nt wrong here..i support him in this speech..cuz he talk from personal exp. he sees how f up sg is under his rule. so he advise others not to have a leader like him.
usually when people about to die will reflect on his life and do last min good.chinese call it hui2 guang1 fan3 zhao4.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:Mr Lee's advice to other governments is – to have a government that the people support and have confidence in; to have a leadership that's above board, where decisions are made not for personal gain but because it is necessary for the country; and to have able men in charge.
emperor lee nt wrong here..i support him in this speech..cuz he talk from personal exp. he sees how f up sg is under his rule. so he advise others not to have a leader like him.
usually when people about to die will reflect on his life and do last min good.chinese call it hui2 guang1 fan3 zhao4.
lol
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:then he's right! its not for personal gain. haha.
There are things done for personal gain, personal selfish interest. Let me PM you and tell you what I know.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:Mr Lee's advice to other governments is – to have a government that the people support and have confidence in; to have a leadership that's above board, where decisions are made not for personal gain but because it is necessary for the country; and to have able men in charge.
evil lky is different kind of human - on the verge of death I believe he will still be evil and refuse to repent.
nvm lah..im jus jokin and trying to be sacar lah =)
Originally posted by domonkassyu:
nvm lah..im jus jokin and trying to be sacar lah =)
I know you don't mean it but I just wanna expose lky mah. He is so flawed in his character though nobody is perfect. His character sucks.
hehe...i know u know what i know..i agree with u..he is very intelligent..but not wise..but can understand him too..
other people his age built business empires.he built a real fuc.kin empire..he got absoulte power in his grasps..he sure tighten his grip one.and sure pass on to his bloodline..typical of chinese..maybe even the entire human race. he sees sg as his possesion.citizens as his subjects.himself as emperor.whats stopping him is just international laws.
i dislike him too. but no $$ to migrate so can only come here find like minded people to cry with lor..boo hoo
I want Lee Kuan Yew to die.
I want his life to end.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:hehe...i know u know what i know..i agree with u..he is very intelligent..but not wise..but can understand him too..
other people his age built business empires.he built a real fuc.kin empire..he got absoulte power in his grasps..he sure tighten his grip one.and sure pass on to his bloodline..typical of chinese..maybe even the entire human race. he sees sg as his possesion.citizens as his subjects.himself as emperor.whats stopping him is just international laws.
i dislike him too. but no $$ to migrate so can only come here find like minded people to cry with lor..boo hoo
YOU speak my mind, I share the same sentiment with you. That is why when people say after he dies singaporeans would have a better life I don't agree. He is so formidable, greedy, extremely power crazy, you think he will allow PAP to weaken after his death. I believe he has planned everything for PAP to follow and implement after his death to keep his empire going strong. Bloody hell, lky. Bullying others to have his selfish evil gain is in his blood. LKY, you will face heavy judgement upon your arrival in hell.
the talk of sg dun have lky is all opporunity costs questions. rumors has it he planned for 50 years after he F.O. but i said b4 in some of my earlier posts..sure got his bloodline smart aleck to screw up..
he kena or not i dun knw nor care..but actually pity him too..he did so much to serve his greedy desires.but end up his family life like how??poor him..
Originally posted by domonkassyu:
the talk of sg dun have lky is all opporunity costs questions. rumors has it he planned for 50 years after he F.O. but i said b4 in some of my earlier posts..sure got his bloodline smart aleck to screw up..he kena or not i dun knw nor care..but actually pity him too..he did so much to serve his greedy desires.but end up his family life like how??poor him..
I don't give a damn about his family life, what goes around comes around, what goes up must come down. He is our leader, it is not too much for us to expect him to perform to serve the public with genuine interests rather than as a leader to serve his own selfish interest and agenda at the expense of the people.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:I don't give a damn about his family life, what goes around comes around, what goes up must come down. He is our leader, it is not too much for us to expect him to perform to serve the public with genuine interests rather than as a leader to serve his own selfish interest and agenda at the expense of the people.
yes..i totally understand ur anger against him..i feel the same..but if we can feel for his well being, it makes him lower then us..
i dun recall he ever served the public..
he is very stingy, never donate to charity !!
Originally posted by t_a_s:he is very stingy, never donate to charity !!
He is good to use his bloody mouth and brain to talk and think to serve his selfish benefits. Care for the people of Singapore? Answer is no. He thinks that we owe him. old man lee, without the people of Singapore you are nothing, nothing. YOu owe your success to the people of Singapore so be grateful to the people..
100% agreed..ah goh