Speaking late Wednesday, Lee, 84, warned Singapore voters against putting the opposition at the helm of government "in a moment of fickleness or just sheer madness" when they get "bored" at some point in the future.
Should this happen, "I think all bets are off because in five years they (opposition) can ruin this place," he told hundreds of delegates.
He stressed that, unlike many other countries, Singapore does not have natural resources such as oil, gas, forests, timber and aluminium.
"When you are Singapore and your existence depends on performance -- extraordinary performance, better than your competitors -- but that performance disappears because the system on which it is based is eroded, then you've lost everything."
Lee, widely credited for shepherding the underdeveloped port into one of Asia's wealthiest nations in one generation, said younger Singaporeans often tell him he is "playing the same old record" when he delivers his message.
Singapore's small opposition has only two seats in a parliament dominated by the People's Action Party which has been elected since 1959.
Despite its economic success, local and international civil rights groups have criticised the government for cracking down hard on dissenters and political activists.
Street protests are rare and public gatherings of five people or more are banned without a police permit.
Lee has maintained that Western-style liberal democracy is not the right model for Singapore.
He said one ingredient for a country's success is putting able leaders in government, but that this could be difficult under a more freewheeling US-style democracy.
Lee holds the cabinet rank of Minister Mentor in the government of his son, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20080626/wl_asia_afp/singaporepoliticsoppositionlee_080626022729
Lee Kuan Yew, when are you going to die?
I see your lan jiao bin I feel like giving you a tight slap across your fucking face you know?
Should this happen, "I think all bets are off because in five years they (opposition) can ruin this place," he told hundreds of delegates.
You keep on repeating this propaganda. Over and over and over and over.
Lee Kuan Yew, if you come to my Jurong GRC and a dog also come to contest,
I will vote for the dog.
You understand or not Lee Kuan Yew?
Lee has maintained that Western-style liberal democracy is not the right model for Singapore.
Of course he is against the above for it can possibly be against his personal interest and evil doing.
Since he is so against oposition and thinks opposition will ruin Singapore, he can always start monarchy in Singapore. He will be King and his hopeless son lee hsien loong will be prince and ho jinx can be called camillia. ha ha ha
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You keep on repeating this propaganda. Over and over and over and over.
I will vote for the dog.
why dont you consider contesting against LKY? I am sure you will be better than the dog. :)
Originally posted by ☺☺:
why dont you consider contesting against LKY? I am sure you will be better than the dog. :)
I sure will consider to vote for poh.
warned Singapore voters against putting the opposition at the helm of government "in a moment of fickleness or just sheer madness" when they get "bored" at some point in the future.
You have such low regard of Singaporeans Lee Kuan Yew.
Those who don't vote for your PAP you say mad.
Those who vote for PAP are sane.
You are truely a M****F*****g B*****d.
I truely despise you Lee Kuan Yew.
Better a dog than you.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You have such low regard of Singaporeans Lee Kuan Yew.
Those who don't vote for your PAP you say mad.
Those who vote for PAP are sane.
You are truely a M****F*****g B*****d.
I truely despise you Lee Kuan Yew.
Better a dog than you.
He is a sore loser. Calling Singaporeans loser, he himself is the real loser, not only is he a loser, he is a sore one . lee kuan yew please die fast to make us all happy. It is a waste of time, money, resources, space and air to have you on earth.
wah..actually only 2 person post ar..
its true tat emperor lee is a tyrant..but no1 is able to pull him down yet. no1 can even start a demostration..much less a liberation. so what to do but suffer?
Pwweeess lah..
Opposition how to ruin Singapore ? More likely will ruin the Lee empire.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Lee Kuan Yew, when are you going to die?
I see your lan jiao bin I feel like giving you a tight slap across your fucking face you know?
You keep on repeating this propaganda. Over and over and over and over.
I will vote for the dog.
LOL. Poh's remarks kill me, man! sibei funny, insulting, but wah lao.. killer.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:wah..actually only 2 person post ar..
its true tat emperor lee is a tyrant..but no1 is able to pull him down yet. no1 can even start a demostration..much less a liberation. so what to do but suffer?
nothing short of terrorism i guess. V for Vendetta style. but that will really screw singapore over. =(
so now can the oppositions sue him for slander?
If that day really do come .. Lees only worry is that they got no more power anymore.
We should thank Lee KY, without him, singapore women will become maids and prostitues in foreign land
Originally posted by t_a_s:We should thank Lee KY, without him, singapore women will become maids and prostitues in foreign land
Then the men will become what har ?
I want to be of legal age to vote... and I gonna vote opposition ![]()
Hail to OPPOSITION! Down WITH LEE! DOWN with their constant bullshit phrases/ brainwash quotes
OH I cant wait till next GE... hehehe... I hope my area got people contest... Fugging Tanjong Pagar GRC (Moulmein Branch). Every fugging year walkover like nobody business...
Originally posted by t_a_s:We should thank Lee KY, without him, singapore women will become maids and prostitues in foreign land
LOL, so Viet and China need LKY? We will be more than willing to get him there.
Originally posted by Dendrite88:I want to be of legal age to vote... and I gonna vote opposition
Hail to OPPOSITION! Down WITH LEE! DOWN with their constant bullshit phrases/ brainwash quotes
OH I cant wait till next GE... hehehe... I hope my area got people contest... Fugging Tanjong Pagar GRC (Moulmein Branch). Every fugging year walkover like nobody business...
Instead of putting a X .. maybe I will write.. "PAP please go and die" lah !
Like that count as voting for PAP anot har ?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:nothing short of terrorism i guess. V for Vendetta style. but that will really screw singapore over. =(
daijoubu daijoubu...sg IS already screwed. Sg was screwed, is screwed and will continue to be screwed.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:LOL, so Viet and China need LKY? We will be more than willing to get him there.
We can lease him to China and Vietnam for 99 years.
Then make them countries pay us upfront with loans from DBS bank.
Very shiok !!
Actually some girls at the voting centre quite pretty LOL
Originally posted by jojobeach:We can lease him to China and Vietnam for 99 years.
Then make them countries pay us upfront with loans from DBS bank.
Very shiok !!
But but .. Red light district's business will go down OR even it might be better LOL
Originally posted by Midlusionz:Actually some girls at the voting centre quite pretty LOL
Ya talking about me ? * wink wink ....
i have seen this shit b4..i still cant comprehend what gave u the idea to think like tat...
without emperor lee, its just an opportunity cost theory. we can only speculate on it.
if u r trying to be sacar..sory i didnt get the joke..