http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080701/5/singapore357612.html
SINGAPORE: Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kicked in on Tuesday. Under the new system, those who do not pay the correct fare will be fined 20 Singapore dollars while those who abuse concession cards face a penalty of 50 Singapore dollars.
As of 3pm, 16 people had been caught for these offences, all of them bus commuters.
At Tanjong Pagar MRT station, there is an average of two cases of fare evasion every month, mostly those abusing student concession cards.
Since the penalty system was announced on May 2, ticketing operator TransitLink, which manages the ticketing system used on buses and MRT stations here, has issued over 10,000 warning letters.
But from now, the guilty ones will be fined.
TransitLink and the two public transport operators SBS Transit and SMRT conducted a public education campaign in May and June.
All public transport officials will carry an identification card and issue a receipt once the fine is paid.
Offenders can pay on the spot or at any of TransitLink's offices and Add-Value Machines located at bus interchanges and MRT stations. They have up to 14 days to do so. Any appeals should also be made within this time.
An additional penalty of 1,000 Singapore dollars will be imposed on fare cheats if they do not pay their fine. The same penalty applies if one refuses to give their personal details, or provide false information to the public transport official.
Repeat offenders may be fined 2,000 Singapore dollars or be jailed up to six months, or both.
SBS Transit and SMRT said over 300 fare cheats are caught everyday but they believe the actual figure is higher.
The new system is meant to help stem the loss of about nine million Singapore dollars each year from fare evasion. - CNA/vm
and btw, if its underpaid, its 20 bucks fine.
and never pay, also 20 bucks fine.
So if u wanna cheat, just dont pay in the first place ![]()
and after this is another price hike becoz of the "loss" from fare evasion incurred, and the increase in number of bus conductors..
Haiz, in singapore, u pay and pay and pay..nothing else....in the near future, u speak also need to pay..!...
You cheat on your fare..... you kena fine.... all is fair ![]()
NSW AU$100 fine on the spot
Originally posted by kramnave:NSW AU$100 fine on the spot
Wow...... that must hurt ![]()
When they first launched the EZ link card that year,they said this card can solve the fare cheating problem....?then now...
Everymorning the bus so crowded.... they can squeeze and find me nvr tap I say them good.... ![]()
When they first launched the EZ link card that year,they said this card can solve the fare cheating problem....?then now...
.... hai they are like sunwukong got 72 bian.... maybe nxt up is implanted ezlink... liddat sure cannot escape.
live by the sword, die by the sword...
Originally posted by Pitot:u mean u rather take out ur fare card and slide it into the machine? waste of time.
how long since u last took a bus?
can squeeze on board without tapping? share how u do that leh.
morning peak hours... bus very crowded... driver cant notice ma so many beep beep beep.. so u can squeeze into the ppl without tapping.... done it once or twice only lah long time ago... cos too frustrated by the crowd...
Some ppl even board from the exit... cos the front door is all jammed up... bo bian if nt late for work...
But still if bus nt crowded, very hard to cheat....
Originally posted by pigsticker:live by the sword, die by the sword...
退出江湖·already
waste of resource...
The new system is meant to help stem the loss of about nine million Singapore dollars each year from fare evasion. - CNA/vm
Does it mean after introducing this system, the fare price will adjust accordingly?
Why has the government pass a legislation to protect the business of some selected private enterprise and not others ?
If evading paying of fares to the privatised transport companies is considered a crime, why has the government not pass similar legislations that makes it a crime for defaulters of commercial transactions ?
Is this not an abuse of the legal system to protect the enterprises that still belong to the Government for all intent and purposes except in name ?
This clearly confirms the pseudo nature of the entire privatisation scheme of the various public monopolies.
Hmm...let me get this straight...
Previously, reasons and justification for increasing fares is due to losses made by cheats. So are not all these 'losses' covered by the increase in fares? Surely, all these issues of cheats etc; the risk and projected losses have been calculated. They can't be working on perfect scenarios situation right? No business does that.
Even so, it is claimed they made a loss of 9 million due to cheats. Nothing is said about the overall profit/loss of the bus company. For all we know, even after this '$9 million loss', they could still be ending up with a positive annual turnover; due to the increase in fares.
And are they not punishing the drivers as well for these losses? How bout rewarding them with higher pay should fare increases? I will gladly pay a bit extra if our bus drivers are properly rewardly but alas; the richer gets richer, the poorer gets poorer.
I drive, so I take bus occasionally and therefore unfamiliar with the charges and what if I ask the bus driver the fare and he gives me the incorrect fare?
If I am over-charged, does the bus company gets a fine like the commuters that under pay?
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
I drive, so I take bus occasionally and therefore unfamiliar with the charges and what if I ask the bus driver the fare and he gives me the incorrect fare?
If I am over-charged, does the bus company gets a fine like the commuters that under pay?
no la andrew.. lol.. u board bus tap, alight bus tap.. den the amount is deducted accordingly la..ppl cheat on the fare by tapping the ezlink card WAY before they alight, so they pay less..
unless u are saying u put coin la.. den i duno..![]()
they overcharge or charge wrongly will they compensate?
Originally posted by kramnave:NSW AU$100 fine on the spot
frankfurt is €80 ![]()
Can the recovered loss be use to stem further increment in bus fare instead?
In my humble opinion, why dont they try fine-tuning the current system to be more robust than having more officials to conduct frequent check on the bus commuters as I am concern that the latter might expend additional overhead compared to a one time rectify cost.
Originally posted by Pitot:oh i have seen people board from the back but all did so after they tap their cards on the front becos people simply refuse to move back.
i have already done dat twice. the bus machiam at the back got ghost so no choice but board from the back since the bloody driver refuse to open the front door.
knn fine fine fine
They think everyone who cheats are rich falla. If got money wouldn't cheat in the first place - only falla no money than cheat, wat.