Originally posted by DeerHunter:There are laws and orders within a civilised society and we lived in a civilised society in Spore. Do you think the govt doesnt listen or realized such issues happened within our society?
They are more aware of it than any of us here, proven by their farsightedness over the years of our national history, achieving much beyond the hope of similiar countries at the same point of departure from colonnialism.
The govt had attempted to share this farsightedness with many thru various channels and media, and accepted by many as proven by our sacred votes at each electiion, but a minority few who will NEVER be satisfied will always use it as a means to stir resentment to realize selfish political ambitions, heckling down solutions, nitpicking it such as those shown by Atobe, the rabid heckler of them all.
As for MPs, whether they are ruling or opposition parties, besides parliamentary debates, they are in communication always with the Executives of the state, and would know full well what are the avenues of greviances legally avaliable, followed by a dissemination of information to the grassroot levels to reach out to their constituents to understand and accept the full picture of a perhaps misplaced greviance.
This had always serve our country well, and many are at peace to go on with their lives in this small little red dot, with freedoms in all except for freedom to slander without evidences. What you see here are only the minority, who will never be satisfied no matter what is possibly done within the limitations of our society, deluding themselves that they are bigger than the whole, if not our society itself.
As a demostration of what i meant, just wait for the reply by heckler Atobe, who offers no solution except nitpick, unless she grown wiser overnight.
If Atobe offers no solution, why ask me to wait for his reply?
The govt may have heard of everything that happened within our society, but what would prompt them, wake them up, to take action? what would make them take audit on their current systems to ensure that they are tackling issues before they happens? The abuse of public funds in NKF, the escape of Selamat...all go to show that despite their farsightedness over the years of our national history, they are not immune to mistakes.
Having said that, I also have doubt if all information, views and opinions of general public reach the top of the hierarchy, much were censored by those down the line who consider such views as trivial, and irrelevant. Many would just want to present the good views. 报喜�报忧。Why can't there be other channels?
I understand the limitation of the country, I agree that government had done a great job, in the past, and they are making changes now for the future, but do they have the citizens at heart or are they only keen in making Singapore a successful country, even at the expense of its citizens, just like CEO who would retrench thousands of workers just to make sure that the company stays profitable, and their high salary intact? You may like to say that the government has done this and that, but when the government wants old folks here to work after 60, when the government continues to tax on fuel but talk about the evil of subsidy, I can't help but feel that the government is only interested in making Singapore a successful global company. The people of Singapore first have to sacrifice.
Is Singapore so fragile that a few people voicing different opinion would turn the country upside down? If it is, then it is better for that to happen when LKY is still around, isn't it?
The problem with the duh-Hunter is that he cannot see through his own vision blurred by his continuous perspiration 99% of his wilfull juvenile life.
Can he know what a solution is - with his dependence on only 1% inspiration ?
With an ability of plagiarising and bastardising the lines from the Elitist Group, he think that he can be safe standing on the "right side" of the dividing line, without any inspiration to see the clues in how those 'elititst lines' have even been formed.
By sheer vanity, he hopes to be recognised as one with the Elites by simply mouthing those regurgitaed elitist lines..
Unfortunately, his skills at bastardising the elitist lines and shamelessly plagiarised to be his own, will simply degenerate the lines into a sycophantic monotone that only a servile self-seeker in the "duh-Hunter" is best at.
The woman who spoke up is a very brave person. I am sure that few can be quite so brave.
And she has to go to court. That is very sad indeed. There have been many people who spoke up and had to pay damages. It is nice to still have people willing to speak up. Thats why she is brave. It is something very few is willing to do.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:The woman who spoke up is a very brave person. I am sure that few can be quite so brave.
And she has to go to court. That is very sad indeed. There have been many people who spoke up and had to pay damages. It is nice to still have people willing to speak up. Thats why she is brave. It is something very few is willing to do.
I feel very sad about what she has to go through.
The court is no longer serving the people.. It is now a system for abuse by the powerful.
What is wrong with people protesting ? Is our gahmen so fearful of people expressing their unhappiness ?
Why do our gahmen keep oppressing people with such unjust procedures ?
She is not a terrorist, nor someone causing damage. Why does she needs to go to court AT ALL ?
My heart breaks ......
Originally posted by jojobeach:I feel very sad about what she has to go through.
The court is no longer serving the people.. It is now a system for abuse by the powerful.
What is wrong with people protesting ? Is our gahmen so fearful of people expressing their unhappiness ?
Why do our gahmen keep oppressing people with such unjust procedures ?
She is not a terrorist, nor someone causing damage. Why does she needs to go to court AT ALL ?
My heart breaks ......
Originally posted by pearlie27:
By arresting and charging people in court the govt is trying to instill fear in us. But if the govt continues to disregard us more and more people will overcome their fear and speak up. There is always a limit to one's tolerance.
At first it works. But keep doing it, it rouses impatience.
humans nature is that it will never tolerate restraint forever...it will one day break free...of its chains...
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Terrorists try to modify people's behavior through "fear" or "terror". By that definition, the dishonorable despots are terrorists.
i echo you..strong terrorists that stood the test of time becomes the govt we have now..
Originally posted by DeerHunter:There are laws and orders within a civilised society and we lived in a civilised society in Spore. Do you think the govt doesnt listen or realized such issues happened within our society?
They are more aware of it than any of us here, proven by their farsightedness over the years of our national history, achieving much beyond the hope of similiar countries at the same point of departure from colonnialism.
The govt had attempted to share this farsightedness with many thru various channels and media, and accepted by many as proven by our sacred votes at each electiion, but a minority few who will NEVER be satisfied will always use it as a means to stir resentment to realize selfish political ambitions, heckling down solutions, nitpicking it such as those shown by Atobe, the rabid heckler of them all.
As for MPs, whether they are ruling or opposition parties, besides parliamentary debates, they are in communication always with the Executives of the state, and would know full well what are the avenues of greviances legally avaliable, followed by a dissemination of information to the grassroot levels to reach out to their constituents to understand and accept the full picture of a perhaps misplaced greviance.
This had always serve our country well, and many are at peace to go on with their lives in this small little red dot, with freedoms in all except for freedom to slander without evidences. What you see here are only the minority, who will never be satisfied no matter what is possibly done within the limitations of our society, deluding themselves that they are bigger than the whole, if not our society itself.
As a demostration of what i meant, just wait for the reply by heckler Atobe, who offers no solution except nitpick, unless she grown wiser overnight.
the govt might have listened but clearly nothing has been done.many people listen for the sake of listening..
Originally posted by Fantagf:What to do deerhunter is a frog in the well. Let's move on.
awesome..a frog in a well can actually hunt for deers..hmm..is that how things work here in sg??hehehe...
Originally posted by foxtrout8:im am not living in fear. ermm to add on, i have not known any of my friends or family members living in fear. so are you living in fear?
nope..but in displeasure due to the incompetence of the current govt.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:The last I heard just because you say it ain't so, does not mean it ain't so.
Is there a shadow of fear or not?
The answer is quite obvious.
The question is not if there is, but to what level. You do not need to kill or always imprision people to create fear, there are plenty of other ways that it can be done.
In the political context, fear is obviously present in many people in sg.
I believe the root cause of all these fears is that there is a continous brainwashing modus operandus in applying the Pavlovian Conditioned Reflex. Whereas Pavlo practised the CR on animals, here humans are the subjects.
She's so pretty!
Envy her husband!
Originally posted by the Bear:fear?
ahahahaha...
nevermind..
people fear only because they fear..
You never really know. For the first time in my life when I get to vote, I had wanted to vote for the alternative. Back then, I was a civil servant. When my mother-in-law warned me against it as I was a civil servant, I shrugged her off.
During the actual day, when I handed my NRIC over to the lady at the polling station, she tallied my NRIC against her register and handed me the voting slip that has a register no that can be trace to the register book and to my name.
Immediately fear overcame me, I went on to marked the ruling party but deep in me, my conscience didn't allow me to do that. I therefore spoiled my votes by marking the alternative as well.
When I went home, I regretted my action because fear overcame me. Today, and many election on, I voted with my heart, not my fear.
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
You never really know. For the first time in my life when I get to vote, I had wanted to vote for the alternative. Back then, I was a civil servant. When my mother-in-law warned me against it as I was a civil servant, I shrugged her off.During the actual day, when I handed my NRIC over to the lady at the polling station, she tallied my NRIC against her register and handed me the voting slip that has a register no that can be trace to the register book and to my name.
Immediately fear overcame me, I went on to marked the ruling party but deep in me, my conscience didn't allow me to do that. I therefore spoiled my votes by marking the alternative as well.
When I went home, I regretted my action because fear overcame me. Today, and many election on, I voted with my heart, not my fear.
Harlow.. you are a civil servant leh.
How can you vote against your pay master ? You ok anot ?
Your pay master give you so much perks , you still dare to vote against them ?
You really shouldn't bite the hands that feeds you leh. Like that you also no understand ?
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
You never really know. For the first time in my life when I get to vote, I had wanted to vote for the alternative. Back then, I was a civil servant. When my mother-in-law warned me against it as I was a civil servant, I shrugged her off.During the actual day, when I handed my NRIC over to the lady at the polling station, she tallied my NRIC against her register and handed me the voting slip that has a register no that can be trace to the register book and to my name.
Bravo, you set good example for other civil servants to follow. Keep it up.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Harlow.. you are a civil servant leh.
You really shouldn't bite the hands that feeds you leh. Like that you also no understand ?
thank you. i have a heart
Originally posted by jojobeach:Harlow.. you are a civil servant leh.
Why a civil servant cannot vote against the current government? Stop dissipating rumours unless there is a proof for it.
Originally posted by foxtrout8:
Why a civil servant cannot vote against the current government? Stop dissipating rumours unless there is a proof for it.
Proof what proof ?
If you have a employee that donch like you.. you will tell him to fark off from your payroll.
Singapore got other jobs he can do... go join a private company lah.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Proof what proof ?
If you have a employee that donch like you.. you will tell him to fark off from your payroll.
Singapore got other jobs he can do... go join a private company lah.
Even in private companies especially those with american liberal work ethics, u can dont like ur boss but he wont do shit to u as long as u can perform.
Think about it, if someone got dismissed because he or she vote against the govt, u can be very assured that he or she will speak out immediately considering that 1)he or she doesnt like the govt 2)he or she no longer work for the govt.
Unless there is proof, i see that it is better not to spread this kinda of rumour which leads to unnecessary fear in which causes some civil servant out there to vote for someone against his will.
Originally posted by foxtrout8:
i believe even in private companies especially american companies, u can dont like ur boss but he wont do shit to u as long as u can perform.Think about it, if someone got dismissed because he or she vote against the govt, u can be very assured that he or she will speak out immediately considering that 1)he or she doesnt like the govt 2)he or she no longer work for the govt.
Unless there is proof, i see that it is better not to spread this kinda of rumour which leads to unnecessary fear in which causes some civil servant out there to vote for someone against his will.
hur hur hur.. don't compare SG gahmen with American Companies.
In America.. the workers are protected with the Whistle Blower's Protection law and Wrongful Termination law.
Also.. the unions in USA is very strong .. not like the unions in SG.
In SG.. you got what protection ? Only defamation and bankruptcy laws come after you ok ?
So please hor.. not the same. So if you want to work as a civil servant.. then for your own good, please just guai guai do your job and collect your pay and benefits. OK ? Good.
Originally posted by jojobeach:hur hur hur.. don't compare SG gahmen with American Companies.
In America.. the workers are protected with the Whistle Blower's Protection law and Wrongful Termination law.
Also.. the unions in USA is very strong .. not like the unions in SG.
In SG.. you got what protection ? Only defamation and bankruptcy laws come after you ok ?
So please hor.. not the same. So if you want to work as a civil servant.. then for your own good, please just guai guai do your job and collect your pay and benefits. OK ? Good.
I was with the civil service and i bet i understand things better so let me put it again that it is not good to go around spreading unnecessary rumours which is detrimental to our political climate.
The more some people want PAP to go, the more these people must stand up and vote against the PAP. There is no reason to fear as far as i know.
Originally posted by foxtrout8:I was with the civil service and i bet i understand things better so let me put it again that it is not good to go around spreading unnecessary rumours which is detrimental to our political climate.
The more some people want PAP to go, the more these people must stand up and vote against the PAP. There is no reason to fear as far as i know.
Right.
There are laws and orders within a civilised society and we lived in a civilised society in Spore. Do you think the govt doesnt listen or realized such issues happened within our society?
laws and rules? who pass the laws and rules in singapore? i question the lawfulness here in singapore whether the ruling party pass it for their own party benefits.
north korea and myanmar regime can also be regarded as lawful regime isnt it as they can pass their own law to legitimise themselves as lawful ruler!!
Originally posted by reyes:laws and rules? who pass the laws and rules in singapore? i question the lawfulness here in singapore whether the ruling party pass it for their own party benefits.
north korea and myanmar regime can also be regarded as lawful regime isnt it as they can pass their own law to legitimise themselves as lawful ruler!!
Those who know the Leegime well enough will know the answer. Now I am waiting to see how Mr Lee Kuan Yew is going to produce his proof - letter from IBA.