Originally posted by stupidissmart:If we remove ERP for buses we not only encourage more buses, we also encourage more buses with very little people to use it. If a bus just go over with 2-3 passenger and slow the road and took up space, is he better than a car ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:
I just felt tat the ERP cost, compared with employing the bus driver, buying the bus, the diesel and the facilities to support the bus trip is much more than the few dollars it spent on the ERP. In fact if it is not someone who pointed it out, no one even notice they have to pay ERP charges
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Singaporeans, YOU have asked for the ERP! When we only had a limited number of COEs and bid price went up to tens of thousands, YOU complained that there were too few COEs available. YOU pressured the govt to listen to your aspirations to own private cars. YOU claim that the govt should not deprive you of the rights to car ownership. You only use the car for emergency and on weekends, so you do not contribute too much to road congestion. YOU argued that if you bought a car and leave it in your garage to admire, you won't contribute to road congestion at all.
The only mistake the govt made was to LISTEN to you lot of whiners. They have increased the number of COEs, prices have dropped and the roads get congested. So you complain that you cannot around quickly. The govt has no choice but to begin ERP to charge for road usage rather than car ownership, which YOU claim to be a fairer way forward. Now private car ownership has ballooned in the past 5 years. Road construction cannot keep up with the young punks who would buy a car with their $2500 monthly salary. ERP has gone up progressively and now YOU dare to complain?
Oh a pathetic dickhead who thinks so highly of himself.
You are educated and working in England am I right? Then I am really appalled by deteriorated English education standard.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Just a question hor... is the bus going through ERP more expensive than the one tat don't ? If it is not, then aren't u helping the bus company and not the people ?
I just felt tat the ERP cost, compared with employing the bus driver, buying the bus, the diesel and the facilities to support the bus trip is much more than the few dollars it spent on the ERP. In fact if it is not someone who pointed it out, no one even notice they have to pay ERP charges
The committee to govern fare hikes judge by whether the bus companies make profit. ERP reduces their profit, and hence further justify their increase in fare hikes. In the end, some of the ERP charges get passed on to passengers.
Well, 1 or 2 or 3 (or perhaps even more) cents increase in fares due to ERP might not be much to you I guess. But to some others, it might.
The committee to govern fare hikes judge by whether the bus companies make profit. ERP reduces their profit, and hence further justify their increase in fare hikes. In the end, some of the ERP charges get passed on to passengers.
Well, 1 or 2 or 3 (or perhaps even more) cents increase in fares due to ERP might not be much to you I guess. But to some others, it might.
1 or 2 or 3 cents out of the minimum 65 cents is not relatively significant. And I am not saying it increases the price of fare but the bus companies absorb tis cost
As said, the ERP prevent abuses such as having buses with lesser people than desired or buses tat travel through the congested route to save money. If u ask me, I don't find school buses or private buses more deprived than SBS since they r also saving fuel and help congestion by taking more people. If we r scared ERP tax can reduce the profit margin of public transport companies, we might as well suggest they do not tax the more significant corporate tax or even the gov to give money to them.
for smart singaporeans, if your company is not paying for your car, and if you are earning less than 4k/mth. dont drive a car.
we have a choice not to play in the hands of the PAP.
When the COE and car loan period were too effective to curb car ownership, rules were changed to make car ownership easier for those who initially cannot afford it.
Sales persons, even so many technicians doing field work need cars. Not that their salaries are good enough to own cars.
Borrow big to pay for your home? It may not be foolhardy - Dennis Chan, deputy Money Editor, States Times
It's suicide.
Still fail to see the ruse? COE, ERP are just a few of the many deceptions to make people pay and pay.
Chinatown retail sales drop by up to half since start of ERP
Channel NewsAsia - Tuesday, August 12
SINGAPORE: It has been slightly more than a month since evening Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) charges were imposed on vehicles driving into the area around the Singapore River.
While traffic speeds have gone up, businesses in nearby Chinatown have suffered since the ERP kicked in on July 7.
In a recent survey by the Chinatown Business Association, some shopping centres reported their sales fell by up to 50 per cent.
Tourist landmarks such as the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and the Chinatown Heritage Centre and even good hawker fare could not lure the crowds back.
For example, popular Maxwell Food Centre has seen a 40 per cent decline in business.
The Chinatown Business Association had expected customers to react in the short—term to the new evening charges, which cost up to S$2. But it is now worried that things have not returned to normal after several weeks.
It said the situation does not sit well with the government’s earlier S$90 million plan to inject more vibrancy into the area.
Ho Nai Chuen, vice—chairman of Chinatown Business Association, said: "If you talk about the long run to smoothen the traffic conditions, it’s good for Singapore.
"On the other hand, for small and medium—sized businesses, short—term sustainability is even more important than the long—term. If they cannot sustain in the short—term, I think there’s no future for them."
At the recently—renovated Chinatown Complex, only six in ten shops are occupied. And most food stalls prefer to close early, citing the lack of evening customers.
The association plans to send its members’ feedback to the transport authorities soon. Among its suggestions is an appeal to re—look at the operational hours and pricing structure of the gantries.
— CNA/ir
=====================
Thank you Pay and Pay. lackeys gonna whine about people blaming govt for everything again????? Look here, this is evidence that the Pay and Pay is letting ERP charges affect business.
I'm so sorry for the Government who Highly Educates the female population into not Dating Men who doesn't drive a car after they go into the working society. There goes their local population which does not give birth to fill the workplace.
The only way to reduce traffic is to reduce unwanted population from Singapore.
Cramming 8 million into the small island is their dream , coz that means 7% to10% Gst every day.
How to improve the Economy by not allowing people to reward themselves with Loaning out to own a car?
Originally posted by OH-FF:I'm so sorry for the Government who Highly Educates the female population into not Dating Men who doesn't drive a car after they go into the working society. There goes their local population which does not give birth to fill the workplace.
The only way to reduce traffic is to reduce unwanted population from Singapore.
Cramming 8 million into the small island is their dream , coz that means 7% to10% Gst every day.
How to improve the Economy by not allowing people to reward themselves with Loaning out to own a car?
Frankly, I doubt the govt influence the women to date men with cars. Once upon a time, they encouraged grads to marry grads, this we know. There is no way there will want the population to strink, Lee hsien loong is aiming to have 5.5 million and Singapore is on the track to reach this. What they can do is to reduce charges on ERP or remove the ERP gantries. BTW, ERP charges are not effective to solve problem, it is only serving the purpose of getting more revenues for the govt.
Originally posted by reyes:for smart singaporeans, if your company is not paying for your car, and if you are earning less than 4k/mth. dont drive a car.
we have a choice not to play in the hands of the PAP.
Same lah, public transport also very high, $20 linkcard top up only last for 3 to 4 days, and at time travel more with urgency, take taxi cost more lor. Same same govt take the money mah, and of cos got car may cost more but more luxury mah, dun hv the hassle to Q here, wait there, stand here, and smell foreign workers odour and all those stare at me.
COE is not to control car population, it is to control the demand and supply, even COE is high, we can still buy car mah, just pay more only.
Actually it is a tool to lure buyers
demand high =COE low
Demand low = COE high
But if you said that we only want 70,000 car on the road, nothing more, then that will be said to be controlled
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Frankly, I doubt the govt influence the women to date men with cars. Once upon a time, they encouraged grads to marry grads, this we know. There is no way there will want the population to strink, Lee hsien loong is aiming to have 5.5 million and Singapore is on the track to reach this. What they can do is to reduce charges on ERP or remove the ERP gantries. BTW, ERP charges are not effective to solve problem, it is only serving the purpose of getting more revenues for the govt.
Exactly, to have so many ERPs is totally nonsenical. It is a total daylight robbery, the govt can alway control the cars output on the road, but they choose to lower the COE, get more buyers, so that they can get mass COE income, Gst of sold cars and after that ERPs to tax you forever, not to mention Gst for petrol, road taxes and all other expenses. Let say my Honda Odessy, 2.4
Road tax, 1,650
Insurance, NCB, 650
Per month petrol 500 x 12 mths = 6000
Maintenance services approx 800 x 3 months = 2400 per year
Car parks/cash card/ERPs and coupons = $200 per month
Others (car wash, accessories) approx $100 per month
+ installment.....wow, sell car liao...take bicycle better
Originally posted by angel7030:
Exactly, to have so many ERPs is totally nonsenical. It is a total daylight robbery, the govt can alway control the cars output on the road, but they choose to lower the COE, get more buyers, so that they can get mass COE income, Gst of sold cars and after that ERPs to tax you forever, not to mention Gst for petrol, road taxes and all other expenses. Let say my Honda Odessy, 2.4
Road tax, 1,650
Insurance, NCB, 650
Govt is the winner. Winner takes it all.
Originally posted by angel7030:Road tax, 1,650
Insurance, NCB, 650
Next time bicycle also got tax, and maybe bicycle track also got mini ERP gantry liao...
... yea check car population my arse...!
... wait till their intended population of over 6 million is reached, no amount of ERP charges and or gantries or COE can check it...!
... dumb as govt....