It looks like even Minister for Finance also learns fast. He said employers should not grant wage increase now as it will cause another round of inflation.
That means by over-charging the citizens for public housing, transportation, unnecessary home-bound Toa Payoh type of ERP and by increasing civil servants' and ministers' wage every year under the pretext of NWC or preventing corruption such actions will not cause inflation !!! Only workers' wage increases will caue inflation.
MM Lee also just told an international conference his government does not tell lies and is never corrupt and he will sue any one for accusing government of corruption.
Is increasing ministers' salary to prevent corruption itself a corruption?
Apparently by moderating or lowering the current non-stop excessive government taxes and profiteering like the unwarranted public housing tax amounting to some S$100,000 per household and all the doubling and tripling vehicle taxes and do away the unwarranted home-bound ERP charges he could easily check and lower inflation right away and make the economy competitive again.
Will he?
lack of min wage is the root cause of all problems,
Why minister pay increase, no problem, other people wage increase got problem?
Can you explain to me PAP regime?
LOL.
Joker lah that guy.
His brain is turning into pulp issit ?
Harlow... why nowadays the leaders are getting more and more under-develop one ?
Cham liao.... Singapore's future.... FINISH !!
Originally posted by jojobeach:LOL.
Joker lah that guy.
His brain is turning into pulp issit ?
Harlow... why nowadays the leaders are getting more and more under-develop one ?
Cham liao.... Singapore's future.... FINISH !!
When the head or upper beam is bent the lower beam is also crooked.
I guess they found the right idiot for the job.
One with no brain.
Another "you die your problem" elite.
The peasant are alway the cause for every issue, mistakes, flops and screw-up.
Time to kick these monkeys and poodles out of the house.
If they cannot solve any problem, they are just garbage.
Why do we need to pay them at all ???
There will be no inflation when the Leegime pay themselves obscene salary and thereafter followed by increment. Tharman is sick, oppressing the low wage workers.
No lah, he just echoing the voices of the rest of the poodles.
These poodles care less for the real task, more on whether they can get more bonus this year.
Not forgetting we are also sponsoring two ah kong to travel around the world 1st class.
The guy who have created this empire will live to see it crumpled in his own hands due to his lust for power, wealth and control.
Human nature never change, no matter how good your initial intentions are, cos it will eventually lead to corruption of power and followed by fall of the kingdom.
I am very sad cos I will live to see this ugly day.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:No lah, he just echoing the voices of the rest of the poodles.
These poodles care less for the real task, more on whether they can get more bonus this year.
Not forgetting we are also sponsoring two ah kong to travel around the world 1st class.
The guy who have created this empire will live to see it crumpled in his own hands due to his lust for power, wealth and control.
Human nature never change, no matter how good your initial intentions are, cos it will eventually lead to corruption of power and followed by fall of the kingdom.
I am very sad cos I will live to see this ugly day.
I am one of the many who is waiting to see the downfall of the leegime. We who live here don't need to have a govt who run the country to serve themselves only. We are treated like shit, tools for them to earn quick bucks, pay themselves obscene salary. Anything goes wrong, first thing they do is point fingers at the people. This leegime is excellent in putting people down, especially the monkey look alike mm lee.
From TFA (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/359295/1/.html)
Mr Tharman said Singapore also addresses the problem of inflation mainly through its exchange rate policy. Since the beginning of last year, the Singapore dollar has appreciated by 11 per cent against the US dollar.
Hahahahahahahha... compare to USD? wat a joke... why nt comapre to aud or chinese yuan?
Increase of wage? no need... thank you.... I will very happy if our wage dun get deflated thanks to ur open door(leg?) policy.
Originally posted by whiskers:
From TFA (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/359295/1/.html)
Hahahahahahahha... compare to USD? wat a joke... why nt comapre to aud or chinese yuan?
He is not comparing, what he meant was that by appreciating the SGD against the USD, we can at least fight inflation by buffering the price increase of some commodities paid in USD including oil.
Originally posted by foxtrout8:
He is not comparing, what he meant was that by appreciating the SGD against the USD, we can at least fight inflation by buffering the price increase of some commodities paid in USD including oil.
And how might you do that exclusively against the USD per se?
Given the fact the SGD is floated against a basket of common currencies (of which the USD is just a subset of the lot), doing so would actually serve more ill than good considering the burgeoning trade deficit this regime would incur in its trade with numerous other less-developed countries that would invariably hinder trade with a stronger SGD.
With the greatest respect, I'm absolutely amazed you could even make sense of something that is essentially senseless.
PS : On a sidenote, if you were a private entrepreneur dealing with trades involving SGD and USD, your logic would make sense in terms of hedging inflation and exchange rate risks. How your interpretation of that fascist's statement works at the macro level for an entire economy is beyond me.
Originally posted by foxtrout8:
ya...but oil is not the only factor contributed the inflation, housing, transpot, food etc...
& lots of necessities today are import from China, Japan, Taiwan, Malaysia etc...whice are not trade in USD.
Their money is their money and Singaporeans' money is their money... they rather lick foreigner's as-holes... even as the enjoy their traitorous dogs in this forum licking them..
Wow, Don't increase salary but whatever-fuk is increasing? Output is more than input? WTF?!
...who wants to bet that the despots will not cut Singaporeans wages by reducing employers CPF contributions (instead of say, sending the foreigners back home?) More likely than not, they will protect the foreigners rice bowl and let Singaporeans bleed.
Before they do that, join Dr Chee in his walk-about!
hurray! the inflation will be going down soon.
in fact, they should accelerate the reduction of inflation by cutting 10-20% of all the workforce's salary!
i am amuse these statement are actually coming out from our minister of finance?
how by increase our salary can cause inflation here in singapore?
If so, who dont singapore authority raise the interest rate of interbank loans so curb inflation for items such as car loans and housing loans?
the main concern of inflation is rather on essesntial items such as rice, cooking oils, flour, meat, poultry and etc.
singapore dont have billions population. our consumption alone would not cause price of such essentials items to go higher!
wake up tharman!! dont be another stupid WKS in the making.
Just read the news. I’m confused by what Tharman said. He cautioned that companies giving more wages to help workers cope with higher cost of living will lead to another round inflation.
But he also pointed out that the lasting solution to inflation is to continue with efforts to help workers upgrade their skills and earn better wages. This will not lead to inflation meh?
With the rising cost of living, how to survive in SG huh? Govt giving limited help. Companies now also being warned not to give wages increase. ; (
ya they say we shouldnt increase our wages
guess wat ???
they,"THE GOVERMENT MINISTER" they themselves INCREASE their wages last year by 30%.
so after they increase themselves they tell their ppl ; increase the salary will only hurt the market ???????
All the minister increaement is at least $2k to $10 and that is increament only not salary.
each minister basic salary is at least $10k and no to mention the basic salary for our minister Mr Lee is around $80k or more per month. and that is his basic only
he still have tons of shars at other company in singapore and tons of $$$ flowing in from all over the world
since when he will ever have the problem of having not enough $$$ to purchase even a rice cooker . thus he will never though how hard its is for his ppl.
he never have experiance ppl like us. even to buy a rice cooker we have to consider long time about spending (- -)... so he will never knwo wat the feeling of poor like
No increment for common folks. Must have compulsory increment for despots, must must increase their salary so that they will not be corrupted. Pay them so much to point fingers at common folks when they can't have good solutions to problems, pay them so much to talk cock everyday.
SINGAPORE : Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam has warned that Singapore could face another round of inflation if companies increase wages to help workers cope with the higher cost of living today.
He said this will also affect Singapore’s competitiveness and the ability to create jobs.
Mr Tharman was speaking to some 500 workers at the Singapore Industrial and Services Employees’ Union dinner on Wednesday evening.
Higher rice and oil prices have led some Singaporeans to call on the government to set the tone by raising wages.
But Mr Tharman said such short—term measures are not prudent. Instead, he said the government has provided assistance to help Singaporeans deal with the higher cost of living.
These include S$500 million in GST Credits — to help citizens cope with the increased Goods and Services Tax — and special bonuses for senior citizens.
Mr Tharman said Singapore also addresses the problem of inflation mainly through its exchange rate policy. Since the beginning of last year, the Singapore dollar has appreciated by 11 per cent against the US dollar.
However, the minister said there is a limit to how much Singapore can allow its dollar to rise to fight inflation. Mr Tharman said if Singapore dramatically strengthens its dollar to offset the higher prices, it will instead hurt economic growth badly.
He said oil prices have increased by 50 per cent since the start of this year. And it has gone up by about 100 per cent compared to a year go. Food prices globally are now up to 60 per cent higher than one year ago.
Mr Tharman cautioned Singaporeans to brace themselves as oil prices may increase further.
He said, "We expect inflation to be between 5—6 per cent on average this year, with inflation being lower towards the end of the year. We also expect inflation in the second half of the year to be lower because the effects of last July’s GST increase on inflation will wear out.
"However, the recent sharp increase in global oil prices will add pressure on inflation. So we are monitoring this and the impact on inflation closely, and will decide if inflation forecasts for this year need to be revised."
Looking at the global situation, Mr Tharman said the weakness in the US economy could extend into next year. But he maintains that Singapore can expect Gross Domestic Product growth to average between four and six per cent this year.
Mr Tharman said the lasting solution to inflation is to continue with efforts to help workers upgrade their skills and earn better wages.
He said it is also important to help experienced, mature workers stay employed and help home—makers get back to work. This will not only increase the household income, but help improve Singapore’s tight labour market. — CNA/ms
am i getting the wrong message or what?
keep using the pathetic gst credits to offset inflations. and Singapore dollar has appreciated by 11 per cent against the US dollar? its more like US dollar has depreciated la and thats partially why everything in the world is going up.
then at the end keep saying brace ourselves. very nice taichi. maybe we are taking an airplane thats crashing.
If wage increases can cause inflation - Minister Tharman must be speaking from the experience in observing that since the last round of increases to the Minister's salaries in 2006 - being adjusted to the million dollar brackets, Singapore has seen a continuous climb in the inflationary indicators.
From news report:
This will not only increase the household income, but help improve Singapore’s tight labour market
If Singapore's labour market is tight, we should raise wages to attract more people, including homemakers, to join the labour force.
Yet, from the news report again, raising wages is not the solution
Hmmmm
So means need to employ more FTs lor