Originally posted by angel7030:
Me last month got wage increase liao, come january another wage increase again and so on...that is how you motivate yourself, my Dad set the KPI, i follow it and make profits, then i get the increase lor, nothing to do with despots and PAP lah.
Anyway, me boss mah, can anytime increase myself.
those who are doing well will not feel what the others are suffering. And that doesnt means what is going on is right.
The best way to cope with today's ridiculous non-stop hike and raising living standard is to make more then the hike, but how many can do it? What if 1 day you fail and join in the group that suffers?
whatever is not right should be corrected. i agree most people can still cope but at the rate it is going up, even if you are lucky enough to survive, can you assure that your family are able to do so? your relatives, your friends? Can you be an Ostrich forever hoping that you are not the unlucky ones?
I guess majority of the people think this way, but i hope at least they are aware of what is going on. Telling me it is wrong but nothing you can do is better then telling me everything is fine, the system is good.
watch V for Vendetta...do what they do...
Given the Fiasco of the Financial Meltdown of the Century,
I cannot think how incompetent companies can not resort to cutting wages to keep themselves more profits. They will say that if you dont accept wage cut, they can hire cheaper from abroad. they can say if you don't help them by accepting wage cuts, they leave and everyone in the company lose jobs.
Remember CEOs need to pay more and more for their luxury lifestyles. GREED has no limits. Look at Ah Bian. Look at Marcos. Look at Indon. and look at .... oh cannot say. you guess...yes you guessed it correct. ;)
Lerkman brudder executives have proven this. After getting money from USA , they spend on luxury entertainment. They have not learnt their lesson and are now continuing to be rich using the USA people's money.
Originally posted by AnotherHIke?:those who are doing well will not feel what the others are suffering. And that doesnt means what is going on is right.
The best way to cope with today's ridiculous non-stop hike and raising living standard is to make more then the hike, but how many can do it? What if 1 day you fail and join in the group that suffers?
whatever is not right should be corrected. i agree most people can still cope but at the rate it is going up, even if you are lucky enough to survive, can you assure that your family are able to do so? your relatives, your friends? Can you be an Ostrich forever hoping that you are not the unlucky ones?
I guess majority of the people think this way, but i hope at least they are aware of what is going on. Telling me it is wrong but nothing you can do is better then telling me everything is fine, the system is good.
Oh no, i also increase my staffs wages thru their performance, later we manage to get a consultant, he told us to use contractual obligation method, so now all my staffs are under contracts basis, no need to bother about their medical, leaves eetc etc. And if they dun performance, can ask them to go if contract finished. Quite fair to both the employer and the employees, but lack of loyality and trust.
I also understand the predicament of workers or so called the wage earners, most Singaporeans perhaps 80 percents are wage earners, they tight down at the expense of wages and govt policies. One can never be over committed as a wage earners, however economy lies in the purchasing power of wage earner, if bosses lower their salary, they spend less leading to economy meltdown.
Less Salary=Less buying=less demand=less supply=poor business=economy meltdown.
Bosses also understand the need to raise salary at match the market condition, if not, turn over will be high, productivity goes down and business will be affected.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:Given the Fiasco of the Financial Meltdown of the Century,
I cannot think how incompetent companies can not resort to cutting wages to keep themselves more profits. They will say that if you dont accept wage cut, they can hire cheaper from abroad. they can say if you don't help them by accepting wage cuts, they leave and everyone in the company lose jobs.
Remember CEOs need to pay more and more for their luxury lifestyles. GREED has no limits. Look at Ah Bian. Look at Marcos. Look at Indon. and look at .... oh cannot say. you guess...yes you guessed it correct. ;)
Lerkman brudder executives have proven this. After getting money from USA , they spend on luxury entertainment. They have not learnt their lesson and are now continuing to be rich using the USA people's money.
U must be joking, Bosses dun like to cut wages, it is very unpopular and get angry responses, what bosses do is to massage out an account statement showing the poor state of the company, then they start to do retrenchment exercise to get rid of you. Economic meltdown is a chance for bosses to get rid of old long timer who paid are seniority high but do little and also those not performing. It is a time for house cleaning. What for cut your wages and allow u to stay back and curse him/her, might as well remove you once and for all,...
Very true, the chao keng laojiao sits next to me suddenly become very hardworking recently.
Haha.
http://www.todayonline.com/pdf_open.asp?id=1010NSL006
FOREIGN WORKERS HELD A PROTEST... AND STOPPED THEIR PAY CUT...
A LESSON FOR SILLIPOREANS TO LEARN

Me last month got wage increase liao, come january another wage increase again and so on...that is how you motivate yourself, my Dad set the KPI, i follow it and make profits, then i get the increase lor, nothing to do with despots and PAP lah.
Anyway, me boss mah, can anytime increase myself.
ppl who have never work in the real world will never know how it's like...
just like ppl who have never serve NS will never know it's like...
double whammy..
hikes and then possibly pay cut and retrenchment...
the average population really have lesser and lesser spending power..
I also understand the predicament of workers or so called the wage earners, most Singaporeans perhaps 80 percents are wage earners, they tight down at the expense of wages and govt policies. One can never be over committed as a wage earners, however economy lies in the purchasing power of wage earner, if bosses lower their salary, they spend less leading to economy meltdown.
Less Salary=Less buying=less demand=less supply=poor business=economy meltdown.
bosses that not care about it economy meltdown. it is tharma job lah.hopefully he can seek divine thru karmasutra.
they just concern how to lower their cost thru, pressuring govt to lower CPF contribution, lower salary cost by employing more FW or pay cuts.
i just hope the ministers has the dignity to accept pay cuts during the recessions years after claiming credit and pay increment during good years.
they have dignity?
If they are in my fourth reich, i make surethey are sent to gas chambers!
These damned despots are so predictable.... every opportuinity they get, they cut Singaporean wages... and to lead by example, they cut their $3 million dollars salary by a couple of hundred thousands ... and (like Singaporeans are also like them taking massive amounts of public money and making $3million) they cut Singaporean wages that they have been pushing lower with the influx of foreigners... as well...
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
These damned despots are so predictable.... every opportuinity they get, they cut Singaporean wages... and to lead by example, they cut their $3 million dollars salary by a couple of hundred thousands ... and (like Singaporeans are also like them taking massive amounts of public money and making $3million) they cut Singaporean wages that they have been pushing lower with the influx of foreigners... as well...
And you forgot to mention the fact that their justification that it's "better to cut wages than jobs" runs contrary to the principles of the efficiency wage model.
In short, if the fascists could be trusted, J.M. Keynes has got to be one of the biggest idiots of all-time...![]()
Originally posted by Fantagf:There is no way to prevent, just vote the evil despots out.
The only irony is, as CSJ would say, you don't vote out dictatorships.
The bigger irony is, perhaps, you live amongst the midst of an ignorant bunch who are so hung up on the regime's propaganda that registering protest votes is effectively alien and tantamount to committing treason...
aiyoh... of coz better cut wages than cut job wat.... if inefficiency result in job loss hor... where u going to get that million paying job out there? better to reduce a couple of hundred thousands than loss the whole million dollar deal.
my 2 cts worth.
PAP cut wages?
I always thought it was your boss that decides your wages.
unless your boss is PAP, than PAP decide your wages.. but if you hate PAP, why work for PAP?
heng my boss no Papees
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:aiyoh... of coz better cut wages than cut job wat.... if inefficiency result in job loss hor... where u going to get that million paying job out there? better to reduce a couple of hundred thousands than loss the whole million dollar deal.
my 2 cts worth.
And what pot might you be smoking?
If you need help with understanding fundamental economic theories, http://www.12manage.com/description_efficiency_wage.html may be a good start...
watever crap theory of efficiency wage model or wat... just an excuse to hold on to million paying job.
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:watever crap theory of efficiency wage model or wat... just an excuse to hold on to million paying job.
So who's holding the "million paying job"? Are you another deluded soul? ![]()
Oh.... who hold million paying job? Some COMPLACENT people did lor............
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:Oh.... who hold million paying job? Some COMPLACENT people did lor............
Are you linguistically challenged? Or simply plain stupid?
So, what were you trying to address in your haphazard interpretation of efficiency wage?
are you out to pick a fight? if so you got the wrong person. you keep your view and i keep mine.
Do not fight children. Be nice.
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:are you out to pick a fight? if so you got the wrong person. you keep your view and i keep mine.
Are you that stupid? Try making sense of your own imbecilic folly...