Yar plugging an event.
Got speakers from civil society to speak about civil issues on 12th and 19th July
can find out more details here at http://revolution.youth.sg
Yar it's a gahmen website!
So for 12th July, 7.30pm - 10.30pm at The Substation
12th July
1st Half
7:30pm --> Gerald Giam, "Navigating Singapore's new media environment"
8:00pm --> Alex Au, "Same sex marriage and the different kinds of relationships present"
8:30pm --> Asst Prof Suzaina Kadir, Topic TBA
9:00pm --> 15min Mingle time cum break
2nd Half
9:15pm --> Ria Tan, "Secret Shores of Singapore"
9:45pm --> Mr. Brown, "A view from the saddle: Seeing, smelling and hearing my country anew"
10:15pm --> 15min Mingle time cum break
10:30pm --> END
I am amazed that
MDA, MYCS are involved and
Lee Foundation as well etc.
So,.....cannot say....liao.
mr brown is not anti-govt lah.
juz dat if boh li yiu, he'll say.
Originally posted by val.:involved in what? i thought mr brown was strongly anti government, with his satire of government policies. why is he speaking for them. to think i respected him so much.
Different people got different views and opinion on things one mah. So what if a person is pro-PAP? He got no rights to his own view meh?
Anyway, he's not even speaking for the government in this speech, but for the country rather.
I am surprised that Mr Brown seems, to me, to be in a way supporting the garment's drive less car rhetoric.
Erm this series of talks is not about being anti-government or pro-government... How did this whole pro and anti thing come up?!?!
mrbrown's talk was about cycling in Singapore! Brown just wants to say, cycling is good for you and the environment. Cars aren't good for the environment. Cycling is a good form of transport and I shall, in this talk, tell you how to survive cycling in Singapore. Pure and simple!
What's the deal with that supporting the government's drive on less cars? It's like saying buying groceries from NTUC is supporting the government. Paying taxes is supporting the government. Saying anything that the government is trying to implement now is supporting the government. Like say, getting married, having kids or kid, having work-life balance, eating more vegetables and fruits...
If anything, The Substation has always been about talking to the community and getting the community involved in civil matters. That's not pro or anti government lor.
Anyway, heh reponses are always good and welcomed. Got another series of talks coming up this weekend. This time the speaker line up sure can appease the bunch of government-hating, flag-burning sorts.
Here's the line up:
The Glass Hall, Singapore Art Museum, Saturday 19th July, 7.30pm - 10.30pm
1st Half
7:30pm --> NMP Siew Kum Hong, "On civil society activism and empowerment"
8:00pm --> Daniel Tung, "What is HIV? How is HIV related to sexuality?"
8:30pm --> Sivasothi, "Issues and new approaches in nature
conservation in Singapore"
9:00pm --> 15min Mingle time cum break
2nd Half
9:15pm --> John Richard Gee, "Now you see us, now you don't: the
migrant worker's presence"
9:45pm --> Saleemah Ismail, "Migrant Domestic Workers in Singapore"