i duno why but my heart believe and trust reverend ming yi.
Originally posted by kilua:Thus the most important is to have check and balance.
There is nothing surer than have a third party to check on each other. We cant be sure a person is not corrupt or abusing funds, even if he was play an important role in building Ren Ci.
If you are clean why be afraid of third party checks?
I second Kilua's proposition.
We should learn from the lesson of Kang who was guilty as charged and served his sentence in jail and now turned over a new leaf. Kang episode should have served as Wake-Up call. No one can be allowed to be above the law.
The lesson is that no matter who, Singapore needs Independent Check and Balance on ALL individuals and Organisations Regardless of Race, Language, Religion, Social Status, Power, Wealth, Influence and Rank. This is merely to ensure FAIRNESS.
We must support the idea of ridding Kangaroos (if it exist), Corruption, Nepotism, Conflict of Interest, Insider Trading, Duress, Intimidation, Use of Public Funds for personal gains, Cronism and Puppyganda, if these ever exist. We must support not just laws that are Just and Fair but also more importantly laws that are Lawful. UnLawful Laws exist in this world. I am not saying it exist in Singapore but that is what we need to avoid and prevent and eradicate if it ever exist in our system.
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:
I second Kilua's proposition.
We should learn from the lesson of Kang who was guilty as charged and served his sentence in jail and now turned over a new leaf. Kang episode should have served as Wake-Up call. No one can be allowed to be above the law.
The lesson is that no matter who, Singapore needs Independent Check and Balance on ALL individuals and Organisations Regardless of Race, Language, Religion, Social Status, Power, Wealth, Influence and Rank. This is merely to ensure FAIRNESS.
We must support the idea of ridding Kangaroos (if it exist), Corruption, Nepotism, Conflict of Interest, Insider Trading, Duress, Intimidation, Use of Public Funds for personal gains, Cronism and Puppyganda, if these ever exist. We must support not just laws that are Just and Fair but also more importantly laws that are Lawful. UnLawful Laws exist in this world. I am not saying it exist in Singapore but that is what we need to avoid and prevent and eradicate if it ever exist in our system.
hmm, wishful thinking.
but im only human................
Originally posted by FireIce:but im only human................
NPNT
Innocent until proven guilty, I also believe we shouldn't jump to conclusions so soon, however our police force nv charges anybody without substantial evidence.
Romans 3:23 - For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.
Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:Innocent until proven guilty, I also believe we shouldn't jump to conclusions so soon, however our police force nv charges anybody without substantial evidence.
Romans 3:23 - For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.
the more appropriate verse would be:
Matthew 7:1
[ Judging Others ] "Do not judge, or you too will be judged.
haha. anyway our govt system is guilty until proven innocent.
another charity down. who's next?
LHL and family? oops.. i forgot the court is own by them.
Originally posted by RedizAlertz:I dun know if i shld believe he is guilty..perhaps he is being a scapegoat?
Seriously, given his previous acts during those charity shows...I dun believe a greedy person can do tat...so, yeah, I agree he is innocent unless proven guilty.
I jus hope he really really aint one of those kind..or else really lose hope liaoz..
Scapegoat ? if he allow himself to be a scrape goat - then he is also guilty of the crime, for he allow it !!! He is a well educated man - he is not as dumb to be a scapegoat ... .sometime temptation is just too much.
Just because go on TV to perform some act = he is a good person ?
A monk can be tempated by greed and other things also. No one is perfect ...
You think govt people so dumb to arrest him ? They already got all evidences + already review the chances of winning is 100% - then they arrest him , if not they would not have do anything to him.
Basically for those who just because he is a monk, or seen the good side of him on tv charity show .... please also understand - there is a dark side that is now explosed !!!
Originally posted by secretive:i duno why but my heart believe and trust reverend ming yi.
then i hope that your trust isn't unfounded.
that's why i dont donate anymore..
rather donate STRAIGHT to the people with one leg, on wheelchair all on the streets..
Originally posted by sinicker:that's why i dont donate anymore..
rather donate STRAIGHT to the people with one leg, on wheelchair all on the streets..
me too, but seldom occur la.
so one less "dangerous stunts" on TV to give money?
times for other charity causes to be TV-famous....
if it's only 1 charge, then ok la i keep my views to myself first. right now it's 10 charges against him wor.. don't believe he will be acquitted of all 10..
these also careful, i rather give to the people doing some performance like singing play musical instruments...
some others say no money eat for 2 days, but seen later by others buy cigarettes smoke.... wtf...
some 'friends' also.... andy lau and the late anita mei repeatedly said everytime write a cheque, she loses a friend.... getting back own money also need to beg for its return....
quoted from straits times
"Last November, the Health Ministry appointed accountancy firm Ernst & Young to conduct a three-month inquiry into 'some possible irregularities in certain financial transactions' at Ren Ci.
As a result of the probe, Ren Ci lost the right to grant its supporters tax exemption for donations."
what does this mean huh? Now our donations are subjected to taxes? Donations subjected to taxes are before the probe or after the probe?
as the old adage goes, `how you look on the exterior is important'
wear a robe, you probably have more sympathizers.
i am not suggesting that he is guilty. i hope he is clear of this.
clean singapore...
Originally posted by mamamamama:quoted from straits times
"Last November, the Health Ministry appointed accountancy firm Ernst & Young to conduct a three-month inquiry into 'some possible irregularities in certain financial transactions' at Ren Ci.
As a result of the probe, Ren Ci lost the right to grant its supporters tax exemption for donations."
what does this mean huh? Now our donations are subjected to taxes? Donations subjected to taxes are before the probe or after the probe?
the issue of allowing donors tax relief for donation
Hmm..PAP is getting more greedy i see...
Should direct the police to PAP's increasing coffers,which im sure some of Ren Ci's money has gone due to coercion ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:
the issue of allowing donors tax relief for donation
for the annual income tax there...
have a section in there to fill, if any.
President Ong tried to get the PAP government to give an account of itself and what happened to him?
Originally posted by Rednano:
these also careful, i rather give to the people doing some performance like singing play musical instruments...
some others say no money eat for 2 days, but seen later by others buy cigarettes smoke.... wtf...
some 'friends' also.... andy lau and the late anita mei repeatedly said everytime write a cheque, she loses a friend.... getting back own money also need to beg for its return....
which leads me to ask a question..
cuz a few weeks ago, i was rushing to school in the morning, then got this old lady, can walk la, just look abit messy. came up to me, and ask me can spare her $2, she's very hungry.
then i was at a loss of what to do. i don't like to.. give money, simply because i don't know where the money will end up. i rather buy her food or smth, but i was really rushing to sch cuz i was freaking late.
so she sat down, and continued to smile and look at me, while patting her tummy and saying she's very hungry, very long never eat.
i felt really awful la.
what would u do in my situation?
neber donate to those that went on TV. think it is too commercialized
i heard he got condos and gay friends staying with him..got a number of europe cars also. all under the organisation name or his name.
pui!
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:which leads me to ask a question..
cuz a few weeks ago, i was rushing to school in the morning, then got this old lady, can walk la, just look abit messy. came up to me, and ask me can spare her $2, she's very hungry.
then i was at a loss of what to do. i don't like to.. give money, simply because i don't know where the money will end up. i rather buy her food or smth, but i was really rushing to sch cuz i was freaking late.
so she sat down, and continued to smile and look at me, while patting her tummy and saying she's very hungry, very long never eat.
i felt really awful la.
what would u do in my situation?
best effort basis ba...if rushing, no time, tough luck for her...
and please don feel bad..think of it this way, the lady probably have a stack of $2 in her pockets liaw..
i ever kena an auntie come knocking on my house door ask for $2...say no money take bus home..
i rejected, she just move on to the next house lor..and the best part is wad..i stay on the 9th floor! obviously she is going house to house...floor by floor..blatant scamming!
i aso have friends who kena scammed $150..go to atm to withdraw for the person somemore...faintz...