"got wine dun share with others, breaks the most impt law" The Silent Monk.
hehe
Originally posted by KeNsoU:the problem over here is who is taking over ren ci? a Member of Parliament huh? Openly taken under the Lee's regime while "something happened" ?? :D
u bet the gahmen will distance itself from ren ci.
for all the admin excellence singapore touts itself, we still have all these; charities that are not run above board, NSAs which are shoddily administered, etc.
i wonder why they are not prescribed the singapore solution to these people from the gahmen, i.e. pay them millions so they will not get tempted at the sight of all these monies right in front of their very eyes.
his assistent got 100+ porn in the condo (- -)
they live together and been a religlous guy ......... so many porn inside the condo ....'
im was wondering ifthey watch together..........
i hope Ming Yi wasnt such kind of person ......
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:his assistent got 100+ porn in the condo (- -)
they live together and been a religlous guy ......... so many porn inside the condo ....'
im was wondering ifthey watch together..........
i hope Ming Yi wasnt such kind of person ......
well there's a possibility that he lied about the funds..
then mayb he also could have....
according the scripture by the sariva monks (modern translation):
"....there no such things as a pure heart/good person/kind person...."
"There is no absolute, everything is relative.... example, he is a kind person, compared to whom? A murderer is a kind person compared to a mass murderer, a conman is a kind person compared to a rapist..."
"Everything in life is about self gain... ... all life's qualities, kindness, helpfulness, honesty is just an image carefully built by the owner to mask his/her real sub-consicious intentions..."
Now, I begin to wonder his reason of doing those dangerous acts in Ren Ci charity show. Is it really to help the patients or …..
Money can make monk go nuts
he portray himself as a self sacrificing person, by doing those acts...makes me sick...i nvr donated cos i dont see the point in doing dangerous act to get donations...需��?
On the whole, such charities show set targets, choose which patient to portray on tv...confirm will choose those very unfortunate ones mah....how sick is that? telecom co. earn money from the call ins, mediacorp dno whether aso get a percentage of the donations anot.....the whole thing just turn me off....
yucks..of course, this got nothing to do with religion, its the person himself.
putting on a pathetic face la, tear la, the things ppl will do for money....:S
Originally posted by redDUST:
u bet the gahmen will distance itself from ren ci.for all the admin excellence singapore touts itself, we still have all these; charities that are not run above board, NSAs which are shoddily administered, etc.
i wonder why they are not prescribed the singapore solution to these people from the gahmen, i.e. pay them millions so they will not get tempted at the sight of all these monies right in front of their very eyes.
Originally posted by laURanaBabe:he portray himself as a self sacrificing person, by doing those acts...makes me sick...i nvr donated cos i dont see the point in doing dangerous act to get donations...需��?
On the whole, such charities show set targets, choose which patient to portray on tv...confirm will choose those very unfortunate ones mah....how sick is that? telecom co. earn money from the call ins, mediacorp dno whether aso get a percentage of the donations anot.....the whole thing just turn me off....
yucks..of course, this got nothing to do with religion, its the person himself.
putting on a pathetic face la, tear la, the things ppl will do for money....:S
you miss out something. and the money did not went to the needy. instead it went to the salaries of the staff there.
how i know? becos my bro is a handicap and his salary is $30 a month. is a month.
Not per day. and CDC is not helping. that why i'm always piss at the whole govt policies and those donation drives. 1 word. wayang.
Goverment have say they wont help doing charity. its will only effect their bank's money
even though singapore is the only country in the world that have trillion of $$$$ in world wide
only their ppl have to do it , they wan us to donate $$$ while sucking our $$$ at the same time
Maybe Venerable Ming Yi really innocent and is trying to protect his assistant Dr.Ong? 'Wo bu ru diyu shui ru diyu'![]()
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:Goverment have say they wont help doing charity. its will only effect their bank's money
even though singapore is the only country in the world that have trillion of $$$$ in world wide
only their ppl have to do it , they wan us to donate $$$ while sucking our $$$ at the same time
What to do, we have a self centred, incompetent, arrogant, hopeless PM who is an expert in pushing responsibility to the people. He loves to command people to do this, do that, but never bother to lead as a living example.
what concerns me is that after NKF, aren't measures put in place and more stringent checks to ensure no repetitions? How come we need so long to find out about inconsistency in the audits? May MM is correct in saying that younger Singaporeans are getting complacent.. maybe MM was hinting to his....
I think the problem with people, especially many buddhists, would like to believe that monks/nuns are flawless people. This is definitely not true.
In the past, to be ordained, that is to be homeless, to be unbounded by the materialistic concerns that laypeople has to face everyday.
However, in the modern societal context, in Singapore, to be exact, being a monk/nun would have a much more different role as compared in the past. They have to multi-task in teaching and spreading Buddhism, give counselling, run projects for charitable causes, etc.
We cannot deny the possible chances that the craving for material wealth will not occur to Ming Yi. We can take it in this manner, let the CAD do their investigation and let the court decides.
I hope people will not waver his faith due to this unfortunate and embarassing incident that happened.
At least, somehow, Ming Yi still built hospital, some good has been done.
For another monk, which built a temple out of a so-called relic, which many people had debunked that the relic belonged more like a buffalo-like animal, I wonder why the mainstream media didn't follow up with this incident. I remember there was a period of time last year, where ST did some interview and follow-ups, collecting feedback from street and online alike.
Unless the Buddha was a buffalo.
Yamzi,
by your 1st statement, are you concluding that the Monk is guilty as charged already? Jumping to conclusion?
Are you perfect?
If you are perfect, you don't need religious to help you become a better man.
Originally posted by yamizi:I think the problem with people, especially many buddhists, would like to believe that monks/nuns are flawless people. This is definitely not true.
In the past, to be ordained, that is to be homeless, to be unbounded by the materialistic concerns that laypeople has to face everyday.
However, in the modern societal context, in Singapore, to be exact, being a monk/nun would have a much more different role as compared in the past. They have to multi-task in teaching and spreading Buddhism, give counselling, run projects for charitable causes, etc.
We cannot deny the possible chances that the craving for material wealth will not occur to Ming Yi. We can take it in this manner, let the CAD do their investigation and let the court decides.
I hope people will not waver his faith due to this unfortunate and embarassing incident that happened.
At least, somehow, Ming Yi still built hospital, some good has been done.
For another monk, which built a temple out of a so-called relic, which many people had debunked that the relic belonged more like a buffalo-like animal, I wonder why the mainstream media
Unless the Buddha was a buffalo.
Your last statement is blasphemy. By the way, the judiciary system here is questionable. Whether Ming Yi did it or not only heaven knows.
last time during one of the charity show after the NKF scandal, he said something urging people to donate.
should we punish the whole class just because one student did a mistake?
thinking back, i just feel like laughing. fake monk.

MONK'S CONDO HOME: Ming Yi sometimes stayed at The Cornwall. His former aide was caught there with obscene films. -- ST PHOTO: CHEW SENG KIM
A FOURTH man charged yesterday appeared to have nothing to do with the financial affairs of Ren Ci Hospital.
Pang Leong Chuan, 27, was charged with having 138 obscene and uncertified films.
He used to be the former personal assistant of monk Ming Yi, and was caught with most of the illegal films in an upscale apartment where the monk sometimes stayed.
Ming Yi is one of five listed owners of the apartment in The Cornwall, a condominium off Holland Road. Checks showed that the other owners included the Foo Hai Ch'an Monastery, where Ming Yi was the abbot.
Monastery staff were said to live in the fourth-floor unit, valued at about $2 million. Pang is believed to have lived there too.
Commercial Affairs Department officers confiscated 95 films at the apartment on Feb18, and another 43 from Pang's listed address in Tampines.
A resident said three men, including Ming Yi, lived there. Others said they had seen him returning at night in a car with two men.
Pang, a university student, was the monk's personal executive for more than a year.
No one was at his Tampines flat when The Straits Times checked yesterday. He is believed to have lived with his mother, though he was seldom home.
He faces six charges - four for possessing obscene films and two for having films uncertified for screening - and may be fined and jailed if found guilty.
He has engaged a lawyer.
source: http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_258044.html
My feeling is that these religious people sometimes do not pay much attention to financial procedures, and may not realize what they are doing is wrong, not only legally/ technically, but also morally wrong.
I think they do not pay much attention to it.
Sometimes maybe they think it's normal and OK to transfer money from one company to another company, or use funds according to their own casual judgement.
This is one type of people.
There is another type of religious persons who deliberately and intentionally con and trick people's money, asking people to donate to them, and then they will use the money to lead extravagant lifestyles for themselves, as if religion is only a facade, and it is like a career or a job for them to make money. This is the worst kind of conman.
Meat Pao.
wa lan. i thought he damn holy... than wtf got porn in his condo. but i will still donate to charity. if they wanna use it anyhow they ''guo yi de qu'' than do lor. i believe they will get retribution..
Originally posted by Fantagf:Your last statement is blasphemy. By the way, the judiciary system here is questionable. Whether Ming Yi did it or not only heaven knows.
Blasphemy? Then either proof the relic to be of human origin or you proof to me Buddha is of buffalo origin lor.
Simple as that.
Buddha always encouraged critical analysis of issue, not simply following what monks say =)
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:Yamzi,
by your 1st statement, are you concluding that the Monk is guilty as charged already? Jumping to conclusion?
Are you perfect?
If you are perfect, you don't need religious to help you become a better man.
You have simply misread.
It is a fact that monks/nuns are not flawless. They are ordained simply because they choose to lead a different lifestyle and practice Buddhism from another vocation. Or are you trying to tell me simply having one's hair shaved would make a person flawless? Cannot be right?
So I am more incline to urge people or aspired-buddhist to seek inspiration from the Buddha's teachings rather than the followers. Followers are human beings, we tend to fail too.
Well, I am not perfect, but I definitely don't make profit out in the name of religion or charity, though I believe these are the two most profitable business afterall. =)
Originally posted by diablo4343:wa lan. i thought he damn holy... than wtf got porn in his condo. but i will still donate to charity. if they wanna use it anyhow they ''guo yi de qu'' than do lor. i believe they will get retribution..
Ya lor, we can only do our own part in contribute to social welfare or charity in our ways, if people want to abuse, what to do right? At least we touch our heart, we able to answer to 'heaven and earth's conscience'.
Originally posted by yamizi:Blasphemy? Then either proof the relic to be of human origin or you proof to me Buddha is of buffalo origin lor.
Simple as that.
Buddha always encouraged critical analysis of issue, not simply following what monks say =)
yamizi, you buddhist?
Originally posted by yamizi:Blasphemy? Then either proof the relic to be of human origin or you proof to me Buddha is of buffalo origin lor.
Simple as that.
So true, so true. My wife and I always enjoying a logical deduction and Yamizi always do it well without malice but some how others who couldn't accept his logic will blast him/her for nothing.
Here, Yamizi is not questioning the religion itself but rather the integrity of the people that was using religion itself to do 'unscrupulous' things.
Of course at this moment we do not know whether Ming Yi is innocent or not. Only time will tell or the law will tell. We should all know paper cannot wrapped fire as in the end water drip rocks break and everything will become clear.
Thank you Yamizi for such an enlightening post![]()