yo, purpled, i'm finally here. was busy the last few days to notice this interesting thread.
I am glad that there are quite a few of you who does not equate NS with SAF.
NS is any form of service to the country, i.e. welfare service, nursing etc, does not have to be army. as 333225520 had mentioned, getting our ladies to serve at hospitals is a good idea, since we are so short of local nursing staff. even in the SAF, there are foreign nurses working in the military hospitals.
so, in a hospitals, do you expect these "foreign talents" to diligently stay at their workplace and serve the wounded, when there's a war going on around them? or do you expect to hire more foreigners into the army hospitals to work for you?
and i would like to point out something i observed. is it that valid to compare a 2 yr NS with a 9 months pregnancy?
the birthrate for singapore is currently 1.29 per women. so, it means that most women now have only 1 child, with some having 2 kids. 9 months X 2 = 18 months, still doesn't match up to 24 months in SAF.
Originally posted by deathmaster:yo, purpled, i'm finally here. was busy the last few days to notice this interesting thread.
NS is any form of service to the country, i.e. welfare service, nursing etc, does not have to be army. as 333225520 had mentioned, getting our ladies to serve at hospitals is a good idea, since we are so short of local nursing staff. even in the SAF, there are foreign nurses working in the military hospitals.
so, in a hospitals, do you expect these "foreign talents" to diligently stay at their workplace and serve the wounded, when there's a war going on around them? or do you expect to hire more foreigners into the army hospitals to work for you?
and i would like to point out something i observed. is it that valid to compare a 2 yr NS with a 9 months pregnancy?
the birthrate for singapore is currently 1.29 per women. so, it means that most women now have only 1 child, with some having 2 kids. 9 months X 2 = 18 months, still doesn't match up to 24 months in SAF.
lol.. im just hanging around this thread reading the responses and observing the views of the forummers.. eh but cannot compare by duration of suffering la.. u calculate like that u oso must calculate the pain of menses liao lol..
considering a woman menopause at 45? and start menstruating at 13? 32yrs, 32 x 12 = 384 months.. = 384 times.. each time i say out of the 7 days, pain 4 days(and not even counting she have to mafan the whole 7 days..) 384 x 4 = 1536 days.. ard 4 years.. go figure..
haha.. but lets not have such weird calculations in this discussion..
Originally posted by deathmaster:yo, purpled, i'm finally here. was busy the last few days to notice this interesting thread.
I also agree lah.
Make all the females take up nursing lor. Makes it easier for more females to migrate out of Singapore... good idea leh....heheheheh.....
You sure you want this to happen ??? Be careful what you wish for dude.
Even if we are to compare, is it valid to take only 9 months? How about post pregnancy effects which might take a few months to recover?
The unhappiness is over the fact that male citizens contribute more to the country than females. Simple solution: grant men who have comlpeted NS automatic 50% reduction of all medical fees in hospitals and polyclinics for life. The funds will come from a special tax on all women, non-citizens and males who do not serve NS for medical reasons.
Originally posted by jojobeach:So what some women don't give birth ? Are you going to penalize the women who do because some don't ????? How are you going to balance this part out ?
Males who dodge NS are sent into detention and thereafter are required to serve out their NS liability.
Women who don't give birth: send them into prison until they get pregnant by the male inmates? *evil*** :)
SBS7484P said:
feel that all including women should serve NS.
although some might argue that it has been scientifically proven that women are physically weaker than men, it is not entirely true that women are mentally weaker than men. at the same time, some may also argue that having females in the army is a distraction to men.
i beg to differ. although at times it might be a distraction, men can learn from the neatness habits and discipline of women.
also, women can be trained to assist in first aid and the provision of food during war, allowing the men to concentrate on the battle.
these are my views.
what are yours?
Sure, why not?
But so as to not have the same thing happen in Malaysia with their poorly executed carbon copy NS, such as rape of the female members by those of the opposite sex, it should be segregated.
Perhaps females should be sent to more 'female' oriented units as being of the weaker sex, they would be more of a liability than an asset (generally speaking, no sexism here, just being objective.) as they might require more 'rescue' missions to rescue them and thus compromise the group's safety/mission.
"Female" oriented units include:
Intelligence dept, air force, navy, communications, tech, trainers.
First aid and food provision is also not a bad idea, but I say, if you're going to do something, do it all the way, so integrating these women into more roles in NS would be beneficial to the country as you would have double the amount of people.
However,
Singapore places NS 'extra' pay as a way to imbue a sort of patriarchy, because men goes to NS and thus has higher wages to 'compensate' for his 2 years sacrifice.
It should be like Israel, male and female go to war.
It might also reduce rape cases as females can defend themselves and karate chop the old chee ko peks instead of scream like idiotic ninnies.
i agree that women should serve NS but not the same way as men
men serve NS by becoming soldiers/police but women may not be able to take these physically demanding jobs
since gahmen want more people pregnant, i propose that women should serve NS by getting pregnant.
I volunteer to make these women pregnant.
Look, I would be willing to do all I can to fight for my country as a woman even if it means being in the reserves and taking up training to see what suits my abilities best.
If a man can't do it, don't call himself a man.
A man's ability to protect his country, his family and himself are paramount basics which keeps a country and family secure.
Not his ability to get away from fighting when he needs to.
Originally posted by ChiBet:i agree that women should serve NS but not the same way as men
men serve NS by becoming soldiers/police but women may not be able to take these physically demanding jobs
since gahmen want more people pregnant, i propose that women should serve NS by getting pregnant.
Funny.
But then again this is LKY's kingdom so by your logic all women has to rake the seed from him.
Originally posted by ChiBet:i agree that women should serve NS but not the same way as men
Please submit your medical records and declare all genetic deficiencies prior to a blood test for genetic analysis.
We will screen your background first .. then decide if we want your sperm for the sperm bank.
Thank you and have a good day.
Oh.. please do practise wanking into a cup.. you'll be doing lots of it if you do get chosen.
Originally posted by GameGoddess:
Look, I would be willing to do all I can to fight for my country as a woman even if it means being in the reserves and taking up training to see what suits my abilities best.
If a man can't do it, don't call himself a man.
A man's ability to protect his country, his family and himself are paramount basics which keeps a country and family secure.
Not his ability to get away from fighting when he needs to.
Yes I totally agree with you goddess..
All we need is just men's sperm.
Heck when it is scientifically viable for women to have children without the men.
We can send the men off to do slave work.
Originally posted by av98m:why is it this kind of stupid topic on ns is always started by jokers who haven't even gone through it
Because they already feel a sense of injustice and unfairness. lol. Like women.. they b|tch and moan. After ns come out, become more man liaw will shut up and suck it in. Like the b|tches n hoes that get pimped out after they come out of ns.
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Because they already feel a sense of injustice and unfairness. lol. Like women.. they b|tch and moan. After ns come out, become more man liaw will shut up and suck it in. Like the b|tches n hoes that get pimped out after they come out of ns.
Yes lah.. women likes to bitch and moan .... and the men simply licks it all up ya ?
How many virgin men goes into NS and still comes out a virgin ?
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Because they already feel a sense of injustice and unfairness. lol. Like women.. they b|tch and moan. After ns come out, become more man liaw will shut up and suck it in. Like the b|tches n hoes that get pimped out after they come out of ns.
Whaaat?
I did not get the entire paragraph at all.
Please lah.
You just need to stand next to a group of men talking to hear what crap they b|tch and moan about.
Oh my God, gossip worse than my Mother in law and complain worse than the next door neighbour housewife ah yee. ![]()
Because they already feel a sense of injustice and unfairness.
I don't feel sense of unfairness over NS.
Like I said, two years is too long, should be reduced to 18 or 20 months.
Originally posted by GameGoddess:Whaaat?
I did not get the entire paragraph at all.Please lah.
You just need to stand next to a group of men talking to hear what crap they b|tch and moan about.
Oh my God, gossip worse than my Mother in law and complain worse than the next door neighbour housewife ah yee.
ke ke ke ![]()
yeah man. lol..
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yes lah.. women likes to bitch and moan .... and the men simply licks it all up ya ?
How many virgin men goes into NS and still comes out a virgin ?
mmm.. i dunno how to respond to this statement. lol!
I have no idea how many virgin men going into ns come out still a virgin. None ? Used and abused one way or another. 2 yrs, plenty of time to play catcher and pitcher. he he
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I don't feel sense of unfairness over NS.
Like I said, two years is too long, should be reduced to 18 or 20 months.
Its unfair to be 24 months right ? So u do feel some sense of unfairness. Just minus the bitching and moaning part; and the fact that you already been thru ns and out now does not quite put u in the category of ppl demanding women serve ns when they themselves have not even served ns before.
Not so much that it is unfair, but two years is not necessary in my opinion.
20 or 18 months should be enough.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yes I totally agree with you goddess..
All we need is just men's sperm.
Heck when it is scientifically viable for women to have children without the men.
We can send the men off to do slave work.
where is the fun in that, the point in the procreation process is the fornication part
Originally posted by jojobeach:I also agree lah.
Make all the females take up nursing lor. Makes it easier for more females to migrate out of Singapore... good idea leh....heheheheh.....
You sure you want this to happen ??? Be careful what you wish for dude.
last report from gov statistic, singapore have 30,000 more women than men.
Serving NS full time is not so much of a problem... The real issue kicks in when ORD NSMen have liabilities like IPPT.. ICT.. RT.. etc etc.. and from experience deferments are hard to get...
These are some of the "inconveniences" that people who do not need reservists (read: guys included) won't understand.
Anyway the part of guys getting higher basic pay than ladies... I believe now many are earning more than guy counterparts of the same age.
Originally posted by deathmaster:
last report from gov statistic, singapore have 30,000 more women than men.
wah.. you lucky SOB. So many to choose from.. what are you complaining about.
So what's the ratio ? 3:1 ?
Like that , how many nurse you want to attend to a wounded soldier ?
How many soldiers you want wounded during the war ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:wah.. you lucky SOB. So many to choose from.. what are you complaining about.
So what's the ratio ? 3:1 ?
Like that , how many nurse you want to attend to a wounded soldier ?
How many soldiers you want wounded during the war ?
i am not talking about army nurses. just nurses in general. and it is a fact that nursing is a foreigner-dominated job, with rgds to military, civilian etc.
just a few day ago, the newspaper announce that there is currently a dearth of nurses, foreign or local, in our hospitals, esp nursing homes where patients require long term treatment.
and imagine that u r a foreign nurse in singapore. U may stay here if SARs and avian flu is on the rampage. but would you do the same, when bombs are dropping around you? look at Israel's invasion of Lebandon. the first among the first to flee are their foreign professionals.