Originally posted by jojobeach:For the same reason why I think 2 yr NS is waste of time and tax payer's money.
I think it's about time .. the gahmen become more practical about this issue.. and start evolving their policies to catch up with the times.
Reservist + IPPT/RT is even more a waste of time....
Why can't the garmen pays more premiums to those who'll sign on...like that then will have more ppl to sign on and there'll be no worries of shortage of manpower when in time of war....furthermore, then can eliminate the NS,Reservist, IPPT/RT for those society working ppl...save time (Time = Money = Economy)
Originally posted by jojobeach:For the same reason why I think 2 yr NS is waste of time and tax payer's money.
I think it's about time .. the gahmen become more practical about this issue.. and start evolving their policies to catch up with the times.
Ok... I must say even though most of the guys do not like NS, but that 2 years can have a huge impact on their lives. Most guys I know do have a change of mindset, especially when it comes to areas where one has to be practical.
It wouldn't hurt to contribute slightly more to the different areas of total defence?
I think that would be the time when most (note: not all) people would have no issues of equal opportunities for both men and women.
To know why NS, the only way to find out is to serve NS. I feel this is one event that really make the difference in perception and thinking of both genders.
Originally posted by parn:
What's the problem of women not serving NS?
I've no problems of women not serving NS, but seems like there're alot women out there having problems of serving NS...
Originally posted by jojobeach:It's not going to affect me anyway.
But I sure wouldn't want my dotter to go for NS ( if I have one).
And my son wouldn't have to if I don't marry a Singaporean.
jojobeach, save your breath...some guys just like to force woman and enslave them to serve their own whims and barbaric requests.
Let the barbarians win for now, and allow all the gentlemen to fight for our rights.
Some men has lost the reason to serve NS, and that's probably why they suddenly came up with this wonderful idea of "Hey! Why don't we get the women to serve too???"
Aren't Men supposed to serve NS so that they can PROTECT the women and the children and the aged?
I can't believe it, but seems like MEN are actually seeking protection from WOMEN.
Originally posted by dcx:
Reservist + IPPT/RT is even more a waste of time....
Why can't the garmen pays more premiums to those who'll sign on...like that then will have more ppl to sign on and there'll be no worries of shortage of manpower when in time of war....furthermore, then can eliminate the NS,Reservist, IPPT/RT for those society working ppl...save time (Time = Money = Economy)
Yep. I agree.
But you think our money hungry gahmen is gonna forgo this cheap labor option ?
If i've not remembered wrongly, the sugguestion of women serving the NS seems to be from the issue of women raising for the equality between men & women...
Originally posted by off_service:Ok... I must say even though most of the guys do not like NS, but that 2 years can have a huge impact on their lives. Most guys I know do have a change of mindset, especially when it comes to areas where one has to be practical.
It wouldn't hurt to contribute slightly more to the different areas of total defence?
I think that would be the time when most (note: not all) people would have no issues of equal opportunities for both men and women.
To know why NS, the only way to find out is to serve NS. I feel this is one event that really make the difference in perception and thinking of both genders.
There's many countries where men do not need to conscript.
Are you saying the men in those countries are inferior ? Obsolutely not.
True.. if the NS conditions are much better with shorter serving time.. that's fine by me.
If sending my children to NS is like signing up for summer camps.. they have my supports..
But the way the whole system is run .. really irks the hell outa me.
I believe in human rights.. what the gahmen is doing is well against my beliefs.
Originally posted by dcx:If i've not remembered wrongly, the sugguestion of women serving the NS seems to be from the issue of women raising for the equality between men & women...
Sorry.. you must be mistaken.
NS has nothing to do with women gaining equality in the work force.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yep. I agree.
yeah. so in the end it boils down to cheap labor.
jojobeach, save your breath...some guys just like to force woman and enslave them to serve their own whims and barbaric requests.Let the barbarians win for now, and allow all the gentlemen to fight for our rights.
Some men has lost the reason to serve NS, and that's probably why they suddenly came up with this wonderful idea of "Hey! Why don't we get the women to serve too???"
Aren't Men supposed to serve NS so that they can PROTECT the women and the children and the aged?
I can't believe it, but seems like MEN are actually seeking protection from WOMEN.
That's where you are wrong. Taking nursing for example, don't say serving NS as a nurse. Probably just a 6 month course on basic first aid and stuffs then ladies are free to do what they want. But in time of crisis, they will know what to do.
Men are supposed to protect their women. But in any case the men are wounded, if the ladies have some nursing knowledge, it would be great help and of course probably a morale boost for the men to know everyone is together as one.
Unless when men are injured, women are helpless (with no proper fighting knowledge) and we all go down. Which is the prefered scenario?
This is just an example and I know the arguement will go on... and the list of examples are exhaustive.. So just my 2 cents.
Originally posted by dcx:If i've not remembered wrongly, the sugguestion of women serving the NS seems to be from the issue of women raising for the equality between men & women...
Those women were wrong if they have suggested women serving NS in the futile effort to raise the equality between men and women.
We should know better to tell between the right and the wrong.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yep. I agree.
That's the point...if the garmen wanna do something, do the ppl have the rights to oppose? Even if can oppose, will "it" even bother consider?
That goes to raising Minis' salaries, EveryRoadPays, CPF extension, so many other more.....do you think the ppl can have any say?
Likewise for NS.....
Originally posted by jojobeach:Sorry.. you must be mistaken.
NS has nothing to do with women gaining equality in the work force.
I mean, the sugguestion only came upon when the equlity issue was raised.
Originally posted by off_service:That's where you are wrong. Taking nursing for example, don't say serving NS as a nurse. Probably just a 6 month course on basic first aid and stuffs then ladies are free to do what they want. But in time of crisis, they will know what to do.
Men are supposed to protect their women. But in any case the men are wounded, if the ladies have some nursing knowledge, it would be great help and of course probably a morale boost for the men to know everyone is together as one.
Unless when men are injured, women are helpless (with no proper fighting knowledge) and we all go down. Which is the prefered scenario?
This is just an example and I know the arguement will go on... and the list of examples are exhaustive.. So just my 2 cents.
Your school don't have St John's brigade ah ?
If you are so worried about it.. make ST JOHN's ECA a compulsory subject in school.
How likely is there gonna be a war ? Who's gona invade this island ?
Singapore got no natural resources for other country to lust after.
The most is they make all Singaporean slaves ??..
You are living in fear my friend.
Originally posted by off_service:That's where you are wrong. Taking nursing for example, don't say serving NS as a nurse. Probably just a 6 month course on basic first aid and stuffs then ladies are free to do what they want. But in time of crisis, they will know what to do.
So you're saying in time of war, not only does the men need to go and fight, their women are also required to place their lives at risks? And leave the children to be placed under a greater risks to be orphaned?
Encouraging women to join the military as a professional nurse is a good idea with reference to your war scenario. But enforcing women to join military as nurse is wrong.
Would you like to be prick by a willing nurse or an unwilling nurse?
Those women were wrong if they have suggested women serving NS in the futile effort to raise the equality between men and women.We should know better to tell between the right and the wrong.
NS (National Service) is not equal to going to the jungle, running around, sweating around, jumping around, crawling around, etc(physically)...
Like someone mentioned about nursing...i dun believe in if in times of war, only just men shld protect the women/kids/elderly...everyone shld do their part to protect their families...
If in times of war, there's a man(be it your husband or who) who died infront of you, and there's gun weapon with him and the enemy is just nearby/approaching you, will you know how to use the gun weapon to protect your kids/families?
NS doesn't neccessarily means physical...More importantly is the mental(brain/mind)...
Originally posted by jojobeach:How likely is there gonna be a war ? Who's gona invade this island ?
You should post this question to the relevant authorities regarding NS then. I believe they have better answers for you.
NS (National Service) is not equal to going to the jungle, running around, sweating around, jumping around, crawling around, etc(physically)...
Like someone mentioned about nursing...i dun believe in if in times of war, only just men shld protect the women/kids/elderly...everyone shld do their part to protect their families...
If in times of war, there's a man(be it your husband or who) who died infront of you, and there's gun weapon with him and the enemy is just nearby/approaching you, will you know how to use the gun weapon to protect your kids/families?
NS doesn't neccessarily means physical...More importantly is the mental(brain/mind)...
You think the women are just gonna sit around and shake legs when war happens meh ? LOL. You don't give enough credits to the female folks lah.
You think mothers go for training to be a mother ah ?
Your mother took care of you from a helpless baby to a young adult leh...
Originally posted by off_service:You should post this question to the relevant authorities regarding NS then. I believe they have better answers for you.
Are you guys expecting the women to fight for your welfare ?
I'm more useful with a cooking knife than a gun, in terms of a potential weapon.
As a MAN, don't you feel it's your duty and responsibility for you to protect your woman and children?
So you're saying in time of war, not only does the men need to go and fight, their women are also required to place their lives at risks? And leave the children to be placed under a greater risks to be orphaned?Encouraging women to join the military as a professional nurse is a good idea with reference to your war scenario. But enforcing women to join military as nurse is wrong.
1. A war is cold blooded. Everyone is at risk.
2. I never mentioned about joining military. I'm saying a short course for basic knowledge on first aid and stuffs is good. So in times of need (not necessary war) everyone, including women will be able to help.
Is there ONE enemy ? or a bunch of them ? Are we losing the battle ?
If yes.. my best chance of survival for me and my family is not to get myself killed.
A soldier will not hesitate to kill another enemy person with arms.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Are you guys expecting the women to fight for your welfare ?
No. But if you would want to ask about the need for 2 year NS, you may do so. But I never said women should be forced into conscription.
I believe an official answer would be more persuasive than what we can say here.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Is there ONE enemy ? or a bunch of them ? Are we losing the battle ?
If yes.. my best chance of survival for me and my family is not to get myself killed.
A soldier will not hesitate to kill another enemy person with arms.
People never learn from history. Period.
Originally posted by jojobeach:You think the women are just gonna sit around and shake legs when war happens meh ? LOL. You don't give enough credits to the female folks lah.
You think mothers go for training to be a mother ah ?
Your mother took care of you from a helpless baby to a young adult leh...
That's when there're plenty of time to spare....
In situations whereby you might only have less than 10seconds to react, things'll be different from taking care a helpless baby to a young adult...
Btw, fyi, not all gun weapons you can just pick up and pull the trigger and the bullet will fly off...
What if you pull the trigger but there's no bullet flying out? Does it really mean that there's no bullet in that gun weapon or there's something that need to be done 1st?
Training on knowledge for self protection cannot be ignored...it's part of the NS...