Originally posted by off_service:1. A war is cold blooded. Everyone is at risk.
2. I never mentioned about joining military. I'm saying a short course for basic knowledge on first aid and stuffs is good. So in times of need (not necessary war) everyone, including women will be able to help.
When you are talking about women being able to help, those referenced women must be within the war zone or nearby, hence their lives will be placed at a certain risks.
Don't you love your woman and want her life to be placed out of this kind of risks?
Refer back to jojobeach's suggestions of making St.Johns ambulance as a compulsory ECA for all women. That is a better suggestion.
Originally posted by parn:I'm more useful with a cooking knife than a gun, in terms of a potential weapon.
As a MAN, don't you feel it's your duty and responsibility for you to protect your woman and children?
You're not getting my point.....
I'm not talking about duty or responsibility....
Originally posted by dcx:
So you agreed with me regarding the duty and responsiblity that a MAN should have towards his woman and children?
Oh well, since you don't get what I meant when I told you I'm more useful with a cooking knife than a gun, in terms of a potential weapon.
Then I have to tell you, I'm more capable to kill someone with a cooking knife than a gun.
And I don't mind if I died trying to save my children from the enemy.
Originally posted by parn:When you are talking about women being able to help, those referenced women must be within the war zone or nearby, hence their lives will be placed at a certain risks.
Don't you love your woman and want her life to be placed out of this kind of risks?
Refer back to jojobeach's suggestions of making St.Johns ambulance as a compulsory ECA for all women. That is a better suggestion.
If what St John's teach can cover everything, we won't be needing doctors, nurses, medics etc.
But if it's decided that St John's knowledge would suffice then why not?
You see, even this "ECA" will contribute to total defence. Even if one woman is at home with her kids, one wounded soldier come by, at least she can help him probably to tend to wounds or stop bleeding etc. and if not serious enough, he can continue to fight. Isn't that good?
This mother may even save her own child from illness inflicted from wounds etc.
If a man is MCP, then you got to be FCP....
If you'll ask every MAN out there in S'pore, who will disagree with the duty & responsibilty towards their families..........
I'm talking about going thru NS to gain the knowledge to protect yourself & families (Children/Parents) in times of war....the MEN will not be always beside you when the war comes.....Majority will be out there facing the enemies at a much nearer distance than where you're....and shld the enemies penetrate the "walls" and get nearer to the ppl...how many remaining MEN do you think can protect you?
We're not a huge population country with endless counts of MEN.....
Originally posted by parn:
Oh well, since you don't get what I meant when I told you I'm more useful with a cooking knife than a gun, in terms of a potential weapon.Then I have to tell you, I'm more capable to kill someone with a cooking knife than a gun.
And I don't mind if I died trying to save my children from the enemy.
Dun talk so confidently and be so sure of yourself....though i might admire you for your motherly love for your children...
How long is ur cooking knife? 10 metres? 20 metres?
Originally posted by off_service:If what St John's teach can cover everything, we won't be needing doctors, nurses, medics etc.
But if it's decided that St John's knowledge would suffice then why not?
You see, even this "ECA" will contribute to total defence. Even if one woman is at home with her kids, one wounded soldier come by, at least she can help him probably to tend to wounds or stop bleeding etc. and if not serious enough, he can continue to fight. Isn't that good?
This mother may even save her own child from illness inflicted from wounds etc. I think it's more important for women to contribute to total defence in another fashion.
What has St.John's Ambulance got to do with doctors anyway? You think one doctor, one nurse, one medic to every injured soldier?
Oh ya hor.....when war comes, I will still be sitting at home watching my favourite Taiwan variety show while waiting for a wounded soldier to drop by so that I can give him first aid, maybe cook for him also, change his diapers, buy him some toys & candies to cheer him up, maybe I'll even bring him to the nearest playground so that he can play together with his other wounded soldiers.
Shen Jing Bing.......if he can make it to my place and ask me to tend to his wound, then he's probably not that wounded!!! Most I'll do for him is to call a taxi for him and ask the uncle to send him home or back to his camp.
Kindly be more practical in your future scenario, or else it will be very difficult for me to imagine them from your war fantasy.
Dun talk so confidently and be so sure of yourself....though i might admire you for your motherly love for your children...
You don't know how long is a cooking knife? Go check your own cooking knife in your kitchen ok?
I did not say I will be able to kill the enemy, but I will do my best to protect my children.
But I must say, you won't want to kill me if you were the enemy. ![]()
That's when there're plenty of time to spare....
In situations whereby you might only have less than 10seconds to react, things'll be different from taking care a helpless baby to a young adult...
Btw, fyi, not all gun weapons you can just pick up and pull the trigger and the bullet will fly off...
What if you pull the trigger but there's no bullet flying out? Does it really mean that there's no bullet in that gun weapon or there's something that need to be done 1st?
Training on knowledge for self protection cannot be ignored...it's part of the NS...
Like I said.
Enemy soldiers will not hesitate to kill a person be it a enemy woman or a child.. HOLDING A WEAPON.
If the care giver dies ... trying to fight the advancing forces.. who is going to take care of the needy ?
In such senario.. the civilian's best survival option is to surrender and hopefully gets taken as POW.
Yes I agree all of us should obtain survival knowledge.. but this kind of knowledge doesn't require a 2 years NS.
Vigorous training and several years of reservist servitute is unneccessary...
I'm sure you will admire me even more when you know my devotion, submission and committment to my future husband. ![]()
You don't know how long is a cooking knife? Go check your own cooking knife in your kitchen ok?I did not say I will be able to kill the enemy, but I will do my best to protect my children.
But I must say, you won't want to kill me if you were the enemy.
You must be really a FCP to ask me go and check my kitchen for the length of the kitchen when i already asked if your kitchen knife is 10m or 20m.
If my question to you of whether is your kitchen knife 10m or 20m, and you still don't understand what that question is deriving at, then you got to be kidding me...or rather, you choose to deviate away from it by asking me to check my kitchen.
If you will to be taught on how to use a gun weapon, will you choose to use your 30CM kitchen knife or a gun weapon? Which will have a higher chance of protecting yourself n children?
By common sense would have tell you that a gun weapon would be the ideal choice compared to a kitchen knife...and that's when you know how to use the gun weapon...
Tell me, for the distance between u & the enemy is 50metres, is the kitchen knife more effective or the gun weapon?
And how many kitchen knifes will you have with you?
You don't know how long is a cooking knife? Go check your own cooking knife in your kitchen ok?I did not say I will be able to kill the enemy, but I will do my best to protect my children.
But I must say, you won't want to kill me if you were the enemy.
LOL..
Originally posted by dcx:You must be really a FCP to ask me go and check my kitchen for the length of the kitchen when i already asked if your kitchen knife is 10m or 20m.
If my question to you of whether is your kitchen knife 10m or 20m, and you still don't understand what that question is deriving at, then you got to be kidding me...or rather, you choose to deviate away from it by asking me to check my kitchen.
If you will to be taught on how to use a gun weapon, will you choose to use your 30CM kitchen knife or a gun weapon? Which will have a higher chance of protecting yourself n children?
By common sense would have tell you that a gun weapon would be the ideal choice compared to a kitchen knife...and that's when you know how to use the gun weapon...
Tell me, for the distance between u & the enemy is 50metres, is the kitchen knife more effective or the gun weapon?
Have you gone through NS yet ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Like I said.
Enemy soldiers will not hesitate to kill a person be it a enemy woman or a child.. HOLDING A WEAPON.
If the care giver dies ... trying to fight the advancing forces.. who is going to take care of the needy ?
In such senario.. the civilian's best survival option is to surrender and hopefully gets taken as POW.
Yes I agree all of us should obtain survival knowledge.. but this kind of knowledge doesn't require a 2 years NS.
Vigorous training and several years of reservist servitute is unneccessary...
I believe i did not emphasize on 2years NS....
What i've been trying to bring is self protection/protecting your children/parent when in need by understanding the knowledge of serving NS...6months should be more than enough....
Never assume that you know the enemy very well based on your feeling/thinking....
Originally posted by dcx:You must be really a FCP to ask me go and check my kitchen for the length of the kitchen when i already asked if your kitchen knife is 10m or 20m.
What makes you think the enemy will want to kill me?
In that case, then maybe you can protect me lor....
I'm sure you will admire me even more when you know my devotion, submission and committment to my future husband.
You do not know me well enough for your statement above....
Originally posted by dcx:I believe i did not emphasize on 2years NS....
What i've been trying to bring is self protection/protecting your children/parent when in need by understanding the knowledge of serving NS...6months should be more than enough....
Never assume that you know the enemy very well based on your feeling/thinking....
When the time comes, make sure you also protect jojobeach ok?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Have you gone through NS yet ?
yes
Originally posted by parn:Shen Jing Bing.......if he can make it to my place and ask me to tend to his wound, then he's probably not that wounded!!! Most I'll do for him is to call a taxi for him and ask the uncle to send him home or back to his camp.
Kindly be more practical in your future scenario, or else it will be very difficult for me to imagine them from your war fantasy.
With all the "If"s around, IF a soldier happen to show up at your place or somewhere near you and IF you happen to have a first aid kit at least you can give him something to stop bleeding, like bandage.
And IF you can find a taxi in "war fantasy" zone, that's good.
Originally posted by parn:What makes you think the enemy will want to kill me?
In that case, then maybe you can protect me lor....
I think only but i never make sure that the enemy will NOT kill you...
Reasons why the enemy will NOT kill you:
1] Very pretty woman > Rape 1st later then say...
2] Very ugly woman > Keep as servant or watever..
3] AIDS
Reasons why the enemy will KILL you:
1] He's a GAY.
Originally posted by parn:When the time comes, make sure you also protect jojobeach ok?
Why not you make sure that you & jojobeach go and learn the knowledge of self-protection?
Like I have mentioned before, I do not wish to kill the enemy as much as you do.
I will do my best to protect my children.
Maybe you need to understand that women are not meant to kill but mostly only to be killed.
And what can MAN do if woman like me has made up my mind to sacrifice for my children instead of killing the enemy?
Now I finally understand why I've seen scenarios of fathers supporting NS but the mothers against it.
Maybe we should wait till when the female population is significantly more than men and we'll see what happen, whether we'll see FT supporting our defence or everybody is a part of our defence.
Originally posted by dcx:I believe i did not emphasize on 2years NS....
Ohh.. 6 months ah... can lah.. but no need BMT right ? No need reservist right ?
All they need is go to classes .. then get certificate right ? Then go for 1-2 day refresher course every year after ROD...
Then that one is not call NS...that one is call survival training lah.....
Here in USA also have... CPR certifications and first aid lah....
Most community colledge offers this kind of classes one.....
In fact.. people here hire nanny to take care of their young children.. they want this kind of certifications...
Relax lah..
Singapore should include this kind of training into their school curriculum lah....