SINGAPORE: Some non—profit organisations in Singapore have advised the public not to let the latest alleged fraud case, involving Ren Ci charity, to detract them from the bigger issue of helping needy Singaporeans.
Ren Ci Hospital and Medicare Centre is one of the largest charities in Singapore that provides medical and step—down care for the needy.
Ren Ci’s former CEO, Venerable Shi Ming Yi, was charged in court on Tuesday with forgery, conspiracy and misappropriating charity funds.
The monk, whose actual name is Goh Kah Heng, is out on a S$200,000 bail. He is due to be back in court on August 4.
Venerable Ming Yi was the face of Ren Ci before this latest incident, and those involved in the charity sector in Singapore said a distinction has to be drawn between the individual and a charity’s role.
Gerard Ee, chairman of the National Kidney Foundation, said: "I hope the public will see it clearly and continue to support Ren Ci Hospital because the beneficiaries are in need of their support, in need of continuing service.
"So don’t abandon the support for the hospital. As for the individual, like I say, let it take its course, let it have a fair hearing and don’t prejudge."
Other non—profit organisations in Singapore are optimistic that donor confidence will not waver from this recent setback. However, it doesn’t help that this comes shortly after the former chief of National Kidney Foundation, TT Durai, was jailed for misappropriating funds.
Adrian Choo, an associate lecturer, said: "I thought that other people would have learnt from him (Durai), but apparently not. It would cause me to question the integrity of the heads of the charities and the charities themselves. I used to donate without thinking, but now I would think much more."
Susan Lee, an entrepreneur, said: "It sort of saddened me... I feel that it’s the people who mismanaged it, not the organisation. So I will continue to donate because I wholeheartedly want to give to the charity and how they manage (the money) is up to them to answer for it."
Being answerable to donors is precisely what charities have to do today with the newly introduced Code of Governance, prescribing guidelines on how charities should be run.
Tan Chee Koon, CEO of National Volunteer and Philanthropy Centre, said: "If indeed there has been wrongdoing, then justice must, of course, take its natural course.
"It’s not about the amount. I think for charities, we have to be purer than pure, and whiter than white. There’s no shortcut to it because we are operating on public trust. And public trust has to be earned."
This latest incident involving Ren Ci has certainly disappointed many Singaporeans, but the consensus is to learn from any mistakes made, strengthen the safeguards within the charities and move on with the primary objective of helping the disadvantaged.
i say HOW ABOUT SINGAPORE GOVERMENT START DOING SOMETHING THE HELP ITS OWN PPL RATHER THAN KEEP ON SUCKING OUR BLOODY $$$$
why the hell is it that everything also the singapore gabrament must do?
then when the singapore gabrament do, you idiots all kpkb about it?
the long and the short of it now is that charity is much more than just throwing money at some organisation to salve your rotten soul.. if you want to do real charity, go get a bunch of people together and go clean up an orphanage... get your act together and go give tuition to the children who need the extra coaching.. go keep the residents at an old folks' home company regularly and listen to them... clean out the kennels at the SPCA...
charities were used as a place for people to pay for a moment of "feelgood" so it was easy for those who took the money for themselves...
you want to do something, start with yourself.. take some fricken personal responsibility.. don't bloody everything "the singapore gabrament go start doing something!!"
your lack of personal responsibility is glaring..
Bear.. mind your blood pressure la.. complaining and pushing the blame is a natural tendency and easiest thing to do. I too also kpkb alot de.. kekeke..
Originally posted by the Bear:charities were used as a place for people to pay for a moment of "feelgood" so it was easy for those who took the money for themselves...
I beg to differ. If I donate $10, what can I buy for the poor? The purpose of charity is to consolidate all these small amounts into a substantial amount so that more can be done for the needy.
don't bloody everything "the singapore gabrament go start doing something!!"
That is due to Lee Kuan Yew.
That bastard wants to meddle into everything.
So people push blame to government, since they meddle so much.
Wise words from the great leader:
"I am often accused of interfering in the private lives of citizens. Yes, if I did not, had I not done that, we wouldn't be here today. And I say without the slightest remorse, that we wouldn't be here, we would not have made economic progress, if we had not intervened on very personal matters - who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think." - Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, Straits Times, 20 April 1987
I got no more faith in those charity thingy anymore.
I want to laugh at some very "smart" people. ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:... hell is it that everything also the singapore gabrament must do? then when the singapore gabrament do, you idiots all kpkb about ... responsibility.. don't bloody everything "the singapore gabrament go start doing something!!" your ...
well basicilly its is because im dont have 90 trillion in my bank account like our goverment do. maybe its reaching the $$$ zrillion amount soon
my account only have a few hundreds which have to last me too end of this month and then over and over and over again. but however sometimes i still donate a little bit to charity whenever i can afford
since our country is willing to gave our "China buy over sport man/woman" each Gold Medal for $50k. just 1 pieces of medal and our goverment is willing to spend $50k on it to those china ppl "ok they are our PR"
Why cant they just donate some little to our misfortunre ppl ????
they are willing to pay $50K for each dia. 300mm x 300mm useless piece of junk "maybe its only useful when u prawn its in the shops for some$$$" Y cant they jsut donate a LITTLE bit to help ppl ????
kao la.. ask temaske donate enough liao la.. what is 100m to temaske.. wa kao
Wonder why some folks are complaining about others' complaining, it's ironic.
Quite the proverbial pot and kettle.
Nobody's asking them to come in here to listen to criticism of the government, but they choose to do so, then they themselves engage in complaining. ![]()
It's damn Ironic.
Hypocrisy.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:I got no more faith in those charity thingy anymore.
Sometimes I just help this blind lady from the bus station to MRT station if I happen to bump into her.
Do this type of charity also very good le.
Monie one, I not enough =X
ASK Lee family to donate 1 billion la. What does 1 billion mean to them. STill dare to ask people to donate. I earning 1500 per month. Feed myself also got problem already.
I AM REALLY MAD about THIS. Useless Government.
I suggest use ERP money to help REN CI.
Happy ending.
Originally posted by the Bear:why the hell is it that everything also the singapore gabrament must do?
then when the singapore gabrament do, you idiots all kpkb about it?
the long and the short of it now is that charity is much more than just throwing money at some organisation to salve your rotten soul.. if you want to do real charity, go get a bunch of people together and go clean up an orphanage... get your act together and go give tuition to the children who need the extra coaching.. go keep the residents at an old folks' home company regularly and listen to them... clean out the kennels at the SPCA...
charities were used as a place for people to pay for a moment of "feelgood" so it was easy for those who took the money for themselves...
you want to do something, start with yourself.. take some fricken personal responsibility.. don't bloody everything "the singapore gabrament go start doing something!!"
U lecturing in the University of Bears? Yawn . ....................... ZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz A leopard never changes its spots.
very ugly.
dont stop getting cheats
Originally posted by youyayu:kao la.. ask temaske donate enough liao la.. what is 100m to temaske.. wa kao
Cannot....
Temesek's income is reserved for stake holders.
How can anyhow give to the poor?
Since the poor has no money to buy Temasek stocks.. therefore.. not entitled to the money Temasek makes.
Only rich got money are entitlted... you understand ?
This is why I don't agree with gahmen privatising so many public services.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Cannot....
Temesek's income is reserved for stake holders.
How can anyhow give to the poor?
Since the poor has no money to buy Temasek stocks.. therefore.. not entitled to the money Temasek makes.
Only rich got money are entitlted... you understand ?
This is why I don't agree with gahmen privatising so many public services.
Privatised public services by having "Pte Ltd" in the names, but everything else remains the same. Wayang wayang only.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Privatised public services by having "Pte Ltd" in the names, but everything else remains the same. Wayang wayang only.
You sure anot ?
If really just wayang wayang..then what's the point?
1.Steal money from a donation box
2.Use the money to buy crack
3.?????
4.Profit!!
What PM Lee did not say in his advice is that being the first-world country as claimed by the father, there should be no such problem like having so many citizens still begging for a living or being unable to make ends meet due to government taking away more than 60% of their average income through taxing and keeping back taxes and collecting more and more profits and fees to impoverish the people.
So who created the situation? If government is so concerned with such a situation and is now calling on the richer citizens to do charity to help the over-taxed underclass, he could easily reverse the past wrongful policies of taxing and recovering all possible costs and all citizens will be able to live normal economic life once again.
Will PM Lee do it?
the revenue alone from singapore pools is enough to help all the charities plus all the poor people in singapore. 4.2 billion reported last year.
dont forget to the goverment
$190K salary per month , $600 million bonus per annum is "PEANUT" to them.
they wont even bother to feed some peanut to their ppl . u think the goverment will let u eat some rice ma??????
Originally posted by dragg:the revenue alone from singapore pools is enough to help all the charities plus all the poor people in singapore. 4.2 billion reported last year.
They rather fleece from the sheeps, else what other purpose the sheeps serve.
There were loopholes in the policy and not enough check on the organisations.
The governing body have to look into the matter and close their grip.
Before that, the people will not be donating.
At the same time, if the cost of living is not in check, where every one are rushing to increase their price without improvement their services (the bus company is a very good example, they promised to provide better service during the last price hike, they have failed to deliver that promise, but, they are approved for price hike every year. The committee in charge is not doing their job at all.), the general public will not have any spare money to donate at all.
They are hit by price hike every month.
The dragon prince is not taking care of the people, he is more concerned about getting more money.