What does the ERP really does? Isit just to reduce number of cars in singapore and to reduce number of cars in a particular lane?
If it is to reduce number of cars in singapore,wont increase of COE will be sufficient?
If it is to reduce number of cars in a particular lane. Imagine that there are two cars on the same road, going the same destination by the shortest road and that road has an ERP.Car A decides to stay on ERP road while Car B turns to other lane to avoid such road.But in the end both cars would pay almost the same cost,due to extra oil charges as Car B took a much longer way. So there isnt any point in turning to avoid ERP right?
Finally,whats the point in increasing the ERP charges??? SBS also has to pay a massive amount of ERP charges for their buses and thus may affect bus fares. Where does these charges actually go to? The government's pocket or the people?
TS, go ask the smart alec raymond lim.
Originally posted by Fantagf:TS, go ask the smart alec raymond lim.
ya lor. go ask him. he is the one that tell us that ERP help us own more cars de.
next time he will tell you ERP is to help govt get more pay.
Using ERP to reduce cars on the road is not effective at all! See, everyday, theres alot of drivers drive into CBD area to work. And its not possible for them to take alternative route to their work place to escape the ERP gantry. Even if theres alternative route, LTA will find out and build an ERP gantry on the alternative route.
So, its like die die must go through the ERP. And you can't ask them to take public transport if they are company's key appointment holders. Time is money and they are busy people.
So, ERP is more of forcing the people to pay and pay.
If really want to reduce traffic, build more roads, more expressway lor.
you can't build more road and expressways as there is a land limit in Singapore... we're doing expanding the road limits to the maximum that it was planned for 10-20 years ago.
you can increase COE either as that would make owning a car impossible and thus, result in social discontent as you're depriving them of choice
thus, you allow people to buy cars but you discourage them to use it. you don't deprive of them of ownership but increasing the usage fee discourage them from using it; and has a wonderful side effect of making tons of money for the government
HOWEVER...
ERP will not solve the problem.. it just go into a never ending cycle of fare increment. The ONLY WAY to solve the problem is to encourage alternative mode of transport instead of driving.. i.e. cycling etc.
But then.. government don't make money from cycling unless NTUC owns the island's bicycle shops... so why build more tracks?
If everybody does that, the government will lose revenue from ERP, Petrol Tax and COE.
Ultimately the shortfall will need to be fleece from the sheeps in other forms of fares, fees, taxes or fines.
I think Lim is able to read the people of singapore like a book.
I think its worth an investigation why singapore behave or react differently compared to basically any other country in the world to transport related price hikes (and all hikes in general). But I feel that may be the implementation of hike was done with good understanding of singaporean mentality :
1. 'small' increments of around 1% : people cannot say its a lot. Many would have to give answer that , 'it does not affect me'. Can such incremental hikes be done regulary like 1 time a year? What would happen? If so, I think the answer is 'its small hike, does not affect me'.
2. Getting used : after getting used to fare hikes, I also lost count the number of hikes and the kinds of hikes implemented. I tend to compare with current price and 1% hikes. So, it appears not too expensive. But when I add them all up....not sure..ssshhhh!
Since this is singapore and the people are ok with hikes, at least they appear to and practically accepted the hikes, that shall be taken as fair and acceptable hikes.
I foresee lim to do a good job , even if in future fare prices / ERP get hiked again, some credits should go to the supporting team called singaporeans.
Maybe forever and ever.
Singaporeans majulah lor.
Originally posted by Jingojingjing:I think Lim is able to read the people of singapore like a book.
I think its worth an investigation why singapore behave or react differently compared to basically any other country in the world to transport related price hikes (and all hikes in general). But I feel that may be the implementation of hike was done with good understanding of singaporean mentality :
1. 'small' increments of around 1% : people cannot say its a lot. Many would have to give answer that , 'it does not affect me'. Can such incremental hikes be done regulary like 1 time a year? What would happen? If so, I think the answer is 'its small hike, does not affect me'.
2. Getting used : after getting used to fare hikes, I also lost count the number of hikes and the kinds of hikes implemented. I tend to compare with current price and 1% hikes. So, it appears not too expensive. But when I add them all up....not sure..ssshhhh!
Since this is singapore and the people are ok with hikes, at least they appear to and practically accepted the hikes, that shall be taken as fair and acceptable hikes.
I foresee lim to do a good job , even if in future fare prices / ERP get hiked again, some credits should go to the supporting team called singaporeans.
Maybe forever and ever.
Singaporeans majulah lor.
too bad most Singaporeans are too dumb to see what is actually going on. every years 1 to 3% increase. after 10 years is 10 to 30% increase. the only thing that never increase in your salary. but your ministers can increase their salaries which end what you see in the papers that Singaporeans pay higher by 1 or 2%. therefore they need up their salaries every year to show that Singapore is actually doing very well.
setting erp gantries up around, has become an addiction.
it has lost its meaning.
Singapore Road Planners should look at Boston's Big Dig...
http://shopping.discovery.com/product-41253.html
Witness the final stages of one of the largest, most technically challenging infrastructure projects in American history: Boston's Big Dig. An effort to alleviate the city's notorious traffic congestion by burying a super-highway 120 feet below the city's surface, it's a project that will rival the pyramids in terms of sheer engineering marvel.
Engineers and city planners have worked on the project for a dozen years, and are now only three years from completion. Join them as they explain how this subterranean artery will work. Ten lanes of asphalt will burrow beneath the heart of downtown, snaking above and below existing subway lines – and within inches of skyscrapers – to relieve gridlock and reduce carbon monoxide emissions by 12 percent. It's a gargantuan undertaking, costing more than $14 billion and shifting enough dirt to fill 15 football stadiums. But, while computer animation demonstrates the tunnel's resistance to massive earthquakes, technicians reveal that a simple two-car accident in the belly of the multi-lane beast could sink the entire project. Could Boston's Big Dig be the answer to the city's transit troubles, or will it drive motorists to seek higher ground?
INTO government Pocket if not how LKY, GCT pay came from?
Originally posted by Sjabsucks:SBS also has to pay a massive amount of ERP charges for their buses and thus may affect bus fares. Where does these charges actually go to? The government's pocket or the people?
Can anyone confirm whether ERP is charged to SBS? I find it ludicrous that they actually charge ERP to buses... Is that true?
ERP is just a way of a "no repayment loan given to the govt bastards by the people"
since when moeny ever go to the people??the so called GST offset packages are jus passing the peoples' hands before they go back to the govt again..magic..
Originally posted by whiskers:Can anyone confirm whether ERP is charged to SBS? I find it ludicrous that they actually charge ERP to buses... Is that true?
yes..last time i saw buses pay ard $9.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:since when moeny ever go to the people??the so called GST offset packages are jus passing the peoples' hands before they go back to the govt again..magic..
don't forget the bonus as well..
i think there was an article that said SBST paid $2.9million for ERP charges??
the more buses they have in their fleet, the more cost they will incur..
most ridiculous thing is to charge it to public transportation.
Originally posted by sinicker:i think there was an article that said SBST paid $2.9million for ERP charges??
Originally posted bydomonkassyu:
yes..last time i saw buses pay ard $9.
Wah damn... I didnt know that.... Liddat I nth to say... gahmen win liao...
deer hunter or PAP supporters, can help me rationalize why buses needs pay ERP?
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:most ridiculous thing is to charge it to public transportation.
as long as they can get the $$ nothing else matters..
Originally posted by QX179R:as long as they can get the $$ nothing else matters..
thats why i said its more like an addiction now.
ANYONE KIND KIND ENOUGH INVENT NICOTINE TO STOP THIER MONEY ADDICTION/?
chew and uu gt the no more addiction to suck money
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:
thats why i said its more like an addiction now.
wonder if that applies to emergency vehicles as well..
Originally posted by QX179R:wonder if that applies to emergency vehicles as well..
very good point too.