Singapore
Jul 17th 2008
From The Economist print edition
MEMBERS of Singapore’s government are notorious sticklers for legal exactitude. So it has been interesting to watch the reaction after the country’s elder statesman, Lee Kuan Yew—a British-trained lawyer before he became a politician—gave inaccurate testimony in the trial of two opposition leaders.
In May Mr Lee testified in a hearing to decide damages against Chee Soon Juan, the leader of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), and his sister, Chee Siok Chin, for defaming the former prime minister and his son, Lee Hsien Loong, who is now prime minister himself. Mr Lee senior claimed that after the London-based International Bar Association (IBA) held its annual conference in Singapore last October, its president sent a letter to the Law Society of Singapore praising the country’s justice system. It has since emerged that there was no such laudatory letter.
Mr Chee (who along with his sister was briefly jailed for contempt for accusing the judge in his case of bias) tried unsuccessfully to have the hearing reconvened in the light of Mr Lee’s incorrect testimony. Mr Lee’s counsel, Davinder Singh, wrote to the court on July 9th admitting that his client was wrong about the letter but noting that the IBA’s president, Fernando Pombo, had praised Singapore’s “outstanding judiciary” in a speech at the start of the conference. Mr Singh argues that what matters is that the IBA did praise Singaporean justice, not whether it did so in a speech or a letter. Mr Chee says there is a difference: the speech was made before the conference, where criticisms of the justice system were aired. Mr Lee was claiming, in effect, that the IBA was still impressed after this.
By coincidence, on July 9th the IBA’s Human Rights Institute issued a report criticising the use of defamation suits by the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) to silence the opposition and the press, and expressing concerns about the independence and impartiality of Singapore’s judges. The law ministry has rejected the IBA’s report, pointing out that Singapore’s legal system has won excellent ratings in other international surveys. Indeed, in cases not involving the country’s leaders, there is no dispute about its quality. As for the IBA’s worries about cases involving PAP figures, the law ministry claims that the IBA failed to substantiate its “grave” allegations with evidence, though its report does discuss several worrying cases.
America’s State Department, which is in rather less danger of being sued by the PAP than are the opposition or newspapers, has expressed concern about judicial independence in political cases in Singapore. In its latest human-rights report, in March, the department noted that the PAP’s consistent success in defamation suits against critics “led to a perception that the judiciary reflected the views of the ruling party in politically sensitive cases.”
According to the Straits Times newspaper, Mr Lee on July 11th accused human-rights organisations of “a conspiracy to do us in”. He said that they saw that Russia and China had been studying Singapore’s success, and hence regarded it as a threat. Mr Lee and the government argue that doing things their way has made Singapore prosperous, orderly and corruption-free, and has earned international respect. The threat of defamation proceedings may make opposition politicians weigh their words more carefully than they do elsewhere. But Singaporean voters continue to buy the PAP’s argument that such constraints are a price worth paying—so far.
He said that they saw that Russia and China had been studying Singapore’s success, and hence regarded it as a threat.
What sort of bullshit is that Lee Kuan Yew?
You senile already lah.
Believe in your own propaganda.
Singapore poses threat to China and India?
Go and die lah.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What sort of bullshit is that Lee Kuan Yew?
You senile already lah.
Believe in your own propaganda.
Singapore poses threat to China and India?
Go and die lah.
This senile old man is paranoid, he thinks everyone is narrow minded and paranoid like him. He made this statement without giving any good reason to substantiate what he claimed. He is always right, he is God, he is perfect, he has no sins.
Old people like that one lah.
That bastard.
He probably is paranoid and thinks that entire Singapore public wants him dead.
Pathetic filth, that Lee Kuan Yew.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Old people like that one lah.
That bastard.
He probably is paranoid and thinks that entire Singapore public wants him dead.
I am not sure if he is paranoid that entire Singapore public wants him dead, but I am very sure that he thinks that the whole Singapore owe him their living. With all these unproductive thoughts, untrue reality/facts in his mind, it is no wonder he makes life more and more difficult for the public. Such a man should not be made a leader of the country serving the nation.
I feel alot of anger generating from Pah Ah Pak.
Tell us about your childhood. Were u used and abused. Did your daddy come into your room late at night when u were still 10 yrs old and did unspeakable stuffs to you.The trauma that caused all this... anger.
Lets sit in a circle. Hold hands.And count to 10, while passing the joint around. Remmember, puff puff pass.... puff puff pass. Breathe in... breathe out.
Now you try it.
Originally posted by BadzMaro:I feel alot of anger generating from Pah Ah Pak.
Tell us about your childhood. Were u used and abused. Did your daddy come into your room late at night when u were still 10 yrs old and did unspeakable stuffs to you.The trauma that caused all this... anger.
Lets sit in a circle. Hold hands.And count to 10, while passing the joint around. Remmember, puff puff pass.... puff puff pass. Breathe in... breathe out.
Now you try it.
You would like to ask all who voice out about them not agreeing with PAP to tell you about their childhood and blah blah blah. May be you want to start the ball rolling by telling us about your childhood since you made this suggestion. Are you spoilt?
I feel alot of anger generating from Pah Ah Pak.
There's no anger from me.
Just disgust at Lee Kuan Yew.
85 years already still want to hold on to power.
That is since 1959.
History clearly shows that people hold on to power for so long always brings decline to the state.
Old already senile, stuborn, cannot take advice.
How to rule like that?
What a fucking bastard, that Lee Kuan Yew.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
You would like to ask all who voice out about them not agreeing with PAP to tell you about their childhood and blah blah blah. May be you want to start the ball rolling by telling us about your childhood since you made this suggestion. Are you spoilt?
My childhood was very colourful. I was spoilt and abused. I had everything and had nothing before. I just dont know how to summarise my childhood years in just a few pages. Its going to be long.. hella long.
Enough about me. Later yous all feel real shit about ur own lives, and say i arrogant and being a smart ass. cannot cannot.
I am sure my life pales in comparison to all the injustice and sufferings you all endured under the PAP regime.
lol
Originally posted by BadzMaro:My childhood was very colourful. I was spoilt and abused. I had everything and had nothing before. I just dont know how to summarise my childhood years in just a few pages. Its going to be long.. hella long.
Enough about me. Later yous all feel real shit about ur own lives, and say i arrogant and being a smart ass. cannot cannot.
I am sure my life pales in comparison to all the injustice and sufferings you all endured under the PAP regime.
lol
So you plan for any change? Get on with life with healthy mindset.
Originally posted by Fantagf:So you plan for any change? Get on with life with healthy mindset.
I plan for lots of changes. Thats why i am just waiting , watching and learning.
I will try to get on with life.. especially with a healthy mindset. ![]()
I will try to get on with life.. especially with a healthy mindset.
That is very good for you.
Don't be demoralised.
This will help you to calm down:
Tao
Originally posted by BadzMaro:I plan for lots of changes. Thats why i am just waiting , watching and learning.
I will try to get on with life.. especially with a healthy mindset.
Good for you. Wish you well in all areas of your life. Have a nice weekend.
Case study of someone similar to LKY
Yuan Shao
Yuan Shao (? - 202) was a powerful warlord during the late Eastern Han Dynasty and Three Kingdoms era of China. He occupied the northern territories of ancient China during the massive civil war towards the end of the Eastern Han Dynasty and the beginning of the Three Kingdoms era.
One of the most powerful warlords of his time, Yuan Shao spearheaded a coalition of warlords against the tyrannical Dong Zhuo, who held Emperor Xian hostage in the capital Luoyang, but failed due to internal disunity. In 200, he launched a campaign against rival warlord Cao Cao but was defeated utterly at the decisive Battle of Guandu. He died of sickness two years later in Ye. His eventual failure despite his powerful family background and geographical advantages was commonly blamed on his indecisiveness and inability to heed the advice of his advisors.
Some believe Yuan Shao's defeat was caused by senility. They argue that it would explain how a man who managed to become for a good period of time the dominant force in China could suddenly fail so completely. It is highly likely that it was a combination of senility, inability to listen to advice and his unfortunate luck in finding such a cunning foe that was Yuan Shao's downfall.
Cao Cao had once analysed Yuan Shao before the Battle of Guandu. Cao Cao said: Yuan Shao will be defeated during the war.
This is is from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuan_Shao
I agree with most of the above analysis.
But Yuan Shao led an army to battle and risked his life in combat.
I think Lee Kuan Yew is too cowardly for that.
During WWII Lee Kuan Yew worked for the Japanese instead of joining the anti-Japanese resistance force.
This shows his kiasu kiasee mentality.
Compare Chin Peng with Lee Kuan Yew during WWII:
Chin Peng:
Chin Peng rose to prominence during World War II when many Chinese Malayans took to the jungle to fight a guerrilla war against the Japanese. These fighters, inspired by the example of the Communist Party of China, became known as the Malayan People's Anti-Japanese Army (MPAJA). Chin Peng became the liaison officer between the MPAJA and the British military in South-East Asia.
In the course of the war, Chin was awarded an OBE(subsequently withdrawn by the British government), a mention in despatches, and two campaign medals by Britain.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chin_Peng
Lee Kuan Yew:
Having taken Chinese and Japanese lessons since 1942, he was able to collaborateAllied wire reports for the Japanese, as well as being the English-language editor on the Japanese as a transcriber of Hodobu (å ±é�“部 — an information or propaganda department) from 1943 to 1944.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew
One heaven one earth.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I agree with most of the above analysis.
But Yuan Shao led an army to battle and risked his life in combat.
I think Lee Kuan Yew is too cowardly for that.
During WWII Lee Kuan Yew worked for the Japanese instead of joining the anti-Japanese resistance force.
This shows his kiasu kiasee mentality.
Compare Chin Peng with Lee Kuan Yew during WWII:
Chin Peng:
Chin Peng rose to prominence during World War II when many Chinese Malayans took to the jungle to fight a guerrilla war against the Japanese. These fighters, inspired by the example of the Communist Party of China, became known as the Malayan People's Anti-Japanese Army (MPAJA). Chin Peng became the liaison officer between the MPAJA and the British military in South-East Asia.
In the course of the war, Chin was awarded an OBE(subsequently withdrawn by the British government), a mention in despatches, and two campaign medals by Britain.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chin_Peng
Lee Kuan Yew:
Having taken Chinese and Japanese lessons since 1942, he was able to collaborateAllied wire reports for the Japanese, as well as being the English-language editor on the Japanese as a transcriber of Hodobu (å ±é�“部 — an information or propaganda department) from 1943 to 1944.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew
One heaven one earth.
hmm..strange lehz...y no1 brand lky as a traitor???other who worked for japanese was despised at and even murdered after the war..he so special??work for japs is not traitor but nw teaching citizens to b patriot to sg??wat logic sia??
But you call Lee Kuan Yew a fucking running dog of the Japanese, Lee Kuan Yew will sue you for defamation.
Anyway, I regard Lee Kuan Yew as dog shit only, he did not rise to level of dog for me.
out president nathan also worked for the japanese during the war leh. i wonder why we got people like this serving the nation. talk about national service and protecting the country when our leaders worked for the enemy during the war. how to gain respect?
next yr will be 50 years in power for LKY. The only stateman who is in charge for so long in the world. Spore has so many first.. others statemen already die liao.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:But you call Lee Kuan Yew a fucking running dog of the Japanese, Lee Kuan Yew will sue you for defamation.
Anyway, I regard Lee Kuan Yew as dog shit only, he did not rise to level of dog for me.
wahaha..i tot u hated him sia..nv knw u had so much regards for him..dog shit wor..the dog shit i have at home gt more honour as shit den harry..
i m not one tat is patriot, in fact if another power were to invade sg, i might sell valuable info to the invaders too..tat makes me the same as harry.meaning to other people,ppl like us are call traitors. so jus bcuz hes rich tats y no1 calls him a traitor..wat an azz..
Traitor become leader, no big deal lah.
South Korea's Park Chung-hee also worked for the japanese:
Park won admission to a two-year training program in Manchukuo, the Japanese puppet state in Manchuria. Under the Japanese policy of sÅ�shi-kaimei, he adopted the Japanese-style name Masao Takaki (高木æ£é›„).[3] He graduated from the Manchukuo military academy at the top of his class in 1942. He then was selected for another two years of training at the Imperial Japanese Army Academy in Tokyo as a warrant officer of the Imperial Japanese Army. After graduating third in his class in 1944, he became an officer of the Manchukuo Imperial Army, and was promoted to lieutenant before the end of the Pacific War in 1945.
who want so "do us in"? for no apparent reason?.
I think he is just doing himself in.
I think the success for the 1st thirty years of sin city have got stuck in his head.
He is still living in the past.
It is time to face the music and let go.
He have himself to blame for nepotism that he is practising within his clan.
Human will still have selfish mind, no matter how wise he is .
He wun live to see his long reign of fifty years.
Apparently alot of people have shallow definition of heroes. In life itself, there is always alot of titles/positions/ranks, and they all have an invisible title before them. The invisible title is smart or dumb.
You can be in any trade, any relationship, any status, whatever...but it's up to you to decide if you want to be a smart one or a dumb one. Even Heroes also have smart and dumb Heroes. Smart Heroes lived long enough to see themselves honoured in the histories, and dumb Heroes don't even get mentioned much cos they died stupidly.
I can see there are alot of Zhao Yun wannabes here, but they don't realised they are just the Yan Liang and Wen Chou in this 21st century.