Originally posted by freedom4ever:yes, i agreed he would be a greater hero if he is alive.
the point here is while Lim Bo Seng was fighting against the japanese, LKY worked for the japanese during the war. do you get the picture
LKY knew if he were to do what Mr Lim was doing he will end up leaving Singapore and have a monument in Queen Elizabeth Walk for people to remember him. LKY "type" will not sacrify for the nation, he will sacrify for his own gain, benefits, future. LKY not noble to sacrify for the country.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
YOu mean prosperity will come knocking at your door without you putting in effort to attain it? BTW, what has prosperity to do with kiasu and kiasi? I am very confused.Actually, to be fair to the old man LKY, one has to be moderately kiasu and kiasi. Don't ever do it. Too much cooks spoil the broth.
Prosperity has different meaning to different people. To you, prosperity probably means have lots of money.
You are indeed confused if you think prosperity is related to kiasi and kiasu. Not all people who are kiasu and kiasi will prosper you know? But if you do not have a prosperity of wisdom up in your brain, you won't prosper even if you are the most kiasu and kiasi person on Earth. So if you applied kiasi attitude in all your exams, and kiasu attitude in all your learning and studies, you might have already accumulated enough prosperity of knowledge to get you to start your own business or inventions. Whether you will prosper or not, nobody knows right? But you will be most likely to prosper among your peers.
I don't understand why people can become ungrateful and bitter when they are obviously living a safe and prosperous country. Are they supposed to be happier if they were living in a third-world country?
People do tons of silly things when they are restless...and this is one very good example.
People tends to forget there is always a higher power up there above the skies, and if they don't treasure their time when they're alive, they will have to live with eternal regret for the rest of their lives. Sometimes, when people has done well for them, they should practise GRACE and give the old man Lee Kuan Yew a pat in the back for providing them with a safe childhood when they were not smart enough to be ungrateful yet.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:yes, i agreed he would be a greater hero if he is alive.
the point here is while Lim Bo Seng was fighting against the japanese, LKY worked for the japanese during the war. do you get the picture?
No I don't get your picture. Unless you're telling me both of them should have died together during the war for the sake of patriotism so that we can grow up drinking longkang's water like milk and rum.
IF you asked me, I would tell you I want both of them to be alive during the war and after the war, so that everyone can drink real rum just by turning on their kitchen tap.
Originally posted by parn:
So are you prosper now? If yes, why are you here?
Shouldn't you be setting up your own opposition party to grasp the already prosperous Singapore from PAP into your own hands?
If Singapore were to become a third-world country, I would like to know how many people would actually regret they had ever wished for Lee Kuan Yew not to govern Singapore in the first place.
Well, I can tell you about those ethnic chinese and other ethnic races. Unlike in Singapore, not all of them prosper SAFELY in other countries.
No I don't get your picture. Unless you're telling me both of them should have died together during the war for the sake of patriotism so that we can grow up drinking longkang's water like milk and rum.IF you asked me, I would tell you I want both of them to be alive during the war and after the war, so that everyone can drink real rum just by turning on their kitchen tap.
you dun get it then nvm. let the others judge for themselves. a war hero that fight against the enemies and a leader working with the enemies in the past.
my point is clear. if you dont want fight against the enemies is fine. but working together with the enemies instead???
when i think of the SAF 7 cores value, loyalty to country is in the first place. then here we had leader who worked for the enemies during war. isn't this defeat the purpose of loyalty to country?
Ya...fuckers.....sometimes people just need to get their argument right. You won't be replaced by FTs if you haven't been slacking off in your studies right? Well, if you didn't study hard enough during your studying days, shouldn't you make way for FTs who couldn't afford to have fun like you and have to study harder than you when they were a student just like you?Are you upset because PAP deprived you of learning an additional language?
Cos if Singapore didn't have Lee Kuan Yew, you could be learning Bahasa Melayu as your first language other than your native tongue(mandarin), and elective language(english).
Well, you're in luck cos do you know you can still go ahead and learn your Bahasa Melayu. You just need to pay for it but you can learn it at your own pace.
Yeah...because the ONLY reason why a person can lose to FTs is because they didn't study hard in the first place. ![]()
And your exalted MM Lee will be so grateful for your praises that he'll even let you lick the soles of his shoes. Why don't you praise him for letting you be born in the first place? I'm surprised why you haven't indentured yourself to him yet.
Please, if you want to be a dog, go to the SPCA or Mt Pleasant animal hospital. Sgforums is a place for HUMANS to post, not DOGS.
Originally posted by parn:Prosperity has different meaning to different people. To you, prosperity probably means have lots of money.
You are indeed confused if you think prosperity is related to kiasi and kiasu. Not all people who are kiasu and kiasi will prosper you know? But if you do not have a prosperity of wisdom up in your brain, you won't prosper even if you are the most kiasu and kiasi person on Earth. So if you applied kiasi attitude in all your exams, and kiasu attitude in all your learning and studies, you might have already accumulated enough prosperity of knowledge to get you to start your own business or inventions. Whether you will prosper or not, nobody knows right? But you will be most likely to prosper among your peers.
I don't understand why people can become ungrateful and bitter when they are obviously living a safe and prosperous country. Are they supposed to be happier if they were living in a third-world country?
People do tons of silly things when they are restless...and this is one very good example.
People tends to forget there is always a higher power up there above the skies, and if they don't treasure their time when they're alive, they will have to live with eternal regret for the rest of their lives. Sometimes, when people has done well for them, they should practise GRACE and give the old man Lee Kuan Yew a pat in the back for providing them with a safe childhood when they were not smart enough to be ungrateful yet.
I think there is communication problems here and I shall just leave it as it is. No point communicating when what I wrote is misinterpreted.
Anyway, LKY, LHL and all in PAP are all perfect, sinless. They are the only people who are perfect and sinless in this country and in the world, so whoever that disagree with them are idiots. FO.
People are funny indeed...it's amazing to see how they behaved badly when they lost an agrument.
Perhaps Speaker's Corner should be renamed to "Barking's Corner" catered specially for losers for barking purposes.
Talking is cheap, but talking without any alternative suggestions to back the argument up is truely and uniquely human's barking at it's best.
Wondered how many forumites will be laughing at those stupid forumites. And thanks GOD there are smart forumites and stupid forumites in this world.
Hahahahahaha.........
Trolls are the ones who bark at all times. They love misinterpreting, slamming, humiliates, adopt condescending attitudes when what they read which are based on facts and reality are not pleasing to them. They behave spoilt brats. Very immature, shallow. Of late, Speakers' Corner has a number of such trolls coming to create scene here to disturb discussions. Some of whom claim to be Christians but behave very badly. This is a disgrace to God.
Some stupid forumite just destined to live their lives hopping from one nick to another because they got banned repeatedly. Forumite as such certainly have zero credibility to their nick and often abused the grace granted by moderators for them to change over a new leaf.
I guess that stupid forumite is just like a special tree among the other trees in the world. They just can't grow leaves, they grow weeds and grass.
Surprising, that stupid forumite also assumed he knows GOD, but little does he knows that when he die, GOD will not know him, for he had used GOD's name in vain.
Some trolls here are just good for nothing but come to forums to spread diseases.
Come to forum with narrow mind and expect everyone to give in to her.
Originally posted by parn:People are funny indeed...it's amazing to see how they behaved badly when they lost an agrument.
Perhaps Speaker's Corner should be renamed to "Barking's Corner" catered specially for losers for barking purposes.
Talking is cheap, but talking without any alternative suggestions to back the argument up is truely and uniquely human's barking at it's best.
Wondered how many forumites will be laughing at those stupid forumites. And thanks GOD there are smart forumites and stupid forumites in this world.
Hahahahahaha.........
Barking corner? With the influx of mongrels like you that'd certainly be a certainty.
And how about a Vomitorium while you're at it? Regurgitated 'arguments' most definitely belong there.
Or we could just save all this crap and build the First Church of Lee Kuan Yew. The existence of such religious fervor for a mere human can be put to good use. Perhaps tithing would be known as ERP or GST and the priests would set records for religious renueration.
Originally posted by rooki:Barking corner? With the influx of mongrels like you that'd certainly be a certainty.
And how about a Vomitorium while you're at it? Regurgitated 'arguments' most definitely belong there.
Or we could just save all this crap and build the First Church of Lee Kuan Yew. The existence of such religious fervor for a mere human can be put to good use. Perhaps tithing would be known as ERP or GST and the priests would set records for religious renueration.
Originally posted by rooki:Barking corner? With the influx of mongrels like you that'd certainly be a certainty.
Let's save all this crap then, and allow all ungrateful children of Singapore leave Singapore if they really feel disgusted from the governing by the PAP government and the founding father, Mr. Lee Kuan Yew.
Oh, by the way...I forgot to mention the reality of awakening, those ungrateful children of Singapore have no ABILITY to leave Singapore. Therefore they are stuck here permanently and in order for them to feel like a Hero, they kpkb here to prove and feel that they are indeed the future voice of Singapore.
Kudos to them!! They had no choice but to be the silent Heroes of the future generation of Singaporeans.
At least they are smart Heroes who decided not to stage a protest outside the Parliament House.
Thank GOD that Singapore Girls are smarter and knows how to choose their guys wisely. Maybe that's why most of these ungrateful people hangs around in the No-Fucking Section of Singapore.
See ya all in Aunt Agony Forums! You won't get a screw there, but you will be screwed over your screw-up life.
Hehehehe.....hahahhahaa.....HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I think parn has lost the plot here...
Not only does his post have no effect on his opponents, to the casual bystander who comes into this thread it really looks like he has run out of things to say and is simply posturing up to give himself some dignity by looking garang.
Kinda pity him...
The report from IBA does not favour dictatorship. This explains why M M Lee is annoyed. This is a first world country as claimed by PAP, the government should accept recommendations for progress for the nation and put aside serving their own agenda.
Troll - I notice the same troll (parn) from other forums is starting the attack here.
the speaker corner has the most trolls/clones/idiots like gazelle and his multiple incarnations... ![]()
Hi guys,
anyone knows if the affected people or organization have sued IBA already?
If not, why ? any idea?
tchuss!!
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:Hi guys,
anyone knows if the affected people or organization have sued IBA already?
If not, why ? any idea?
tchuss!!
So far there is no news from the media that they have gone ahead. Do you think LKY has the guts to do so, they being the IBA?
Originally posted by Fantagf:So far there is no news from the media that they have gone ahead. Do you think LKY has the guts to do so, they being the IBA?
I thought its nothing to do with guts but all to do with protecting integrity?
since someone said someone is trying to do us in, then what are they waiting for?
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:
I thought its nothing to do with guts but all to do with protecting integrity?since someone said someone is trying to do us in, then what are they waiting for?
The old one talks only. I believe he does not want to create a bad name for himself internationally. If he goes ahead to sue, the whole world will know what obnoxious, tyrannical, evil, no human rights dictator is he. He still want face.
Originally posted by Fantagf:The old one talks only. I believe he does not want to create a bad name for himself internationally. If he goes ahead to sue, the whole world will know what obnoxious, tyrannical, evil, no human rights dictator is he. He still want face.
But he sued world class publication and media companies before .
So what is he waiting for?
Integrity is very important right?
Trying to do us in sounds like a serious allegation?
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:
But he sued world class publication and media companies before .So what is he waiting for?
Integrity is very important right?
Trying to do us in sounds like a serious allegation?
SEriously I really don't know - even if he wants to sue, he has to do some "homework" before going ahead. I have read forumers saying that the senior Lee is only excellent in bullying Singaporeans and dare not bully foreigners. Yeah, he even threatens to sue any online forumers for questioning his integrity. This is really evil over the extreme, never have I come across such an evil person. Then I think he should just shut down the internet in Singapore and nobody should use the net to discuss politics. IBA is different from the publication companies, IBA represents law and justice, so I guess he may not want to go ahead to sue. He will be suing the law if he goes ahead.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What sort of bullshit is that Lee Kuan Yew?
You senile already lah.
Believe in your own propaganda.
Singapore poses threat to China and India?
Go and die lah.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Singapore
Raising the bar
Jul 17th 2008
From The Economist print editionA rare slip-up in court by Singapore’s elder statesman, Lee Kuan Yew
MEMBERS of Singapore’s government are notorious sticklers for legal exactitude. So it has been interesting to watch the reaction after the country’s elder statesman, Lee Kuan Yew—a British-trained lawyer before he became a politician—gave inaccurate testimony in the trial of two opposition leaders.
In May Mr Lee testified in a hearing to decide damages against Chee Soon Juan, the leader of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), and his sister, Chee Siok Chin, for defaming the former prime minister and his son, Lee Hsien Loong, who is now prime minister himself. Mr Lee senior claimed that after the London-based International Bar Association (IBA) held its annual conference in Singapore last October, its president sent a letter to the Law Society of Singapore praising the country’s justice system. It has since emerged that there was no such laudatory letter.
Mr Chee (who along with his sister was briefly jailed for contempt for accusing the judge in his case of bias) tried unsuccessfully to have the hearing reconvened in the light of Mr Lee’s incorrect testimony. Mr Lee’s counsel, Davinder Singh, wrote to the court on July 9th admitting that his client was wrong about the letter but noting that the IBA’s president, Fernando Pombo, had praised Singapore’s “outstanding judiciary” in a speech at the start of the conference. Mr Singh argues that what matters is that the IBA did praise Singaporean justice, not whether it did so in a speech or a letter. Mr Chee says there is a difference: the speech was made before the conference, where criticisms of the justice system were aired. Mr Lee was claiming, in effect, that the IBA was still impressed after this.
By coincidence, on July 9th the IBA’s Human Rights Institute issued a report criticising the use of defamation suits by the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) to silence the opposition and the press, and expressing concerns about the independence and impartiality of Singapore’s judges. The law ministry has rejected the IBA’s report, pointing out that Singapore’s legal system has won excellent ratings in other international surveys. Indeed, in cases not involving the country’s leaders, there is no dispute about its quality. As for the IBA’s worries about cases involving PAP figures, the law ministry claims that the IBA failed to substantiate its “grave” allegations with evidence, though its report does discuss several worrying cases.
America’s State Department, which is in rather less danger of being sued by the PAP than are the opposition or newspapers, has expressed concern about judicial independence in political cases in Singapore. In its latest human-rights report, in March, the department noted that the PAP’s consistent success in defamation suits against critics “led to a perception that the judiciary reflected the views of the ruling party in politically sensitive cases.”
According to the Straits Times newspaper, Mr Lee on July 11th accused human-rights organisations of “a conspiracy to do us in”. He said that they saw that Russia and China had been studying Singapore’s success, and hence regarded it as a threat. Mr Lee and the government argue that doing things their way has made Singapore prosperous, orderly and corruption-free, and has earned international respect. The threat of defamation proceedings may make opposition politicians weigh their words more carefully than they do elsewhere. But Singaporean voters continue to buy the PAP’s argument that such constraints are a price worth paying—so far.
he is indeed getting old, so many slip-ups recently. 1st the non existence laudatory letter then the withdrawal of the "conpiracy" statement.