Originally posted by stupidissmart:Then ? Wat is wrong with wat I had said ? It is true isn't it ? Did I say since he is the most intelligent fellow, he must always be right ?
And wat is your problem with it ? Only on the phrase "do not do anything" to "do nothing" and tat make u able to conclude it does not protray the discussion ? The gov officials use the phrase "do nto do anything" and tat is the crux of the discussion. Why suddenly u talk in another tangent and say they r not around to see it ?
Wat logic ? U r putting words into my mouth which i never claim. If u think qualification is everything, then LKY is always right since his qualification is almost unbeatable in his times.
Then ? Wat is wrong with wat I had said ? It is true isn't it ? Did I say since he is the most intelligent fellow, he must always be right ?
Have you or have you not used intelligence as part of your justification?
And wat is your problem with it ? Only on the phrase "do not do anything" to "do nothing" and tat make u able to conclude it does not protray the discussion ? The gov officials use the phrase "do nto do anything" and tat is the crux of the discussion. Why suddenly u talk in another tangent and say they r not around to see it ?
Seems like you have severe comprehension problems. We are already done with that.
Go read back all the replies if you still do not remember what me and M13 said.
Wat logic ? U r putting words into my mouth which i never claim. If u think qualification is everything, then LKY is always right since his qualification is almost unbeatable in his times.
Back to the first question. Have you or have you not used intelligence as part of your justification?
Have you or have you not used intelligence as part of your justification?
I have mentioned einstein intelligence. However the emphasis is also placed on gov officials. I mention einstein is the most intelligent person in the world however tat is not concluding he is always right. Does saying "einstein used to say tis before and he is the most intelligent man in the world" = "people with better qualification r smarter and always right compared with people with poorer qualification". Wat rubbish conclusions r u trying to draw ?
Seems like you have severe comprehension problems. We are already done with that.
Go read back all the replies if you still do not remember what me and M13 said.
Why don't u paste it here instead of just claiming it ? I am sure a dean's list student can handle tat
Originally posted by stupidissmart:I have mentioned einstein intelligence. However the emphasis is also placed on gov officials. I mention einstein is the most intelligent person in the world however tat is not concluding he is always right. Does saying "einstein used to say tis before and he is the most intelligent man in the world" = "people with better qualification r smarter and always right compared with people with poorer qualification"
Why don't u paste it here instead of just claiming it ? I am sure a dean's list student can handle tat
I have mentioned einstein intelligence. However the emphasis is also placed on gov officials. I mention einstein is the most intelligent person in the world however tat is not concluding he is always right. Does saying "einstein used to say tis before and he is the most intelligent man in the world" = "people with better qualification r smarter and always right compared with people with poorer qualification"
You didn't place any emphasis. You said this
They r made by the most intelligent person in the world and also by a senior officer in America. They r already a good gauge that there is nothing wrong with using the phrase "people who do not do anything".
Not gov officials hor.
Back to the first question again. From the above quote, you tell me, have you or have you not used intelligence as part of your justification?
You are telling me you are putting the effort on me because you cannot remember what was said earlier?
If you cannot remember or cannot be bothered to check back, it is already obvious that you do not even know what is going on before posting.
Not gov officials hor.
Back to the first question again. From the above quote, you tell me, have you or have you not used intelligence as part of your justification?
How about
I don't think u have the right to comment since it is used by a lot of politicians and even senior officers in England and America.
It is officials. I have quoted einstein, and so does other gov department and gov officials. Then ?
You are telling me you are putting the effort on me because you cannot remember what was said earlier?
If you cannot remember or cannot be bothered to check back, it is already obvious that you do not even know what is going on before posting.
Com'on la. U r claiming tat I have a comprehension problem about the way the letter is phrased My memory is tat all had been rebuked. Since u r claiming something against me, surely u should be the one who list it out and not just claim something is out there somewhere.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:How about
I don't think u have the right to comment since it is used by a lot of politicians and even senior officers in England and America.
It is officials. I have quoted einstein, and so does other gov department and gov officials. Then ?
Com'on la. U r claiming tat I have a comprehension problem about the way the letter is phrased My memory is tat all had been rebuked. Since u r claiming something against me, surely u should be the one who list it out and not just claim something is out there somewhere.
Do you understand what is meant by part of your justification?
I have told you that your letter was not an accurate description of what was going on. So has M13. That's what has been said many pages earlier, and what has been said a page earlier.
Then you continue to tell me about the phrase "do not do anything". Please lah.
Do you understand what is meant by part of your justification?
Well I stated the gov officials in too. U might as well make me eat more words by claiming I said tat "civil servants r always right". I stated an example and it happened to be the most intelligent person in the world. However tat DOES NOT MEAN because he is the most intelligent person he is always right.
I have told you that your letter was not an accurate description of what was going on. So has M13. That's what has been said many pages earlier, and what has been said a page earlier.
For M13, I had already given him a reply repeatedly which he never answer to it.
For u, the only thing u complain about is "do not do anything". I have also told u it is a correct interpretation of MY enquiry which u never answer to it as well. So ? Wat r the specific problem u r seeing ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Well I stated the gov officials in too. U might as well make me eat more words by claiming I said tat "civil servants r always right". I stated an example and it happened to be the most intelligent person in the world. However tat DOES NOT MEAN because he is the most intelligent person he is always right.
For M13, I had already given him a reply repeatedly which he never answer to it.
For u, the only thing u complain about is "do not do anything". I have also told u it is a correct interpretation of MY enquiry which u never answer to it as well. So ? Wat r the specific problem u r seeing ?
nvm
I give up on your stupidity
let you win
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Well I stated the gov officials in too. U might as well make me eat more words by claiming I said tat "civil servants r always right". I stated an example and it happened to be the most intelligent person in the world. However tat DOES NOT MEAN because he is the most intelligent person he is always right.
Yes Yes. I cannot answer you.
You win. ![]()
Go collect you prize from FireIce for being the smartest in sgForums.
Seems like I'm not the only one who says this.
See this post from CNA forums.
On the subject of helping to CREATE jobs, this is what actually happens:
There is a quota system for employer to hire foreign worker (SP & WP). The employer must have a number of local headcounts (C + PR) and based on this is then allocated foreign worker quota. For example in the services sector, it will need to "employ" 5 local workers to get a quota of 5 WP of which only 1 can be from PRC.
Many SMEs and small restaurants and shops will not have so many local employees. So in order to get the quota, what these companies did was to simply contribute CPF for some housewives, their uncles and aunties who are not working.
Ha ha, now we suddenly got an improvement in labor employment and most amazingly, many senior citizens or older workers are back in the workforce again. I remember our dear Dr. Ng EH was so proud of his ministries, but they either do not know the real reasons or pretended not to know.
So we got PHANTOM JOBS being created for the local workforce and got VIRTUAL improvements in unemployment figures! -- everything is virutal that sounds like computer games more than reality.
http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/viewtopic.php?t=172561&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=10
Originally posted by Melbournite:anyone can notice the parallellism here? Thats really strange that 1000 ppl every year migrate.
last i know that this scenario is for 3rd world countries like Sri Lanka, Africa where they come to Australia to escape their hopeless fate in their homelands. These people could not go back due to various reasons like civil war, poverty ect. and they stay in australia to get an education and a job.
But Singapore, a first world country?! . 1st world country, 3rd world situation. Uniquely Singapore.
Singaporeans are the new "refugees", abeit a higher class one, educated and skilled in other countries.
There are other parallellesims as well which such as the Death Penalty and Caning which resembles 3rd world countries.
PERMANENT DEPARTURES ---oz citizens estimated 4 times higher than SG per 100,000
Ok Lets talk gross migration----outgoing to other countries permanently,
SG citizens is about 3.3 million while Oz is about 20.6 million.
Thats 6 times.
If SG is 1000 a year (30 per 100,000),then Oz shall be less than 6000, right?
But u guess how many leave Oz in a year?
72,100!!That is 350 per 100,000.But i dunt know how many Oz
citizens included in this figure.
I estimate only one--third is Oz citizens,say 23,000 is citizens.
116 per 100,000 citizens leave Oz in a year, for all population 20.6 million.
Permanent departures of 70,000 pa from Oz----how many are citizens?
http://www.abs.gov.au/AUSSTATS/[email protected]/Latestproducts/3412.0Main%20Features22006-07?opendocument&tabname=Summary&prodno=3412.0&issue=2006-07&num=&view=
Over the nine years ending 2006-07, the number of permanent departure movements from Australia has doubled to 72,100.
2005--2006---see link below.
Permanent departures--67 900
There are 150,000 FT migrated to Oz,two third under skilled workers scheme,
the rest family reunion.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/National/Govt-releases-latest-migration-figures/2007/08/16/1186857656649.html
2005---2006
http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/ausstats/subscriber.nsf/0/E0A79B147EA8E0B5CA2572AC001813E8/$File/34120_2005-06.pdf
p 16
Permanent arrivals (settlers)
131 600 — included in NOM
Permanent departures
67 900 — included in NOM
Explanations
To be fair,i dunt know how much Oz citizens included in the
Permanent departures figures.i think u can dig out from the sources
i provide here,,Dunt close your eyes.
Lets take it one third----a year say 70,000--one third is 23,000!!
OMG---that is 116/100,000!!!
Anything above 6,000 is more serious than SG migration ''problem.''
I dunt see it as problem--
Melbournite see it as problem.
Pl note the Oz figure double in 9 years,thats increase 8%
per annum!!!
Interest rate of Oz $$$ falls in first time in 7 years.
How do the Oz $$ move---up or down!!
Can u guys tell me how many Oz citizens leave a year??
I think i get closer to the truths.
215 Oz citizens PERMANENT DEPARTURES per 100,000 Oz citizens!!
Compare with Singapore 1000 per 3.3 million citizens
ie 30 citizens per 100,000 citizens!!
Lets see the population composition.
http://www.censusdata.abs.gov.au/ABSNavigation/prenav/ProductSelect?newproducttype=QuickStats&btnSelectProduct=View+QuickStats+%3E&collection=Census&period=2006&areacode=0&geography=&method=&productlabel=&producttype=&topic=&navmapdisplayed=true&javascript=true&breadcrumb=LP&topholder=0&leftholder=0¤taction=201&action=401&textversion=false
SELECTED CHARACTERISTICS...................... Australia.2006 Census....% of total persons
Australian citizenship.............................17,095,569......86.1%
Persons born overseas...........................4,416,037.......22.2%
Overseas visitors (excluded from.
all other classifications)............................,,206,358.........1%
Total population......................................19,855,288--
Most people counted in the 2006 Census were Australian citizens (86%). Although the proportion of the population who are citizens decreased slightly, the number of citizens increased by about 535,000 between 2001 and 2006 .
How many Oz citizens left in 2006/07?
http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/[email protected]/featurearticlesbyCatalogue/A70FF8840DB7515ECA25741700118F47?OpenDocument
If u take the overall 72,100 PERMANENT DEPARTURES
from Oz !!That is 350 per 100,000 for overall population of 19.9 million.
Among them Oz-born and overseas born share almost the half.
In 2006-07, there were 36,800 Australia-born residents (including Australia-born children whose parents were former settlers) who permanently departed Australia.
So,i assume 36,800 are Oz citizens.In fact ,i think oz citizens
should be much more than 36,800.We divide by 17,095,569.citizens,
ie 215 Oz citizens PERMANENT DEPARTURES per 100,000 Oz citizens!!
Compare with Singapore 1000 per 3.3 million citizens
ie 30 citizens per 100,000 citizens!!
j
5.3 PERMANENT DEPARTURES, Australia - Country of birth
http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/[email protected]/featurearticlesbyCatalogue/A70FF8840DB7515ECA25741700118F47?OpenDocument
Many of u eager migrate to oz.No problem to all of us here.
But can u tell me why some still left oz?
5.1 PERMANENT ARRIVALS AND PERMANENT DEPARTURES, Australia
Arrivals more than departures.
err, pardon my ignorance, what welfares do we (singaporeans) have?
Originally posted by timidtigress:err, pardon my ignorance, what welfares do we (singaporeans) have?
free casket, sponsor by Singapore Casket Pte Ltd.
Lion Noisy ,
Sooooo.. can you also tell us hor.. these Australians migrate to which country ah ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Lion Noisy ,
Sooooo.. can you also tell us hor.. these Australians migrate to which country ah ?
wah u so free to read his wall of text ah....
Originally posted by eagle:wah u so free to read his wall of text ah....
you no no how to use speed reading skill meh ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Lion Noisy ,
I read in a local paper in which a local said some of the foreigner took local citizenship in order to migrate to other countries cause local passport is like
gateway to other countries. Is it easy to get US citizenship if u got local passport?
Originally posted by jojobeach:
you no no how to use speed reading skill meh ?
still need the time right?
me can't be bothered to spend the time to do so on the wall
Originally posted by will4:
I read in a local paper in which a local said some of the foreigner took local citizenship in order to migrate to other countries cause local passport is likegateway to other countries. Is it easy to get US citizenship if u got local passport?
Yes, correct lah.
Visa and immigration policies are reciprocal.
Singapore has very good connections with many countries. That is why Singapore passport holders no need visa to visit many countries.
China/India another other 3rd worlds have many illegals immigrant in USA.
Have you ever heard of Singaporean Illegal Immigrant in USA ? Nope.
Because we are law abiding citizens, others are taking advantage of what good faith we have established lor.
O think this whole saga regarding the departure and arrivals does not tell us anything significant.
Some aus citizens leave for a myriad of reasons and its not stated where they left for. OZ citizens leave and one of the reasons is taxation which may be lower in other countries. I know some of them reside in Asian countries. But none of them choose singapore. But those immmigrating from sngapore is a diferent scenario altogheter
Here the reasons:
1) Higher pay and higher quality of life
2) Assurance of social welfare and security
3) Freedom or democracy
The reason whyits 1000 per 3.3 million population sis that many of them are stuck in singapore due to financial reasons or lack of skills or ducation suc as a degree. due to getting permanent residency in their destination country. I have no doubt the figure will be much higher if they only had the financial means and the skills
But believe me, Aus is a much better place than Singapore. It may be because their own citizens leaving may not realise this.Taken for granted.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:O think this whole saga regarding the departure and arrivals does not tell us anything significant.
Some aus citizens leave for a myriad of reasons and its not stated where they left for. OZ citizens leave and one of the reasons is taxation which may be lower in other countries. I know some of them reside in Asian countries. But none of them choose singapore. But those immmigrating from sngapore is a diferent scenario altogheter
Here the reasons:
1) Higher pay and higher quality of life
2) Assurance of social welfare and security
3) Freedom or democracy
The reason whyits 1000 per 3.3 million population sis that many of them are stuck in singapore due to financial reasons or lack of skills or ducation suc as a degree. due to getting permanent residency in their destination country. I have no doubt the figure will be much higher if they only had the financial means and the skills
To be honest,last year 17,000 applied for Certificate of No Criminal Records
in from SG police.The figure include SG citizen,PR and foreigners.
70% said the paper needed for migrations.
u have reason to think actual no. of citizens leaving SG is higher.
But how many really want to give up the Red Passport is another issue.
financial reasons or lack of skills or ducation suc as a degree.
U may be right,but too simple.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:To be honest,last year 17,000 applied for Certificate of No Criminal Records
the figure stated 1000 successfully left. But not the figures for those who want to leave. I am sure, as u stated 17 , 000 are wanting to leave.
BUT FINACIAL REASON DUE TO LOW PAY, LACK OF ANY REAL ASSET is the reason why many are still stuck. A recent survey conducted shows that 50 % of singapore's youth wanting to leave.
But in AUS, many citizens have the real skills and expereince to leave for their destination countries as life here is not controlled and repressed in terms of education, training, work force ect.
I know many Aus youths 21 years old in age are already stire or retail managers, comparing to our sg youth who at 21 still in Poly or serving NS.
It is all these cumulative reasons as to why many are still stuck here. You may be right, its not simple, but complicated.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:To be honest,last year 17,000 applied for Certificate of No Criminal Records
One factor that affects the eligibility of citizens for migration is educational level. A developed country assesses the suitability of candidates based on educational level, the higher the educational level, the more likely you would be granted citizenship. Another factor could be the amount of wealth that you can bring into their country.
There could also be other social factors that precludes Asians from migrating to more westernised societies.
Australia's above Bachelor Degree graduates was 22.7% for 2006, while Singapore's was 13.5% for 2005. There is no question that Australia has more qualified candidates for immigration. Not many people in Singapore qualify for immigration to developed countries.
There is little doubt that "lionnoisy" could ever satisfy the criteria for immigration status in Australia, hence the vindictiveness of his attitude towards Australia. ![]()
One thing's for sure, I am just glad I don't live next door to "lionnoisy", for if I were to better him in any aspects, he would start criticising me and my family in front of our neighbours. ![]()
A competent and self-confident person is incapable of jealousy in anything. Jealousy is invariably a sympton of neurotic insecurity. -- Robert A. Heinlein