Originally posted by redDUST:but you failed to see a distinct difference here. you are all too fond on looking at things on the surface....
actually, thats exactly my opinion of certain breed of Singaporeans who think so highly of Australia and refusing to accept the fact that many young and capable Australia born australians are trying to get out the country to seek for better opportunities.
Originally posted by O o O:
actually, thats exactly my opinion of certain breed of Singaporeans who think so highly of Australia and refusing to accept the fact that many young and capable Australia born australians are trying to get out the country to seek for better opportunities.
sorry, you STILL missed the point. i am not talking about getting out.
you are an unmaned runaway one track mind train.
Originally posted by redDUST:sorry, you STILL missed the point. i am not talking about getting out.
you are an unmaned runaway one track mind train.
I dont think you quite understand what this thread is all about.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Yeah, right. I come across a number of aussie expats here. They return to downunder for home leave or when their contract expire. None of them I know of give up on Australia and settle down here. Same goes to friends and relatives who have migrated to Australia, they will not come back to settle down in Singapore.
Returning to Australia after leaving Australia is still sane...but returning to singapore after leaving singapore is incredibly insane and also insanely dumb
Originally posted by pigsticker:isn't it the same everywhere.. the grass is always greener on the other side...
It's not the same in Singapore. There's no free lunch.
Singaporeans can go anywhere in the world to buy their lunch...and maybe even get free lunch.
Originally posted by Melbournite:Returning to Australia after leaving Australia is still sane...but returning to singapore after leaving singapore is incredibly insane and also insanely dumb
It really depends what you look for in life. If you think that being close to your friends and families, eating your favourite asian, having easy access to good healthcare facilities, having domestic helper to take care of you during your final years of your life are all not important.
Btw, do you mind telling us what is so great about retiring in australia that Singapore cant offer if you have money?
It really depends what you look for in life. If you think that being close to your friends and families, eating your favourite asian, having easy access to good healthcare facilities, having domestic helper to take care of you during your final years of your life are all not important.Btw, do you mind telling us what is so great about retiring in australia that Singapore cant offer if you have money?
that is if u have money...But what if u dont , like some ppl who return halfway. If emotions are an issue, they can still be worked around...
I dont think you quite understand what this thread is all about.
i do. it is about making a sweeping statement with no substance.
The article says well educated australians are leaving, yes of cos they can leave for other countries which pays them higher...same as for well educated singaporeans are living for other countries which pays them higher...
Pple always look for better things all the time. Btw the article suggests that they are living for london and such places, are u sure london has a lower taxation than australia?
Originally posted by Melbournite:that is if u have money...But what if u dont , like some ppl who return halfway. If emotions are an issue, they can still be worked around...
I remember talking to a local civil servant n he said majority of Indonesian after studying in this country would likely go to live in
Australia cause this country is too small.
Are you sure the MOST australian living overseas are living on expat package? or are you making your own assumption based on 1 or 2 Australian expats you know who are living in Singapore?
look at the ang mor staying in singapore, they are either expats or tourists...
there are no middle income ang moh living in HDB...
Originally posted by will4:
I remember talking to a local civil servant n he said majority of Indonesian after studying in this country would likely go to live in
Australia cause this country is too small.
it works by this theory, given the situation in singapore, they will be also realise that its not as rosy as they initially thought it was, due to the quality of life found here, so what happens is that they realise they holding a little red book called the singapore passport which is the stepping stone to other countries. Psychology will tell u that when stuck in a sticky situation, u will look for the next best thing and the best resource u have to achieve that.
U come out of the desert to be stuck in a dark cave and heave a sigh of relief for a little while till reality starts to grab u . U realise that though the cave is better than the desert, u still find your self in a similar situation. and u only have some matches at hand at this time, u will 100% sure to light up those matches to find your way out not back into the desert but to another place called oasis where its teeming with life, much better than the desert and cave.
Originally posted by googoomuck:It's not the same in Singapore. There's no free lunch.
Singaporeans can go anywhere in the world to buy their lunch...and maybe even get free lunch.
the grass may not be greener at the other side, but lunch over there is defintely better value for money, nvm if its not free. agreed?
A hawker tells u there is no free lunch but gives u an inferior lunch for the money paid, i will rather go somewhere else which has a better lunch even though its higher priced..
Originally posted by Melbournite:look at the ang mor staying in singapore, they are either expats or tourists...
there are no middle income ang moh living in HDB...
I suggest that you go to Singaporeexpat forum to ask how many of them are actually living on expat package and please also go read some HR journal to find out more about Singapore pay package.
I believe the main reason why you make such baseless assumption is because you are born to become a white dick sucker and thats why you always believe that they are a threat to your livelihood when they visit Singapore. And somehow I think that has also motivated you to migrate to Australia because you believe that one day you will become more superior than Singaporeans and will return as an expat.
Btw, care to share with us, what TALENT do you have that Singapore cant replaced?
Originally posted by Melbournite:the grass may not be greener at the other side, but lunch over there is defintely better value for money, nvm if its not free. agreed?
A hawker tells u there is no free lunch but gives u an inferior lunch for the money paid, i will rather go somewhere else which has a better lunch even though its higher priced..
Care to share with us what did you have to lunch today?
Btw, care to share with us, what TALENT do you have that Singapore cant replaced?
Actually if the Singaporean educational system is capable of producing an individual of your caliber with your "skill" in comprehending basic logic, as well as the "population" of weak-minded individuals who see "obviously rotten" Australia as greener pasture then indeed there is something very wrong with Singapore indeed.
Gazelle self-pwnage anyone?
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Actually if the Singaporean educational system is capable of producing an individual of your caliber with your "skill" in comprehending basic logic, as well as the "population" of weak-minded individuals who see "obviously rotten" Australia as greener pasture then indeed there is something very wrong with Singapore indeed.
Stop self-abusing your own ego, thats not very good for your mental health.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Actually if the Singaporean educational system is capable of producing an individual of your caliber with your "skill" in comprehending basic logic, as well as the "population" of weak-minded individuals who see "obviously rotten" Australia as greener pasture then indeed there is something very wrong with Singapore indeed.
Dont bother with that guy, obviously he is saying singaporean who live for greenerr pastures are dumb even after getting their Degree/MBA..
Anything new?
Originally posted by Melbournite:Dont bother with that guy, obviously he is saying singaporean who live for greenerr pastures are dumb even after getting their Degree/MBA..
You might have your double degree and gone through some hlaf fuck MBA program in Australia, that will mean nothing if you cabt handle facts and political discuss in logical manner
Please lah...MBA holder is of no use if he dont have with at least 10 years of managerial experience and hold a position of at least a senior manager. From what I know, most Singapore MBA students graduate from Australia are overly qualified for their job, which eventually become a liability instead of an asset.
Originally posted by O o O:Almost 1 million Australians now live overseas and those abandoning their homeland are some of the brightest stars born under the Southern Cross.
According to figures from the Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs, the number of Australians moving overseas on a permanent or long-term basis has grown steadily from 74,000 a year in 1993 to almost 120,000 last year, many of them heading to the commercial hot spots of London, New York, Hong Kong, Tokyo and Frankfurt.
No one would care if 1 million of Australia's C team abandoned their boring jobs for a new life in Coventry or Kentucky but when almost 70 per cent of those leaving are professionals, managers and administrators, then governments take notice.
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2004/01/31/1075340890279.html
Reasons for leaving: -
Better, more flexible employment opportunities outside Australia
Receiving an overseas job offer or transfer within a multinational company
Education and study
Travel and a desire to gain international life experience
Professional development
Escaping the high income taxation level in Australia
Availability of higher income overseas.
Yes, they are coming to countries like Singapore and Malaysia who are stupid enough to give them expat pay for having just one bachelor's degree, complete with car, housing, holiday, kid's tuiton fees, etc etc, etc.
They then come and enjoy life because with the pay they get in Singapore they are treated like kings for being white, the spgs flock to them for easy screws whereas no Aussie girl would dream of touching his pot belly and they basically know they are getting much more than they deserve.
..................While the average Singaporean works like a dog under the expat.
Great system.
I don't know who is stupid. The Singapore Government or the Aussie one.
Originally posted by GameGoddess:
Yes, they are coming to countries like Singapore and Malaysia who are stupid enough to give them expat pay for having just one bachelor's degree, complete with car, housing, holiday, kid's tuiton fees, etc etc, etc.
They then come and enjoy life because with the pay they get in Singapore they are treated like kings for being white, the spgs flock to them for easy screws whereas no Aussie girl would dream of touching his pot belly and they basically know they are getting much more than they deserve.
..................While the average Singaporean works like a dog under the expat.
Great system.I don't know who is stupid. The Singapore Government or the Aussie one.
How sure are you that most Australians living in Singapore are all living on expat package? Or is this just something you assumed to make Singaporeans feel bad about themselves?
the question is how much of the 1 million overseas australians are living in singapore?
less than 100 is my guess
Originally posted by ChiBet:the question is how much of the 1 million overseas australians are living in singapore?
less than 100 is my guess
Instead of making wild guesses and speculating, you might want to consider reading what forummers have already posted in this thread.
Originally posted by O o O:Instead of making wild guesses and speculating, you might want to consider reading what forummers have already posted in this thread.
sorry, wall of text makes my vision blur
was there a number quoted already?
how many australians are livin in singapore?