during the rally... Like that how ah?
He was referring to stock market the chao ku piao in short form
Originally posted by angel7030:
He was referring to stock market the chao ku piao in short form
but like that hor.. means chao2 gu3 piao4
still not chao3 piao4 leh...
Originally posted by eagle:but like that hor.. means chao2 gu3 piao4
still not chao3 piao4 leh...
hahaha..i think next time he sure got to be careful with his third language, he is good in malay ya.
Originally posted by eagle:But but but
our PM pronounced currency notes in Mandarin as
chao3 piao4 (frying tickets)
instead of
chao1 piao4 (currency notes)
during the rally... Like that how ah?
he never study hanyu pinyin so is speaking singlish mandarin mah...we understand so won't kena fried. You meant M13 can speak the beijing mandarin huh..?
hahaha..i think next time he sure got to be careful with his third language, he is good in malay ya.
he came from the old chinese school so pronunciation not so good. but if you pick on him like that next time he will get a PRC talent to read his message. How do you like Zhang Haijie?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:he never study hanyu pinyin so is speaking singlish mandarin mah...we understand so won't kena fried. You meant M13 can speak the beijing mandarin huh..?
though i have beijing gf, but i still can't speak beijing mandarin, but as a chinese i sure won't go fry my currency.
his level of spoken Chinese is horrendous by average standards, but at least he can speak better than those Malaysian Chinese.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:he came from the old chinese school so pronunciation not so good. but if you pick on him like that next time he will get a PRC talent to read his message. How do you like Zhang Haijie?
Think he was from Catholic High, the level of Chinese in that school must be below national average, all will graduate speaking like LHL.
My third language is body language.. so who is proficient in this har ?
Originally posted by maurizio13:
though i have beijing gf, but i still can't speak beijing mandarin, but as a chinese i sure won't go fry my currency.his level of spoken Chinese is horrendous by average standards, but at least he can speak better than those Malaysian Chinese.
to be fair, malaysia's mandarin is slang as well. if you've been to guangzhou, or the guangdong province, the southern chinese speaks their putong-hua almost similar to malaysia.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:he never study hanyu pinyin so is speaking singlish mandarin mah...we understand so won't kena fried. You meant M13 can speak the beijing mandarin huh..?
Singlish Mandarin also not like that mah... Schools don't teach it like this... ![]()
Weren't you talking about correct usage of language? ![]()
P.S. Actually I just find it fun to use this emoticon ![]()
hahaha nice one
We dunno Malay, so we say his Malay good lor... Wonder what our fellow Malay citizens/friends will say.... ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:
though i have beijing gf, but i still can't speak beijing mandarin, but as a chinese i sure won't go fry my currency.his level of spoken Chinese is horrendous by average standards, but at least he can speak better than those Malaysian Chinese.
Actually made these mistakes is ok one... as long as learn from mistakes can liao...
I'm very impressed by an old LKY's story on how he overcome learning a dialect (forgot which one) to talk to the people of one of the constituencies to win against the Barisan. He made mistakes, people laugh, but he learn from them, and did it even better the next time. This can be said as perfectionist attitude, but it was a magnificent display of his resolve to come down to the people at that time.
Originally posted by eagle:hahaha nice one
We dunno Malay, so we say his Malay good lor... Wonder what our fellow Malay citizens/friends will say....
as for malay, he knows what he is talking about. though there is cue/prompter to help him along, his enunciations, word-stress do indicate he is conversant and understand the language.
today's newspaper
Temasek Holdings increased it's assets by $21 bil leh.
Originally posted by eagle:today's newspaper
But the fools harping about huge losses by Temasek are illiterate leh, how to understand?
Originally posted by eagle:today's newspaper
OoooOooohh.. somebody went shopping again ?
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:But the fools harping about huge losses by Temasek are illiterate leh, how to understand?
Hey dun call names lah. Its a discussion here. Regarding investments, it will always be 2 schools of thought cos everyone differ in their risk profiles. I agree with investing now especially when times are bad and prices are low. It is a high risk which will bring high gains if it goes thru, and will fall badly if the bank goes bust. But well,everyone is entitled to opinions, so lets not call each other names and just carry on the discussion. Play nice ok hehehe....
The traitors have just sold two of Singapore's three money-generating companies, the gencos...hehehe
Originally posted by googoomuck:The traitors have just sold two of Singapore's three money-generating companies, the gencos...hehehe
These are critical national assets.
That is to distance themselves from these public utilities company. Whatever these companies charge for electricity is none of their business as they have no control over it. But unbeknownst to most, the future profits from the sale is already in their pockets.
As expected Merrill Lynch drops to an all time low of $19.83, the $22.50 paid for by Temasek 1-2 months ago was overpriced as usual.
Ho Ching, please get your act together, if you can't shape up (obviously you can't even if your life depended on it), please ship out. Cronism is bad for the country, putting relatives in important position when they are incompetent leads to the demise of the country.
Stop using Singaporeans' retirement funds for you punting bouts!!!

Originally posted by maurizio13:As expected Merrill Lynch drops to an all time low of $19.83, the $22.50 paid for by Temasek 1-2 months ago was overpriced as usual.
Ho Ching, please get your act together, if you can't shape up (obviously you can't even if your life depended on it), please ship out. Cronism is bad for the country, putting relatives in important position when they are incompetent leads to the demise of the country.
Stop using Singaporeans' retirement funds for you punting bouts!!!
Sometimes I wonder where her loyalty lies.
I wonder if she still loves her husband.. if her loyalty is to Singapore.
A woman scorned can cause much damage.. if not careful.
She may be reaping personal benefit in that kind of position. But what is her true intent for the people of Singapore ??
Being a woman myself.. I wonder.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Sometimes I wonder where her loyalty lies.
She may be reaping personal benefit in that kind of position. But what is her true intent for the people of Singapore ??
Well, guess she is having fun there, anyway, as a corporate leader, you dun hv to answer for all the losses, at the end of the day, just resign. Get your saving and booommm...to resort with sand and beach,,..dine and wine..
And if her husband is to complain and make noises, she just dun let him hv it tonight, i think he had no choice but to submit to her dog cuff
Originally posted by jojobeach:Sometimes I wonder where her loyalty lies.
Don't think it's about loyalty, it's about putting incompetent people based on relationships rather than abilities.
This is the type of meritocracy that our benevolent dictator promotes.
they said we must pay high $$$$ to these smart people to lead TE KAN MA SEK.
Their so call smart people .wondering how they cover all these losess?????.
Originally posted by Tigosing:they said we must pay high $$$$ to these smart people to lead TE KAN MA SEK.
Their so call smart people .wondering how they cover all these losess?????.
Increase public utilities tariffs, public transport fares, ERPs, Property Tax (Net Annual Value), etc..........