errr...i wud like to think on the bright side....this mean they are going to give out more angpows...wooohheeee! ![]()
SM Goh confident PAP will eventually win back Hougang
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 26 July 2008 2156 hrs

SINGAPORE : Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong has said Singapore's political system should facilitate the emergence of a strong, effective government after every election and a responsible, constructive opposition.
Mr Goh was speaking at the National Day Dinner of the opposition-held ward of Hougang on Saturday.
His key message at the dinner was that the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) must continue to produce results which make people's lives better.
He also said the PAP must never lose the people's trust as this is the ruling party's recipe for the continued success of Singapore.
Mr Goh said that is why he is confident of eventually winning Hougang back from the opposition.
Mr Goh was in the thick of action in the opposition-held ward of Hougang during the last general election in 2006.
Returning for this year's National Day celebrations, Mr Goh noted that the opposition parliamentarian for the area since 1991, Low Thia Khiang, believes his job is just to ask questions and check the ruling party, but not to offer solutions to problems.
Mr Goh said this is a rather narrow view of the role of an opposition. And the Senior Minister has thrown a challenge to the advisor and grassroots leaders of the Hougang division - to keep its incumbent Mr Low on his toes.
Mr Goh said, "Amongst the things you can do... I suggest you study the annual accounts of the town council to ensure that the funds are properly used. Check whether the arrears for S&C (service and conservancy) charges are piling up, and eating into their reserves. Make sure that enough money is put aside for cyclical maintenance.
"In your walkabouts, check on the estate maintenance. If Mr Low has done a good job, give him credit for it. If there are deficiencies, point them out to the residents. In short, play the role of an effective opposition in Hougang."
He noted, "Eventually, I believe we will win Hougang back, but whether we do or not, I think (we should) serve the people. That's what we are here for."
Mr Goh noted that the people living in the opposition ward know that they have benefited from government policies. But many also think that there should be an opposition to keep the ruling party on its toes.
The Senior Minister said, "Ideally, our political system should facilitate the emergence of a strong, effective government after every election and a responsible, constructive opposition.
"But no matter how you design it, there is no guarantee, because it depends on whether good, honest and competent people come forward to stand for elections and the wisdom of the electorate when they cast their ballot.
"So there's a natural tendency - which I can appreciate of some people wanting to have a voice, not belonging to the party, not belonging to the PAP - to check and balance the PAP. That's understandable because people want to debate issues, they want to have their views expressed in Parliament."
So Mr Goh said the ruling party's primary task before the next election, which is due by 2011, is to look for good candidates.
He said, "In India, the world's largest democracy, several criminals have been elected into Parliament and some are serving jail terms, including one convicted murderer who is waiting for his appeal to be heard.
"But recently, they were brought out to vote because a confidence motion on the government was hanging in the balance. They were of course then returned to jail. But can you imagine MPs with criminal records holding the future of Singapore in their hands?"
So the Senior Minister hopes the opposition too would look for good candidates so voters will be given a real choice. - CNA/ms
Fucking Lee Kuan Yew die off see whether you still fucking confident.
Once the fucker dies all bets are off.
Cowbaycowboo: Going to give more ang pow .....woohheeee!!
I dont think so - PAP will become smarter come the next election as they must have learnt that in the last general election the brave & principled voters of Hougang, in spite of the dangling of the carrots (not forgeting freebies of free porridge/breakfast ...) to the tune of millions of dollars for upgrading Hougang if they were to win the election, gave the PAP the thumbs down .... & the result was that the % of votes for the Workers Party increased as compared to the previous election.
There is a saying "everything has a price" but the great voters of Hougang answered that saying: "Look here - no deal".
Why don't PAP just change the boundaries of Hougang SMC?
Cannot win then erase off Hougang SMC lah.
Like Anson, Cheng san lor.
Need me to teach meh fucking PAP.
Fuck off lah.
Bastard.
How come the old bastard never open his fucking mouth to comment?
I thought he like to fucking talk about political affairs?
He also know the public see him as shit ar?
That old fucker open his fucking mouth ask hougang residents to vote for PAP, they also even more sian, won't vote for PAP.
Old fucking bastard.
Yeah, they will win back hougang, but lose aljunied GRC in the process.![]()
Referring to the words of LKY, he said that opposition parties would not have credible people to handle Singapore. The fact is that he did not give them a chance to do so.
But now Goh CK has his speech in the opposition's turf, from the report posted by TS, i feeled that he is demoralising the opposition party's confidence in handling hougang.
If he really succeed in doing that, he might win back PAP and this will proves LKY's words on no credible people in opposition party. Why don't he comment on his own PAP instead?
Its kind of a mind challenge. Downright despicable!
Tell them to go fuck off lah.
Win back hougang?
Political typhoon finish off your fucking PAP hegemony than you fucking wake up.
Fucking bastard.
Your fucking propaganda won't work on me one PAP.
Don't be naive and think that I will be fooled by your lan jiao propaganda in state media.
You can jolly well go and fucking die.
Being pragmatic people, would it more likely that a capable (can be on paper) choose to join the P4P or the WP?
This is 1 factor.
While Opposition has not been Effective in pushing for much change (name me),
we should ask ourselves, how much power does the Opposition have in the 1st place? How much funding available to help the people? How much media coverage for them? I have no idea.
That is the 2nd factor.
Assuming goh has his way (why did he suddenly announce via ST about regaining HG?), we should brace ourselves to 'enjoy' 1 party state. Imagine, you get to see no opposition in parl debate with the P4P on social and political issues (affecting apathetic and non-apathetic 1st world citizens) ERP issues, annuity like issues (if happen in future), HDB issues, CNG issues, Effect of Casino issues, FT issues and the list can go on forever.
That, my friends, is the 3rd thing to consider.
Its my personal believe that there are many who like to see Opposition as a force to be reckoned with. Sadly, but truely, the problem seems to me is a Supply issue and not so much a Demand issue. Opposition parties need to wake up and swallow their pride now more than ever. There should be 1 leader . Else, confusion and de-synergisation may happen. Self-defeating. They only have about 2 years to create something. They need to avoid competiting among themselves and really look at the large picture and future of singapore and synergise, strategise and show the voters they can bring some concrete change that benefits the people.
If LTK remains as he is, in terms of his performance, what improvement has he made and will he make? When asked if he prefers that guy to go, what did he say? They must move 1 gear up.
By the way, I find that the news report would be even more interesting if , instead of just spreading information about how goh intends to win back, LTK's is also interviewed and given a chance to speak to the people also.
Sad. but true.
my 2 cents only.
jingo - the neutral observer
i got a feeling PAP will lose more ![]()
I think next one will Aljinied they will lose...and some other areas where there are the young generation residing like on Senkang and Punggol..
He said, "In India, the world's largest democracy, several criminals have been elected into Parliament and some are serving jail terms, including one convicted murderer who is waiting for his appeal to be heard.
I am sorry, but i think this is a one sided picture of India he is representing. Regardless of this, India economy is still booming.
The last 2nd most powerful PAP member SM Goh is talking rubbish again.Some ppl might find it strange why i like to criticise this guy,but from the way n content that he speak whenever he pop up in the media,u guys will realise why i hated this boot-licker so much.
Another thing is this SM Goh like to think,or rather,imagine himself as being an important figure in Singapore politics.But the fact is,throughout his political career,at least up until now,he has not done any "important" or significant contribution to Singapore politics.Unlike Lee Teng Hui of Taiwan who overthrown Jiang family dictatorship n hence,generally recognised by the Taiwanese as "The father of democracy of Taiwan".Or Boris Yeltsen who overthrown Russian communism n being entitled by the Russian as the "Founder of modern Russia",what has SM Goh contribute to Singapore politics?
What Singaporeans can see is,this SM Goh keep boot-licking Lou Lee n his son and when he do turn up n face the media,he start to talk bullsh!t n rubbish infront of the reporters.So,u guys cant blame me for not respect him,until he do something meaningful n give some respect to himself n stop bootlick the Lees.
Wait until the old Lee dies.
See whether you can still talk your cock.
Now no strong opponent, Lee still alive.
Can act cocky.
As long as Lee Kuan Yew lives, Singapore cannot progress.
Forever must be under his fucking autocratic rule.
Originally posted by Melbournite:He said, "In India, the world's largest democracy, several criminals have been elected into Parliament and some are serving jail terms, including one convicted murderer who is waiting for his appeal to be heard.
I am sorry, but i think this is a one sided picture of India he is representing. Regardless of this, India economy is still booming.
This SM Goh is becoming more n more senile n narrow-minded like Lou Lee,pls excuse of his misbehave speeches.^^
I dont know how some criminals elected into indian parliament will make a difference. Can someone pls explain whats the relevance to the Indian economy or singapore pls?..n any case, i think he has made a good joke. His reference to India only shows that India can bring in Dell, HP, Microsoft even with criminals running the county. . So it also shows we dont need Minister or any others to run the country. most importantly this thread made me realise that the real criminals are the ones who create mass hysteria, suspicion and paranoia among the general public aka Bin LAden, MSK. I think we can add one more to the list.
http://www.indiainbusiness.nic.in/economy/economic_snapshot.htm
Dell, the world's second-biggest maker of personal computers, said sales in India may climb to almost $1 billion in the year ending February 2009, helping Asian growth offset effects of an expected slowdown in the US.
The Walt Disney Company, consumer product retailing arm of global animation giant, will soon add 135 new stores to its existing 15 in India over the next four years to strengthen its foothold in the rapidly growing market here. According to Roshini Bakshi , Disney Consumer Products Regional Director (ASEAN), "India is a high priority market for us. We will open 150 stores for our consumer products across the country by 2011," The company, which currently operates 15 stores in the country, would open the outlets in franchisee model. The sizes of the outlets would vary from 500 sq ft to 1,500 sq ft area, which would sell stationary goods, party products, school and office items, gifts and soft toys.
European fashion giant Benetton Group has perched India at the top of the priority growth markets as it works on an emerging markets strategy. This follows India's emergence as the top performer with 58% revenue growth during 2007. While unveiling the preliminary results for 2007, the Benetton Group board has identified five priority growth markets - India, Turkey, East European and ex-Soviet Union countries, Mexico and China - apart from chasing new growth drivers in established areas. Luciano Benetton-led fashion group, with United Colors of Benetton as the flagship business, is placing a strategic priority on Asian markets, especially India and China. With over 140 United Colors of Benetton stores, India is probably the largest base of Benetton, but recorded the highest growth ahead of other hot markets like Russia and East European markets, which recorded over 40% rise.
It may also be noted that India is likely to become second largest wireless network in the world after China in the first half of April 2008.According to CTIA website ( a Association of Wireless operators in US), the current subscriber base of USA is 256 million. US is adding about 2-3 million subscribers in a month where as China is adding around 6-7 million subscribers in a month. India's monthly wireless subscriber addition is highest in the range of 8-9 million amonth. Thus India's wireless subscriber base during the first half of April 2008 will surpass that of USA and will become second largest wireless network in the world. Not only this, the total subscriber base (wireless + wireline) of India will also cross 300 million mark in April 2008
And lost all other GRCs ![]()
You know what, if he is as good as he makes it out to be, I think he shouldn't have lost in the first place.
Besides, I think he's just grabbing media attention because otherwise, it would seem like the SM's got nothing to do. Nothing to do except get paid outrageously of course.
ya
if u do not belong to PAP area
u dont get lift Upgrade u dont get clean area cleaning. they will only do it for u when u vote for them
basically they are forcing u to vote for them u dont vote them u get nothing
this is the way they wan u to vote for them. this is call the fair election by them
Originally posted by gunner77:i got a feeling PAP will lose more
I think I have this feeling too.. nowadays the people are getting more and more unhappy...
Originally posted by Melbournite:
I dont know how some criminals elected into indian parliament will make a difference. Can someone pls explain whats the relevance to the Indian economy or singapore pls?..n any case, i think he has made a good joke. His reference to India only shows that India can bring in Dell, HP, Microsoft even with criminals running the county. . So it also shows we dont need Minister or any others to run the country. most importantly this thread made me realise that the real criminals are the ones who create mass hysteria, suspicion and paranoia among the general public aka Bin LAden, MSK. I think we can add one more to the list.
http://www.indiainbusiness.nic.in/economy/economic_snapshot.htm
Dell, the world's second-biggest maker of personal computers, said sales in India may climb to almost $1 billion in the year ending February 2009, helping Asian growth offset effects of an expected slowdown in the US.
The Walt Disney Company, consumer product retailing arm of global animation giant, will soon add 135 new stores to its existing 15 in India over the next four years to strengthen its foothold in the rapidly growing market here. According to Roshini Bakshi , Disney Consumer Products Regional Director (ASEAN), "India is a high priority market for us. We will open 150 stores for our consumer products across the country by 2011," The company, which currently operates 15 stores in the country, would open the outlets in franchisee model. The sizes of the outlets would vary from 500 sq ft to 1,500 sq ft area, which would sell stationary goods, party products, school and office items, gifts and soft toys.
European fashion giant Benetton Group has perched India at the top of the priority growth markets as it works on an emerging markets strategy. This follows India's emergence as the top performer with 58% revenue growth during 2007. While unveiling the preliminary results for 2007, the Benetton Group board has identified five priority growth markets - India, Turkey, East European and ex-Soviet Union countries, Mexico and China - apart from chasing new growth drivers in established areas. Luciano Benetton-led fashion group, with United Colors of Benetton as the flagship business, is placing a strategic priority on Asian markets, especially India and China. With over 140 United Colors of Benetton stores, India is probably the largest base of Benetton, but recorded the highest growth ahead of other hot markets like Russia and East European markets, which recorded over 40% rise.
It may also be noted that India is likely to become second largest wireless network in the world after China in the first half of April 2008.According to CTIA website ( a Association of Wireless operators in US), the current subscriber base of USA is 256 million. US is adding about 2-3 million subscribers in a month where as China is adding around 6-7 million subscribers in a month. India's monthly wireless subscriber addition is highest in the range of 8-9 million amonth. Thus India's wireless subscriber base during the first half of April 2008 will surpass that of USA and will become second largest wireless network in the world. Not only this, the total subscriber base (wireless + wireline) of India will also cross 300 million mark in April 2008
Totally agree with u.I would rather want a politician with criminal record but is capable to manage a country than a useless bum like SM Goh who dont have any criminal record but prove to be an !diot who only know how to bootlick Lee family.Shame on him.
Besides,having criminal record doesnt mean a big deal.Some so-called criminals are a victim of political suppression like Anwar n Chee Soon Juan.Also,if a criminal who convict a crime willing to mend his way after release jail,why shouldnt we give him a chance?
Not long ago,the PAP government also got a campaign about giving those criminals a second chance at jobs n in society.Goh Chok Tong comment about those with criminal records are basically slapping his own PAP comrades face.
Hwaimeng: u dont vote them u get nothing
Sounds like pork barrel politics - & if that's the case the voters of Hougang should declare "No taxation without representation!"
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:ya
if u do not belong to PAP area
u dont get lift Upgrade u dont get clean area cleaning. they will only do it for u when u vote for them
basically they are forcing u to vote for them u dont vote them u get nothing
this is the way they wan u to vote for them. this is call the fair election by them
i would like to add that as unsavoury as that is, it's done EVERYWHERE in the world where people vote..
that's the downside of democracy..
he said eventually.....not next election ![]()