Originally posted by xavier1979:Do you stay in Hougang?
I dont even know where exactly Hougang is>LOL
No lah I am just KPKBing from another country for the sake of my diminishing friends and relatives who are still SIngapore bound.
lol PAP want win back Hougang? Dream on la...
eh how come GCT shoot at LTK at Hougang, nv shoot CST at potong pasir?
Originally posted by the Bear:i would like to add that as unsavoury as that is, it's done EVERYWHERE in the world where people vote..
that's the downside of democracy..
My friend lives in p.pasir and he skyped me 2 months back saying that a housing agent (stranger) he chanced to meet in a lift told him, after learning that he is flat hunting, that she has a unit in p.pasir for sale , aka lease.
Lady housing agent Lydia Hoong Mui Lim : "I have a great unit for sale in p.pasir, great price! hard to find price like this in sg. here's my name card"
My friend ChokeDong replied : "good price because its cst ward mah, next time how to sell ?"
Lydia Hoong Mui Lim : "aiyoh, it will become 'their' ward after the next election mah, CST old liao".
ChokeDong : "hmmmm.....can I go and take a look at this flat NOW ?...."
Originally posted by Gutentaginator:My friend lives in p.pasir and he skyped me 2 months back saying that a housing agent (stranger) he chanced to meet in a lift told him, after learning that he is flat hunting, that she has a unit in p.pasir for sale , aka lease.
Lady housing agent Lydia Hoong Mui Lim : "I have a great unit for sale in p.pasir, great price! hard to find price like this in sg. here's my name card"
My friend ChokeDong replied : "good price because its cst ward mah, next time how to sell ?"
Lydia Hoong Mui Lim : "aiyoh, it will become 'their' ward after the next election mah, CST old liao".
ChokeDong : "hmmmm.....can I go and take a look at this flat NOW ?...."
Originally posted by Fantagf:When Goh was Pm and now that he is no longer pm, he continues to be defensive over the lees.
I dont think Goh is defending the Lees,i believe he dont like LKY as well.But he keep switching from side to side,sometimes pro opposition,sometimes pro Lees.When mistreat by Lees,he jump to opposition side.When criticized by the public,n he cannot take it,he pro the Lees.He dont have strong-will,n thats what make him seem so pathetic.
Maybe Lee Kuan Yew is too strong for SM Goh to handle.:)
Originally posted by drawer:I dont think Goh is defending the Lees,i believe he dont like LKY as well.But he keep switching from side to side,sometimes pro opposition,sometimes pro Lees.When mistreat by Lees,he jump to opposition side.When criticized by the public,n he cannot take it,he pro the Lees.He dont have strong-will,n thats what make him seem so pathetic.
There many others notice he is siding with the lees. Anyway, GCT including all PAP members not to be trusted.
Hi SGF!!
Given that for about half a CENTURY, which means 100 years,
Singaporeans have given the minimum level of support to have opposition in parlimon to represent their voice or help them in anyway. I mean, only 3 out of 80 plus.
If Chiam lose this time round,
and if what goh said becomes true,
Can I Say, Singaporeans may get NO Opposition Representation and Sg becomes a 1 Party State , and 1st world democracy citizens?
Though the minority may not like this,
I cannot help but suspect that the MAJORITY may not really mind.
50 years (almost) cannot be wrong?
1 Jogger spoke to the other:
"WE can never lose because of the ... system".
I not sure what it means?
Originally posted by pearlie27:
Maybe he is too tall that's why he sways with the winds?
Hahaha!!!![]()
Originally posted by Jingojingjing:Hi SGF!!
Given that for about half a CENTURY, which means 100 years,
Singaporeans have given the minimum level of support to have opposition in parlimon to represent their voice or help them in anyway. I mean, only 3 out of 80 plus.
If Chiam lose this time round,
and if what goh said becomes true,
Can I Say, Singaporeans may get NO Opposition Representation and Sg becomes a 1 Party State , and 1st world democracy citizens?
Though the minority may not like this,
I cannot help but suspect that the MAJORITY may not really mind.
50 years (almost) cannot be wrong?
1 Jogger spoke to the other:
"WE can never lose because of the ... system".
I not sure what it means?
yes i do agree that the majority may not really mind, because they are unaware of the evils that the ruling party is doing. try asking your friends or colleagues who do not talk politics, they only care about their 3 meals, house, car and job.
Anyway, its up to the people to decide who wins the next ge, and i really hope to see more opposition, not less.
have you seen today's wan bao? where low retorted goh's statement about winning back HG..
"i have no crystal ball so i won't know...maybe they have.." LOL
don't understand why he is making such statements at such sensitive time when the people's morale is low and the outlook bleak...
either he is erm... ageing... fast.. or *pats* helping the opp team.. LOL
He noted, "Eventually, I believe we will win Hougang back, but whether we do or not, I think (we should) serve the people. That's what we are here for."
when i took a walk down blk 5 banda st in chinatown where alot of poor elderly stayed, i don't see how their estate is being improved. i saw dark walkways, most of their flats are really in poor condition. look, i am thankful for the covered walkways in my estate, i don't need a revamped letterbox.. if its funds you are lacking (i don't see how).. then prioritise it! and that area is not even in the opp ward. what? are they forgotten or what? they are old they are poor, the least we can do is to help make living conditions better for them.. its not too tough to look into these areas. i cannot never understand what the mp in that area is doing...
Signapore has many 'solutions'.
Basically, all of them uses money to solve the problem:
eg. traffic congestion : ERP, ERP hikes, More Gantries, on more roads.
lack baby : give angpow.
disclaimer: I cannot say for sure if they worked as planned ;)
HG TC got enough funding the same size as the other TC or not?
Funding is money$$$. Can a TC implement solutions that cost money without enough money? Money no enough ?
Strange and puzzling! Am still trying to understand the cheemilogy behind our leaders' words of wisedome.
But I believe majority understands them well. Only I don't. sigh. Majority so smart.
"Eventually, I believe we will win Hougang back, but whether we do or not, I think (we should) serve the people. That's what we are here for"
Wu ngia bo? ( real or not) suddenly becomes so magnanimous - hope it is for real then I'll wish him eternal bliss, happiness & contentment both on earth and in heaven & at the same tiime, just to remind him, what LTK has been asking him of the promise he had made.
Originally posted by ivebeenhad:yes i do agree that the majority may not really mind, because they are unaware of the evils that the ruling party is doing. try asking your friends or colleagues who do not talk politics, they only care about their 3 meals, house, car and job.
Anyway, its up to the people to decide who wins the next ge, and i really hope to see more opposition, not less.
Actually, to me, the root cause is not talent no enough but where the talent chose to go to instead due to pragmatic or personal reasons.
An organization is nothing without its people.
I believe that basically, all topics can become politically-related topics. I am a bit unable to comprehend why people are apathetic when things really do affect them, if only they can see.
for example, sex can be a political issue. Lets say people somehow do not have to much sex or enjoy sex less. This could lead to less babies born and thus a political issue.
Trust can be a political issue. Lets say you used to donate to the old nkf and trusted it completely because you never hear anything bad about it until the gold plating of the tap incident that led to opening of the box full of worms. Trust then becomes a political issue. Trust can be dangerous word.
Transparency can be a political issue. Lets say people trust that the old nkf is transparent and accountable. What happened? Transparency became a political issue.
Mee siam also can be a political issue. Lets say mee siam actually is harmful but no one believe it is. then one day, a scientist study found evidence of harm. Then, mee siam becomes a political issue and food sellers need to adhere to certain new health rules and regulations introduced to address the harm. Of course this harm is hypothetical but also we cannot rule out the possibility of this happening in future. To be safe for now, I avoid eating mee siam with harmful appearance.
Thus, I fail to understand why 1st world singaporeans especially the highly educated and young generation are apathetic.
But this shall be overcome with time as a young nation matures more and more.
The fireball of Truth cannot be contained forever.
Thus, I fail to understand why 1st world singaporeans especially the highly educated and young generation are apathetic.
See:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XfvMfjdHGQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R4ZNKABbOWk
i think more people would dare vote for the opposition now, after seeing in the last GE that 1/3 of singaporeans vote for oppo.
so winning back aljunied is not unlikely
Originally posted by deathmaster:i think more people would dare vote for the opposition now, after seeing in the last GE that 1/3 of singaporeans vote for oppo.
so winning back aljunied is not unlikely
will vote against and can vote against are 2 different things...
Given the fact that PAP's Alijunied GRC has lost many of its votes to WP despite the James Gomez thing, it is not likely that SM Goh's statement will be true in the coming elections.
PAP always puts the opposition in a bad light when compared to their candidates and questions their abilities if they took over as MPs. However if you do not give them some chance to do it, how do you know that they are not capable?
We need credible oppositions (i m not refering to those PAP MPs in parliament who openly disagree with the govt's policies)
Actually, there are 9 blocks of flats in HG which are going to be demolished soon. And the people living there are mostly pro-WP. Hence, they are all gonna be dispersed, most probably not gonna be in HG anymore. So, naturally, there is gonna be a shortfall of pro-WP voters.
Tell me how LTK's gonna win the next election? And there are some people who talk sh*t on the internet but when it comes to the election, they vote for PAP. Sheer hypocrisy.
Originally posted by trendz:Actually, there are 9 blocks of flats in HG which are going to be demolished soon. And the people living there are mostly pro-WP. Hence, they are all gonna be dispersed, most probably not gonna be in HG anymore. So, naturally, there is gonna be a shortfall of pro-WP voters.
Tell me how LTK's gonna win the next election? And there are some people who talk sh*t on the internet but when it comes to the election, they vote for PAP. Sheer hypocrisy.
This is a very effective strategy to disperse the 'never say die WP voters' (whether it's fair, level playing field or otherwise - you think about it).
In fact I have many old buddies who are hawkers having stalls selling various things there & during our regular 'happy hours' at the coffee shop, my friends were saying to me "cheng hoo see peh chow!!" ![]()
wah, really bo? can win back huh? i dont support any side, but sometimes will need some opposition to maintain a balance.