Like we've discussed before and now a serious problem, nobody would really want to give birth under this kind of environment... This is natural... Any species under any discouraging environment would just fail to reproduce itself....
Is there a hint and threat that more foreign talents would be brought in to 'solve' this problem? Just like how our earlier generations might have contributed to Singapore's bloom but not much to look forward to at this point of their lives, would this history be repeated upon us?
Should the market be open internationally so that foreign talents stand an opportunity to vote for parliment to solve our existing problems? Why do the suggested solutions by high paying official sounds weird? Asking employer, friends and relatives to encourage couples to give birth? Is this really the ROOT of the problem? Could something more SINCERE and PRACTICAL be suggested for the existing problem caused....?
maybe you would like to ask the PAP why the birth rate is so low.
Well, it has been a problem for so long already.
Everybody is so scared of giving birth.....inflation rate killing us, medical cost rising, everything rising except our pay......so how to expect more birth rate?....sianz
they know the best solution but they jz wun give it to the ppl...
Originally posted by BrUtUs:they know the best solution but they jz wun give it to the ppl...
give even more money to Singaporeans to give birth? ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:give even more money to Singaporeans to give birth?
depends... but more $$$ works for some grps...
Originally posted by eagle:give even more money to Singaporeans to give birth?
money only short term solution.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:money only short term solution.
yes its very short 1 too...
I guess this kind of things happened in every developed countries...and even government has its own limitation. By giving $$ is not a practical solution, cos there is so much that the government can give, it does not contribute much to a family.
I think I am lucky not be the government cos no matter what solution u give also will kana left right center and this is one of the issues that I do not have any ideas for a win win suituation. lol
Originally posted by freedom4ever:money only short term solution.
a short term of around a person's lifetime lol.. from the day u born til lthe day u die u need money.. receive u into this world need money, send u away from this world need money..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:a short term of around a person's lifetime lol.. from the day u born til lthe day u die u need money.. receive u into this world need money, send u away from this world need money..
hmm.. what i mean is the baby bonus. its only help families when the child is born. but when children start schooling, need buy books, need tutions, need pocket money. all this need money and parents have to struggle till their children start working. i guess most singaporeans mind set are if they cannot afford to have children, they either rather dun have one or wait till mid 30 then start their family. rather then they have children and can't afford to bring him/her up right?
its less costly to replace population with foreigners than to give heartland people a reason to have sexual intercourse without condoms. its pretty clear to me what the government is more concerned about, having enough people to pay tax and work rather than solving the people's problems.
only solution is to decrease minister pay, use $$ to sponsor childcare and schooling fees intensively. at the same time lower paid ministers will be less preoccupied with their money and more concerned about the welfare of their fellow citizens.
Originally posted by Devil1976:Like we've discussed before and now a serious problem, nobody would really want to give birth under this kind of environment... This is natural... Any species under any discouraging environment would just fail to reproduce itself....
Is there a hint and threat that more foreign talents would be brought in to 'solve' this problem? Just like how our earlier generations might have contributed to Singapore's bloom but not much to look forward to at this point of their lives, would this history be repeated upon us?
Should the market be open internationally so that foreign talents stand an opportunity to vote for parliment to solve our existing problems? Why do the suggested solutions by high paying official sounds weird? Asking employer, friends and relatives to encourage couples to give birth? Is this really the ROOT of the problem? Could something more SINCERE and PRACTICAL be suggested for the existing problem caused....?
Are you comparing Singapore to developed or developing countries?
Originally posted by O o O:
Are you comparing Singapore to developed or developing countries?
I think that maybe he is just worried.
so many FTs ard, mrt stand also no place to stand liao... still want more babies?!
eng kai. everyone move out of sg better.
Originally posted by Subaru WRX:eng kai. everyone move out of sg better.
It might be a good thing for people who choose to stay because with lesser singaporeans, price of landed property will come down and the Singaporeans will get more dividend from the government.
Actually, they can opt to increase Employer's CPF to plant a CPF funding for the baby/children and their medical expenses.
And also encourage Full-time housewives to collect childcare-fees (aka tuition fees).
This way, some aged parents can have income working from home!?
U think easy brining up a child ?
no money no talk
i volunter to make girls pregnant
just get pap to send me the girls
Originally posted by ChiBet:i volunter to make girls pregnant
just get pap to send me the girls
Haha. I'll make sure PAP sends you the too-old-and-too-ugly female MPs.
Anyway, that's off-topic.
I think the ways in which the government, the Lees especially, can increase the birth rate is aplenty. It's not that they can't, it's they don't.
The government doesn't want to reduce GST, doesn't want to subsidize the cost of living, doesn't want to give out their life of luxuries.
It all comes down to the same thing: If PAP doesn't want to, you don't get it.
its a problem of many developed countries
Other countries are having the same problem. Low birth rate: LKY did admit could be his two children policy.