Originally posted by Melbournite:someone mentioned the centrelink payments (social security) , u can easily pay off your home payments with it as u get at least $500 for AusStudy for 2 weeks. I think its also adjusted for inflation as well.
One o fmy neighbours, a young guy studying in a AUS Uni gets $1000 for a month and he pays $440 for rent and he still has $560 left. He pays a $1000 per semester for fees for the Uni course. Upoun graduation if he cant find a job, he approaches the govt for help for job placement Compare this with singapore tertiary students who still depend on parents or loan to fianance their studies and still need to pay $5000 + every semester, and no guarantee of a job after graduation. Further more, they cant get into Uni easily in the first place. So many factors working against them already.
And that aus guy has the option for working for cash in jobs as well which means he takes centrelink payments and earns an income himself without official records.
Btw Australia has been giving pur social security for over two decades already. Did that make them bankrupt?
There's a difference between a government that cares for it's citizens and one whose only desire is to fleece more from them, though Australia has more sheeps, but Singaporeans are the ones being fleeced.
The irony! ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:1) Australians don't make the kind of salaries Singaporeans make, they make 3 to 4 times that Singaporeans. So, don't use Singapore pay to live in Australia, it's foolish. Likewise when we visit countries like US, Japan, Europe, etc; Why do we feel that everything is expensive there, whereas citizens living there feel it's priced affordably. They get more salary than you.
2) There is some credibility issues with the author saying that rice and bread is double that of Singapore. In a free market economy (with no customs, taxes & restrictions), the price of a commodity must only have one price, else arbitrage opportunities exisit to bring the price to a common price.
Take the 10 kg Housebrand Jasmine Rice in Australia's Woolworth, it's priced at AUD18.34 (SGD23.84 @ AUD1 = SGD1.3), it's around SGD11.92 for a 5kg bag of rice. The price of First Choice 5kg Thai Rice is going for SGD13.20 at Cold Storage.
But take meat and milk for example, meat & milk is a whole lot cheaper than in Singapore. Australia has cattle farming, whereas Singapore has none, with the inclusion of shipping cost, the milk in Singapore has to be more expensive than Australia.
Pura Whole Milk in Woolsworth sells for AUD2.15 per litre (SGD2.80 @ AUD1 = SGD1.3), whereas Pura Whole Milk in Cold Storage sells for SGD3.40.
Australian Beef Shin Steak in Woolsworth cost AUD4.08 per 400gm (SGD13.26 per kilogram @ AUD1 = SGD1.3), whereas in Cold Storage Australian Shin Beef cost SGD33.10 per kilogram.
So, I question the credibility of the author and the intelligence of the TS in posting such a thread with no understanding of the principles of "Law of One Price". TS should exercise the use of his brains once in a while. If I produce beef in my house, will the cost to you (if you live in Jurong and me in Pasir Ris) be cheaper or will it be cheaper if I sell it to my neighbour. Singapore produces maybe 1% of food products, whereas Australia is a major producer of food products.
I thought I trashed out all these issues about cost of products and law of one price with lionnoisy in an earlier thread regarding more disposable income in Australia (despite having higher tax rates) than Singapore. Apparently he hasn't learnt anything from it.
Australia can feed its whole population if there are no problems like the drought ect...In reality u are paying for food because of the labour cost in bringing the food to your table.
A country with natural resources is better than one with none.
Originally posted by Melbournite:Australia can feed its whole population if there are no problems like the drought ect...In reality u are paying for food because of the labour cost in bringing the food to your table.
Autarky. ![]()
Originally posted by O o O:
Thats is because you were made to believe that Singapore CPF system is flawed and that our month CPF contribution is similar to the income tax you are paying in australia. However the main difference is that CPF monies are part of our saving which we can use to pay off our mortgages and that itself will put us ahead of the high spending low saving australians who are paying 9.25% of interest.
Australians has got to thank their fore fathers for stealing the vast piece of land from the aborigine thats why they can now enjoy the wide open space in Australia. However as you have highlighted, when there is no proper control on the property and urband development such as public housing, the poor will get shifted out to far away land (like you have mentioned in your last para) that is poorly connected by public transport, while the rich will get to live by the nice sydney habour.
As for Singapore, we need proper planning to enjor racial harmony and better utilization of land. Plus we also ensure that Singaporeans living in 4 corners of the islands are well connected by clean, comfortable and affordable public transport system.
Are u sure?. When things get out of hand , there are lots of finger pointing and some commission of authorithy body will step in and file charges against unscruplous business men who do price fixing and against the laws of Aus
generally, u are free to do watever u want but be honest in Australia cause the lawsuits arent cheap over here. And there are many civil rights campainging bodies here whom u can make a complaint to.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
There's a difference between a government that cares for it's citizens and one whose only desire is to fleece more from them, though Australia has more sheeps, but Singaporeans are the ones being fleeced.The irony!
Australia gives much respect to its environment and nature. thats the first sign of a truly developed nation in terms of ethics. But in singapore, humans themselves dont get the rights Australian animals , flora and fauna gets.
Btw in Australia, its better to do a job than live on centrelink as u can earn so much higher and enjoy more material comfort.
Originally posted by Melbournite:Btw in Australia, its better to do a job than live on centrelink as u can earn so much higher and enjoy more material comfort.
I heard a few years back that Germans can get about 300 euros a month as unemployment benefit for the first 3 months... A local told me the same thing... Damn hard to live on 300 euros a month... Much better to go out to find a job.
In Singapore, if you are very poor, and you suddenly get fired, is there any help you can get in the first one or two months before you find another job?
Originally posted by eagle:I heard a few years back that Germans can get about 300 euros a month as unemployment benefit for the first 3 months... A local told me the same thing... Damn hard to live on 300 euros a month... Much better to go out to find a job.
In Singapore, if you are very poor, and you suddenly get fired, is there any help you can get in the first one or two months before you find another job?
check that figure carefully, the main purpose of unemployment benefit is to make sure your basic expenses are covered. if the payment doesnt cover them, then it defeats that purpose
The idea of a low amount of benefit payment is to make u go out and work so that u can earn more
Originally posted by eagle:I heard a few years back that Germans can get about 300 euros a month as unemployment benefit for the first 3 months... A local told me the same thing... Damn hard to live on 300 euros a month... Much better to go out to find a job.
I think it is understandable as the reason majority of foreign professional refused to change to local citizenship.
To each his own really, no point squabbling over something as subjective as which is a better place to live. If one loves the Singapore system, go ahead and jump on the fast train, but if one likes the laid back, western liberal system in Australia, then go ahead and indulge yourselves.
I think we should vent our disdains upon improving the systems we are currently living under, I belief be it Australia or Singapore, each has it own sets of problems we ourselves as residents can identify with.
Originally posted by Melbournite:
Exactly, so just make sure you take advantage of the resources and not just seat on the side line admiring and telling us what others are making. If you dont their wealth might just bring more inflationary pressure to your neighbourhood and push you to the rural side of town.
Originally posted by will4:
I think it is understandable as the reason majority of foreign professional refused to change to local citizenship.
but surprisingly we do have PR like yourself serving the national service when we all know that Singapore is not your home.
and that guy chose to go Sydney when there are lots of low population areas the govt wants u to tak residence
do they have NS forced army conscription there?
do they have non-performing and arrogant million dollar ministers there?
do they have rules that aussies can only draw their CPF after 85 years old?
do they heck care their old, sick and poor?
do they stifle the democracy and freedom among their citizens?
money? is it the ultimate measure of one success? has Gilbert still gullible from the singaporean way of materialism?
Originally posted by fishbuff1:do they have NS forced army conscription there?
money? is it the ultimate measure of one success? has Gilbert still gullible from the singaporean way of materialism?
Yes, we dont not sent our kids to be killed in a stupid Iraqi war
Yes, we dont have a PM who patronized strip clubs
Yes, Singaporeans have higher saving rate as compared to Australians, beside that our mortgage interest is only about 1/3 of what australians are paying
Yes, Singaporeans are living longer and healthier than australians and no old, sick and poor Singaporeans are left unattended by Singapore world class hospital
Yes, we believe our current hybrid democracy work best for our country and we have track record to prove it.
Yes, Australians are victim of consumerism and thats why they and the country are all heavily in debted.
What stupid propaganda, this thread title... as if in this internet age, stupid propaganda like this can work...
Hotel Receptionist average income US$2,833 dollars (Australia)
US$1,156 dollars (Singapore)
from this website: http://www.worldsalaries.org/
Originally posted by fishbuff1:do they have NS forced army conscription there?
I believe serving NS is good but 2.5 years is too long plus the 13 years of reservist too long n I managed not to serve the reservist. As for the minister's salary, it seemed HK secretary salary is lower but their job scope is more important than Spore. CPF scheme started good but alas annuity make it look lousy.
...the salary difference is a clear indication what a FU job the despots are doing...
without Dr Chee Soon Juan exposing their dishonorable despotic characters, their as-sniffing traitorous dogs would be fooling everyone with their propaganda.
Originally posted by Quincey:To each his own really, no point squabbling over something as subjective as which is a better place to live. If one loves the Singapore system, go ahead and jump on the fast train, but if one likes the laid back, western liberal system in Australia, then go ahead and indulge yourselves.
I think we should vent our disdains upon improving the systems we are currently living under, I belief be it Australia or Singapore, each has it own sets of problems we ourselves as residents can identify with.
fair statement...
singapore is not all evil but relative to other places, singapore can fare better or worse. you got tons of money here, singapore is very good. all else, it is debatable.
all i know is melbourne is still one of the most live-able cities in the world and relatively affordable. my personal experience there numerous times as visitors is one where the pace of life there is balanced and people in general are cultured, sports-mad and generally polite. it is very cosmopolitan where well over 80 nationalities of the world are found there. i know there are risks there, like crimes, etc but is singapore perfect?
i am looking forward to catching the aussie open tennis grandslam there this jan 09 when i settle there; so diss australia all you like, but folks in singapore, you are only watching it on telly at best.
the last thing i know is that only in 3rd world countries they earn a very low salary relative to their cost of living and get exploited thru labour of long hours. U figure out if world class facilities and clean green garden can cover this ugly truth of what lies beneath ?
Originally posted by Melbournite:the last thing i know is that only in 3rd world countries they earn a very low salary relative to their cost of living and get exploited thru labour of long hours. U figure out if world class facilities and clean green garden can cover this ugly truth of what lies beneath ?
I am glad that Singapore has lost someone like you to Australia and I really hope you are not just a student studying in australia but a permanent resident for life.
Originally posted by redDUST:
fair statement...singapore is not all evil but relative to other places, singapore can fare better or worse. you got tons of money here, singapore is very good. all else, it is debatable.
all i know is melbourne is still one of the most live-able cities in the world and relatively affordable. my personal experience there numerous times as visitors is one where the pace of life there is balanced and people in general are cultured, sports-mad and generally polite. it is very cosmopolitan where well over 80 nationalities of the world are found there. i know there are risks there, like crimes, etc but is singapore perfect?
i am looking forward to catching the aussie open tennis grandslam there this jan 09 when i settle there; so diss australia all you like, but folks in singapore, you are only watching it on telly at best.
all i know is melbourne is still one of the most live-able cities in the world and relatively affordable. my personal experience there numerous times as visitors is one where the pace of life there is balanced and people in general are cultured, sports-mad and generally polite. it is very cosmopolitan where well over 80 nationalities of the world are found there.
That sounds nice, especially the sports-mad part.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Sydney is very pricey,a SG migrant just found out.
I hope he shall not be suprised,or else he failed as a head of family!!
How much research how he done before up rooting
the family ?Did he just rely on friends/relatives advices?
It will be unfortunate that he just know the mortgage rate is
9.25 % and no public housing there in Sydney!!
As a rule of thumb,public housing in western countries
usually very undesirable.Dunt take HDB living for granted,
though not perfect.
I do hope before u move to any country,u have do some home
works ,like--
stay there for 3 weeks before u make the decision
know the daily life as good as locals,even u are in Singapore
know the price of rices to mortgage interest rates
know the drugs and crimes situations
(in some countries,kids can get drugs as easy as getting
a Coke)
read few daily newspaper for few months,every day.
''S’pore not that pricey''
myepaper.mypaper.sg
this one is absolutely classic. i need to pin this up on my emigration forum.
price... 1st city he chose is sydney and he now kpkb sigh..
he can choose a cheaper city or country to move to; e.g. indonesia, malaysia, thailand or vietnam.
this is classic dumbster thread. Many aussie want to get out of Sydney and he want to go to Sydney...
Originally posted by O o O:
I am glad that Singapore has lost someone like you to Australia and I really hope you are not just a student studying in australia but a permanent resident for life.
Well i got my PR in 2002. Studied in Melbourne and staying there, never regretted it. I amnot a unpatriotic singaporean but at the time i got a job offer and many advised me to take it and not return to singapore. But in fact i did return to singapore for a year after accepting the job offer.
Btw i am an accountant. And right now accountants are a serious shortage in AUS. Salaries scales hitting above the roof..