To survive within a system, one has no choice but to play by its rules, even if it goes against one's principles.
Don't agree with that.
That is kowtow.
If Opposition wins the Parliament, sooner or later, they will come out with rules and regulation to safeguard their position, just like what PAP are doing now.
That is unfair towards opposition.
Did the Democratic party of Taiwan install autocratic rule like KMT?
No.
Originally posted by eagle:Do you think if the Opposition win all the seats one day, they will drop all those rules too?
Nothing is clean in politics so we need to pick a less dirty garmen in any country that we live in
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Nothing is clean in politics so we need to pick a less dirty garmen in any country that we live in
Politics is a name used to define grown men indulging in mud play.
Yes, most important to live in a country where politicians are ethical.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Don't agree with that.
That is kowtow.
Well, the point is moot since I removed myself from the system I didn't agree with. Now I'm laughing from the sidelines from a more secure and agreeable position.
Originally posted by elementalangel:seriously... if pap is really doing a bad job.. u tink so many people get the chance go kpkb here meh?
if they havnt exploited info com tech. u think our internet access can get so cheap to let those people wif nuttin to do to keep opposing just because they feel like during their free time?
many people often take things for granted. forgetting about the good that pap have done and is doing and nitpicking on those small bits.
think about it. if the govt havnt taxed us. our street lights would still have wires hanging arnd them, we would still have many unsafe drains. we would have totally no barriors to protect us from clifts and such. so many more things..
you are right that we should give them credit. but that's their job isn't it? i mean, you are on a million dollar payroll err...should we expect mediocrity ??
It's hard to be convinced if you see your boss eating abalone, shark's fin and bird's nest, while at the same time asking you to be glad you have plain rice because times are bad.
Well, the point is moot since I removed myself from the system I didn't agree with.
That is the failure of Lee Kuan Yew's PAP regime.
He is truely a failed leader of people.
His system cannot last for long.
It is doomed to die.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is the failure of Lee Kuan Yew's PAP regime.
He is truely a failed leader of people.
His system cannot last for long.
It is doomed to die.
He doesn't care as long as he reaps the personal benefits while he is alive.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Pay them each afew millions a year, $15 millions for a 5 year term, yet they cannot keep inflation in check, cannot keep medical cost from increasing. The only thing they know how to do is, increase their own salary.
Flagrantly throwing Singaporeans hard earned money into failed investments overseas.
That makes them the most admirable autocrats in the "first world" enjoying their obscene super high pay, ignoring the people's voice for nobody in this country dare to get them out. Singaporeans are extremely easy to tame and Pay and PAy is benefitting so much from this. People,if you love to accept unreasonable constant rise in fares and prices, please vote for Pay and Pay, and continue to enjoy pay and pay till you drop.
Originally posted by 4Justice:He doesn't care as long as he reaps the personal benefits while he is alive.
He will continue to suck us dry as long as he lives. I believe whatever he is doing to us now he will be accountable when he reports to hell.
Originally posted by eagle:I also think so.
Which is why I think there's not much reason or basis in condemning PAP for what they are really doing....
I know some forumers will disagree with me on this point...
Then I think you should consider to stop showing unhappiness, giving negative comments about PAP. Support them and look forward to a better goverance from them. Otherwise, you may be labelled a hypocrite.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
This is a common statement brought up by Taiwanese during the last election campaign.
If we never allow other parties to take over we will never know how good or bad their goverance is. It is not advisable we keep continue to have only one party to run Singapore as we see it now this party is more self serving than putting their interest in serving the public.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
He will continue to suck us dry as long as he lives. I believe whatever he is doing to us now he will be accountable when he reports to hell.
i tink none of us really care whatever happen to him after he book in.
I forsee a whole generation of a certain surname to continue in the politics, as people are afraid of the unknown, referrring to the capabilities of the opposition.
A chance is what the opposition need, but i don see it coming any sooner.
Hopefully, im wrong, cos i don wanna start a family with CPF+GST and other taxes consuming half of my wages by that time
we should start now than to wait when PAP fails.
we should follow the american and british or australian type of politics. that is 2 big poltical party is enough for singapore.
Originally posted by Cameron:
you are right that we should give them credit. but that's their job isn't it? i mean, you are on a million dollar payroll err...should we expect mediocrity ??
yes, we can scrutinise however, not to the extent of fininding fault in everything they do and disregarding all their merits like the kids here in this forum
Originally posted by eagle:Do you think if the Opposition win all the seats one day, they will drop all those rules too?
Originally posted by Spartans:
If Opposition wins the Parliament, sooner or later, they will come out with rules and regulation to safeguard their position, just like what PAP are doing now.
Originally posted by eagle:I also think so.
Which is why I think there's not much reason or basis in condemning PAP for what they are really doing....
I know some forumers will disagree with me on this point...
Do away with election, make People's Action Party the one and only party that rules in this tiny island since any party will do the same as mentioned by some forumers here. Better still let it be a monarchy in Singapore so that the same family can reign forever.
and disregarding all their merits like the kids here in this forum
----> Kids are intelligent to know what is going on while there are some adults who just simply refuse to accept the fact that there is nothing wrong with people voicing out be it good or bad. People are not to be deprived of the freedom to speak their mind.
We are all caught in a situation where we don't want PAP hegemony anymore but we are also afraid of the unknown, untested political terrain.
but we are also afraid of the unknown, untested political terrain.
Not me.
I would vote for a dog.
Better a dog than Lee Kuan Yew.
What I can't stand most is that PAP wants Singapore to have 5.5 million people. Now every people already squeezing liao. Fucked up. Are we becoming like rats? And how come so many Chinese nationals ar? Really can't stand them, they lower our social culture..
Guys no need to talk so much, next election everything will be clear :)
If the population increases in Singapore, the standard of living will drop due to overcrowding.
More people however means more tax money for PAP regime.
ignoring the people's voice for nobody in this country dare to get them out.
oh really?? is PAP the untouchables and not been doing anything good for the country?, and the pple still been voting them in??? oh sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesh.........how low can u get, wise one? LOL!!!
Singaporeans are extremely easy to tame and Pay and PAy is benefitting so much from this.
obviously, PAP is doing something real rite n good in running this country, that is why they r voted in, majority of the pple r behind the govt, united in making this country great and not thinking like some losers here out to destroy our stability and harmony in forging ahead together.
Not tax and money the PAP is after. Would they be that stupid?
Just cream off, by say X%, on the return of our reserve can made them richer than increasing GDP. And we, the citizens, don't even know the exact reserve to begin with.
All this years, the PAP has been facing a slow but steady declining support base. By bringing in the foreigners, this will increase the support base of the PAP. At least, let this be a temporary or a last ditch measure to hold the tide of change.
Now I know some people will accuse me of generalising. But hold a second. At another posting, someone accused me being naive. Yes, the foreigners can also vote against the PAP - no doubt about this. But we are talking about trend and prediction, not individual reaction.
Who are these foreigners that come to our shores? Using a scale of one to four where I would classify one being as follows: The highly sort after scholar plus enterprenuer.
Are they anywhere near the scale of one? Are they the Bill Gate of Microsoft or anywhere close to an entrepreneur, not to mention the highly sort after scholar/entrepreneur that the world is after? The answer is no. All of your can see for yourselves, I need not go into this.
Most of them are from regional countries where the standard of living is poorer and the quality of life is also poorer. Singapore is a paradise to them where they can earn more, have better quality of life and enjoy richer standard of living. Singapore also allows them to plug into a first rate, readily-made infrastructure and first-class technology.
They have the best of both third and first worlds. They can save more, enjoy better quality of life compare to working back home and they enjoy labour/skill/wealth mobility that their poorer fellow countrymen can only dream about.
If they become citizens, would they not be grateful to their host country? And vote for status quo?