Originally posted by eagle:Do you think if the Opposition win all the seats one day, they will drop all those rules too?
The opposition is a single party?
Originally posted by 00011000:We are all caught in a situation where we don't want PAP hegemony anymore but we are also afraid of the unknown, untested political terrain.
Get out of your 'comfort zone' and give the opposition parties a chance to prove themselves.
Currently, 33.4% electorate - not a small number - who supported the opposition are under-represented in the parliament.
Being a very young country like Singapore, it may not be ideal to have complete democracy like the Australians and Americans... they have that for hundreds of years and perfected it among its people. we on the other hand will only celebrate our independence of 43 years...
i am all supportive of having another political party to "check" on the power of the government. i believe that absolute power do corrupt but at the same time, we need to find VERY CAPABLE people to lead the opposition. we need men that are swift and cultured with their words. we need "gentlemen" to interact to the government. For in LKY's own words, "come to us like a gentleman and we'll treat you like a gentleman. come to us like a barbarian and we'll treat you like a barbarian."
i have nothing against Dr. Chee but if the report of him shouting at the top of his voice at Mr. Goh during pre-voting campaign is true. i can't see having him at the helm of my government. for example when we serve our NS, more than often the person higher than our rank is not someone we like or can get along with but we still have to respect his rank. "you don't have to respect me, but you have to respect my rank". sounds familiar? Dr. Chee had to respect Mr. Goh's position at least. if i remember correctly, he was still Prime Minister then... even not, a Senior Minister...
conclusion; to really have the power to "check" our government, we need real capable men who knows how to manipulate to their favour in our complex political system but how many is really interested to get involve with politics?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Better a dog than Lee Kuan Yew.
LKY is better than a dog. However the others...
Actually all we need is free press. When the people knows the truth, they will obviously vote for the best.
I wonder the reason for FM George Yeo to make this statement? Is it because during the last election, Aljunied GRC almost lost to the WP?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:If the population increases in Singapore, the standard of living will drop due to overcrowding.
More people however means more tax money for PAP regime.
That is one of the reasons why the lee sian loong and the rest of pay and pay want to increase population. Money money money, money is much more important than having and serving the interests of the people.
Originally posted by 00011000:We are all caught in a situation where we don't want PAP hegemony anymore but we are also afraid of the unknown, untested political terrain.
Make up your mind. You either have Pay and Pay or opposition.
A vote for PAP= a vote for FT
People now suggested that PAP change their party name to FAP(foreigner action party)
Singaporeans you decide your fate.
Originally posted by (human):A vote for PAP= a vote for FT
People now suggested that PAP change their party name to FAP(foreigner action party)
Ha, even the number of foreigners are contributing to birth is increasing. There is no losing out to Pay and Pay to get them year, in whatever way it is a win win situation for them.
thats a good one..and truely goverment is inviting more and more PRs to become citizens.
They know they can't depend on Singaporeans anymore, to give birth and to vote for them...
They are even offering Philippinoes to become citizens...(theres one in my office who got invited and converted)
i think native singaporeans will have no place stand sooon...
Originally posted by laURanaBabe:
thats a good one..and truely goverment is inviting more and more PRs to become citizens.
They know they can't depend on Singaporeans anymore, to give birth and to vote for them...
They are even offering Philippinoes to become citizens...(theres one in my office who got invited and converted)
i think native singaporeans will have no place stand sooon...
Pay and Pay will go at all cost to achieve what they want and continue to heck care about their responsibilities to the people who are born and bred here. Could be their tactic to get rid of locals by getting in more foreigners to discourage locals to stay on for their own gain. More foreigners they can hope for more votes from these people. Lee Hsien Loong is a hopeless, lousy, arrogant, self serving toad.
Are we really seeing Singaporeans?
Do we have FT's retiring young as Taxi drivers?
(where did all our $$ go ?)
lol
fap is a slang for masturbation ![]()
Originally posted by 4Justice:
lolfap is a slang for masturbation
Ha ha ha hiak hiak hiak
Originally posted by googoomuck:Get out of your 'comfort zone' and give the opposition parties a chance to prove themselves.
Currently, 33.4% electorate - not a small number - who supported the opposition are under-represented in the parliament.
I have gotten out of my comfort zone long time along.
When I said, "We are all caught in a situation where we don't want PAP hegemony anymore but we are also afraid of the unknown, untested political terrain.", I was referring to ppl postings that I read.
Originally posted by novelltie:Being a very young country like Singapore, it may not be ideal to have complete democracy like the Australians and Americans... they have that for hundreds of years and perfected it among its people. we on the other hand will only celebrate our independence of 43 years...
i am all supportive of having another political party to "check" on the power of the government. i believe that absolute power do corrupt but at the same time, we need to find VERY CAPABLE people to lead the opposition. we need men that are swift and cultured with their words. we need "gentlemen" to interact to the government. For in LKY's own words, "come to us like a gentleman and we'll treat you like a gentleman. come to us like a barbarian and we'll treat you like a barbarian."
i have nothing against Dr. Chee but if the report of him shouting at the top of his voice at Mr. Goh during pre-voting campaign is true. i can't see having him at the helm of my government. for example when we serve our NS, more than often the person higher than our rank is not someone we like or can get along with but we still have to respect his rank. "you don't have to respect me, but you have to respect my rank". sounds familiar? Dr. Chee had to respect Mr. Goh's position at least. if i remember correctly, he was still Prime Minister then... even not, a Senior Minister...
conclusion; to really have the power to "check" our government, we need real capable men who knows how to manipulate to their favour in our complex political system but how many is really interested to get involve with politics?
So very true....
Just wondering, if oppsition were to take power will take restrict and reduce the amount of FT coming in ??
I really cant stand Singapore prostituiting herself.
I wonder how many of those foreigners/PR really treat Singapore as their home.
NB, these ppl sure know how to fake democracy, like some girls who like to fake orgasm. Very natural.
I can vote for any party,as long as they allow us to speak up.(I WANT AIRSOFT!)Sorry for being an Airsoft freak here.
Originally posted by rokprince:NB, these ppl sure know how to fake democracy, like some girls who like to fake orgasm. Very natural.
huh?? how u know got girls fake orgasm one meh??
wah lau, got ppl write on internet de mah. aiyo.... girl ah. dont pick on me lei. i newbie first day reporting ![]()
Originally posted by rokprince:NB, these ppl sure know how to fake democracy, like some girls who like to fake orgasm. Very natural.
Fake democracy??????? What about wolves in sheeps' clothing to be in politics to serve public but in reality motive is to suck money from the people of the nation?
Originally posted by rokprince:wah lau, got ppl write on internet de mah. aiyo.... girl ah. dont pick on me lei. i newbie first day reporting
wha lau, newbie know gal got fake orgasm, me gal also never heard before leh??
Originally posted by angel7030:
wha lau, newbie know gal got fake orgasm, me gal also never heard before leh??
Means you healthy girl lor. No need to fake ![]()