Great, foreign media is exposing the reality of life here! Minister in charge refused to be interviewed, must be scared off and refuse to take responsibility or has no good answers to provide. Poor Malay lady was only given $30 after seeking help from MP while the govt pay themselves filthy high salary.
Is Lee Kuan Yew going to sue Al Jazeera?
I noticed that state propaganda media is pushing the propaganda of encouraging old people to continue working.
What about old ill people?
Is Lee Kuan Yew's wife still working?
Before this crisis,poor appears in every countries,including western 1 st world.

Commonwealth of Australia
http://www.antipovertyweek.org.au/info.html
If u are keen to compare the poor state in SG and in Oz,pl feel free
to check it up and share here.
http://www.australiafair.org.au/upload/site/pdf/publications/3078__Australia%20Fair%20Report.pdf
there are many info about oz about poverty.
So,poverty is not happening in SG only.
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,24483670-2702,00.html
October 12, 2008
The gap between the rich and poor in Australia is widening, says a Queensland welfare group.
The Queensland Council of Social Service (QCOSS) announced in Brisbane today that the top 20 per cent of households earn 10 times more than the bottom 20 per cent. .............................
nnn
what to do? goverment its really like shit now.. i support Dr. Chee now
Between PAP and dog, I will vote for dog.
If the PM, SM and MM, along with all the parliamentry members who're being paid exorbitant paychecks would cut down their ministerial pay into an "acceptable zone", I'm very sure everyone of the poor you saw on the video would be able to make ends meet.
Sadly, this is impossible. The government obviously has NO justifyable reason for their pay. Especially when even foreigners mock at our economical and social structure.
By the way, notice how things like these don't get into the Straits Times?
That's how propaganda works.
...yet they still claim themselves to be 'democratic'.
Oh, the irony of it all...
Fret not. Here's another first for Singapore.![]()
AFP - Friday, October 10
SINGAPORE, Oct 10, 2008 (AFP) - Singapore has become the first Asian economy to fall into recession, analysts said Friday, after the government revised downward its full-year growth estimate and eased monetary policy for the first time in years.
| ADVERTISEMENT |
The Ministry of Trade and Industry lowered the city-state's full-year growth forecast to around three percent, citing a slowdown in the global economy and key domestic sectors.
The move came as the ministry released preliminary data showing that real GDP declined by 6.3 percent in the third quarter after contracting 5.7 percent in the previous quarter, the ministry said.
While it did not describe the economy as being in recession, a technical recession is generally defined as two consecutive quarters of contraction in economic output.
"Singapore will be the first Asia economy to fall into a technical recession," DBS Group Research said in an assessment of the data.
In a move to confront the downturn, the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) -- its de facto central bank -- said it was easing monetary policy for the first time in more than four years.
"The Singapore economy has weakened over the course of 2008, alongside an escalation in the turmoil in financial markets and a more severe deceleration in global economic activity," MAS said.
These developments meant new uncertainties for the Singapore economy, while slower Asian growth would restrain activity in a range of service industries such as transportation and tourism, it said.
"The risks to external demand conditions continue to be on the downside, and a more severe global downturn cannot be discounted," the bank said.
The MAS conducts monetary policy through the local currency rather than by setting interest rates.
The Singapore dollar is traded against a basket of currencies of its major trading partners within an undisclosed band known as the nominal effective exchange rate (NEER).
In its semi-annual statement, MAS said it had maintained the policy of a modest and gradual appreciation of the NEER policy band since April 2004 but is shifting to zero percent appreciation.
Singapore is Southeast Asia's wealthiest economy in terms of gross domestic product (GDP) per capita but is heavily dependent on trade. This makes it sensitive to hiccups in developed economies, particularly key export markets the United States and Europe.
Economists polled by Dow Jones Newswires had forecast a 0.3 percent quarter-on-quarter rise in GDP, the value of goods and services produced in the economy.
Compared with the third quarter of last year, the ministry said Singapore's economy contracted by 0.5 percent in real terms, against 0.8 percent expansion foreseen in the Dow Jones poll.
In August the government had revised down its full-year GDP growth forecast to 4.0-5.0 percent but since then, external economic conditions have deteriorated more than expected, the trade ministry said.
Analysts said the key drag on third-quarter growth was manufacturing, which contracted by 11.5 percent year-on-year, and the surprise was a sharp decline in growth of what has been a booming construction sector.
Construction growth slowed to 7.8 percent from 19.8 percent, while service industries grew by 6.1 percent, marginally down from 7.0 percent in the second quarter, the data showed.
"Services deceleration should get more severe from here on," the US bank Morgan Stanley said in a report.
In a speech Friday, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said that although growth is slowing, the financial system is sound and the economy remains competitive.
He said that in recent years Singapore has upgraded and diversified its economy.
"This will mean new and better jobs, even if some old ones are lost," he told a conference.
Morgan Stanley said it expects things will only get worse for Singapore, and the recession will likely be more than just a technical one.
When I read the Straits Times article (dated 24 Sep) on PM Lee calling the young to be committed and make a difference to Singapore, I have so much thought about the issue.
I am 35 years old, graduated from University and gainfully employed in a multinational company. But I cannot help but feel insecure over the future of Singapore. Lets face it, it's not uncommon to hear, "when you are above 40, you are over the hill".
The government has been stressing on re-training, skills upgrading and re-adapt. The fact is, no matter how well qualified or adaptable one is, once you hit the magical 40, employers will say, "you are simply too old".
We have been focusing our resources and problem solving on low unskilled labour. But in reality, our managerial positions and skilled labour force are actually fast losing its competitiveness.
I travel around the region frequently for the past 10 years. It didn't take me long to realise how far our neighbours have come over the past decade.
They have quality skilled workers, and are less expensive. When I work with them, their analytical skills are equally good, if not better than us.
It's not new anymore. Taxi drivers are fast becoming "too early to retire, too old to work" segment of the society. I like to talk to taxi drivers whenever I am heading for the airport.
There was this driver. Eloquent and well read. He was an export manager for 12 years with an MNC. Retrenched at 40 years old. He had been searching for a job since his retrenchment.
Although he was willing to lower his pay expectations, employers were not willing to lower their prejudice. He was deemed too old. I wouldn't be surprised if we have another No. 1; having the most highly educated taxi drivers in the world.
On PM Lee calling the young to be committed and make a difference. Look around us. How dedicated can we be to Singapore when we can visualise what's in store for us after we turned 40? Then again, how committed are employers to us? But we can't blame them. They have bottom lines & shareholders' gain to answer to.
Onus is really on the government to revamp the society. A society that is not a pressure cooker. A society that does not mirror so perfectly, what survival of the fittest is.
But a society, where it's people can be committed, do their best and not having to fear whether they will still wake up employed tomorrow. Sadly, Singapore does not offer such luxuries and security anymore.
On the issue of babies. The government encourages us to pro-create. The next generation is essential in sustaining our competitive edge. Then again, the current market condition is such that our future has become uncertain. There is no more joy in having babies anymore; they have become more of a liability. It's really a chicken and egg issue.
Many of my peers, bright and well educated have packed up and left. It's what MM Goh called "quitters". It's sad but true, Singapore no longer is a place where one can hope to work hard their lives and retire graciously. It's really the push factor.
A future is something we sweat it out, build and call our own. Unfortunately, people like me, mid 30's going on 40's, staying put by choice or otherwise, we can't help but feel what lies ahead is really a gamble.
To PM Lee and the Ministers, we are on a different platform. Until you truly understand our insecurity, the future of Singapore to me remains a question mark.
(SPH rejected this letter - From: LocalSin)
Future of Singapore
This is a subject of rising concern despite the media's glowing employment figures. By Derek Wee
Oct 12, 2006
http://www.littlespeck.com/informed/2006/CInformed-061012.htm
Before the financial boo boo,
life is already predicted to be super tough.
Now, news papers show headline news to call people to brace themselves, go upgrade.
I have no confidence in the future especially when Electricity price can shoot up by a humongous 22% just when OIL price has dropped by 33%.
The most cute other hike that relates to oil is Transport Hike.
I predict many businessmen who cannot continue to be more profitable than before might resort to price hikes using the reasons of electricity hike and telephone bill hike and transport hike among others. Every business potentially now have a good reason to hike.
Singaporeans, thanks for your vote. You did a great job. You.... you....sorry, I just vomited blood.... okie got to sleep liao. 2molo going to work you know? Got to smile and greet our FTs to make them feel at home and help them integrate to compete rice bowl with me. They so important wor.
We are paying for their so call F_ _k talent.
to mi they a a batch of sucker..
suck until u dry dry than leave u behind wi FT.
Bravo Al Jazeera!
Please Sg Government! Do something for the poor people! Don't you see something wrong with the picture of 70 year old ah mas washing toilet floors and serving at MacDonalds?
$30 from an MP... thats really generous from a bunch of first class ministers eh?
seriously... i dun mind if they are stupid or lazy and cant make life better for normal citizen.... but what i mind is them getting their fucking high salary and still claim to be underpaid and still cant do their job right.. really ccb...
muderfarkin govet servants
who won't mind being paid millions to....
1. be able to increase own salary.
2. give 2 years of dividends during good economy, then increase utilities, gst, erp, and the list goes on.
3. ask people to brace when times are bad.
4. always ask for feedback, but rebute all of those and then feel good about it.
5. what else?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Is Lee Kuan Yew going to sue Al Jazeera?
I noticed that state propaganda media is pushing the propaganda of encouraging old people to continue working.
What about old ill people?
Is Lee Kuan Yew's wife still working?
LKY's wife is still working, she has yet to relinquish directorship in various organisations. Right now she is helping to create jobs for the hospitals foreign nurses by staying there, really very good heart.
I thought LKY said there was no poverty in Singapore. ![]()
Those folks in the youtube video probably miser millionaires getting free healthy vegetarian food. ![]()
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Between PAP and dog, I will vote for dog.
Dog also got PAP ok, so please dun vote the PAP dogs.
And Uncle for your info, only dogs are eligble to vote for a chief dog
Originally posted by maurizio13:
I thought LKY said there was no poverty in Singapore.
Those folks in the youtube video probably miser millionaires getting free healthy vegetarian food.
LKY said in Singapore, he never said in YOUTUBE video ok, please mind your words, you may get sue for defamation.
Attorney Angel
For Lee n Lee Firm
Originally posted by Dondontan:Great, foreign media is exposing the reality of life here! Minister in charge refused to be interviewed, must be scared off and refuse to take responsibility or has no good answers to provide. Poor Malay lady was only given $30 after seeking help from MP while the govt pay themselves filthy high salary.
Our Ministers are consider high elites with top scholar brain and intellectual, they know how to define useful and useless better than most of us, what value does that Poor Lady hold, nothing rite, so by giving $30 is enough.
"Get out of my elite uncaring face"
Even young elites can tell off older working people this.
Haiz.![]()
you know what i think the real problem is? we are not protecting our own people enough. The only way to protect them is to stop importing so much ''foreign talent''. Adopt protectionist policies and limit the number of foreigners coming in to work for us.
Right now, our waiters/waitresess, builders, repairmen etc etc are mostly made up of foreigners. Gone are the days that I can walk to a kopitiam, order a hor fun and safely assume that the person taking my order understands exactly what i want.
If we limit the number of foreigners coming in to work for us, employers have no choice but to look within local circles for people. And they won't find many. Not if they are offering 4-5 dollars per hour. And the only option then is to adjust salaries upwards.
One of the major reasons why our people refuse to work as construction workers, wait staff is because the pay is unable to sustain our lifestyle. U've heard the report. 10 years without adjustment of salaries within the lowest paid. Is that sustainable?
Originally posted by maxtor:you know what i think the real problem is? we are not protecting our own people enough. The only way to protect them is to stop importing so much ''foreign talent''. Adopt protectionist policies and limit the number of foreigners coming in to work for us.
Right now, our waiters/waitresess, builders, repairmen etc etc are mostly made up of foreigners. Gone are the days that I can walk to a kopitiam, order a hor fun and safely assume that the person taking my order understands exactly what i want.
If we limit the number of foreigners coming in to work for us, employers have no choice but to look within local circles for people. And they won't find many. Not if they are offering 4-5 dollars per hour. And the only option then is to adjust salaries upwards.
One of the major reasons why our people refuse to work as construction workers, wait staff is because the pay is unable to sustain our lifestyle. U've heard the report. 10 years without adjustment of salaries within the lowest paid. Is that sustainable?
Hello, u know what is a free economy, free market, globlisation, if not please read up hor. APEC, WTO, who move my ice cream, etc etc
har got who move my ice cream meh
by who one?
Walls eye cream boss har
We should increase ERP, GST, MRT fares to help the poor. ![]()