'Hang up national flag if you forgive me'
Jurong resident surprised to find bike left outside flat with strange letter
August 07, 2008
WHEN Mr Jack Ngui was leaving for work on 28 Jul, he found a black bicycle that did not belong to him outside his flat.
Surprised by the bike left outside his flat, Mr Jack Ngui (above) checked with his neighbours if it was theirs. -- TNP Picture: KUA CHEE SIONG
Attached to the bicycle was a white envelope.
But as he was running late, the 33-year-old manager did not think much about it.
When he returned home that evening, the bicycle and the envelope were still outside his 14th-storey flat in Block 625, Jurong West Street 61.
Then he saw that his unit number was on the envelope and realised that someone had deliberately left the bicycle for him.
Inside the envelope was a one-page handwritten letter of apology from someone who had signed off as 'Depressed Teenager'.
The letter writer confessed to stealing the bicycle from Mr Ngui's unit about four years ago, and was returning it because he felt remorseful.
But Mr Ngui, who lives with his wife and his sister in his three-room flat, told The New Paper that the bicycle did not belong to him.
He said he does not own a bicycle, and had moved into the flat only in November 2005.
SORRY
In the letter, the writer said: 'I am terribly sorry for whatever I did... I want to correct my mistake.'
The writer also said that he was an adopted child and that his 'uncle' and 'aunty' had not treated him well.
'I wanted to go jail because staying with them was worse than jail and so the only way to go to jail is to commit a crime.'
He said he regretted his actions later and decided to return the bicycle after living with the guilt for a few years.
But if Mr Ngui is not the owner of the bicycle, who is?
'At first, I thought it could have belonged to the previous owner of my flat,' said Mr Ngui.
But when he checked with his neighbours, a married couple, he discovered that the bike may have belonged to them.
His neighbour, Mr Krish Ng, 32, said his family's bicycle had gone missing about four years ago.
Mr Ng, 32, and his wife have been living in the flat for the past five years.
Although the bicycle they lost was red, a closer inspection of the returned bicycle showed traces of red paint beneath the black.
PAINTED OVER
Mr Ng said: 'Perhaps it was painted over. The bicycle is most likely mine.
'There were some other changes besides the colour but I can't remember everything about the original bike.'
The thief had admitted to modifying the bicycle in his letter but did not specify what he changed.
The Ngs said it had been so long since their bicycle went missing that they had forgotten about it.
In his letter, the thief asked to be forgiven.
He wrote: 'If you guys really, sincerely want to forgive me... I hope that you hang the national flag for at least 5 days upon receipt of my letter.'
But the Ngs said they do not have the Singapore flag and are not planning to buy one.
Mr Ng said: 'Asking us to hang up the flag is not the right way.
'If he sincerely wants to be forgiven, he can knock on my door and talk to me and then I will forgive him.'
So what is the relation to hanging flag??
Originally posted by yamizi:So what is the relation to hanging flag??
i think the `reformed' thief will then see from a far that he is forgiven. definitely not underwear, becos everyone hangs them out to dry...
the thief could have at least bought a national flag for them too
I love the logic of the TS .... ![]()
Looking at the low number of residents who hang flags( other than those RC blocks facing the roads) we should implement some pragmatic solution to improve the situation.
We could
1) offer upgrading to the block with most flags hung out
2) lucky draw for those units that hang out the national flag. The winner can move to a condo ( which means they do not need to hang flags in future.)
3) Give converservancy rebates to blocks with more than 80% flags displayed
nowadays, flag hanging is the job of a town council. either singaporeans' got other concerns or the flat dwellers are FTs. don't be surprised on june 12, 2009, you see a lot of the philippines national flags outside these hdb flats' window.
tie a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree lah
I thought the RC people will hang the flag if the residents don't?
looks like rc getting lazy this year in my area. no flag for me.
So the reformed bicycle thief is too cowardly to apologize to the owner.
So.... why are we discussing this in Speaker's Corner? ![]()
this concerns the future of our nation
wat if one day this bicycle thief becomes minister?
Originally posted by FireIce:this concerns the future of our nation
wat if one day this bicycle thief becomes minister?
Then why is this discussion on (I quote the title) 'Unique Enticement Tactic for Hanging National Flag'?
duncha know the threadstarters here like to inject their own biased creativity into the topic sentences?
anything not related oso can bull until related loh
pls lah, u not 1st day here rite
Originally posted by FireIce:duncha know the threadstarters here like to inject their own biased creativity into the topic sentences?
Of course I do.
Just like how Class 95's actions can somehow turn into a government conspiracy.
I just enjoy poking fun of threads like this. ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:duncha know the threadstarters here like to inject their own biased creativity into the topic sentences?
Hey being creative ensures more people to your topics ok?
this post is like mo lei tou
Originally posted by fudgester:
Of course I do.Just like how Class 95's actions can somehow turn into a government conspiracy.
I just enjoy poking fun of threads like this.
I don't like Class 95
this is like a crap piece of article.. who in the right mind would be bothered about the stupid flag when it's about the act of stealing of the bicycle?
Originally posted by cuddles:this is like a crap piece of article.. who in the right mind would be bothered about the stupid flag when it's about the act of stealing of the bicycle?
maybe the thief wants to know whether he's forgiven or not...
Originally posted by yamizi:I don't like Class 95
neither do i
i was expecting PRC flags on HDB flats soon![]()