Originally posted by angel7030:
And hor, they also said dun increase pay to offset inflation, damn, we are getting poorer n poorer, cos they claim that increase of pay will give us a wage competitive disadvantage leading to foreign investors moving out and lost of jobs, so both as consumers and employees, we are doom.
Spent my Gst offset liao
There is no end to what they can earn out of us, watch out for 2013, this is the year they will implement the buying annuity. This annuity sure kena sucked dry by them, who guarantee they can live past 80 years old.
I long ago finished spending my GST offset liao. No money can't survive here.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
In that case, all the OECD have no investments at all.
And that EDB, lower corporate tax and increase Gst, putting those taxes on consumer like us inorder to get foreign investor in, OMG, what are those scholars in EDB board doing?? They should think of a better way like productivity or education rather than playing with us to attain there target of FIs.
Afterall, the jobs created also half where to F Talent and F workers.
Originally posted by Fantagf:There is no end to what they can earn out of us, watch out for 2013, this is the year they will implement the buying annuity. This annuity sure kena sucked dry by them, who guarantee they can live past 80 years old.
By 2013, IR open, i bet they can't even get the annuity running right, cos now i sense that they also dunno what they are doing, and that Ng of former MOM minister, is no where to be seen
Originally posted by Fantagf:There is no end to what they can earn out of us, watch out for 2013, this is the year they will implement the buying annuity. This annuity sure kena sucked dry by them, who guarantee they can live past 80 years old.
I spend the money on increasing my units in a unit trust.
But to be fair, it is for usage for the 2% increase... You need to spend $200/0.02 = $10000 for the $200 that was given out recently
Originally posted by Fantagf:Isn't there any end to what they are paying themselves, keep paying themselves obscene high pay? YOu are in support of PAP sucking us dry?
How would you infer from my post that I am in support of PAP sucking us dry? haha.
I drive a car myself so I am affected by the petrol prices and ERP etc. I am just a worker so I am affected by the rising food prices. So what makes you think I am in support.
My point is that I find it so funny that everything also blame Government. So you mean its best that the government give you everything free then you very happy ah?
I can safely say that those who are really suffering in Singapore will not be in this forum complaining. They are too poor to have internet and complain. Those who complain are MOSTLY people who just blame the government for everything. Easy way out. Have you done anything to improve things for yourself? Do what you can within your means to improve things for yourself instead of complaining about things you cannot change. Understand?
Originally posted by gasband:they just cant please everyone haha!
Petrol go down. People ask public transport how. Public transport if go down, people will ask rice how. If rice go down, people will ask salary how. If salary goes up, people will ask electricity bill how. Electricity bill go down, people will ask hdb how. hdb prices if go down, people will ask ERP how.
haha no end sia.....
But the issue here is everything is inflated beyond any mature economy, the other economy that experience this level of inflation is China.
Why has inflation increased so much during this 1-2 years?
1) GST increases last year
2) Influx of immigrants due to government's policy of increasing population to 6 million.
There are other reasons for the increases, but the first 2 reasons are more directly related to the government's 7.5% inflation rate.
Other reasons
3) Increases in fuel cost
4) Price increases in food commodity
5) Maintaining a dirty float
When inflation goes up, almost everything goes up, so most of us here would rather they maintain inflation at 1% to 2%.
Nobody has been that illogical as cited by you, it's just that during these 1-2 years prices have gone up tremendously as a result of the government's policies. I don't recall folks complaining so much before the 2004 general elections. Most electorates feel cheated by the government for implementing the GST increases without informing the electorates during the elections.
-delete-
But the issue here is everything is inflated beyond any mature economy, the other economy that experience this level of inflation is China.
Why has inflation increased so much during this 1-2 years?
1) GST increases last year
2) Influx of immigrants due to government's policy of increasing population to 6 million.
There are other reasons for the increases, but the first 2 reasons are more directly related to the government's 7.5% inflation rate.
Other reasons
3) Increases in fuel cost
4) Price increases in food commodity
5) Maintaining a dirty float
When inflation goes up, almost everything goes up, so most of us here would rather they maintain inflation at 1% to 2%.
Nobody has been that illogical as cited by you, it's just that during these 1-2 years prices have gone up tremendously as a result of the government's policies. I don't recall folks complaining so much before the 2004 general elections. Most electorates feel cheated by the government for implementing the GST increases without informing the electorates during the elections.
Yeah. Ok. You made your point. I knew those. My heart pains everytime i pump petrol. So what you gonna do?
So instead of lamenting it here. WHat have you done to help yourself? Or to make things better for yourself?
Originally posted by gasband:How would you infer from my post that I am in support of PAP sucking us dry? haha.
I drive a car myself so I am affected by the petrol prices and ERP etc. I am just a worker so I am affected by the rising food prices. So what makes you think I am in support.
My point is that I find it so funny that everything also blame Government. So you mean its best that the government give you everything free then you very happy ah?
I can safely say that those who are really suffering in Singapore will not be in this forum complaining. They are too poor to have internet and complain. Those who complain are MOSTLY people who just blame the government for everything. Easy way out. Have you done anything to improve things for yourself? Do what you can within your means to improve things for yourself instead of complaining about things you cannot change. Understand?
Don't exaggerate, not everyone blame the Pay and Pay for everything. Like it or not, I am saying YOu are being subtle in being a lackey. YOu believe in what you want, and we people here are stating facts and reality. If what you read here are very unpleasant and unacceptable to you, you can opt to go other forums that sing praises of Pay and Pay.
Increasing transport fares by 3% is taking place this year as compared to 1% to 2% increase last year in the midst of high inflation. This is the sort of "kind and considerate" govt we have. Come on, there is an increase in the number of people taking public transport, the public transport companies are gaining because of this increase. There is definitely no good reason to increase fares during this high inflation. Can you help solve this by requesting the govt not to increase fares?
Woh woh.
Originally posted by gasband:Yeah. Ok. You made your point. I knew those. My heart pains everytime i pump petrol. So what you gonna do?
So instead of lamenting it here. WHat have you done to help yourself? Or to make things better for yourself?
So you are insinuating that people should not have the freedom to speak up at all about the reality?
Originally posted by eagle:
I spend the money on increasing my units in a unit trust.But to be fair, it is for usage for the 2% increase... You need to spend $200/0.02 = $10000 for the $200 that was given out recently
$200 is not much especially during this high inflation.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Don't exaggerate, not everyone blame the Pay and Pay for everything. Like it or not, I am saying YOu are being subtle in being a lackey. YOu believe in what you want, and we people here are stating facts and reality. If what you read here are very unpleasant and unacceptable to you, you can opt to go other forums that sing praises of Pay and Pay.
Increasing transport fares by 3% is taking place this year as compared to 1% to 2% increase last year in the midst of high inflation. This is the sort of "kind and considerate" govt we have. Come on, there is an increase in the number of people taking public transport, the public transport companies are gaining because of this increase. There is definitely no good reason to increase fares during this high inflation. Can you help solve this by requesting the govt not to increase fares?
Woh woh.
I am not EXAGGERATING. You ARE blaming the government for everything haha.
And since you are so honest, i will be honest too. Like it or not, you are being lazy to just complain and do nothing. Lazy bum.
And no, I cant help to solve this by requesting the govt not to raise fares. Neither can you by lamenting here. But I do know I can do something by not being lazy, by working harder, spending less time on the internet complaining. I can do something by planning my purchases and my route while driving. I can do something by doing lesser purchases on luxury items.
So what you done? Allow me to indulge in my honesty one more time. You are just lazy.
Actually you know what people. Its ok to complain. I would be a hypocrite if I said that I dun complain about the rising prices, I am afterall just a consumer. I dun get highly paid and I drive a 1.5litre car. But as the SEVEN HABITS OF HIGHLY EFFECTIVE PEOPLE teach us (haha), we should just do what we can within our circle of influence and not focus on things WE CANNOT change.
And guess what even if we CANNOT CHANGE something, we still have A CHOICE like what SEVEN HABITS said. WE ALWAYS HAVE A CHOICE. And in this case, leave the country. OR join the opposition. OR another choice as my fren here has taken, to sit behind the comp and complain and complain and complain and realise next morning when he wakes up, that his life is not any better off.
Originally posted by gasband:Yeah. Ok. You made your point. I knew those. My heart pains everytime i pump petrol. So what you gonna do?
I am just going to keep on telling the folks about the misdeeds of the government and hope I can convince as many as possible. ![]()
I am not lamenting here, just telling spreading the news here. There is no need for me to do anything for myself, because it doesn't affect me that much, I am just concerned about the lower income group. Also, there is not much one can do because it's pervasive, it's the government's policy, nothing that the citizens do can make a difference. If say the inflation rate is currently 7.6%, everybody works hard to make things better for himself. Does it mean that inflation will not be 7.6%?
Say everybody has $100, then everybody works hard, so they get $200. With an increase in money supply, does this not mean that inflation either maintains the same or goes up.
Also, I remembered a certain Minister said "don't ask for wage increments because it will worsen the inflation situation". A clear cut case that increases in money supply will increase inflation.
I am just going to keep on telling the folks about the misdeeds of the government and hope I can convince as many as possible.I am not lamenting here, just telling spreading the news here. There is no need for me to do anything for myself, because it doesn't affect me that much, I am just concerned about the lower income group. Also, there is not much one can do because it's pervasive, it's the government's policy, nothing that the citizens do can make a difference. If say the inflation rate is currently 7.6%, everybody works hard to make things better for himself. Does it mean that inflation will not be 7.6%?
Say everybody has $100, then everybody works hard, so they get $200. With an increase in money supply, does this not mean that inflation either maintains the same or goes up.
Also, I remembered a certain Minister said "don't ask for wage increments because it will worsen the inflation situation". A clear cut case that increases in money supply will increase inflation.
Alright I will give you the benefit of doubt of what you are trying to do. I guess there is no harm in such discussions and of cos you may get passionate and convicted in what you need to do. But I guess maybe sometimes its what you choose to actually do then what you believe in that is more important.
Originally posted by gasband:I am not EXAGGERATING. You ARE blaming the government for everything haha.
And since you are so honest, i will be honest too. Like it or not, you are being lazy to just complain and do nothing. Lazy bum.
And no, I cant help to solve this by requesting the govt not to raise fares. Neither can you by lamenting here. But I do know I can do something by not being lazy, by working harder, spending less time on the internet complaining. I can do something by planning my purchases and my route while driving. I can do something by doing lesser purchases on luxury items.
So what you done? Allow me to indulge in my honesty one more time. You are just lazy.
Actually you know what people. Its ok to complain. I would be a hypocrite if I said that I dun complain about the rising prices, I am afterall just a consumer. I dun get highly paid and I drive a 1.5litre car. But as the SEVEN HABITS OF HIGHLY EFFECTIVE PEOPLE teach us (haha), we should just do what we can within our circle of influence and not focus on things WE CANNOT change.
And guess what even if we CANNOT CHANGE something, we still have A CHOICE like what SEVEN HABITS said. WE ALWAYS HAVE A CHOICE. And in this case, leave the country. OR join the opposition. OR another choice as my fren here has taken, to sit behind the comp and complain and complain and complain and realise next morning when he wakes up, that his life is not any better off.
Nobody's blaming the government indiscriminately.
If everybody works harder, you mean to say inflation will go down?
Growth in money supply results in inflation, provided there are extra work in the economy. Moreover working harder could result in displacing another worker because there are only this much work in the economy. If you work harder say in a coffeeshop, you take over this other coffeeshop helper's job, in the end displacing him. (same with construction industry & factory, there are only this many buildings to build and this many goods to manufacture)
If the money supply continues to expand, prices begin to rise, especially if output growth reaches capacity limits.
1) Leave the country? There are immigration policies not many would qualify.
2) Join the opposition? Not qualified or fear of persecution by the ruling elite.
3) Complaints? There is a difference between complains and constructive criticism.
There are many here that won't even give criticism about the government, they'd rather bury their head in the sand like ostriches and pretend everything is alright when they wake up. You also get the usual no brainers like lionnoisy who would agree with everything the P4P does. Say if tomorrow P4P wants to merge Singapore with Malaysia, lionnoisy would agree 100%. Say if tomorrow the government increases the GST to 15%, lionnoisy would also agree.
We are making constructive criticism because we do not believe in the government's policy of increasing GST and population. We hope that by making overselves heard, many will understand the misgivings of this regime and vote against them in the next election.
Originally posted by gasband:I am not EXAGGERATING. You ARE blaming the government for everything haha.
You want to be a troll, not a problem. Point out that I have not said anything positive about PAP, then you have the right to say I blame gahment for everything.
Shut your gap, keep whining about people complaining. You are doing the same, hypocrite. If you have no evidence that I do nothing but complain, then shut your gap. I don't need to tell you the place and time I discuss with people about the political scene here. YOu troll just simply love to come here for troublemaking. Troll.
Originally posted by Fantagf:You want to be a troll, not a problem. Point out that I have not said anything positive about PAP, then you have the right to say I blame gahment for everything.
Shut your gap, keep whining about people complaining. You are doing the same, hypocrite. If you have no evidence that I do nothing but complain, then shut your gap. I don't need to tell you the place and time I discuss with people about the political scene here. YOu troll just simply love to come here for troublemaking. Troll.
Alright like what Maurizio says on the post above you, difference between constructive criticism and complaining. You are right, I should spend so much time complaining about you complaining, or else I would be the same as you. So ciao! Lazy Bum!
Nobody's blaming the government indiscriminately.If everybody works harder, you mean to say inflation will go down?
Growth in money supply results in inflation, provided there are extra work in the economy. Moreover working harder could result in displacing another worker because there are only this much work in the economy. If you work harder say in a coffeeshop, you take over this other coffeeshop helper's job, in the end displacing him. (same with construction industry & factory, there are only this many buildings to build and this many goods to manufacture)
1) Leave the country? There are immigration policies not many would qualify.
2) Join the opposition? Not qualified or fear of persecution by the ruling elite.
3) Complaints? There is a difference between complains and constructive criticism.
There are many here that won't even give criticism about the government, they'd rather bury their head in the sand like ostriches and pretend everything is alright when they wake up. You also get the usual no brainers like lionnoisy who would agree with everything the P4P does. Say if tomorrow P4P wants to merge Singapore with Malaysia, lionnoisy would agree 100%. Say if tomorrow the government increases the GST to 15%, lionnoisy would also agree.
We are making constructive criticism because we do not believe in the government's policy of increasing GST and population. We hope that by making overselves heard, many will understand the misgivings of this regime and vote against them in the next election.
Trolls always expect people to behave and post messages according to their standard, liking whimps and fancies. Failing which, there will be no end to their harassment to the people who speak up. Most of the forumers who speak up against what the govt are doing are not accusing the Pay and Pay. These are facts and reality people are talking about.
For eg, lhl said increasing GST by 2% to help the poor, but till now we know nothing has been done about it. This is fact and not accusation to blame the gahmen.