half he graduates will have relised thatL- this applies to poly grads
that we have been "forced" to take poly, ITE , A level route through a system of elaborate processes and even in the courses. Good examples willl be that biomedical and engineering courses. Engineering was highly encouraged by the themduring the 1990s and look at what happened:- Engineer is dying trade now. and watever is left is taken by more qualified workers from India and China. Biomedical- this one dont need to say - a total failure.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:............
let me translate it for him .....
Adelaide U, and Finance grads FTW ! .... ![]()
actually it really does not matter where one studies... whether one is suited for the global workforce or not all depends on the adaptability of the particular person, I know many people from Adelaide Uni who would make lousy employees.... even in australia, not talking about the global workforce yet.
I have a friend who did not get to uni, but rose to become a very high level manager in Dairy Farm, and only after this did the person get two masters degrees, yet this person over saw many of the company's operations and was involved in many overseas projects too... education means nothing without application and even without education, there is still a way.
one thing i know for sure, singapore system trains you to work like a mindless drone till the day you die, allowing you to apply your knowledge to get work done without much creativity coming to play, just like a machine with protocols to follow. Or at least that is how i feel being trhough the singapore education system. no comment on aus system since i have never been trhough it.
... do you notice, how almost every young schooling kid will raise their hand up whenever they cross the road, even at traffic light crossings, zebra crossings? I believe this is what the schools here taught them; that if you raise your hand up with your palm facing oncoming traffic, you can even stop any vehicle driven by a drunken driver with an invisible Force Field which will deflect and flip the entire car like in The X Men...
... this idea of raising your hand up while crossing a road makes kids look RETARDED!!! Why don't they teach children how to read traffic signs, signals lights on cars, and even how to gauge motorists as they approach traffic lights, instead of just raising one hand and blindly believe that every motorist will be watching what's in front of them?
... this is the pathetic way our education system is going about teaching young minds...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... do you notice, how almost every young schooling kid will raise their hand up whenever they cross the road, even at traffic light crossings, zebra crossings? I believe this is what the schools here taught them; that if you raise your hand up with your palm facing oncoming traffic, you can even stop any vehicle driven by a drunken driver with an invisible Force Field which will deflect and flip the entire car like in The X Men...
... this idea of raising your hand up while crossing a road makes kids look RETARDED!!! Why don't they teach children how to read traffic signs, signals lights on cars, and even how to gauge motorists as they approach traffic lights, instead of just raising one hand and blindly believe that every motorist will be watching what's in front of them?
... this is the pathetic way our education system is going about teaching young minds...
In Aus, they teach children about the traffic lights and such but they dont ask them to raise their hand ect.Even for older international students, orientation about the country is provided. And one thing u will realise in Australia, the lecturers and teachers have a good general knowledge of stuff outside the curriculum they impart to their students
btw sg children are childish and mindless compared to aussie kids.
You will at least not find that many kids in oz who talk about flying out of the window like batman or spiderman.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:btw sg children are childish and mindless compared to aussie kids.
You will at least not find that many kids in oz who talk about flying out of the window like batman or spiderman.
damn it, i still do that nowadays you know?
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:Studying in Australia offers international students more than academic achievement and a globally recognised qualification. It is a once-in-a-lifetime experience through which a student can develop independence, maturity, an understanding of other cultures, and the ability to see issues from different perspectives.
Study in Australia better prepares a student to work in today’s global marketplace. This is why several foreign companies recruit directly from Australian universities and vocational institutes. Many international organisations and companies employ overseas students with Australian qualifications because their exposure to the outside world gives them greater independence and maturity. With international trade barriers disappearing, great opportunities exist for those with the skills, experience and knowledge to seize them.
Aiya, if u r capable and smart, study where and what also can lah, be it harvard, princeton, or MIT, even if u graduated but do not hv the capability and shrewd, the most u still a manager or engineer, just look at Bill Gate, not even complete harvard, billionaire liao. And most bosses also never got degree one lah.
Me diploma only, but still better than U grad lor. Hmmm...me go study..further
Originally posted by Fatum:let me translate it for him .....
Adelaide U, and Finance grads FTW ! ....
It is ALL AUSSIE AND THEIR WANNABE ......FTW!!!!!
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... do you notice, how almost every young schooling kid will raise their hand up whenever they cross the road, even at traffic light crossings, zebra crossings? I believe this is what the schools here taught them; that if you raise your hand up with your palm facing oncoming traffic, you can even stop any vehicle driven by a drunken driver with an invisible Force Field which will deflect and flip the entire car like in The X Men...
oh shit ! .... you mean your kids turned out like that ? ....... ![]()
forgive me for thinking, but what have you been doing then ? ...... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:oh shit ! .... you mean your kids turned out like that ? .......
forgive me for thinking, but what have you been doing then ? ......
Good one!!!
He most probably blame on PAP again....
Maybe he still do that now....because PAP did not teach him anything new....
Originally posted by Fatum:oh shit ! .... you mean your kids turned out like that ? .......
forgive me for thinking, but what have you been doing then ? ......
very well said, that is typically Singaporean, leave the education of their children to the teachers, their life to the government, then kpkb they are not doing a good job!
in singapore,
we are taught how to score distinctions in exams...
but we are not taught how to give way to alighting commuters in trains,
not taught how to queue up when boarding the buses or trains,
not taught how to give up our seats for the elderly or ppl in need,
not taught how to show basic courtesy in everyday life...
i think MOE needs to bring back 好公民..
Originally posted by GHoST_18:in singapore,
We are!!! in Sec sch .....CME lessons
Originally posted by angel7030:
Aiya, if u r capable and smart, study where and what also can lah, be it harvard, princeton, or MIT, even if u graduated but do not hv the capability and shrewd, the most u still a manager or engineer, just look at Bill Gate, not even complete harvard, billionaire liao. And most bosses also never got degree one lah.
Me diploma only, but still better than U grad lor. Hmmm...me go study..further
Originally posted by Mostwanted5125:We are!!! in Sec sch .....CME lessons
some things must start from young...
when i went to Adelaide Uni, for the first time i had interest to study cos i know that what i learn in Aus uni can apply in workplace. But in Sg, when i doind Dip many years ago, i studied just for the sake of studying.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:when i went to Adelaide Uni, for the first time i had interest to study cos i know that what i learn in Aus uni can apply in workplace. But in Sg, when i doind Dip many years ago, i studied just for the sake of studying.
Are u still living there or u came back to singpaore liao....?
Originally posted by Mostwanted5125:We are!!! in Sec sch .....CME lessons
nowsadays still have ornot har?
I'm not quite sure about that leh ....
when more than 1 in four people you see on the streets are foreigners ....
if they didn't have 好公民 in their school syllabus, it'll all be for fark too, right ? ... ![]()
It not MOE didn't hv the subject, they got social study mah.
we can give way, but is the foreigners going to give way??
we can give seat, but by then we are a greying population, who give to who, all old liao??
we can taught basic courtesy, but PRC splitting and talking loudly, foreign workerforces shouting and road side eating is getting no where for us to be courtesy.
ok..
outta 4 rude ppl...
1 is a foreigner/PR...
Originally posted by Fatum:I'm not quite sure about that leh ....
when more than 1 in four people you see on the streets are foreigners ....
if they didn't have 好公民 in their school syllabus, it'll all be for fark too, right ? ...
But really hor,
好公民 also for fark.....
When u see old woman crossing the road how?
Textbook answers are good for test only