Originally posted by angel7030:
that is dictatorial, i dun want to join..how can u take away my hard earn money??
well, i promise not to take your money if you join.
and remember, i am honest so you can trust me
Originally posted by BadzMaro:u mean u get a share of what they earn for doing nothing ? DO they get a share of what u earn ?
of course i would not be doing nothing.
I would constantly remind you
1 - pay increment will not solve the problem
2 - we are not facing inflation
3 - we are not facing economic depression
4 - we need more GST
lastly and most importantly, I will still need to draw million dollar salary after i retire
Originally posted by ChiBet:
well, i promise not to take your money if you join.and remember, i am honest so you can trust me
That was what P4P told me too, but damn, they tax me alots, so i dun wan to fall into another trick again.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Once a PM retired, he will not be pay anymore, that happen in most countries, they will stand down and perhap get some compensation in a pension system. But our is funny, after PM, got SM, after SM, got MM, then later after MM got SMM...wow! and all are paid more than a PM, cos promoted mah. So instead of paying one PM, we have to pay SM, MM and so on...till they die. Fair or not?
Next year Gst Rebate, how much huh??? i want to buy PSP
Why comprain ?
A "retired" pensioner.. do nothing but still get paid.
A PM-SM-MM.. still working mah....somemore.. work so hard.. even when wife critically ill.. still can go Russia drink tea leh...
Very hard working people ok ? Pay them million is peanuts.... ofcors to us they look like monkeys lor.
Originally posted by jojobeach:
Why comprain ?
A "retired" pensioner.. do nothing but still get paid.
A PM-SM-MM.. still working mah....somemore.. work so hard.. even when wife critically ill.. still can go Russia drink tea leh...
Very hard working people ok ? Pay them million is peanuts.... ofcors to us they look like monkeys lor.
Aiya, sister, me typical singaporeans mah, no complain, very itchy ok.
Originally posted by angel7030:Aiya, sister, me typical singaporeans mah, no complain, very itchy ok.
would you let me scratch your itch?
i specialise in scratching internal itches
Originally posted by ChiBet:
would you let me scratch your itch?i specialise in scratching internal itches
no need, when i see you, somehow, all itchness stopped
I think uprightness is the most important character for a politician.Surely we wouldn't want to get a Chan Sui Bian.
Originally posted by PRP:I think uprightness is the most important character for a politician.Surely we wouldn't want to get a Chan Sui Bian.
We need leaders who are caring and concerned for others' welfare and wellbeing. Just be a gentleman and practise good conduct like "do not do unto others what one does not want others to do unto oneself".
The Chinese has a saying "Ji shou bu yi gu shi yi ren".
you should join a political party
Originally posted by Lin Yu:you should join a political party
Lin,
Upholding good simple virtues and values for our politicians to follow in the face of oppressions, hypocrisy and self-glorifications is just as important as taking part in politics.
It is a fact that not everyone is cut out to be a politician and I happen to be one of them. I will support anyone who has such virtues to step into the arena to serve fellow citizens as Chiam See Tong or Sylvia or Low Thia Khiang have done.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:and an oppose just for opposing type of opposition will ensure no real decisions r made and the country starts to decline. Despite contrary perception, singapore is still one of the most richest country with a high growth rate and high quality of living
High quality of living
....Reeeaaaalllllyyyy?
http://www.finfacts.com/qualityoflife.htm
Singapore scores the highest among asia countries. If u think singapore is bad, logically other countries in asia r worse
Auckland (5) is the city in Asia Pacific with the best quality of living, followed by Sydney (10) and Wellington (12). Elsewhere in Asia, Singapore (32) ranks two places higher than in 2007, slightly higher than Japanese cities such as Tokyo (35). Hong Kong and Beijing retain their 2007 rankings, respectively 70 and 116 in 2008. Bangalore (140) is India's most highly ranked city followed closely by Mumbai (142). Both have seen a marked improvement in their rankings since 2007. Elsewhere in Asia, Kuala Lumpur ranks 75, followed by Taipei (84), Seoul (86), Bangkok (109) and Jakarta (146). According to the index, Auckland, the city with the best quality of living in Asia Pacific, scores 107.3 while Dhaka, the city with the region's worst quality of living, scores 38.9.
If one doesn't have good political ideas but is honest and quite successful in his career,should he take part in politics?
Originally posted by PRP:If one doesn't have good political ideas but is honest and quite successful in his career,should he take part in politics?
no. politicians need to be liars.
people don't like bad news. tell them bad news and they will link you to the bad news. must be able to present bad news positively.
Which reminds me of something. The Republicans are tax-cut crazy, and loves to lower the tax again and again.
Then again, blindly lowering tax does nothing to help the economy. If the opposition want to lower tax for instance, they need to show that the economy will not be hurt in the long run, and who are they going to tax.
Sometime, a clear solution is needed.
Originally posted by PRP:If one doesn't have good political ideas but is honest and quite successful in his career,should he take part in politics?
No, you are supposed to run the nation. If not, then he or she is simply wasting tax payer's money by being a poster boy or girl.
Sometime, a clear solution is needed.
Unfortunately in politics a clear solution means it's something that's clear cut and yet popular with the people.
In a democracy, that tends to be an oxymoron.
What's popular and what's good for the country is rarely the same thing. More often than not, they oppose each other
Exactly, prop 8 and the minority right has always been a huge issue to tackle. The majority by nature loves to discrminate the minority group, and will whin about it even when the government passed a law.
Same goes to tax hikes and tax raise. Lowering tax doesn't solve any real issues at all.