Really, asking a girl to serve in the army is not very fair to them. They already have to do NS by having to give birth :D.
Maybe why us Singaporeans are unhappy is that when we serve 2.5 years in NS, we feel we are not recognized by the country.
Take my case for example. I had my exams in June 14 and I was called up for reservist on 11 June. I wrote a letter in and they say come back in camp then talk. Subsequently due to the effeciency of SAF, they only released me on 13 June to go back and study for exam.. When I say why in the first place they don't let me off early, they say is because yours is a private course and not NUS or NTU, so cannot make fast decision.
The fact is, we want to know why we have to give 2.5 years (plus reservist time) of our lives to protect FTs who some think we are wusses(I'm not saying who) and at the same time why the goverment doesn't help us in our upgrading? Is our Singaporean citizenship merely a liability that needs us to serve the army and not be compensated for our efforts?
Originally posted by angel7030:I am glad to hear this guy is so patriotic and family minded. He is able to stand up to defend us in time of difficulties. Yeah!!!
However, serving NS, should be a separate issue and should not be involve in your competition with FTs. Let put it that FTs are here to motivate you to improve further and work harder if not smarter. You should therefore instead of whining about NS and FT spoiling your chances in yr career, work harder and smarter, and put NS training into your advantages against the FTs. You should have better endurance, tolerance, strength and physical attributes than a FTs.
As i say again, look at FTs as they are here to help us build our economy due to our lack of manpower, if FTs are to leave, our economy will shrink and in the end, all of us hv no jobs. If you keep blaming the FTs for these and that, then you got no guts to challenge them. Do you think the FTs really like to come here?? Do you think they like to leave their country, their homeland, their love ones behind and come here to make a living?? We must learn to competite in a Global labour forces, no more thinking of iron rice bowl serve in front of you.
thank you for the compliment but this shall be extended to all sg guys who went through NS ordeal.
i agree that government need labour force to be strengthened by FT/PR influx, but they also shouldn't neglect sgporean who have contributed to the society wholeheartedly especially the guys (pls give us credit for it) and look at current issues to create fairness to fellow singaporean.
Yeah 1 more thing to add, now since women are entitled to longer maternatiy leave after giving birth, I heard that some employees would rather employ FTs. FTs are great right? VFM and help our Singaporean when we are busy doing our national duties! Thank you FTs!
Let me be straight here.
I won't defend something I don't believe in; and 500 bucks isn't even good enough a reason to make me a mercenary. Period.
Originally posted by will4:I remember that second generation PR also need to serve full time NS n failure to do so will have their PR terminated n asked to leave the country.
I agreed on the part that majority of the foreigners got their PR quite easily but on ur part that those foreign professional or PR could buy cheaper houses in their countries are true though but u need a gentle reminder, many local also have the ability to buy cheaper proerties in neighbouring countries.
you can't even survive in own homeland, talk about what to buy property in neighbouring countries. for these FT/PR, they can choose to go back and enjoy of what they have earned back in their country
let me put in this way, i believe most if not all want to enjoy to have own property in homeland no matter where u are from unless u are talking about migration
Originally posted by Hub:thank you for the compliment but this shall be extended to all sg guys who went through NS ordeal.
i agree that government need labour force to be strengthened by FT/PR influx, but they also shouldn't neglect sgporean who have contributed to the society wholeheartedly especially the guys (pls give us credit for it) and look at current issues to create fairness to fellow singaporean.
Please just remember, For every successful SG man, behind lies a faithful and supporting SG Gal.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Please just remember, For every successful SG man, behind lies a faithful and supporting SG Gal.
Fallacy.
Originally posted by Hub:you can't even survive in own homeland, talk about what to buy property in neighbouring countries. for these FT/PR, they can choose to go back and enjoy of what they have earned back in their country
let me put in this way, i believe most if not all want to enjoy to have own property in homeland no matter where u are from unless u are talking about migration
HDB lease you for 99 years for 400,000/4 rooms flat you already cannot tarhan somemore you want to own property??
4room is 3 bedroom.. 5room is also 3 bedroom.
Like that how to have more children ?
Well property's value can only go up, HDB value will flucuate more. Naturally people think about owning property right?
Own property in Austrilia good mah, their tax laws on depricating asset will make it more worth to buy more, not like singapore.
Originally posted by jojobeach:
4room is 3 bedroom.. 5room is also 3 bedroom.
Like that how to have more children ?
no lah, 4 room is 7 bedroom if you include the toilets and storeroom
Bedroom is bedroom.. toilet is toilet.. storeroom is for the maid.
cannot say bedroom is toilet or store room OK ? Good.
i'm refering to HDB 4 room for average sgporean, not private property heh..
Bedroom is bedroom.. toilet is toilet.. storeroom is for the maid.
cannot say bedroom is toilet or store room OK ? Good.
but sometime i sleep in my toilet warm bathtub mah, with wine and grapes to enjoy, so nice. Storeroom can alter to bed room and give maid to sleep mah.
So, u lease out 4 rooms from HDB, you get another 3 rooms extra, good mah, why people are complaining so much huh???
Originally posted by Hub:i'm refering to HDB 4 room for average sgporean, not private property heh..
OH, HDB, that is only leasing, not even your property. Only singaporeans get conned and thot they own property, actually they lease it out for 99 years only. May last for one generation the most.
but sometime i sleep in my toilet warm bathtub mah, with wine and grapes to enjoy, so nice. Storeroom can alter to bed room and give maid to sleep mah.
So, u lease out 4 rooms from HDB, you get another 3 rooms extra, good mah, why people are complaining so much huh???
you let your baby sleep in the toilet ah ?
She where got baby?
Originally posted by Detached:
She where got baby?
Eh...sometime i call my puppy dog, Baby. Sori for the misunderstanding, oh ya, some ang mo guy also call me honey and i call them Baby, same as my dog name.
no lah, my baby sleep outside one lah
Eh...sometime i call my puppy dog, Baby. Sori for the misunderstanding, oh ya, some ang mo guy also call me honey and i call them Baby, same as my dog name.
Cool.
Good for you ![]()
OH, HDB, that is only leasing, not even your property. Only singaporeans get conned and thot they own property, actually they lease it out for 99 years only. May last for one generation the most.
i dun really agree, government won't be so bad as to confiscate your old house entirely without giving u anything in return. if i'm not mistaken, most aged HDB is around 50 years but government let the 'tenants' to move to another HDB at a small 'cost', ie. based on the market value difference, meaning you have to top up the differences (government also give discount/subsidize)
unless u have a freehold property, even not all condominums give u 999 years, some also only 99years, but i don't think they will be kind enough to give u perks/discounts when the lease is up.
Originally posted by Hub:i dun really agree, government won't be so bad as to confiscate your old house entirely without giving u anything in return. if i'm not mistaken, most aged HDB is around 50 years but government let the 'tenants' to move to another HDB at a small 'cost', ie. based on the market value difference, meaning you have to top up the differences (government also give discount/subsidize)
unless u have a freehold property, even not all condominums give u 999 years, some also only 99years, but i don't think they will be kind enough to give u perks/discounts when the lease is up.
U paid 400,000 to get them to lease you a HDB??? ++interest?? and they hv the rite to ask you change after 40 to 50 years by toping up again?? Do they hv the rite to ask you to change when it can last for 99 years?? Or are you being conned again to top up and carry on the next leasing??
Why not put it this way, I paid 400k for 99years, now 40 years later you ask me to leave, top up and get a new house, so where is my 59years gone to...can they dun mind pay me back my 400k++interest and ++inflation cost because they cannot keep to their word of 99 years???
And if singapore HDB leasing cannot last for 99 years, why not set at 50 years leasing that will cost less,...400k become 180k for 50 years leasing.
we men had already done justice by sacrificing 2.5 of our best time for our country. And the gals has a 2.5 head start in their career after poly and uni.
we continue get yearly disruptive call up that causes inconvenience on our career and private life.
darn the PR who keep publishing articles telling us singaporeans that they had contribute to the economy of singapore and deserve what singapore are entitles.
what the PR and FTs are enjoying in our country is a result of our sacrifice of time, youth for the country. the ruling regime should start to better distinguish between the PR and singaporean before the society get segregated further.
U paid 400,000 to get them to lease you a HDB??? ++interest?? and they hv the rite to ask you change after 40 to 50 years by toping up again?? Do they hv the rite to ask you to change when it can last for 99 years?? Or are you being conned again to top up and carry on the next leasing??
Why not put it this way, I paid 400k for 99years, now 40 years later you ask me to leave, top up and get a new house, so where is my 59years gone to...can they dun mind pay me back my 400k++interest and ++inflation cost because they cannot keep to their word of 99 years???
do average sgporean have a choice? not many people like you own private property i assume. i'm not a cost expert, but let me do simple maths here. After 50 years, your old HDB house still has market value (luckily, but definitely not as competitive as younger flats), that's why u top up the difference in market value with the new HDB flat u gonna get.
eg. say they arrange a HDB 4 room market value (new) => $200,000
your old HDB 4 room market value (50 years old) => $100,000 (originally u buy the flat for $30,000 50 years ago)
they give u discount/perk like $50,000, so u have to top up $50,000 to move into the new house (look, either u take the deal or move elsewhere yourself, obviously u couldn't stay any longer in that old flat)
now u know our government is kind and good to his people?