Originally posted by Hub:do average sgporean have a choice? not many people like you own private property i assume. i'm not a cost expert, but let me do simple maths here. After 50 years, your old HDB house still has market value (luckily, but definitely not as competitive as younger flats), that's why u top up the difference in market value with the new HDB flat u gonna get.
eg. say they arrange a HDB 4 room market value (new) => $200,000
your old HDB 4 room market value (50 years old) => $100,000 (originally u buy the flat for $30,000 50 years ago)
they give u discount/perk like $50,000, so u have to top up $50,000 to move into the new house (look, either u take the deal or move elsewhere yourself, obviously u couldn't stay any longer in that old flat)
now u know our government is kind and good to his people?
Oh! u HDB dweller hor, then i hv nothing to say anymore, try your best to get a freehold, that will be your true property.
Originally posted by reyes:
we men had already done justice by sacrificing 2.5 of our best time for our country. And the gals has a 2.5 head start in their career after poly and uni.
we continue get yearly disruptive call up that causes inconvenience on our career and private life.
darn the PR who keep publishing articles telling us singaporeans that they had contribute to the economy of singapore and deserve what singapore are entitles.
what the PR and FTs are enjoying in our country is a result of our sacrifice of time, youth for the country. the ruling regime should start to better distinguish between the PR and singaporean before the society get segregated further.
Without army, we die
Without PR n FT, we also die
So, how?? dun blame us gals hor, our first priorty is to marry a sg guy, unless no choice.
so i guess HDB is not good bah... than we should allow PR to buy HDB, since it is not good for them!
Originally posted by Hub:do average sgporean have a choice? not many people like you own private property i assume. i'm not a cost expert, but let me do simple maths here. After 50 years, your old HDB house still has market value (luckily, but definitely not as competitive as younger flats), that's why u top up the difference in market value with the new HDB flat u gonna get.
your old HDB 4 room market value (50 years old) => $100,000 (originally u buy the flat for $30,000 50 years ago)
they give u discount/perk like $50,000, so u have to top up $50,000 to move into the new house (look, either u take the deal or move elsewhere yourself, obviously u couldn't stay any longer in that old flat)
agree with angel here. not everyone have the ability to afford the top up. for example, if u have bought a new unit when you are 25 yr old, fully cleared ur debts by 40, retiring at 65. you may not have the money to fork out 50k, 100k to top up for a new flat if your property was confiscated before the 99 yr lease is up.
and why should you pay for something which you already rightfully own? not everyone buys a HDB unit for investment. most buyers seek a house to live in, and they are content to live in the unit for as long as they live. these people are clearly not interested whether their house still retain any value or not.
and who says you cannot live in old units? there are buildings over 100 yrs old in singapore, and yet they are still functioning. in Vietnam, people are still living in buildings from the French colonial era, more than 100 yrs old in age. clearly, a HDB flat can last for 99 yrs.
and why sell us the lease at 99 yrs when we all know that it is bound to be confiscated back by the government before the lease is up, without any compensation? ( allowing you a cheaper unit doesn't equate to monetary compensation). we bought our flats from HDB, from the government, and it is just right that they observe the sale, fulfilling their side of the bargain, ensuring that we get compensation if they decided to evict us before the lease we paid for is up.
it is just like buying a car. it is ok to scrap the car when it reaches the end of its COE period. you do not expect the government to scrap ur COE before the 10 yrs are up, and confiscate ur car, while at the same time saying that they will subsidise ur purchase of a new car. Why get a new car/flat, when it is still working fine, physically and legally?
HDB is a scam. take ur money, take ur flat, build new flats, repeat cycle again and again.
Originally posted by skythewood:so i guess HDB is not good bah... than we should allow PR to buy HDB, since it is not good for them!
PR and new citizens are the new goats to be slaughter, sooner or later they will know the scam of HDB and feel cheated like we do, just wait and see, at present, of course they feel happy about owning a house like our forefather do..
deathmaster posted:- (read my comments in ***)
agree with angel here. not everyone have the ability to afford the top up. for example, if u have bought a new unit when you are 25 yr old, fully cleared ur debts by 40, retiring at 65. you may not have the money to fork out 50k, 100k to top up for a new flat if your property was confiscated before the 99 yr lease is up. (***they will give compensation if they do coz they have better plan for the land reusage and u are 'forced' to move)
and why should you pay for something which you already rightfully own? not everyone buys a HDB unit for investment. (***from what i see, u can't reap anymore investment from HDB unlike the past 40 years, since they come out new ruling few years back that one has to pay levy back to government for the difference he/she profit after sold the 1st new flat and get 2nd new flat for example) most buyers seek a house to live in, and they are content to live in the unit for as long as they live. these people are clearly not interested whether their house still retain any value or not.
and who says you cannot live in old units? there are buildings over 100 yrs old in singapore, and yet they are still functioning. in Vietnam, people are still living in buildings from the French colonial era, more than 100 yrs old in age. clearly, a HDB flat can last for 99 yrs. (***HDB only lease 99 years, doesn't mean u can stay in HDB forever as u like, it is unlike freehold property, the land is scarce in singapore, i'm sure government want to take back the land for better use)
and why sell us the lease at 99 yrs when we all know that it is bound to be confiscated back by the government before the lease is up, without any compensation? ( allowing you a cheaper unit doesn't equate to monetary compensation) (***government can compare by tell u that some residential buildings are 50 lease years in HK if you want to compare) their lease is only 50years and (***this is subjective and applies if government want to take back the land and 'compensate' accordingly). we bought our flats from HDB, from the government, and it is just right that they observe the sale, fulfilling their side of the bargain, ensuring that we get compensation if they decided to evict us before the lease we paid for is up. (*** now u know being just an average singaporean is tough to live even in own homeland, and yet FT/PR snatch our jobs and lower down our salary? why employer pay u more if they could get much cheaper labour from neighbouring countries?)
it is just like buying a car. it is ok to scrap the car when it reaches the end of its COE period. you do not expect the government to scrap ur COE before the 10 yrs are up, and confiscate ur car, while at the same time saying that they will subsidise ur purchase of a new car. Why get a new car/flat, when it is still working fine, physically and legally? (*** COE is another big joke, Singapore car is one of the most expensive in the world, how come most sgporean can't even enjoy/afford having one in own homeland, funny?)
HDB is a scam. take ur money, take ur flat, build new flats, repeat cycle again and again. (***we only could hope our expensive government could come out something beneficial for truly sgporean)
Originally posted by skythewood:so i guess HDB is not good bah... than we should allow PR to buy HDB, since it is not good for them!
PR can buy resale HDB flats just like Sgporean except that Sgporean can get $30-40,000 discount for 1st time buyer. if FT/PR can buy new HDB (many of them complain why they couldn't), i guess those who wouldn't mind let these FT/PR do so are really silly....no need to say further
Originally posted by angel7030:
PR and new citizens are the new goats to be slaughter, sooner or later they will know the scam of HDB and feel cheated like we do, just wait and see, at present, of course they feel happy about owning a house like our forefather do..
Sorry about my earlier post. I think I was quite harsh. Do understand why I was that hot- tempered.
Ok 1st of all, I want to highlight that we, guys, are not happy with the duration of NS, not NS itself. Imagine spending 2 years in a place training with pays that part- timers could easily earn more? I don't think that is really feasible, especially since Singapore is not facing any immediate external threats like what others countries do.
I when to check wiki and i found out that the average time required for NS for a "peaceful" country is just 12mnts. So I'm puzzled why we can't just use that as a guideline?
Also, its is clear that FTs are having the advantage in jobs over us. This is pretty clear cut, they have more working experience since they don't have to go NS, and that allows them to have an advantage over us sg guys. I'm aware of our need for FTs for our economy and I understand the reason for defence. We can't let others do our job can we? But, the very least govt should do is to prevent us from suffering any disadvantages when we are out in the working world.
I'm drawing out a plan which I think suits sg guys better. I hope this shall help clarify some of your doubts.
Training Duration
1) Maximum 12 months ( 3 mnths BMT + 9 mnths specialist course ) ( min age 18 )
2) Maximum 2 weeks of call back annually up to the age of 30. ( reservist )
Pays and Benefits
1) Minimum pay - Recruit SG$ 800, Private SG$ 1000, Lance Coporal SG$ 1,200
2) Full medical coverage for any injuries obtained during training
3) SG$ 100 should be awarded to previous NS servicemen for every extra month they had served compared to the new batch.
- Pay rates are calculated before CPF deduction and are taxable
4) SG$ 300,000 should be given to the family of those who are killed during NS ( excluding suicides )
5) Company hiring SG men who had completed NS will be awarded tax reliefs based on the number they hire and the company size.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:I'm drawing out a plan which I think suits sg guys better. I hope this shall help clarify some of your doubts.
Training Duration
Pays and Benefits
3) SG$ 100 should be awarded to previous NS servicemen for every extra month they had served compared to the new batch.
4) SG$ 300,000 should be given to the family of those who are killed during NS ( excluding suicides )
5) Company hiring SG men who had completed NS will be awarded tax reliefs based on the number they hire and the company size.
Thumbs up!!
Originally posted by crimsontactics:I'm drawing out a plan which I think suits sg guys better. I hope this shall help clarify some of your doubts.
Training Duration
Pays and Benefits
reservisit until 30? the go oversea study defer reservisit guys will probably be happy about this.
the minimum pay is like triple that of mine during my days... nice to the new guys, cos is our tax money...
for number 5, i think there is already some scheme for it le, at least that was what my regular S3 told us during reservisit, not paying attention at that time...
Originally posted by skythewood:reservisit until 30? the go oversea study defer reservisit guys will probably be happy about this.
the minimum pay is like triple that of mine during my days... nice to the new guys, cos is our tax money...
for number 5, i think there is already some scheme for it le, at least that was what my regular S3 told us during reservisit, not paying attention at that time...
While, i calculated the min pay this way.
The average pay for a full time worker holding an O-level cert is around SG$1000/mnth ( giv or take a little)
He/She total working time around 8hrs/day 5days/wk, which is
(8*5)(4) = 160hrs/mnth
NS men need to stay in their camp the whole day, basically around 5days/wk also,
(24*5)(4) = 480hrs/month
So i think its rather fairer for the NS men.
Yes, there is a scheme for part 5, but it benefits are way too minute to scarifice the 2yrs experience the FTs have ahead of NS men.
The last time i checked, SG have around 300 billion in its coffers in 2004. Pls correct me if I'm wrong. It is also recieving surplus every single year after the asian financial crisis. I think its a good time to use those money on the "human" aspect of nation building. I also don't think taxes will increase. Even with this implementation, they will still recieve surplus due to our improving economy and increasing population.
someone posted this video clip at YouTube:
Title: NS for Singaporeans, Jobs & Scholarships for Foreigners
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMxTcRs3KDU
Originally posted by Hub:someone posted this video clip at YouTube:
Title: NS for Singaporeans, Jobs & Scholarships for Foreigners
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMxTcRs3KDU
seen it,been there,done that... this like propaganda video, machiam local no have scholarship like that...
Please don't use a fake scenario.
You want to know if the gahmen is kind and good .. you go ask the people will REAL cases.
You think gahmen very generous ah... the money is not theirs to charity away ok ?
They money you think you are earning.. is money they take from other citizens ok ? Plese don't be so gulible can annot ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:
Please don't use a fake scenario.You want to know if the gahmen is kind and good .. you go ask the people will REAL cases.
You think gahmen very generous ah... the money is not theirs to charity away ok ?
They money you think you are earning.. is money they take from other citizens ok ? Plese don't be so gulible can annot ?
heard people said pay and pay "giah lang eh kah chng cho bin pei".
Originally posted by jojobeach:
Please don't use a fake scenario.You want to know if the gahmen is kind and good .. you go ask the people will REAL cases.
since when i say gahmen is generous, that scenario is to indicate how they do to those lease flats when time is up or HDB gonna to reclaim them, they can't possibly take away by force, yea?
'coz i feel garmen not doing enough to protect/give sgporean rights, ie. having benefits being a sgporean standing out from the high influx of FT/PR that possibly/already affected most
Originally posted by Hub:since when i say gahmen is generous, that scenario is to indicate how they do to those lease flats when time is up or HDB gonna to reclaim them, they can't possibly take away by force, yea?
'coz i feel garmen not doing enough to protect/give sgporean rights, ie. having benefits being a sgporean standing out from the high influx of FT/PR that possibly/already affected most
Did they teach you about Globlisation, in future, you are no more singaporean, you are a Global Citizen.
you are your own person. Not anyone elses.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Sorry about my earlier post. I think I was quite harsh. Do understand why I was that hot- tempered.
Ok 1st of all, I want to highlight that we, guys, are not happy with the duration of NS, not NS itself. Imagine spending 2 years in a place training with pays that part- timers could easily earn more? I don't think that is really feasible, especially since Singapore is not facing any immediate external threats like what others countries do.
I when to check wiki and i found out that the average time required for NS for a "peaceful" country is just 12mnts. So I'm puzzled why we can't just use that as a guideline?
Also, its is clear that FTs are having the advantage in jobs over us. This is pretty clear cut, they have more working experience since they don't have to go NS, and that allows them to have an advantage over us sg guys. I'm aware of our need for FTs for our economy and I understand the reason for defence. We can't let others do our job can we? But, the very least govt should do is to prevent us from suffering any disadvantages when we are out in the working world.
No problem lah, in fact, i like rash and hot temper guy. At least they got substance, unlike those nerdy ones. Guess NS can tougher a guy up. NS is never a flavor to guy since it started in the late 60s, but then parents at that time encouraged them to join so that young guys dun end up in secret society as it tend to be. Naturally, it bring about discipline among our young boys who do NS, and they started to build our economy with we gals. I dunno, but i guess those will the days my Daddy got no FT to worry about. Today, scenario changed, you guys hv to competite with FT and worst, some of us gals become your superior due to longer experiences. Whatever it is , NS is not going to go away unless if there is a change of political ruling. I therefore urge all our boys who served NS or are serving NS to take build a good discipline in life and to take it as a part of life so as to challenge and competite with FT in a better physical shape and mentality of wining them rather than despise them.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:you are your own person. Not anyone elses.
That was what LHL said, more open, more liberal..do you know exactly what he meant??
Originally posted by angel7030:No problem lah, in fact, i like rash and hot temper guy. At least they got substance, unlike those nerdy ones. Guess NS can tougher a guy up. NS is never a flavor to guy since it started in the late 60s, but then parents at that time encouraged them to join so that young guys dun end up in secret society as it tend to be. Naturally, it bring about discipline among our young boys who do NS, and they started to build our economy with we gals. I dunno, but i guess those will the days my Daddy got no FT to worry about. Today, scenario changed, you guys hv to competite with FT and worst, some of us gals become your superior due to longer experiences. Whatever it is , NS is not going to go away unless if there is a change of political ruling. I therefore urge all our boys who served NS or are serving NS to take build a good discipline in life and to take it as a part of life so as to challenge and competite with FT in a better physical shape and mentality of wining them rather than despise them.
hot tempered girls is not too bad... if she is hot.
That was what LHL said, more open, more liberal..do you know exactly what he meant??
Open? Open what?
Originally posted by skythewood:hot tempered girls is not too bad... if she is hot.
sassy girl
how many of u here understand the new CPF ruling?
is CPF really beneficial? do u know if u park your money with gurantee bonds, u can easily earn at least 3.5%/yr interest yourself? why garmen so rich?
who are actually bounded by CPF? FT/PR can choose not to stay in Singapore (going back to their homeland) at retirement age and withdraw Full cash out but how about Sgporean, if i'm not wrong, a portion of CPF monies will only return to you when u reach 80yrs old, how many of u can live till that age? for those who can't, your monies will be 'confiscated', these monies are ours right? think again....
note: now CPF minimum Sum is currently $94,600, and going to be up as years goes by...