Wednesday, 23 July 2008, 10:13 pm
Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor of TOC
This article is inspired by what Mr Wang wrote on his blog – a very thought-provoking entry titled, “Human rights and the Government baby incentives, Part 1”.
It led me to wonder why exactly Singaporeans would want to have kids, if they are treated as merely an economic necessity.
Mr Wang argues that the Singapore Government’s motivation in wanting to raise the birth rate is “purely economic; the aim is to generate a steady stream of future workers for Singapore Inc” - if Singapore views human rights as an ‘invention of the West”, having no relevance to us in Asia. Mr Wang cites the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) to illustrate an interesting perspective on how human rights actually can inform national policies.
I agree with what Mr Wang says.
In his first National Day Rally speech in 2004, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, said:
This is a matter of values, not of incentives… We want people to have babies because you want them and you love them. It’s part of a happy family life.
Despite those words from the prime minister, however, Singaporeans have become cynical about the Government’s reasons. “It’s not because having kids will provide a happy family life”, they might say. “It’s to bolster our economic competitiveness and indeed, our economic survival. After all, no babies means no workers for the future, right? No workers means our economy will be affected.” That’s how the thought process goes. That’s what the Government says all the time. It’s all about the economy. The sweet-saccharine citation of “a happy family life” is just packaging and PR.
This is further reinforced by ministers’ public statements and Government policies – such as allowing the influx of foreigners and immigrants. Two years after the PM said it was a “matter of values”, he admitted, in his 2006 National Day Rally speech:
We are short 14,000 babies… We have to bring in new immigrants. If our population shrinks, Singapore will face a very serious problem… To grow and flourish, we must welcome those who can help us to reach our goals… That is the way to build Singapore for Singaporeans.
And of course, we all know that the only goal that matters here in our tiny island is the economic one, above all else. Why? Because, according to Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, “as long as we have a dynamic economy, we can solve our problems.” (Straits Times). Do you understand now the Government’s obsession with raising the birth rate? Think: Babies = future workers = economic growth = dynamic economy = solving problems. That’s also the Government’s and the People’s Action Party’s (PAP) political legitimacy and relevance – if you’re not able to solve problems, who would want to vote for you, right?
In a nutshell, if we have money (economic growth) “we can solve our problems”, and the PAP can stay in power.
Meaning lin life
Therein lies the conundrum; The Government sees Singaporeans as workers for the economy, while increasingly Singaporeans want something more out of life than just being feeders for the economy monster.
The result is a declining birth rate because Singaporeans do not see anything meaningful in slogging away all their lives on the economic front. It’s a seemingly-endless struggle and competition which makes them hesitate and then decide against having kids. After all, if you are tired from the struggle, why would you want to put your kids through it as well? Where is the meaning in life?
That’s the key phrase: meaning in life.
It is so often nowadays that I hear my friends wonder what their lives mean. It sounds almost like a crisis. “I work 15 hours a day and I still am not sure if I will be able to retire. So, why have kids? Just do what we can, eventually die, and that’s it,” one said to me. “Why should I worry about the survival of the economy and what-not when the Government sees us as just workers for the monster? Life should be about more than just work, work, work!” says another.
A Government as obsessed with economic performance as ours cannot understand such sentiments. But even if it does and tries to come up with the solution, it will be an economic one. Thus, we see all sorts of economic incentives being offered, including subsidies and all. They have all failed.
See Singaporeans as human beings. Period.
Perhaps what is needed to solve the problem of a declining birth rate is to see Singaporeans first and foremost and always as people, human beings – and treat them as such. It is, as the prime minister said, about values.
It is about how much we as a nation value Singaporeans as human beings. Period.
And if we do, we will include considerations of the value of human rights.
As Mr Wang said:
In fact, babies are very much like Temasek’s investment in Shin Corp or Merrill Lynch. One day, they might generate good returns, but that will have to be in the very, very distant future. Meanwhile, they are just a huge, constant and bleeding economic loss.
This is not an obstacle if you view babies and parents as humans, and by virtue of being human, automatically having human rights (like those under CEDAW).
Maybe then Singaporeans will see meaning in their lives and would want children with whom they can speak of the amazing wonder of the experience of Life.
At the very least, the Government should pause and think about things outside the economic and not dismiss things like human rights casually or because of political or hegemonic reasons.
I think Singapore has reached a point where it has a lot of economic success and now it has some surplus, and it’s time to start thinking about the more human element.
- Dr Angelique Chan, Sociologist, National University of Singapore. (Channel NewsAsia)
If we are going to emulate Swedish policies on raising the birth rate, shouldn’t we also consider the Swedish approach to human rights as well? As Mr Wang so eloquently argued, the two are not mutually exclusive.
Indeed, it could be what saves Singapore from oblivion.
Read on and comment.
Why have babies, your children, borned into this society to suffer like you do? If, that is you are suffering or leading some unhappy life here.
Of course there are other factors that couples want to have children. Are you able to provide for your future child and give them a happy life? ![]()
What Singaporean needs I think is quality life.
Where can you get quality life with 15 hours of work? Office?
Life is not all about work. Sure people could push themselves for an extended period of time but eventually they would grow tired and exhausted themselves. People cannot struggle all the time. It's pointless too. Life wasn't meant as a struggle. Work hard yes of course. Enjoying work? You better to. Enjoying life? You bet you have to.
That is why it's called life not work. Life is supposed to be full of colors.
People with passion and obsession! People who are vibrant and alive!
Content people make excellent worker anyway.
Originally posted by Miracles&Prophecies:What Singaporean needs I think is quality life.
Where can you get quality life with 15 hours of work? Office?
Life is not all about work. Sure people could push themselves for an extended period of time but eventually they would grow tired and exhausted themselves. People cannot struggle all the time. It's pointless too. Life wasn't meant as a struggle. Work hard yes of course. Enjoying work? You better to. Enjoying life? You bet you have to.
That is why it's called life not work. Life is supposed to be full of colors.
Well said. ![]()
Quality life only for the rich and the born rich.. slavery life are for the middle and the poor...
Over here, u batter be rich to give birth to baby and give him of her a wonderful life. If not the cycle of poverty carry on.... its not fun slogging to support the aging parent with no CPF.. support ur housewhole, ur children and the expensive yet tiny 3 room HDB.
It it indeed a greatest joke where once live in a first world country but forced to live in a 3 world condition..
What the different between communism...
Originally posted by Evangel:Read on and comment.
Why have babies, your children, borned into this society to suffer like you do? If, that is you are suffering or leading some unhappy life here.
Of course there are other factors that couples want to have children. Are you able to provide for your future child and give them a happy life?
Dear Evanangel,
I am not sure if you are a Singaporean or an ex-Singaporean. It seems Singapore Bashing is a favourite past-time of ex-Singaporeans, worthless low class type PRs who bring shame to peaceful and hardworking PRs i know here, and those suffering from a mistake they made in their own lives and take it out here on our State ( we the citizens)
But just do know, whatever our political differences, when it comes to attacks on our country, we will not hesitate to unite and challenge you to your last breath.
I will give you the benefit of the doubt and take you as a Singaporean, and give my personal view accordingly.
Giving birth and having children are natural instincts. It is an act of love to give life to a child, the personification and the manifestation of a shared future and continuation of life's journey, hopes and dreams.
We desire the best material comfort, but it doesnt come easy. You want a good life, you have to sacrifice your time now to study instead of playing computer game. You want that prada bag, you know you have to sacrifice a few lunches for it. To live is to know sacrifice.
Whatever our material situation in life, there is no more worthy sacrifice than to sacrifice for our kids, the manisfestation of a couple's love.
Only when you have a child will you find true happiness, for all mankind needs love. The unconditional love from a child is truly out of this world. The trust he/she holds in you, be you a crook father or president of a nation, the smiles, the laughter and cheers he/she brings, etc. There will be times of sadness, but the happiness and joys of parenthood far far outweight those times.
And what better chances of you having a child in Spore than in any other half baked 'winner takes it all society', where the poor are neglected, compare to our nation - a 'loser society' where none are left out?
No matter how poor you are, the State( we taxpayers ) will contribute towards your child's success, as long as the family is realistic and prepared to work hard. We hate loafers and willingly let them go to other nations and 'enjoy' their loafing lives there.
Do drop the confusing talk from politicians and so called experts. Love and life is something that only you can live yourself. Seek within your heart and find out which direction you want to live. No one in our State(our society) had ever forced you to do anything you don't wish to do. Had the State(our society) ever hauled you to court for having too many children, or too little children, or being single?
Do be fair to the State ( our taxpayers ) whom had contributed to your developement, from a child to you present age. You could have been born a shot dead protestor in Mynmaar, a homeless american evicted out of your house from the sub-prime crisis, a thai wondering where the economy and leadership is heading, a clueless Bruneian, a second class citizen in Malaysia, etc, etc.
Your are a priviledged child of our country, a nation that previous generations had sacrifice much for you so that you may have a better life than the ones they ever had before, no matter what political differences we have. It's the nation that matters. Flaws there will be, not many, but ever ready to make the necessary changes - with sacrifices but without destroying our social fabric.
May you enjoy your singlehood, but am encourage to find a good man and have kids to live a fruitful live.
Cheers.
The truth hurts.
A mother's love precedes the life of her baby.
When the female finds the environment unconducive to raise a child. she will not have babies.
No mothers in her right mind will give birth to a child only to see him/her suffer and struggle through life.
Simple.. human nature.
No point turning a blind eye, no matter what kind of incentives they can claim to come up with.. it's not going to work.
Too many latch key kids.. too many latch key babies..
Children raised not by their own parents.. too common a sight... pathetic to the core.
Hi Evangel,
See Singaporeans as human beings. Period.
Admit it is a problem then try TO SOLVE the problem
U are damn right.Just because we and our children have been ,are and will
be treated as human being,gavaman dares to raise this big problem
and try to find soluation.
Tell me which country have openly admit this is a problem and try
to solve this problem?
SG PAP has never shy to tell u the problems and try to find
solutions.Do u know we are studying how to cope with raising
sea level?
This is also a economic problem
Do u think couples will listen to all sort of 'Family value',
' why u shall reproduce' ,'the country need your kids' lessons?
Without more new born kids,the existing kids will have to support more
old folks when the kids become middle age.
There are other problems----lack of soldiers,lack of tax payers etc.
Meaning in life
If u find no meaning,then who's fault?PAP again ,of course!!
Then why dunt u change it by joining reliable opposition
or forming a new Party?
Or simply migrate to your dream country,if u find one.
How long do u have to work a day in other country?
We need more people to contribute to the CPF.
More! More! More! ![]()
Give people a few thousand dollars to have babies so that next time, these babies can contribute a few hundred thousand Ks to the CPF when they start working.
Great deal.
For the government. ![]()
Personally speaking, if one's intention of having children is to contribute to the economy, then i would suggest forget about it.
Love and kids is beyond the price tags. Only the cold calculative would put a value to such principles of life itself.
To increase the wealth of our economy, there are other ways and means to do so. SWF is a well thought out plan and the small amount of our population can live with it. Opening up our economy to others, FTs, FWs, etc, are other ways, when push comes to shove.
When we get old, and there is no one to take care of us, with our personal and national savings exhausted, we can only either blame ourselves, or suffer in silence for the choices we made.
However, our society deserves to continue on the national path of humankind. We had shown the world what we are made of, a group of humans, kicked out of a federation, with only a small port not more than 10km in length that contributes not more 20% of our wealth and would hardly pay for even public transportation, had got together, made sacrifices and survived for 43 years, to the amazement and wonder of the world.
We as Singaporeans should be proud of such achievements, sacrificed by our previous generations who had to grovel before chicken western colonnial and brutal jap masters, whom treated us as no more than slaves or animals.
Proud enough to stand stall as human, bowing before no man, an equal to all, to give life to our next generations, so that they may know the beauty of our world and try to change the ugliness to an Utopia ideal wished upon mankind since the dawn of civilisation, not for us, but for them and their future generations with our help, as the previous generations had help us progress from servitude to independence.
My brother and other friends earning above average pay are not really keen to have kids. They hardly have enough time for themselves, would they have time for kids? Beside having kids is a huge drain on finances. Those who can do their sums properly wont bite the govt bait.
Singapore companies lacks work life balance. If they want Singaporeans to start family, the culture and atitude must change, not just paying lip service to work life balance. And attitudes may take years or decades to change.
The equation is simple. No work life balance = No kids
Originally posted by hisoka:Just wondering, if they are criticising that the government wants singaporeans to have more kids just to fuel the economy and sustain growth/ the society. Then what do they think other governments are thinking of when they try to or want to increase the birth rate?
PAP govt should start using our national reserves funding liao...
follow Canada's, but dun increase our taxes.
all these better in the national day rally speech this friday...
pap kindergarden: free.
compulsory schooling: free education till 'A'/poly/ite level...
diapers and milk powder: free sponsorship till 3 years old.
insurance: heavily like 90% subsidied by govt for a basic child insurance till primary 1.
medical: free till primary 1 age for all immune jabs and medical care at kkh...
To be fair, most of our previous generation of mothers did not work. The father was the sole bread winner. Unfortunately, due to circumstances beyond our control in the world, our earnings became lesser, resources more expensive, thus even mothers had to work to supplement incomes.
The child is left at home, or neglected, till mom and dad comes home. What kind of family life do we wish upon our kids?
The equation of no work life balance = no kids is correct.
However, a better equation towards happiness in life, with kids would be:-
kids = how much does a parent/parents want to or prepared to sacrifice?
If we can sacrifice our youth to study instead of sports to get a degree, so as to earn a good job, sacrifice pubs and nites out with the boys or girls to buy material goods, are we prepared to sacrifice our time in equal measure to have kids?
With money we can all the material goods we want. But material goods are not forever. At times we even get bored with it. There is only so much shoes, channel bags, trips to Australia, etc, in one life time. A condo becomes another box we come home to. A job is just labour to make your boss rich, no matter how dedicated and hard you work.
But kids and family life are built to last.
Dear xtreyier,
I'm a Singaporean born and educated here. This country has given me a life that I can never imagine if I were to be in Afganistan or Iraq, and I feel that I'm very lucky to be here. Lucky with parents, with family, with friends etc. Your words always have a strong tinge of propaganda. Are those your true words about how you are feeling now, or just blabbering about your ideal society? We are doing well, but there are still many rooms of improvement if the government values our opinions seriously. I'm actually disappointed with their performance only for these past 2 years. Competency sets in I guess.
I feel proud of the economic achievements we have in the past. All developed countries are facing the same problems of low birth rates now. But the idea of treating us as economic tools turns me off.
jojobeach said this very well, "when the female finds the environment unconducive to raise a child. she will not have babies". We have the lowest replacement rate of 1.29 among other western countries. What does it show? There is something wrong with the approach and policies the government have about couples having children. This article is written to tell the government, if they have not realise, to take a more humane approach. It is not too late for them and I applaud them for their effort. However past policies have failed with the exception of the "stop at 2" policy.
I do not have a child and hope to have one someday with my future wife.
Provided that I can afford to raise him/her up with an independent mindset and the ability to do what they love. In fact, I have planned as far as bringing them to private schools or international schools, far away from the government propaganda. Because I want them to have a mind of their own. This is something that most Singaporeans lack, we have been spoon fed too much.
I read widely from the opposition side and the PAP media side and then I analyse and read further to tell from the truth and false. I don't want to be biased here.
Regards,
Evangel
I feel so depressed after reading this. Last night i beheld a great vision of singapore 30 years from now, a singapore where no substantial amount of babies are born, people just keep migrating here to work their miserable lives away
Thanks for your forthright reply.
Written are my own words and not some 'propaganda' as you suspect.
We had been made pragmatic for so long due to circumstances, that some may lost their idealism and the very purpose of existance. My take on the birth issue is to not to be bothered by whatever politics or economics come into play, rather, be the person you want to be.
Life has it ups and down, and no person is free from the dictates of fate. We Singaporeans plan too much, and life doesnt goes very much to plan. But if we have an ideal and believe in it, it will be our own compass to guide us through life's vaguries.
It is senseless to blame the State(our society) for low birth rates, when that decision is fully ours to make, a natural instinct of humanity. No one goes to jail for making such decisions. The only person who actually suffers, is not the State( our society), but us, in our old age, doom to loneliness when we have no issue of our own.
Perhaps, the State had been rather clumsy in its attempts to prove the fruitlessness of life without children, believing that we are pragmatic beings, thus use statistical evidences to show that loneliness of old age and its finacial situation to fellow citizens.
But nonetheless, our country has a heart, and the capacity to offer a good and fruitful life to each and every citizen to have a family, based on one's merit, with full opportunities for all, white or black, rich or poor. And this is not an issue for political play, for the family unit comes first even before the nation. Without the family unit ( and i don't in all seriousness mean the Lee family) , there can be no nation. Mankind would have been extinct.
Technically speaking, the government is right in encouraging higher birth rate as human resource is the only natural resources Singapore. If we do not have critical mass the economy would suffer as domino effects would cause various industries to spiral down the drain one after each other and effectively Singaporeans would suffer.
They (the government) could have taken the easy way out to keep importing FTs, but is that the solution? I dont think so as the Singaporean fabric needs to be maintain in order to keep the National Identity and of course another important reason is the National Defence. Imagine someday we need to employ Gurkhas to protect our own country?
I believe the perception is wrong to think that the government wants to have children just to replenish the workforce. In order to have and maintain a true society, economy is just one and not THE factor. Families are important too as it is the basic building block of a country.
To have children or not is entirely up to individual, the policies can only provide a more conducive environment (or conditions) and encourage more people to have babies, it is too bad if sadistic views are placed upon the policies.
Glad I am not the only one who can feel the hint of government propoganda going on here when I read xtreyier's post. ![]()
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Hi Evangel,
Admit it is a problem then try TO SOLVE the problem
U are damn right.Just because we and our children have been ,are and will
be treated as human being,gavaman dares to raise this big problem
and try to find soluation.
Tell me which country have openly admit this is a problem and try
to solve this problem?
SG PAP has never shy to tell u the problems and try to find
solutions.Do u know we are studying how to cope with raising
sea level?
This is also a economic problem
Do u think couples will listen to all sort of 'Family value',
' why u shall reproduce' ,'the country need your kids' lessons?
Without more new born kids,the existing kids will have to support more
old folks when the kids become middle age.
There are other problems----lack of soldiers,lack of tax payers etc.
Meaning in life
Then why dunt u change it by joining reliable opposition
or forming a new Party?
Or simply migrate to your dream country,if u find one.
How long do u have to work a day in other country?
Q: Tell me which country has openly admit this is a problem and try to solve this problem?
A: The swedish. If not why is Singapore trying to learn from their swedish policies?
Q: Do u think couples will listen to all sort of 'Family value', ' why u shall reproduce' ,'the country need your kids' lessons?
A: No, in fact the government has failed to persuade couples to have children this way. I guess the economic way failed also. The swedish have actually a lot more paid maternity leave for both husbands and wives as compared to Singapore. Monetary wise, I have not tabulated it. Maybe some kind forumers would help me? ![]()
Without more new born kids,the existing kids will have to support more old folks when the kids become middle age.
I have seen many old folkes collecting empty drink cans in the streets. Maybe they have less CPF as the scheme is introduced too late for them. If this problem still exists in the future, are you trying to say that our retirement education to the citizens and CPF to help take care of us during retirement has failed? Idealy, we would want to be self sufficent to take care of ourselves in the future.
Yes, the government's policies affect our lives. In fact, it shapes our lives into what we are now. We cannot safely say that policies made by the government has no correlation to us. It affects our lifestyle (NS, holidays we have, 5 day work week, buy expensive house to get married? and etc), finances (taxes), education...etc. I can safetly say that the government shapes our culture too. ![]()
I love Singapore! All opinions are for the betterment of ourselves and for everyone else. I did thought about joining any party, PAP included in the future when I'm successful. Why? Because policies affect our LIVES!
Food for thought: In the past our Grandparents work hard for the government and country to where we are now. Billions in reserve. Shouldn't the government provide help for them too, now that some are starving in the streets? Don't flame me, the government is doing a decent job in helping the needy, but I feel that more should be done. ![]()
to have babies in a family is a private matter
To have a substainable population in terms of economy makes it a national direction and objective.
If there is no national interest in having babies, then on wat grounds does the gov have in implementing baby bonuses etc which is about private matters
About a conducive environment for a baby, it largely depend on your expectation. It is strange tat the poorest nations have the highest birth rate while rich nations have low birth rate. Mostly it is probably due to different expectation on wat the child should get
And stop at 2 is a policy stopped probably 20 years ago. Changing and modifying of policies over time is a sign of strength, not weakness
screw that... has anyone asked why the hell should humanity keep having to have more babies?
can we try looking at it at a scientific level?
ask any scientist.. the world is overpopulated..
here's something to think about:
First principles were stood on their heads. Economic growth and social progress did not serve human beings. On the contrary, the primary function of citizens was to fuel economic growth - a weird reversal of roles.
It pains me to tink that my son may have to live work shit die in a small hole call his home.., u tink ur 3room flat small? wait till u see ur son's flat...
Our next generation will need more population growth to grow... so how? after each generation we keep growing? its ok if we are aust, but look at out land mass, where are all these people going to live, we are not livestocks u know.
Originally posted by the Bear:screw that... has anyone asked why the hell should humanity keep having to have more babies?
can we try looking at it at a scientific level?
ask any scientist.. the world is overpopulated..
here's something to think about:
First principles were stood on their heads. Economic growth and social progress did not serve human beings. On the contrary, the primary function of citizens was to fuel economic growth - a weird reversal of roles.
err...why should humanity NOT have more babies? If we look at it from the biological level, are we depriving ourself of that capability?
Overpopulated? Hardly.
Limited resources? Impossible with our scientific progress - stacked up housing, double/tripled yield grain, etc.
Immortality? Impossible yet and years from fruitation.
Why is the scientific mind constantly looking to the stars in attempts to unravel its secrets? Maybe one day, we singaporeans may have enough to provide for ALL in all aspects of social spending and then perhaps built our own module for the International Space Station, for research and developement of the furthering of mankind.
More critically, beyond economic aspects, is the spiritual need of love, cliche as it may sound. Show me a man who needs no love and i will show you an inhuman beast. Love and the manifestation of it through our offspring, is the wild card of science and economy. I dare not even begin to presume i fully understand it.
Think about this:-
Economic growth and social progress elevated mankind beyond serfdom, decapitulated the nobility whom rule for thousands of years since the dawn of mankind and now made each and everyone of us all truly equal, with equal opportunity, black or white, rich or poor, to excel as a nation or loaf as we wish to extinction as a state, as we were scientifically and biologically created. Thus did economic growth and social progress helped us mankind?