Originally posted by maurizio13:
These days you walk along Orchard Road, you will notice that the level of Singaporeans' Chinese has gone up, while their proficiency in English has gone down, not that their level of English was any good in the beginning.
In another few generations, the national language of Singapore would be 普通� (Mandarin) and we would be annexed by China. We will address each other as �志 (comrade) instead of auntie, uncle, xiao didi, xiao mei mei.
This would be the new National Anthem.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwDkWzK24ZE
ä¸å›½ä¸‡å²�!!!
I read the ST forum n there is a complaint by one local over the issuing of scholarship to those foreign student. She remember talking to one Chinese national student in statutory board n this Chinese national got scholarship to study in Britain, During consersation, the Chinese national openly told the local that his talent is under utilized in this country compared if he were to go to other country to work, he consider break bond.
As negative writers begins to move in and show off their intellectual prowess ( or rather, their lack of intellect!), I would like to comment that there is no situation that is too tough or too hard to solve.
Nothing is impossible and impossible is nothing.
All it takes is to understand and comprehend the problems we citizens faced, dwell no more on the past for it is history and will not change anything, and then take the necessary steps and most critically, the will to make the change, without tearing our social fabric.
The birth issue, as mentioned, is beyond politics and must not be politicised. Whatever political affiliations we have, we all the faced the same issue of declining birth rates and its effects, soon to come.
PAP, WP, SDA, the green party or whatever, whomever gains power, will want to reverse this decline, not just for economic reasons, but for the well being of our State ( our society). They too, are Singaporeans, not envious PRs, or axe to grind Ex-singaporeans.
Originally posted by will4:
I read the ST forum n there is a complaint by one local over the issuing of scholarship to those foreign student. She remember talking to one Chinese national student in statutory board n this Chinese national got scholarship to study in Britain, During consersation, the Chinese national openly told the local that his talent is under utilized in this country compared if he were to go to other country to work, he consider break bond.
sigh...what kind of human is he? It was our generosity that helped him, one out of 1.3 billion people and he turns his back on us?
LoL The role of the government is supposed to be to serve the people, be the people's means to an end: a safe peaceful society.
But down in SG it seems the reverse is true: People become the means to the government's goals of enconomic growth and justification of high salary. When the economy is not good i see articles like (quote from memory) 'key to staying no. 1: young hungry Singaporeans'. And when the economy is good or going to die the govt give its ministers bonuses..
How sad.... i wonder where this path will end for SG.. Doesnt the government get that nobody will treat this place as home if it continues to treat its people like livestock. I see no light at the end of the tunnel... In future i foresee SG wont be a country but some sort of huge corporation LoL
The decrease in birth rates is a result of their policy.
No? ![]()
Something that was the result of their policies and folks say it's not politics. If it's not politics then obviously it is not something they can or will ever solve. ![]()
Aren't they "chasing the dragon" again? ![]()
(1) "Chasing the dragon" is a method of smoking opium (opium is often referred to as a dragon in asian cultures). The opium is heated on some kind of metal and a fine line of smoke evolves from the heated drug. This smoke is now to be "chased" (meaning breathed in), often through a small tube, like a straw.
(2) Also used to describe a similar method of smoking other drugs (heroine, crack, etc)
Originally posted by stupidissmart:if u talk about quality of life and number of hours worked, I suggest u talk with the boss of your company about it. It is they who give u the hours to work and it is your colleagues who work OT giving to the pressure. If your boss, like toyota or some US companies who wanna give the employees a good quality of life, the gov is not gonna force them to stop. Tis is all about your job and the gov cannot interfere much into it. U don't like your job environment, then I guess u should try to find a lazy job with little things and probably low pay instead.
If u talk about propaganda, religion and confucianism r classified as propaganda themselves.
Then wat do u suggest the gov to do ? If they promote people to give birth to babies by giving incredible benefit, r they fair to people who choose to remain single or childless (given the tax tat support tis benefit comes from all sector) ? If the gov want to change the people mentality and portray happy family lives to promote population growth in a soft way, u guys complained tis is gov propaganda. If they don't ask u guys to give birth and import people into the society, u guys complain tis is anti-nationalism and they r here snatching your rice bowls. If they do not do anything at all, the economy becomes saturated and will decline and u guys will complain economic woes.
Tis is really a difficult problem
There's never a simple solution to such a complicated problem.
I don't advocate longer paid maternity leave.. because it only back fires .. and make it less desirable for companies to hire women.
Paternity leave are welcome.. but most important really.. is that men are allowed more flexible work culture .. to help with the kids.. throughout the year. SG culture is horrible when it comes to work flexibility.
Before a couple starts a family.. they need a nest. At the current HDB rate.. it's still a big burden for a young couple to carry...even for a 3 room flat.
Being new to the work force.. young couples are worried about a stable income because they lack work experience and track records.
Right now , A newly married couple is too busy paying for the house.. the bills.. working their ass off to ensure security.. and building up a SAVING... the last thing they want is more expense from making babies.
Yet this is also the time.. when they are most fertile.
Perhaps.. deferring payments until couples are more established in their career .. will be a good idea .This will free up more income to provide for their new additions. And start paying off the debt until they are more financially established.. and perhaps with higher income. That will help lessen the strain during the most crucial period of child bearing.
Encourage mothers to go back to work after the child is in a full day school. We need to set up age discrimination laws.. so age cannot be a requisite for employment unless it is absolutely necessary.
Give companies incentives to hire mothers instead of xiao mei mei from our third world neighbours.
Allow for more creation of part time work.
No mother wants to part with their newborn babies after only 3 months . So young women should be encouraged to give birth when they are younger.. then join the workforce when the children are older.
Another issue is , single mothers and divorce mothers. More financial and social support for these group of mothers.. We should not discriminate them or make life harder than it already is. After all.. a baby is still a human being.
Personally.. the NS issue needs to be resolved. Shorten the NS and reservist period. Right now.. with the global movement, women has the choice to marry a NON-Singaporean so their son need not serve NS.
Thats all for now.....gota get more beer... :)
Originally posted by xtreyier:.
The birth issue, as mentioned, is beyond politics and must not be politicised.
i'll remember you said that.
The decrease in birth rates is a result of their policy.
No?
Something that was the result of their policies and folks say it's not politics. If it's not politics then obviously it is not something they can or will ever solve.
Aren't they "chasing the dragon" again?
(1) "Chasing the dragon" is a method of smoking opium (opium is often referred to as a dragon in asian cultures). The opium is heated on some kind of metal and a fine line of smoke evolves from the heated drug. This smoke is now to be "chased" (meaning breathed in), often through a small tube, like a straw.
(2) Also used to describe a similar method of smoking other drugs (heroine, crack, etc)
The government's policies affect our lives. Same goes with other countries in the world. The difference here is, the government doesnt value our opinions seriously and they still think that we are just ignorant citizens. Maybe there is no fear of being replaced immediately if the citizens are not happy with the performance.
The policies the government made in the past are good, it brings us to where we are now. I'm very proud of it! But now, I'm sure Singaporeans are educated enough to contribute to the designing of policies. ![]()
What do you guys think? Do we still need many more years of spoon-feeding? Political awarness in Singapore is increasing amongst the young, but the progress is very slow.
Are PRs political conscious too? Discuss haha...(sounds like writting essay for exams)
,is our stupid SG treats his own citizens well to ask 4 the blood from us.
Medical doctors in sinkapore are working from 7 am when they left home for hospitals, by the time ,they came home is about midnight, more than 15 hours per day including sat , sun and public holidays when they are on call,if without passion of the profession, they will quit the jobs and yet our ministers enjoying the million $ to talk c sing their bloodly songs here!!!!
Do you how many doctors including their family members left Sinkapore after the had served thir bond with this stupid and blood sucker govt? saveaforsaid ,who will stay in sinkapore to produce next G who will suffer much more!!!!
Fcuk these bloodly suckers and their dogs!!!!!
Are NMPs doing their job? It seems like their voice have no power also.
Originally posted by Evangel:The government's policies affect our lives. Same goes with other countries in the world. The difference here is, the government doesnt value our opinions seriously and they still think that we are just ignorant citizens.
But now, I'm sure Singaporeans are educated enough to contribute to the designing of policies.
Do we still need many more years of spoon-feeding? Political awarness in Singapore is increasing amongst the young, but the progress is very slow.
A simple gesture of handshake as a form of greeting is often miscontrued as something else amongst different cultures. This is only an example on the complexities of life when even a simple decision of greeting have to be considered, even within our multi-ethnic society.
Similarly so, when a State ( our society ) makes a final decision on a policy.
It would erroneous and i would say mischevious, if the allegation that our govt ( our elected officials ) do not listen or take into consideration of our views. Thing is, there are many clamouring to make their views known, from the constructive to the mad ones.
Who should our govt ( elected officials ) listen to then? You, me? Just because you or my proposals are not selected and enacted, does that mean the govt is not listening to me and you?
There are several channels of feedback the govt depends on. It is often debated on within the civil service, whom we taxpayers are paying top dollars for the best, to rationalise, streamline and find the best solution
- a solution that may not suit all, but at least the majority, and a solution which will not suit even the majority now, but will ensure the long time survival of the many millions later. As well as a solution that may not suit a particular ethnic group or even all ethnic groups, but a solution that will suit our State ( we the citizens of this nation ).
Decisions of which as they had made which ensured the labour of our past are fruitful and will ensure all aspects of social life are respected, not only just in the birth issue, but many other social issues as well for the present and the future. Hard and difficult decisions, simply because we don't own Singapore individually, but collectively, as a multi-ethnic nation.
At the end of the day, we still have the freedom of vote - dissolving the parliament ( resignation of policy makers ) at an election, to either want the elected officials to remain for doing a good job, or vote for another team to form the next govt if they can do a better job, not just out of spite. Your vote is crucial for the survival of our society, but still, it is your choice and your level of maturity to make that one vote count.
5 or 4 more years till the next election? I'll review the performance of the government again. Hope that it is not a walk over.
I'll make this vote count! ![]()
Perhaps.. deferring payments until couples are more established in their career .. will be a good idea .This will free up more income to provide for their new additions. And start paying off the debt until they are more financially established.. and perhaps with higher income. That will help lessen the strain during the most crucial period of child bearing.
Personally.. the NS issue needs to be resolved. Shorten the NS and reservist period. Right now.. with the global movement, women has the choice to marry a NON-Singaporean so their son need not serve NS.
Actually I like the above ideas. Maybe the gov should defer payment, or get some portion of CPF until they r 35 or something to encourage young people to give birth.
Encourage mothers to go back to work after the child is in a full day school. We need to set up age discrimination laws.. so age cannot be a requisite for employment unless it is absolutely necessary.
I think the above is difficult to enforce. There r really some job tat require young people like handling cargoes or being air stewardess.
Give companies incentives to hire mothers instead of xiao mei mei from our third world neighbours.
The way the gov do is probably ask the company to give a levy for unskilled xiao mei mei from third world neighbours. Tis acts as a negative incentive for employing unskilled workers
No mother wants to part with their newborn babies after only 3 months . So young women should be encouraged to give birth when they are younger.. then join the workforce when the children are older.
How to encourage them to do tat ? Also can they adapt to the work force after the rest ?
Another issue is , single mothers and divorce mothers. More financial and social support for these group of mothers.. We should not discriminate them or make life harder than it already is. After all.. a baby is still a human being.
the only way is for the husband to give a higher maintenance fee. Who r making their lives harder other than society themselves ?
The difference here is, the government doesnt value our opinions seriously and they still think that we are just ignorant citizens.
Frankly speaking, I don't think so. Why do u think the gov is not valuing people's opinion ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Actually I like the above ideas. Maybe the gov should defer payment, or get some portion of CPF until they r 35 or something to encourage young people to give birth.
I think the above is difficult to enforce. There r really some job tat require young people like handling cargoes or being air stewardess.
The way the gov do is probably ask the company to give a levy for unskilled xiao mei mei from third world neighbours. Tis acts as a negative incentive for employing unskilled workers
How to encourage them to do tat ? Also can they adapt to the work force after the rest ?
the only way is for the husband to give a higher maintenance fee. Who r making their lives harder other than society themselves ?
Obviously the levies are not working. We see so many xiao mei mei doing a job many middle age women wouldn't mind doing.
How is age discrimination laws difficult to enforce ? The US is successful in this aspect. Don't tell me receptionist and customer services position must be manned by pretty young thing ? Abosolutely not, older people can still deliver a good standard of customer service.. if not better than young people.
Currently.. women , even men are having a hard time getting a second career after they hit 40.
Refreshment courses can be made available for mothers to help ease them into their new work life. A mother with a degree remains a mother with a degree.. educational knowlege doesn't depreciate just because she stayed home for several years.
Adapting is not a problem.. the problem they face now.. is age discimination. That's why many women are unwilling to let go of their career while they are young, because they won't be able to find a job when they are older.
In the USA.. employers are tapping into this pool of resources to fill their employment needs.
Even empty nesters are an invaluable pool of knowledge and experience .. untapped due to our age discrimination problem in SG.
If I am not wrong.. single mothers are not allowed to apply for a new HDB flat.
I think our stupid gov's mentality has to be changed!!!
If parents cauz of $ to give birth to the next g!!!
Do you know how the kids will be? may be like those dogs here,talk and act w/o conscious and love of their parents and care of their family and country men's interests and work/live just 4 the sake of $!!!
How a family and country will survive w/o love and care but just 4 the $!!!!
Silly gov,pls wake up yr bloody idea and looking after yr citizens'interests!!!!
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Frankly speaking, I don't think so. Why do u think the gov is not valuing people's opinion ?
Obviously the levies are not working. We see so many xiao mei mei doing a job many middle age women wouldn't mind doing.
Well then wat should be done ? Increase the levy so incredible high tat makes singapore less atrractive to companies ?
How is age discrimination laws difficult to enforce ? The US is successful in this aspect. Don't tell me receptionist and customer services position must be manned by pretty young thing ? Abosolutely not, older people can still deliver a good standard of customer service.. if not better than young people.
Is USA very successful in enforcing age discrimination laws ? Any website to point me in tis direction ? Whether should customer services be manned by pretty young thing... well why does media advertisement uses pretty young thing ? It is a fact tat it do helps
Currently.. women , even men are having a hard time getting a second career after they hit 40.
Refreshment courses can be made available for mothers to help ease them into their new work life. A mother with a degree remains a mother with a degree.. educational knowlege doesn't depreciate just because she stayed home for several years.
Tat is true but it is the mindset of companies and people. Educational knowledge does not depreciate but they r more rusty compared with fresh and enthusiastic graduates. Furthermore mothers tend to take care of their family over their career. If their son felt sick, they will skip an important meeting by throwing leave. Why companies do tis is for very human reasons.
If I am not wrong.. single mothers are not allowed to apply for a new HDB flat.
Is it ? I thought they can
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Well then wat should be done ? Increase the levy so incredible high tat makes singapore less atrractive to companies ?
Is USA very successful in enforcing age discrimination laws ? Any website to point me in tis direction ? Whether should customer services be manned by pretty young thing... well why does media advertisement uses pretty young thing ? It is a fact tat it do helps
Tat is true but it is the mindset of companies and people. Educational knowledge does not depreciate but they r more rusty compared with fresh and enthusiastic graduates. Furthermore mothers tend to take care of their family over their career. If their son felt sick, they will skip an important meeting by throwing leave. Why companies do tis is for very human reasons.
Is it ? I thought they can
That's why I say.. give incentive.. not raise levy lah.... haiz...
You want info.. just google .. "age discrimination act" lor... tons of info. available in the web lah...
Pretty young things only good for the males mah.. so female customer no need to bother ah ? Please lah....you think females like to ogle at females meh ??? Xiao boh ? Why not say.. Asian males are all chee koh pek ? Old women serve you.. you not happy issit ? kaoz....
You mean to say.. when your children get sick.. you always make your wife take leave ah ? Please lah..children got one lau peh.. one lau bu... it is you being MCP.. that's all.
Your kind of mindset .. confirm low birth rate lah !!
That's why I say.. give incentive.. not raise levy lah.... haiz...
U mean u suggest the gov to give money to about 1/2 of the workforce when they work ?
You want info.. just google .. "age discrimination act" lor... tons of info. available in the web lah...
tat is pretty interesting...
Pretty young things only good for the males mah.. so female customer no need to bother ah ? Please lah....you think females like to ogle at females meh ??? Xiao boh ? Why not say.. Asian males are all chee koh pek ? Old women serve you.. you not happy issit ? kaoz....
Frankly speaking, people like to see beautiful people. Woman like to look at beautiful woman too and tat is why a lot of their advertisement show beautiful women. LV/Guess bag uses a beautiful woman as a model. Why ?
You mean to say.. when your children get sick.. you always make your wife take leave ah ? Please lah..children got one lau peh.. one lau bu... it is you being MCP.. that's all.
Your kind of mindset .. confirm low birth rate lah !!
In the asian context, the mother is likely to be the one taking the leave. U may say tis is MCP but i believe most of the time, the women will be more likely to be the one taking the leave. Generally in an asian family, the primary provider is still the male, while the secondary income provider is the female.
Based on your observation, do u think GENERALLY the women r the one taking more money in the family ? GENERALLY do u think women r the one taking the leave to take care of a sick child ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Obviously the levies are not working. We see so many xiao mei mei doing a job many middle age women wouldn't mind doing.
How is age discrimination laws difficult to enforce ? The US is successful in this aspect. Don't tell me receptionist and customer services position must be manned by pretty young thing ?
i fully support age-blind policy on vocation except on airline industry.
i finds no pleasure at all on being served by middle-age ladies on the plane. i am a lot more comfortable with sq girls.
if you are traveling 18hours to stateside, i think i am entitled to a little tlc by the younger homosapiens.
my company recently changed its airline travel policy from flying-on-a-national-carrier to flying on a cheapest-ticketed-airline, which means from sq to northwest or ua. now, i travel a lot, lot less on external customer meeting. (must say technology has also improved. we have virtual meeting room now where we can see the other person almost like `live' across the table. so, it eliminates internal meeting travel)
Originally posted by stupidissmart:U mean u suggest the gov to give money to about 1/2 of the workforce when they work ?
tat is pretty interesting...
Frankly speaking, people like to see beautiful people. Woman like to look at beautiful woman too and tat is why a lot of their advertisement show beautiful women. LV/Guess bag uses a beautiful woman as a model. Why ?
In the asian context, the mother is likely to be the one taking the leave. U may say tis is MCP but i believe most of the time, the women will be more likely to be the one taking the leave. Generally in an asian family, the primary provider is still the male, while the secondary income provider is the female.
Based on your observation, do u think GENERALLY the women r the one taking more money in the family ? GENERALLY do u think women r the one taking the leave to take care of a sick child ?
Solli to dissapoint you ok ? I prefer LV Guess bag look good on ME. Even without the model holding it.. we will still buy.. because we are buying the bag.. not the model. In fact.. it is a real waste of money to hire expensive female models just to hold the bag to show me.. I'd rather they save the money and make that bag cheaper.
In Asian context ?.. Harlow ?.. In the OLD asian context.. women stay home .. men work. Times are moving ahead.. not backward..now we have women working. .. gettit ?
The role has changed.. why couldn't the mindset of men ? Excuses excuses..or just that men are in denial ?
Women take more money ? I no understand. Please explain.
And why should women be the one to take leave ? Men cannot do it ?
Self serving MCP you are my dear friend.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Solli to dissapoint you ok ? I prefer LV Guess bag look good on ME.
ain't that the truth, but the whole truth....
and btw, why is gorbachev advertising shamelessly for lv? he supermodel meh?