Originally posted by redDUST:
i fully support age-blind policy on vocation except on airline industry.i finds no pleasure at all on being served by middle-age ladies on the plane. i am a lot more comfortable with sq girls.
if you are traveling 18hours to stateside, i think i am entitled to a little tlc by the younger homosapiens.
my company recently changed its airline travel policy from flying-on-a-national-carrier to flying on a cheapest-ticketed-airline, which means from sq to northwest or ua. now, i travel a lot, lot less on external customer meeting. (must say technology has also improved. we have virtual meeting room now where we can see the other person almost like `live' across the table. so, it eliminates internal meeting travel)
Airline industry.. I don't see the need to have age discrimination.
All I want is good service from the crew. Gay or Lesbian.. young or old..black purple or brown... as long as that person can give me excellent service.. that is what matters most. Unless you say it is for safety reason.. or due to employee health concerns.. then OK.. if not.. please.. pretty girls don't make my journey any more shiok.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Airline industry.. I don't see the need to have age discrimination.
All I want is good service from the crew. Gay or Lesbian.. young or old..black purple or brown... as long as that person can give me excellent service.. that is what matters most. Unless you say it is for safety reason.. or due to employee health concerns.. then OK.. if not.. please.. pretty girls don't make my journey any more shiok.
mcp(me) thinks differently....
and treatment received by old aunties on ua are experiences to forget.
Originally posted by redDUST:
mcp(me) thinks differently....and treatment received by old aunties on ua are experiences to forget.
So what is the opposite of MCP ?
Solli to dissapoint you ok ? I prefer LV Guess bag look good on ME. Even without the model holding it.. we will still buy.. because we are buying the bag.. not the model. In fact.. it is a real waste of money to hire expensive female models just to hold the bag to show me.. I'd rather they save the money and make that bag cheaper.
It look good on u, and so does other bags. The trick is to make u think u look good in it and they do it by employing good looking models. As said, people employ beautiful model as ad simply because it is more attractive and appeal to both men and women. It is just like a beautiful car or beautiful buildings or a beautiful doll. People like to see beautiful things
In Asian context ?.. Harlow ?.. In the OLD asian context.. women stay home .. men work. Times are moving ahead.. not backward..now we have women working. .. gettit ?
Com'on la... the new mindset is indeed tat men should take over more household chores but men is still the primary bread winner. Because they r the primary bread winner, they should try to protect their careers as much as possible and let the secondary income maker take care of the family. As said, it is not every case but in the general case. It is more asian family, in fact even in ang mo countries, male r the primary bread winner.
U wanna call me MCP, then call me MCP lor... I am just stating a fact of society.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:It look good on u, and so does other bags. The trick is to make u think u look good in it and they do it by employing good looking models. As said, people employ beautiful model as ad simply because it is more attractive and appeal to both men and women. It is just like a beautiful car or beautiful buildings or a beautiful doll. People like to see beautiful things
Com'on la... the new mindset is indeed tat men should take over more household chores but men is still the primary bread winner. Because they r the primary bread winner, they should try to protect their careers as much as possible and let the secondary income maker take care of the family. As said, it is not every case but in the general case. It is more asian family, in fact even in ang mo countries, male r the primary bread winner.
U wanna call me MCP, then call me MCP lor... I am just stating a fact of society.
Why must men be the primary bread winner ? Why men cannot be the secondary bread winner ? How long do you want to live in you men's glorious PAST ?
A fact of society .. yes.. it was an HONEST MISTAKE.. Let's move on.
Why must men be the primary bread winner ? Why men cannot be the secondary bread winner ? How long do you want to live in you men's glorious PAST ?
They can be secondary bread winner
But the fact is GENERALLY speaking NOW, men r the one making more income. It is not about men's glorious past but a fact of life. Lets cut down on the rheotorics. Does husband GENERALLY earns more than the wife in an asian family ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Why must men be the primary bread winner ? Why men cannot be the secondary bread winner ? How long do you want to live in you men's glorious PAST ?
If my wife is more capable and makes more money than me, without additional income support from my part to lead a comfortable life, I would gladly take care of the kids. ![]()
I'm a firm believer of leaving things to another person who is able to do it a lot better than me. Eg. If I suck at investing, leave it to the fund manager who would do a better job. If I can't cook well, why not hire someone who can?
In life we just have to play out the role that we are good in. Don't have to do everything ourselves and suck at it.
Ohhh...I know some forumers might think, what if I'm lousy in bed with wifey hahaha...![]()
Originally posted by Evangel:If my wife is more capable and makes more money than me, without additional income support from my part to lead a comfortable life, I would gladly take care of the kids.
I'm a firm believer of leaving things to another person who is able to do it a lot better than me. Eg. If I suck at investing, leave it to the fund manager who would do a better job. If I can't cook well, why not hire someone who can?
In life we just have to play out the role that we are good in. Don't have to do everything ourselves and suck at it.
Ohhh...I know some forumers might think, what if I'm lousy in bed with wifey hahaha...
Eating soft rice?
Actually i think its the ego of men and the asian culture that women are the reserves rather than the players.
Don't have to worry about the status of women too much, they're now catching up with man, better worry about ourselves.
However, i still think that men are made in a way that they are more suitable as front line players while women take the backstage.
Men are physically stronger, think more logically and are able to suppress their emotions better.
Women, on the other hand, are not as muscular(i heard it is to provide comfort for the baby), tend to be more emotional and caring, thus making them better care givers than employees.
While,all of us are made for a reason
Originally posted by stupidissmart:They can be secondary bread winner
But the fact is GENERALLY speaking NOW, men r the one making more income. It is not about men's glorious past but a fact of life. Lets cut down on the rheotorics. Does husband GENERALLY earns more than the wife in an asian family ?
Husband GENERALLY earns more than the wife in an asian family NOW ?
Not only are you MCP.. you are also obsolete.
Nowadays.. females and males are equal contributors to family income.
The fact is the birth rate in Singapore is dropping.
So what is your point ?
What has Men earning more money do with dropping birth rates ????
Men and women shares equal responsibilites to their children.
Are the companies made of Aliens ? Are they made of robots ?
The whole company is made up of human beings...
Why couldn't human beings be understanding to the needs of fellow human beings ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:It look good on u, and so does other bags. The trick is to make u think u look good in it and they do it by employing good looking models. As said, people employ beautiful model as ad simply because it is more attractive and appeal to both men and women. It is just like a beautiful car or beautiful buildings or a beautiful doll. People like to see beautiful things
True.. human like to look at beautiful things... And it doesn't always have to be a beautiful PERSON.
We enjoy also.. beautiful designs... beautiful sceneries..beautiful works of art.
Asian men are shallow beings... thats also the fact.
seriously.. i wan my fishing village back........
Husband GENERALLY earns more than the wife in an asian family NOW.
The fact is the birth rate in Singapore is dropping.
So what is your point ?
What has Men earning more money do with dropping birth rates ????
The original point is probably to highlight tat companies do not like to hire mothers sometime :p it is a fact of life
True.. human like to look at beautiful things... And it doesn't always have to be a beautiful PERSON.
We enjoy also.. beautiful designs... beautiful sceneries..beautiful works of art.
Asian men are shallow beings... thats also the fact.
All men like beautiful women and men. Tat is why china replace the singing girl with a cuter looking one :p
It is again another fact of human being. U think only Asian men r shallow ? I think everyone is shallow to a certain extent
Originally posted by stupidissmart:The original point is probably to highlight tat companies do not like to hire mothers sometime :p it is a fact of life
All men like beautiful women and men. Tat is why china replace the singing girl with a cuter looking one :p
It is again another fact of human being. U think only Asian men r shallow ? I think everyone is shallow to a certain extent
Well.. if the anti-mother culture's not gonna change.. women will less likely want to give birth. And birth rates will continue to go down. Unfortunately.. this is but an Asian traditionalist behavior.
And yes.. the government can step up to help change this mindset.
To be honest.. I am very disgusted with the China bait and switch tactic.
I have no problem watching the original singer perform live. She is also a cute little girl.
Are the China Chinese such shallow people ? I hope not all of them. It's just the humsup old man's instruction to switch to a young pretty thing...as stated in the report.. it's a LAST MINUTE decision by the top guy.
Men like beautiful men too ? Now that's interesting. Will you be happy being served by a crew of handsome men onboard an airplane ? LOL ?
Well.. if the anti-mother culture's not gonna change.. women will less likely want to give birth. And birth rates will continue to go down. Unfortunately.. this is but an Asian traditionalist behavior.
To be frank, tat is why tis is not an easy problem to solve. To change anti-mother culture is also not gonna be easy
Men like beautiful men too ? Now that's interesting. Will you be happy being served by a crew of handsome men onboard an airplane ? LOL ?
Men here means general mankind. And yes, I felt better looking and talking with a handsome waitress than an ugly one even though I am a man myself. I like looking at guys lean guy with muscles on Levi type of advertisement than seeing a hairy fat guy tat is shirt-less
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Eating soft rice?
Actually i think its the ego of men and the asian culture that women are the reserves rather than the players.
Don't have to worry about the status of women too much, they're now catching up with man, better worry about ourselves.
However, i still think that men are made in a way that they are more suitable as front line players while women take the backstage.
Men are physically stronger, think more logically and are able to suppress their emotions better.
Women, on the other hand, are not as muscular(i heard it is to provide comfort for the baby), tend to be more emotional and caring, thus making them better care givers than employees.
While,all of us are made for a reason
Seriously, if my wife is darn good, I would stop working and take care of family. But someone who earns a lot more than me in the future would be very hard to find haha...
Maybe she earn already, then the rest of savings I will invest it. At home take care of kids, read lots and lots of annual company reports and think of new ideas to invest. Not bad heh!
Have more time to go vacation with family. Close bonding. It's like retiring early to make more money through investments. Cool heh? ![]()
Originally posted by jojobeach:Why must men be the primary bread winner ? Why men cannot be the secondary bread winner ? How long do you want to live in you men's glorious PAST ?
Are the China Chinese such shallow people ? I hope not all of them. It's just the humsup old man's instruction to switch to a young pretty thing...as stated in the report.. it's a LAST MINUTE decision by the top guy.
there is no "why must men be the primary breadwinner" he was just stating a fact that men are currently the primary breadwinners, there are cases where men are secondary breadwinners but they are still a minority.
what the chinese did was really really wrong but understandable. given a choice i'm sure most of us here wants perfection in our lifes but "perfection" differs for each individual based on our individual values.some want that million bucks from toto, others rather earning with own effort. just like how you're obviously showing us where your values lie with all those caps but what you deem modern/intellectual can also be considered shallow by others who don't share your "values"
not that i'm condoning what he did but i can see the results for myself, it really does make a difference. the chinese guy understood this and he decided to go ahead with it because he feels it worth it from his point of view. would it matter if no one says it out?
and lastly, just like you've mentioned yourself in a previous post, you don't draw pleasure from being served by beautiful women, (i'm guessing you prefer handsome men by choice) i too prefer someone goodlooking from the opposite sex. is that shallow? or should i take a moral highground and proclaim to the world that a granny would be better to prove i'm saint?
no beautiful women? then at least make sure the crew is made up of "beautiful" men, if given a choice why not? i don't have a fetish for ugly people
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:there is no "why must men be the primary breadwinner" he was just stating a fact that men are currently the primary breadwinners, there are cases where men are secondary breadwinners but they are still a minority.
what the chinese did was really really wrong but understandable. given a choice i'm sure most of us here wants perfection in our lifes but "perfection" differs for each individual based on our individual values.some want that million bucks from toto, others rather earning with own effort. just like how you're obviously showing us where your values lie with all those caps but what you deem modern/intellectual can also be considered shallow by others who don't share your "values"
not that i'm condoning what he did but i can see the results for myself, it really does make a difference. the chinese guy understood this and he decided to go ahead with it because he feels it worth it from his point of view. would it matter if no one says it out?
and lastly, just like you've mentioned yourself in a previous post, you don't draw pleasure from being served by beautiful women, (i'm guessing you prefer handsome men by choice) i too prefer someone goodlooking from the opposite sex. is that shallow? or should i take a moral highground and proclaim to the world that a granny would be better to prove i'm saint?
no beautiful women? then at least make sure the crew is made up of "beautiful" men, if given a choice why not? i don't have a fetish for ugly people
What's the point harping on the current fact ? Does it means it cannot be changed ? Ofcors it can.
Perhaps Asian men are too unwilling to look beyond the word "NOW" ?
If you read my previous post properly. It stated very clearly.. that I don't need beautiful people to give me tip top service.
Handsome men or no handsome man.. I'm not interested in his looks.. I'm interested in how well he served my meals.
He can be fat.. ugly and old.. as long as he do a good job.. I will give him a big fat tip.
I hope you are not an ugly person yourself.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:To be frank, tat is why tis is not an easy problem to solve. To change anti-mother culture is also not gonna be easy
Men here means general mankind. And yes, I felt better looking and talking with a handsome waitress than an ugly one even though I am a man myself. I like looking at guys lean guy with muscles on Levi type of advertisement than seeing a hairy fat guy tat is shirt-less
Difficult yes.. not impossible..
You mean you will still feel offended by a hairy fat guy if he is dressed in tuxedo and providing you immaculate service ?
Let see... If I am outside 2 restaurant tat look exactly the same to me (tat means all else being equal), and one of them looks has a waiter standing outside who look like borat and carry a big smile, while on the other side is an incredibly handsome waiter tat look like Richard Gere and also carry a big smile...
I will choose the restaurant with the handsome waiter. (Unless u r a borat fan... )
Tis is human nature man... u can consider the waiter outside has become part of the restaurant decor and they win the overall aesthetic appearence
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Let see... If I am outside 2 restaurant tat look exactly the same to me (tat means all else being equal), and one of them looks has a waiter standing outside who look like borat and carry a big smile, while on the other side is an incredibly handsome waiter tat look like Richard Gere and also carry a big smile...
I will choose the restaurant with the handsome waiter. (Unless u r a borat fan... )
Tis is human nature man... u can consider the waiter outside has become part of the restaurant decor and they win the overall aesthetic appearence
An excellent speech.
And you still did not answer the question.
The answer u want is "Yes I will not be offended if an ugly guy serves me and he is good at his job"
BUT
First impression wise, an ugly guy loses to a beautiful one. If all else being equal, I prefer a handsome guy to serves me and is good at his job then an ugly guy.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:
The answer u want is "Yes I will not be offended if an ugly guy serves me and he is good at his job"
BUT
First impression wise, an ugly guy loses to a beautiful one. If all else being equal, I prefer a handsome guy to serves me and is good at his job then an ugly guy.
Haha. Finally
BUT
Ok..
So which will you choose ?
A young borat looking guy vs a old Richard Geere lookalike guy ?
I already answer I will choose the handsome guy isn't it ?
BUT
How about Gay,..if he serve as equally as others, do you prefer him/her?