Tis is about looks now isn't it ? Why suddenly mention gay ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Tis is about looks now isn't it ? Why suddenly mention gay ?
How come I got a strange feeling that girls seems to like gays?
OK im talking rubbish haha...
As one works longer and older, his employability diminishes, generally.
As each day passes, new people come and challenge for their ricebowl.
Each day, mature workers feel more stressed, uncertain, insecure, worry about ricebowl?
Will they worry about younger, lower cost coming in and able to get residency in short time?
Can they relax a bit to spend more time with family or think about procreation?
Does the wife have to work too? Like this got more quality of life is it ?
This is the nation the people selected.
I just follow. I no questions ask. People say pay more, I pay more.
People say competition is good for you, I accept.
People say erp is good, I say yah lor, what else you expect?
People say accountable and integrity and trustworthy and honest, I believe.
People say retirement = death, I nod nod.
People say they the best , I say absolutely.
People say be hungry and more hungrier than competition and FT, I agree.
People say have more kids, I cannot say because I yes too much liao, no more energy and time left to even short gun.
i think my future is bleak.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:I already answer I will choose the handsome guy isn't it ?
OK. Good.
So we do agree that age is not an issue in hiring.
So age discrimination laws can apply even in image heavy airline industry.
Generally age has a direct influence on look
Originally posted by jojobeach:What's the point harping on the current fact ? Does it means it cannot be changed ? Ofcors it can.
Perhaps Asian men are too unwilling to look beyond the word "NOW" ?
If you read my previous post properly. It stated very clearly.. that I don't need beautiful people to give me tip top service.
Handsome men or no handsome man.. I'm not interested in his looks.. I'm interested in how well he served my meals.
He can be fat.. ugly and old.. as long as he do a good job.. I will give him a big fat tip.
I hope you are not an ugly person yourself.
we talk about it not because it cannot be changed but because it is the current situation, whether it can be changed does not concern me. i'm only concerned with informing the ignorant of the current facts instead of dumping my own political views on them.
And as posted previously, i'm assuming the level of service is similar (which is why even "beautiful guys" were used as an example)when i moved on to looks but you assumed looks overwrites services.
beauty is always in the eye of the beholder but judging from your preferances i doubt i'll be receiving any fat tips in the near future
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Generally age has a direct influence on look
maybe but when it comes to certain areas i usually prefer to be helped by older workers because they appear more experienced unless its an old worker thats new in the trade.
funny thing that gay people are mentioned because i'm actually quite biased against them when it comes to service and retail areas, after working beside them and having been served by a few, the ones i've seen are quite tempermental and usually any acceptable levels of service flies out of the window together with their temper whenever they lose it.
most memorable one i recalled was a rude guy in a resturant in Orchard who's service went from bad to worse when told of the poor service. and judging from his response, it gave us a great deal of comfort that we told him whats going on after all the food is served
"Singapore's fertility rate is currently 1.29 children per woman, well below the 2.1 needed to maintain the country's 4.6 million population. Chinese community, whose fertility rate is the lowest of all Singapore's ethnic groups at 1.14. They fail", By Lee Long long
wee! after all, chinese are indeed smarter...as according to TS
Originally posted by angel7030:"Singapore's fertility rate is currently 1.29 children per woman, well below the 2.1 needed to maintain the country's 4.6 million population. Chinese community, whose fertility rate is the lowest of all Singapore's ethnic groups at 1.14. They fail", By Lee Long long
wee! after all, chinese are indeed smarter...as according to TS
because the other races are contend with their life but chinese want to earn more money as a result no time for children?
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:because the other races are contend with their life but chinese want to earn more money as a result no time for children?
no time for children..but got time for sex..
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:because the other races are contend with their life but chinese want to earn more money as a result no time for children?
thats a part of their life i frequently admire but is unable to do. as much as i want to i still care more about money.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:thats a part of their life i frequently admire but is unable to do. as much as i want to i still care more about money.
This kind of thing only at deathbed then you will realize the loneliness being associated with money rather than decendants.
Originally posted by angel7030:
This kind of thing only at deathbed then you will realize the loneliness being associated with money rather than decendants.
but its the sort of thing you'll always know but never understand til it hits you in the face.
as for being associated with money at deathbed...... there was that old guy that died in the hotel of a heart attack.......
the environment is not stable enough to encourage people to have children. People general want a stable environment where they can provide for their children for the first 22 yrs of their child's life.
with recession on the loom every few years, and depreciating pay, the singapore environment is not secure enough to convince people to have children.
Million dollar salaried people how to understand the problems of the low and middle class workers?
To them, we are just machines needed to pop out babies to contribute to CPF, taxes, GTS next time.
Spooky, almost like the Matrix. ![]()
Government to spend S$700m more on pro-family measures
By Margaret Perry, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 18 August 2008 2150 hrs
SINGAPORE: The Singapore government plans to spend an additional
S$700 million a year on measures to boost its flagging birth rate.
Currently, it spends about S$900 million a year.
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in his National Day Rally
speech on Sunday night that a baby brings much joy, but can also be a
logistic and financial challenge, so a slew of measures will be
implemented by the government to create more time and more funds to
help parents cope with their children.
Paid maternity leave will be extended from 12 weeks to 16 weeks,
and the extra four weeks can be taken anytime during the baby's first
year. It was previously extended from eight to 12 weeks in 2004.
There will also be a larger baby bonus for first-time parents, more
tax incentives to encourage mothers to work, more incentives for the
fifth and subsequent children, and more financial support for couples
who go for In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) treatment.
On top of that, Mr Lee said parenting is not just the mother's responsibility.
"I used to change nappies, in the days before Pampers. So you've
actually got to fold the cloth, you've got to put it on, you've got to
put the safety pin, I haven't pricked any baby yet. If I can do it,
that means anybody can do it," he quipped.
Emphasising that parenting is a job for both parents has influenced
some policy changes which he hopes will help to shift attitudes.
Childcare leave, which can be claimed by either parent, will be
extended from two to six days per year.
There will also be one week of unpaid infant-care leave per year,
and mums or dads can claim it until their child turns two years old.
Mr Lee acknowledged that professional women find the cost of not
working the highest, and he cited his own mother's work-life choices.
A successful lawyer, Mrs Lee Kuan Yew chose to put her children
first, took on fewer cases, avoided evening work functions and ate
lunch at home every day with her children.
He said having children is a personal choice, and parents have to decide their own priorities.
The government will help by catering to demand and creating 20,000
places at 200 new childcare centres over the next five years. There
will also be more financial support to help kindergartens upgrade their
staff and curricula, as well as more financial help for parents.
Mr Lee said: "These measures all add up to a very significant
package. We are talking of about maybe S$700 million a year. If more
babies are born, it will be more than S$700 million a year. But even
that is about double of what we are spending today on child incentives
and all together we will have about S$1.6 billion spent a year or 0.6
per cent of GDP."
For many people in Singapore, getting married is the first
priority. Mr Lee said the government would do what it could to help,
but urged young Singaporeans not to leave it till it is too late and to
make time to go out, meet new friends and if necessary, join a dating
agency.
Mr Lee also spent some time sharing humorous stories from the
feedback he received from dating agencies, including unrealistic
expectations and poor social graces.
He announced that the government will merge the Social Development
Unit (SDU) which caters to graduates, and the Social Development
Service (SDS) for non-graduates to increase matchmaking flexibility and
activities.
SDU will also come up with an SDU Trust Mark to ensure that those
who prefer using private dating agencies will get quality service.
Couples how? Attractive enough? ![]()
Originally posted by Evangel:Government to spend S$700m more on pro-family measures
By Margaret Perry, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 18 August 2008 2150 hrsSINGAPORE: The Singapore government plans to spend an additional S$700 million a year on measures to boost its flagging birth rate. Currently, it spends about S$900 million a year.
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in his National Day Rally speech on Sunday night that a baby brings much joy, but can also be a logistic and financial challenge, so a slew of measures will be implemented by the government to create more time and more funds to help parents cope with their children.
Paid maternity leave will be extended from 12 weeks to 16 weeks, and the extra four weeks can be taken anytime during the baby's first year. It was previously extended from eight to 12 weeks in 2004.
There will also be a larger baby bonus for first-time parents, more tax incentives to encourage mothers to work, more incentives for the fifth and subsequent children, and more financial support for couples who go for In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) treatment.
On top of that, Mr Lee said parenting is not just the mother's responsibility.
"I used to change nappies, in the days before Pampers. So you've actually got to fold the cloth, you've got to put it on, you've got to put the safety pin, I haven't pricked any baby yet. If I can do it, that means anybody can do it," he quipped.
Emphasising that parenting is a job for both parents has influenced some policy changes which he hopes will help to shift attitudes. Childcare leave, which can be claimed by either parent, will be extended from two to six days per year.
There will also be one week of unpaid infant-care leave per year, and mums or dads can claim it until their child turns two years old.
Mr Lee acknowledged that professional women find the cost of not working the highest, and he cited his own mother's work-life choices.
A successful lawyer, Mrs Lee Kuan Yew chose to put her children first, took on fewer cases, avoided evening work functions and ate lunch at home every day with her children.
He said having children is a personal choice, and parents have to decide their own priorities.
The government will help by catering to demand and creating 20,000 places at 200 new childcare centres over the next five years. There will also be more financial support to help kindergartens upgrade their staff and curricula, as well as more financial help for parents.
Mr Lee said: "These measures all add up to a very significant package. We are talking of about maybe S$700 million a year. If more babies are born, it will be more than S$700 million a year. But even that is about double of what we are spending today on child incentives and all together we will have about S$1.6 billion spent a year or 0.6 per cent of GDP."
For many people in Singapore, getting married is the first priority. Mr Lee said the government would do what it could to help, but urged young Singaporeans not to leave it till it is too late and to make time to go out, meet new friends and if necessary, join a dating agency.
Mr Lee also spent some time sharing humorous stories from the feedback he received from dating agencies, including unrealistic expectations and poor social graces.
He announced that the government will merge the Social Development Unit (SDU) which caters to graduates, and the Social Development Service (SDS) for non-graduates to increase matchmaking flexibility and activities.
SDU will also come up with an SDU Trust Mark to ensure that those who prefer using private dating agencies will get quality service.Couples how? Attractive enough?
Mostly naive and unrealistic solutions. He thinks just throw money will solve the problem meh ?
Yes, Mrs Lee Kwan Yee very good.. and she is also a lawyer.. how many women are lawyers and have the luxury of doing what Mrs LKY can do ?
Other women try to do the same , kena the cold storage treatment ok ?
Keep extending the paid maternity leave.. what for ?
Only make hiring foreign workers more attractive to companies only mah.
What we need is a work life balance and work hours flexibility so BOTH parents can occasionally tend to their young during work hours.. not just for the couple months... it's the whole growing up period of their children until they reach teenage years.
We all very gian paid leave meh ? After that extended paid leave.. go back to shit load of work accumulated during the maternity leave. More stressful ok ! Not only sleep deprived.. still have to work till heart attack.
Babies are not horses . They don't start walking and running around.. and feed themselfs after only few days away from the womb . SG babies are not super babies They fall ill , how ? Get chicken pox or measles how ? All eat grass lor.
Increase child care centers ?. Xiao boh ? More chance to hire foreign teachers ah? Is that also going to make it cheaper ?
This is what a MAN will do to come up with a naive solution on a pinch. He thinks mothers after give birth already.. just hand over the baby to strangers like how she hand over her finished work ? Then why give birth if she cannot even spend more precious time with her baby ?
How many mothers left their hearts with the baby at child care ? He can understand this meh ? Let mothers stay at home to bond with their children when they are young lah !!!
He bloody must have never really taken care of his own babies before. Too many maids and helpers buzzing around taking care of HIS babies ,while he read his " how to be a good dad" book in his cozy office lah.
Yes.. true professional mothers has the highest cost of not working. But he never understand that children WILL grow up ? Babies don't remain babies forever. A child needs their parents full time care in the BEGINNING years after birth.
This cost of not working can be repaid once the child is no longer fuly dependent on her, a professional mother can always play catch up with her career. Age discrimination at the work place is the problem now.
And stop the blardy open leg foreign worker policy. When the future looks bleak who will be willing to give birth ?
Men.. they think they have the solution to a woman's dilemma... PFFT ~!!!!
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Generally age has a direct influence on look
Are you kidding ? LOL...
So your parents, how old are they ?
Must be very ugly looking by now eh ?
Hhahahahha...
Please.. only speak for yourself ok ?
My parents are still good looking and attractive people.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Mostly naive and unrealistic solutions. He thinks just throw money will solve the problem meh ?
Yes, Mrs Lee Kwan Yee very good.. and she is also a lawyer.. how many women are lawyers and have the luxury of doing what Mrs LKY can do ?
Other women try to do the same , kena the cold storage treatment ok ?
Keep extending the paid maternity leave.. what for ?
Only make hiring foreign workers more attractive to companies only mah.
What we need is a work life balance and work hours flexibility so BOTH parents can occasionally tend to their young during work hours.. not just for the couple months... it's the whole growing up period of their children until they reach teenage years.
We all very gian paid leave meh ? After that extended paid leave.. go back to shit load of work accumulated during the maternity leave. More stressful ok ! Not only sleep deprived.. still have to work till heart attack.
Babies are like not horses . They don't start walking and running around.. and feed themselfs after only few days away from the womb . SG babies are not super babies They fall ill , how ? Get chicken pox or measles how ? All eat grass lor.
Increase child care centers ?. Xiao boh ? More chance to hire foreign teachers ah?
This is what a MAN will do to come up with a naive solution on a pinch. He thinks mothers after give birth already.. just hand over the baby to strangers like how she hand over her finished work ? Then why give birth if she cannot even spend more precious time with her baby ?
How many mothers left their hearts with the baby at child care ? He can understand this meh ? Let mothers stay at home to bond with their children when they are young lah !!!
He bloody must have never really taken care of his own babies before. Too many maids and helpers buzzing around taking care of HIS babies ,while he read his " how to be a good dad" book in his cozy office lah.
Yes.. true professional mothers has the highest cost of not working. But he never understand that children WILL grow up ? Babies don't remain babies forever. A child needs their parents full time care in the BEGINNING years after birth.
This cost of not working can be repaid once the child is no longer fuly dependent on her, a professional mother can always play catch up with her career. Age discrimination at the work place is the problem now.
And stop the blardy open leg foreign worker policy. When the future looks bleak who will be willing to give birth ?
Men.. they think they have the solution to a woman's dilemma... PFFT ~!!!!
the govt always has a policy of throwing money at a problem to "solve" it or at least appear to make an effort to stop the complains. he listed those "answers" as an alternative, a growing number of parents are known to use them even if you find it unacceptable. its just an additional choice, he's not going to pass a law to make everyone use childcare centers. he never claimed its the only solution.
work life balance and work hours flexibility isn't unachievable but it involves a lot of "comfort zones" which bosses and workers will find it hard to give up. at the end of the day if i'm a boss, i definately don't want to hire someone only to know she's pregnant and won't be around for the next half a year while on the payroll. likewise i wouldn't want to work for someone doesn't even bother to put my welfare in his/her heart.
but welfare do not mean bosses get walked all over with people saying
"the law allows me to do this so you have to give me my maternity leave what happens to your business is non of my business and if you discrimate me i'll go to MOM. "
if thats your idea of protection for the workers then sooner or later workers would abuse the system and create a situation where bosses naturally prefer FTs who are more flexible and cheaper.
my previous company's hours are long(10+hrs) but when you get a flexible manager, its easier to get time off when something comes up, you take your maternity leave according to your needs and co workers cover up for you when you're not around so work doesn't pile up. and thats the situation for the past 4 years i was there.
things don't always have to be as negative as you perceive them.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Originally posted by stupidissmart:Generally age has a direct influence on look
Are you kidding ? LOL...
So your parents, how old are they ?
Must be very ugly looking by now eh ?
Hhahahahha...
Please.. only speak for yourself ok ?
My parents are still good looking and attractive people.
generally speaking age does have a direct influence on looks but then again generally beauty is in the eye of the beholder
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:the govt always has a policy of throwing money at a problem to "solve" it or at least appear to make an effort to stop the complains. he listed those "answers" as an alternative, a growing number of parents are known to use them even if you find it unacceptable. its just an additional choice, he's not going to pass a law to make everyone use childcare centers. he never claimed its the only solution.
work life balance and work hours flexibility isn't unachievable but it involves a lot of "comfort zones" which bosses and workers will find it hard to give up. at the end of the day if i'm a boss, i definately don't want to hire someone only to know she's pregnant and won't be around for the next half a year while on the payroll. likewise i wouldn't want to work for someone doesn't even bother to put my welfare in his/her heart.
but welfare do not mean bosses get walked all over with people saying
"the law allows me to do this so you have to give me my maternity leave what happens to your business is non of my business and if you discrimate me i'll go to MOM. "
if thats your idea of protection for the workers then sooner or later workers would abuse the system and create a situation where bosses naturally prefer FTs who are more flexible and cheaper.
Uh huh... and soooo.. what do you think is gonna help up the birth rate ?
Or you prefer to just keep telling yourself.. geeshh.. nothing is ever gonna work.
Then dude.... if you are not part of the solution.. you're part of the problem.
If you are too lazy to think of a original idea... you can copy other creative ideas implemented by other countries.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Uh huh... and soooo.. what do you think is gonna help up the birth rate ?
Or you prefer to just keep telling yourself.. geeshh.. nothing is ever gonna work.
Then dude.... if you are not part of the solution.. you're part of the problem.
If you are too lazy to think of a original idea... you can copy other creative ideas implemented by other countries.
i've actually edited my previous reply while you were typing this out
your posting style's pretty standard isn't it? i've read your last 10+posts and they all say the same thing regardless of topic
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:i've actually edited my previous reply while you were typing this out
your posting style's pretty standard isn't it? i've read your last 10+posts and they all say the same thing regardless of topic
Ummm you are posting.. but are you saying anything ? LOL
Maternity leave is only a short term solution, it only happens when the baby is newborn. What are you going to do about parents who needs to take care of their children when child care cannot ?
You may be very lucky to have a flexible manager.
There are many others who arn't so lucky.. and that where the government policy comes in ....to protect the workers.
The policies/laws are not to punish the good.. it's really to punish the bad.
As long as the policy is a reasonable and well thought out one.. employees will not be able to abuse it.
And why would protecting employee welfare makes foreign hires more desirable ? The policy applies to FT as well. Duh ~
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:
generally speaking age does have a direct influence on looks but then again generally beauty is in the eye of the beholder
There you go again.
So.. what exactly is your stand on this anti- age discrimination non-original idea ?
Are you for or against ? Or you cannot make up your mind ? LOL.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Ummm you are posting.. but are you saying anything ? LOL
Maternity leave is only a short term solution, it only happens when the baby is newborn. What are you going to do about parents who needs to take care of their children when child care cannot ?
You may be very lucky to have a flexible manager.
There are many others who arn't so lucky.. and that where the government policy comes in ....to protect the workers.
The policies/laws are not to punish the good.. it's really to punish the bad.
As long as the policy is a reasonable and well thought out one.. employees will not be able to abuse it.
And why would protecting employee welfare makes foreign hires more desirable ? The policy applies to FT as well. Duh ~
well , my ex colleague's kid's already 4 and she still takes all sorts of funny child related leave i've never heard of, another male colleague was given the same option for his kid when she was 7? so where i used to work age didn't seem to be a factor? bottomline was as long as work isn't affect anything goes.
there is no policy in the world that cannot be abused only whether there's anyone trying. just as you've advocated moving with the times, once a policy/law has been passed, you'll get people who "upgrade" themselves to deal with the policy. just like declaring something unbreakable would have people try to til someone succeeds.
and i'm not against protecting employee welfare, just the more extreme sides of it. on quiting my 2nd job, my boss had me signing a letter to declare i have already received all my pay when i suggested a more flexible method to resolving payment at the time.
and when it comes to FTs........ at least for some employers they're more flexible and cheaper but it depends on the country of origin and the way the're hired or fired.