Originally posted by jojobeach:Oh really ? Show me the write up leh.
If that is oh so true.. how come the prostitutes are so pretty leh ?
that what he said, people with better looks tend to get better treatment, so if one has the idea of prostituting themselves in mind, the better looking ones have a better chance of picking up customers.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:that what he said, people with better looks tend to get better treatment, so if one has the idea of prostituting themselves in mind, the better looking ones have a better chance of picking up customers.
Uhh excweesss me.
If the pweetty girls are financially successful hor...why the need to go prostitute herself har ?
You think they prostitute themselves for fun ah ? Xiao boh ?
And hor.. the last time I checked the world richest people list hor..
Not many are beautiful hor.. so .. what does that tells ya ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Uhh excweesss me.
If the pweetty girls are financially successful hor...why the need to go prostitute herself har ?
You think they prostitute themselves for fun ah ? Xiao boh ?
And hor.. the last time I checked the world richest people list hor..
Not many are beautiful hor.. so .. what does that tells ya ?
what was implied was if both were given the same opportunities and equipped with the same interlect and tools the better looking one would do better.
just like a better looking prostitute would even be able to choose clients.
a beautiful young lady working in an office would receive better treatment and higher chances of a raise from her boss as compared to the not so beautiful one.
but when you're talking about world's richest people, most of them inherited or build up their own wealth, it depends more on personal ability to attract investment from people/banks and not because you look like a supermodel plus running a business requires brains.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:what was implied was if both were given the same opportunities and equipped with the same interlect and tools the better looking one would do better.
just like a better looking prostitute would even be able to choose clients.
a beautiful young lady working in an office would receive better treatment and higher chances of a raise from her boss as compared to the not so beautiful one.
but when you're talking about world's richest people, most of them inherited or build up their own wealth, it depends more on personal ability to attract investment from people/banks and not because you look like a supermodel plus running a business requires brains.
Please lah. You must be a student right ?
FYI, your theory works in your fantasy lah.
Wake up to the real world can ? Reality doesn't work that way hor.
It may be so for you lah.. fortunately.. most people are not shallow like you ok ?
I agree that a beautiful young lady stands a BETTER chance of catching a man with financial success.
And so you do agree that financial success does not means one must be beautiful lor.
Haiya.. you beat around the bush.. just so you can agree with me indirectly ah ?
So , may I ask.. are you a good looking person ?
If not.. then I shall assume you are condemned to be a loser.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Please lah. You must be a student right ?
FYI, your theory works in your fantasy lah.
Wake up to the real world can ? Reality doesn't work that way hor. It may be so for you lah.. fortunately.. most people are not shallow like you ok ? I agree that a beautiful young lady stands a BETTER chance of catching a man with financial success.
And so you do agree that financial success does not means one must be beautiful lor.
Haiya.. you beat around the bush.. just so you can agree with me indirectly ah ?
So , may I ask.. are you a good looking person ?If not.. then I shall assume you are condemned to be a loser.
no sadly i'm no longer a student but maybe its you who need to wake up to the real world, people are that shallow.
what i agreed with is beauty is one of the factors but not the only one. do you think celebrities would be able to sell without their looks? even for men, like say 2 guys who are equally capable, assuming one is ugly and the other one beautiful. the better looking one would have a higher chance of promotion under a male boss.
naturally if you're telling me the handsome one is incompetent and the ugly one is not definately the ugly one would be promoted right unless the boss is stupid?.
even choosing pets, how many people go into a pet shop and say,
"hey! i want an ugly one!"
but if its a blind man requiring the services of a good guide dog do you think looks matter or ability of the dog?
i don't feel condemned in anyway physically or financially but your strong rejection of this "theory" leaves much to think about doesn't it?
are you delusional in rejecting this important part of the human society or are you in your own words, condemned financially?
and if you haven't realised yet do you know you have a tendency to recreate a breast brains century eggs situation.
Hey guys this topic is not about looks. Maybe you wana start a new topic? haha...
Might be interesting ![]()
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:no sadly i'm no longer a student but maybe its you who need to wake up to the real world, people are that shallow.
what i agreed with is beauty is one of the factors but not the only one. do you think celebrities would be able to sell without their looks? even for men, like say 2 guys who are equally capable, assuming one is ugly and the other one beautiful. the better looking one would have a higher chance of promotion under a male boss.
naturally if you're telling me the handsome one is incompetent and the ugly one is not definately the ugly one would be promoted right unless the boss is stupid?.
even choosing pets, how many people go into a pet shop and say,
"hey! i want an ugly one!"
but if its a blind man requiring the services of a good guide dog do you think looks matter or ability of the dog?
i don't feel condemned in anyway physically or financially but your strong rejection of this "theory" leaves much to think about doesn't it?
are you delusional in rejecting this important part of the human society or are you in your own words, condemned financially?
and if you haven't realised yet do you know you have a tendency to recreate a breast brains century eggs situation.
I don't agree with you, simply because I am a working person, and one who is not average looking.
And being good looking doesn't make the world a easier place for me.
In fact.. it works the other way.
Being good looking.. means people see you as a threat.. because too many mediocre people thinks like you.
They think we the good looking ones.. have unfair advantage over the average looking people.
They think we don't have to work as hard to get to where we are.
They think we sleep with our bosses when we get our promotions.
Because of their own INSECURITY.. they do their best to put us down. They disregards our effort.. because ... " OH she's good looking.. that's why".
So no. beautiful people don't have it any easier.. we breath hostile air .... simply because we are different, because we are not average.
While you may enjoy Paris hilton.. I don't mind a good actor like Downy.. and he aint good looking...
Originally posted by jojobeach:I don't agree with you, simply because I am a working person, and one who is not average looking.
In fact.. it works the other way.
Being good looking.. means people see you as a threat.. because too many mediocre people thinks like you.
They think we the good looking ones.. have unfair advantage over the average looking people.
They think we don't have to work as hard to get to where we are.
They think we sleep with our bosses when we get our promotions.
Because of their own INSECURITY.. they do their best to put us down. They disregards our effort.. because ... " OH she's good looking.. that's why".
So no. beautiful people don't have it any easier.. we breath hostile air .... simply because we are different, because we are not average.
While you may enjoy Paris hilton.. I don't mind a good actor like Downy.. and he aint good looking...
well...... that actually is one of the reasons why better looking people are more sucessful financially. no one said it would be pretty. i've known people who like you are above average in looks but no one ever said anything like that. circumstances are not the same for different people. it depends of personal character as well.
if you do feel that way then you probably exibit signs which lead them into thinking you're a threat.
Downy may not be brad pitt but he's definately not ugly and he has charisma.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:well...... that actually is one of the reasons why better looking people are more sucessful financially. no one said it would be pretty. i've known people who like you are above average in looks but no one ever said anything like that. circumstances are not the same for different people. it depends of personal character as well.
if you do feel that way then you probably exibit signs which lead them into thinking you're a threat.
Downy may not be brad pitt but he's definately not ugly and he has charisma.
Sure.. your beautiful friends won't say anything to ya.. what do YOU know ?
Would a rich person gripe about his fortunes to a poor chap ? Nada.
And BINGO.. CHARISMA.. dude.. it's not about the looks.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Sure.. your beautiful friends won't say anything to ya.. what do YOU know ?
Would a rich person gripe about his fortunes to a poor chap ? Nada.
And BINGO.. CHARISMA.. dude.. it's not about the looks.
its was never implied in any way looks were the only factor, in fact i've taken the effert to repeatedly mention other factors count too but it still depends on the situation.
why is it when ever i say something you take it apart to use one half against the other and ignore that i've mentioned the other half? even Mohd Ali would die in a fight with me if i had him chained up first, would that then mean i'm the world greatest boxer?
and likewise you're not me how do you know what my friends have told me? and i have to say again it depends on the situation, i rarely encounter your type of " mediocre" people in my work place. so either you're in a situation where such people are commonplace or you have created the situation yourself.
Originally posted by jojobeach:I don't agree with you, simply because I am a working person, and one who is not average looking.
If you are average-looking perhaps you might have it easier. Unfortunately ugly jojos don't go far:
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/beautiful-people-earn-12-more-than-ugly-bettys-461261.html