Originally posted by freedom4ever:if there no poor people then i wonder why they up GST? so who is lying?
So now they up the GST.. are the money going to the poor people or not ?
Is there anyway to find out ?
Or are we suppose to just believe every claims our GST suckers are saying ?
Poor people = Minister...
got it?
I shall ask the question one more time... where are their children? Did they just abandoned their mothers and fathers after that are deemed financially useless?
Originally posted by MohamedF:I shall ask the question one more time... where are their children? Did they just abandoned their mothers and fathers after that are deemed financially useless?
Possibility
... this article, does it reflect an image of a 1st World or Developed Country, called Singapore? World Class, even?
... living in Singapore is apparently fast becoming desperate. Not only do I see mainly old folks collecting cans, I even see younger people doing it! I saw my neighbor of 30+ who has a family with 2 kids collecting cans in the wee hours of morning at the void deck.
... how much more telling, can it get that Singapore is becoming impossible to live in?
Don't you people know that making old people suffer is FAP policy???!!! They look at silliporeans as their workers to help them and their cronies make more and more money. What better way to ensure that silliporeans work as hard as possible than to make sure that those that cannot make it suffer in their old age?They will also make many policies that ensure many will not make it and will suffer.
Work harder silliporeans, for the FAP will ensure that when you are old; they would ensure that prices will be so high you will suffer if you do not work at least 15 hours a day and stress yourself so much that you get cancer, NOW.
In the meantime, they will flood the country with cheap foreigners to ensure that wages do not go up with the rising cost of housing and medical services. As you can see, Australian salaries are three time higher and the prices for houses and cars a pittance compared to sillipore.
Knowing that silliporeans are kiasu, they will say things like, "Without the FAP, sillipore will die"; "Without the FAP silliporeans will suffer".
What irony, FAP is losing billions supporting foreign banks and that shows the economy doing well is the hard work of each and every singaporean and credit does not go to FAP.
Like someone said: "People in power will not give it up willingly."
Last time you cannot do anything about the despots but not anymore. Now that we have a martyr, you can support Dr Chee Soon Juan.
Or you can don't support Dr Chee and suffer at the hands of FAP forcing you to pay and pay, to benefit foreigners.
Originally posted by 333225520:Possibility
- Not married, so no children
- Married, but have no children
- Have children, but children not able to take care of them (children have own family to take care and not financially well off too?)
1 & 2 are possible but people with no Children has lesser commitment compared to people with children and yet there are people with children surviving in Singapore without having to collect cans...
3 is unacceptable to me... Parents are ultimate priority... They've raised you, fed you, send you to school, clothed you and loved you and you would chose your spouse whom you known a few years over your parent whom you know ever since you came into this world...?
Originally posted by HyperFocal:
... this article, does it reflect an image of a 1st World or Developed Country, called Singapore? World Class, even?
... living in Singapore is apparently fast becoming desperate. Not only do I see mainly old folks collecting cans, I even see younger people doing it! I saw my neighbor of 30+ who has a family with 2 kids collecting cans in the wee hours of morning at the void deck.
... how much more telling, can it get that Singapore is becoming impossible to live in?
And yet there are people whom are 30+ that can survive without collecting cans... e.g. my uncle, my Senior staff, some of the FW who came to Singapore with their families
It all falls down to financial management... those who don't know how to take care of their money will end up poor when they're old... I'm 20 years old and am now considering to buy insurance incase (touch wood) something happens to me... and yet, there are some people who slack around and don't want to work or work but spend every month's pay on entertainment...
Making a living here is not impossible... you MUST use your brain if you want to live a happy life...
Originally posted by MohamedF:And yet there are people whom are 30+ that can survive without collecting cans... e.g. my uncle, my Senior staff, some of the FW who came to Singapore with their families
It all falls down to financial management... those who don't know how to take care of their money will end up poor when they're old... I'm 20 years old and am now considering to buy insurance incase (touch wood) something happens to me... and yet, there are some people who slack around and don't want to work or work but spend every month's pay on entertainment...
Making a living here is not impossible... you MUST use your brain if you want to live a happy life...
actually, if you are 20, and has no dependant, you don't need insurance.
Originally posted by redDUST:actually, if you are 20, and has no dependant, you don't need insurance.
No... if you care to take a look at most insurance policies, 20 years old ++ is actually the perfect age to buy insurance... you are at your prime, no giant commiments yet and insurance prices are at the LOWEST with maximum coverage... but as you get older, the policies are more expensive...
If you want to get insurance, must buy early and young... same with saving for the future... My Senior staff told me, most Singaporean don't know how to use their money and when to start planning for retirement... Many Singapreans decided to start planning for retirement around 40 years old... by then they only have only 10 - 20 years to save up for retirement... compared to those who start planning at 25 years old, thay have an extra 15 years of saving...
Originally posted by MohamedF:No... if you care to take a look at most insurance policies, 20 years old ++ is actually the perfect age to buy insurance... you are at your prime, no giant commiments yet and insurance prices are at the LOWEST with maximum coverage... but as you get older, the policies are more expensive...
If you want to get insurance, must buy early and young... same with saving for the future... My Senior staff told me, most Singaporean don't know how to use their money and when to start planning for retirement... Many Singapreans decided to start planning for retirement around 40 years old... by then they only have only 10 - 20 years to save up for retirement... compared to those who start planning at 25 years old, thay have an extra 15 years of saving...
sure, you are entitled to your opinion. singapore is `insurance crazy'. the industry has managed to brainwash the citizens into this insurance frenzy.
there are alternative thots on this. if you care to read up about it.
if you have a family or dependants, it is a different story.
i wun go into the longs of it, but you believe in it, it is all good (too).
Originally posted by MohamedF: And yet there are people whom are 30+ that can survive without collecting cans... e.g. my uncle, my Senior staff, some of the FW who came to Singapore with their familiesIt all falls down to financial management... those who don't know how to take care of their money will end up poor when they're old... I'm 20 years old and am now considering to buy insurance incase (touch wood) something happens to me... and yet, there are some people who slack around and don't want to work or work but spend every month's pay on entertainment...
er.. dude.. you need to have good family to have a happy life.. no point having 1b in your bank but no one to share with
and yes.. nowadays teenagers intend to spent their money on branded stuff.. and not saving money.. don't say teenagers, adult too.. spending their money aimlessly... like my sis.. she earnd 8k a month and have only about 20k savings...and shes been working like 4 years..
Originally posted by maurizio13:i recycle my plastic bottles but don't think they collect plastic bottles.
but whenever i buy new stuff i will pass the cardboard boxes to the Singaporean elderlies collecting them. the last time i left them outside my house, the stupid PRC man came over took the cardboard box and left all the plastic and foam packing on the floor for me to pick. how selfish and irresponsible. these days i never put cardboard boxes outside.
I have the same experience with PRC men.
That said. I've always stood against GST increase but rather an increase in income tax. With income tax, you can target your collection at specific groups who are well within their capability to contribute to society but with GST, everyone is impacted.
Our government only knows how to reduce tax for the wealthy.. forgot about all the old people when they needed the government the most. And to this that these are the people who helped them stay in power and make Singapore a success..
I see the same fate with us - born and breed Singaporean. We've voted for PAP in the past but they have now found a new source that can carry them through another century.. new PRC citizens. Very soon, we'll all be collecting cans.
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):our dear MP.... any comment?
MP: useless scums and leeches.. get out of my elite face!
Some dumb forumer here told me that welfare in Singapore was very efficient, and rather not spend money on an 'overkill' in terms of welfare for old folks just because of the few rich old folks who shouldn't be getting welfare.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Are you sure those statistics are correct, because according to LKY there are no poor in Singapore.
lky 3 meals all settle at 5 star hotels. how to see these kind of things? he dont feel it, thats the problem. anyway, record doesnt benefit any significantly, but life is more important. would u rather have the record of being the world biggest asshole or save a life?
People should think of doing some community work/services to help the less fortunate folks out there, instead of expanding their already self-enlarged EGO further here in a pathetic attempt to make their lives "meaningful".
Life can have a real meaning, it's up to them to make that choice.
Originally posted by MohamedF:No... if you care to take a look at most insurance policies, 20 years old ++ is actually the perfect age to buy insurance... you are at your prime, no giant commiments yet and insurance prices are at the LOWEST with maximum coverage... but as you get older, the policies are more expensive...
I agree with what you said.
We cant depend on CPF for our retirement. It all goes down to financial education which is badly lacking in Singapore. Someone prove me wrong pls, I hope I'm wrong. ![]()
Originally posted by redDUST:sure, you are entitled to your opinion. singapore is `insurance crazy'. the industry has managed to brainwash the citizens into this insurance frenzy.
there are alternative thots on this. if you care to read up about it.
if you have a family or dependants, it is a different story.
i wun go into the longs of it, but you believe in it, it is all good (too).
Well, lets hear those alternatives... Insurance is simply one method of investment... There are others from buying shares to simply saving up... but at the end of the day, you need to start EARLY if you don't want to end up like them...
We need to increase GST to help the poor. ![]()
Evangel,
I withdrew about S$300k from CPF after I had given up my citizenship and sold my apartment for S$ to raise fund 4 my daughter to study in Uk.
And now I come back to appy for PR this year and got my PR to stay with my second son in a HDB flat..But anyway, we will migrate to Uk after my son served his bond with this stupid gov.
That sounds nice, you are cash rich! Dont anyhow spend haha. ![]()
In Singapore the bulk of our money is either stuck in CPF or expensive housing. It is a real drain to finances man!
Originally posted by Leeky:Evangel,
I withdrew about S$300k from CPF after I had given up my citizenship and sold my apartment for S$ to raise fund 4 my daughter to study in Uk.
And now I come back to appy for PR this year and got my PR to stay with my second son in a HDB flat..But anyway, we will migrate to Uk after my son served his bond with this stupid gov.
That's a good idea.
No problems when you apply for PR ?
They didn't ask you funny questions, like why you gave up sg citizenship and come back to apply for PRship? No? ![]()