Originally posted by anonymous_dickhead:I have the same experience with PRC men.
That said. I've always stood against GST increase but rather an increase in income tax. With income tax, you can target your collection at specific groups who are well within their capability to contribute to society but with GST, everyone is impacted.
Our government only knows how to reduce tax for the wealthy.. forgot about all the old people when they needed the government the most. And to this that these are the people who helped them stay in power and make Singapore a success..
I see the same fate with us - born and breed Singaporean. We've voted for PAP in the past but they have now found a new source that can carry them through another century.. new PRC citizens. Very soon, we'll all be collecting cans.
Those folks collecting cans did not have to pay income tax in the past, now they have to pay GST 7%. That's like an income tax of 7%.
Originally posted by charlize:We need to increase GST to help the poor.
Help the poor commit suicide? ![]()
Since they like FTs so much,they dont care as long as you r chinese and have the necessary qualifications and asset,they welcome you with their open legs!!!
FYI, I m not the first one to abuse this CPF system as I need the $ 2 support my daughter's stuy in UK.
Anyway, they even allow PRC who worked in the construction as general workers to be PR after 2 years in Sinkapore!!!!wat the f is this gov policy !!!!no wonder, everybody in overseas say Sinkapore welcome foreigners with open arms and legs as well!!!
And you'd thought my 7% gst went to them...
...instead, it went to buying Mercedes and BMWs for our very, very world class leaders.
These days ah, young kids will go around telling older working people: Get out of my elite uncaring face.
Haiz. ![]()
No one shall be left behind wor...
what purpose do such type of records serve? i find it meaningless.
I pity school children nowadays, force to do this project, that project.
i wonder who suggested breaking this record in the first place. isnt it common knowledge that a lot of old folks are collecting cans for a living?
Originally posted by 4sg:I pity school children nowadays, force to do this project, that project.
if they don't do project, then ask them to learn by heart huhh...project more fun, isn't it? project can also ask parents to do, learning by heart cannot, have to study themselves.
I pity only those who only know how to follow the book.
Originally posted by redDUST:my in-laws actually bag the cans at home after drinking them and pass them on to the old ladies down their block once a week.
i thought it was a nice gesture on their part. i just don't know why they drink so many canned drinks.
just remember this: 1 can of coke = 1 teaspoonful of sugar
Originally posted by aHGer^83:
just remember this: 1 can of coke = 1 teaspoonful of sugar
I thought it was 8 tablespoons of sugar?
You refering to Coke lite is it? ![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
if they don't do project, then ask them to learn by heart huhh...project more fun, isn't it? project can also ask parents to do, learning by heart cannot, have to study themselves.I pity only those who only know how to follow the book.
Did I said follow book? I said over project work is no good. You should see some school children nowadays - they are so tired after so many expensive, endless projects (on top of other things).
I don't like ponsak since he was a deejay.
The female host really cute, giving people the sporty and energetic feeling.
And what's the point of the school telling people their students gave six cans to the old woman? Big deal.
Give six hundred cans lah!
This record thing very bor liao one, got one episode compete with bread.
I don't know what is this programme trying to prove.
is breaking some silly records more important than other's livelihood... tsk...
Originally posted by charlize:These days ah, young kids will go around telling older working people: Get out of my elite uncaring face.
Haiz.
ya lor. why the student never tell the auntie off in the face on national tv? this statement was supported by a certain PAP MP no?
Originally posted by MohamedF:1 & 2 are possible but people with no Children has lesser commitment compared to people with children and yet there are people with children surviving in Singapore without having to collect cans...
3 is unacceptable to me... Parents are ultimate priority... They've raised you, fed you, send you to school, clothed you and loved you and you would chose your spouse whom you known a few years over your parent whom you know ever since you came into this world...?
so you will let ur wife and children suffer? dun forget, you also need to eat. some families i know are only earning like $500-700 per month, not even enough to feed themselves, have to borrow frequently from others to get by.
IMO, between parents and children, though you need to exercise filial piety, but still, children are ur main priority. you would want to give ur child the best you can offer, help them get out of the poverty trap. ur parents at most live a few more yrs in poverty and hardship. if u neglect ur child, ur child will be trapped in the poverty cycle for the rest of his or her lifetime. and if that happens, the same thing is going to happen to you in the future.
and about insurance schemes. yeah. i also agree that singapore policies are over rated. it is extremely hard to claim insurance unlike the ease in which u hand money over to these companies.
in fact, i think you will save more if u do long term deposits with ur money, and somemore it is more flexible then insurance too.
Originally posted by yamizi:I don't like ponsak since he was a deejay.
And what's the point of the school telling people their students gave six cans to the old woman? Big deal.
what a waste of food when people are starving, earning only $10/ week.
i think the mediacorp artistes also abit out of touch with reality. you don't see them often in the public, and so i guess they probably don't know the extent of the social issues plaguing the society.
Originally posted by yamizi:I don't like ponsak since he was a deejay.
they said that the bread they use are expired one. so dun think is wasting bah. cos it gonna end up throwing away too.
The issue is whether the teacher in charge of the project knows that they were ppls depended on the cans to meet their ends meet?
If yes, did the teachers want the kids to know the reality?
If no, I think the teachers must send to the ground to learn how some of our poors live in Sinkapore?
Is breaking the record is so important?if yes,how to achieve it?
Can it be done by other alternative methods?
I think our teachers are living in ivory tower and out of touch of the ground in Sinkapore!!!Teachers are playing politic in school to get promotion by carrying balls instead of our children's interests at heart just like the dogs here who r civil servants!!!
Originally posted by MohamedF:And yet there are people whom are 30+ that can survive without collecting cans... e.g. my uncle, my Senior staff, some of the FW who came to Singapore with their families
It all falls down to financial management... those who don't know how to take care of their money will end up poor when they're old... I'm 20 years old and am now considering to buy insurance incase (touch wood) something happens to me... and yet, there are some people who slack around and don't want to work or work but spend every month's pay on entertainment...
Making a living here is not impossible... you MUST use your brain if you want to live a happy life...
You must have been living a good live in a protected environment to be able to make such a stupid statement.
For your information, there are many Singaporeans who just make enough money to make end meet. So where the spare money to save or invest?
Talk about using brain, if you don't have whatever certificate you are having now, you think you are able to make a decent living in Singapore?
Pardon me for my lack of knowledge,
but i'm puzzled by the fact that why are our seniors collecting used cans when there are better alternatives, like working as a cleaner or a part-timer fast food chain worker?
It easily pays more than collecting cans and i think they are provided with a few benefits too.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Pardon me for my lack of knowledge,
but i'm puzzled by the fact that why are our seniors collecting used cans when there are better alternatives, like working as a cleaner or a part-timer fast food chain worker?
It easily pays more than collecting cans and i think they are provided with a few benefits too.
Many cleaning, hawker center employers prefer Bangra, Indian, Chinese, Indon, Pino as they are younger and withstand physical tasks. Also, they can work 7/24 shifts.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Pardon me for my lack of knowledge,
cleaners' job are basically taken up by foreign workers already, imo. they are deemed cheaper and `quicker'.
for the fastfood industry, i suspect there is a ratio or quota they enforce when hiring seniors. after all, all the macs and kfcs need to project a youthful, vibrant image. there is so many seniors they can hire without jeopardising their image.
lastly, i think many of the seniors we see collecting cans are also illiterate. it makes them barely employable in today's context.
Originally posted by redDUST:cleaners' job are basically taken up by foreign workers already, imo. they are deemed cheaper and `quicker'.
for the fastfood industry, i suspect there is a ratio or quota they enforce when hiring seniors. after all, all the macs and kfcs need to project a youthful, vibrant image. there is so many seniors they can hire without jeopardising their image.
lastly, i think many of the seniors we see collecting cans are also illiterate. it makes them barely employable in today's context.
Sad state of affair for our old, uneducated and poor, isn't it?