Originally posted by angel7030:
There is only one way ladder to climb up to be the top, if i dun kill or cut off all competitor, how then can i excel to be on top??
which top you want to be? top in your exams in schools, Uni? top in your sales? top in corporate ladder?
There are definitely more than one way to climb to the top. the honorable way requires hard work and sometime luck. in the most respected ways you climb to be top and bring happiness to those around you.
the despicable way is to step on others to go forward; when you kill or eliminate your competitors, you are just making sure nobody is ahead of you, you probably have not moved a bit, let alone excel.
In the end, it is what do you want to achieve in life in more intangible and honorable way, not the material or wealth you acquired.
go live a life that your children can be proud of.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:which top you want to be? top in your exams in schools, Uni? top in your sales? top in corporate ladder?
There are definitely more than one way to climb to the top. the honorable way requires hard work and sometime luck. in the most respected ways you climb to be top and bring happiness to those around you.
the despicable way is to step on others to go forward; when you kill or eliminate your competitors, you are just making sure nobody is ahead of you, you probably have not moved a bit, let alone excel.
In the end, it is what do you want to achieve in life in more intangible and honorable way, not the material or wealth you acquired.
i believe u hv to be abit cruel and agressive in such materialistic world, in early years, our govt P$P give no chance for opposition to recover and wipe them out just to be on the top and hold power.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:which top you want to be? top in your exams in schools, Uni? top in your sales? top in corporate ladder?
so, is the STTA despicable?
Originally posted by redDUST:
why?
http://www.stta.org.sg/profiles/index.php
the profiles also shows Singapore players. Seems the entire National Training Team are Singaporeans.... mostly quite young.
let's see if these can make it to the 2012 Olympics, by then Li Jia Wei would probably have retired, and Feng Tien Wei should be numero uno in Singapore.
by then Li Jia Wei would probably have retired, and Feng Tien Wei should be numero uno in Singapore.
Probably she might still be playing.... Afterall, she lost to a 31 year old South Korean in the teams single.
LJW is 27 this year...
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
why?http://www.stta.org.sg/profiles/index.php
the profiles also shows Singapore players. Seems the entire National Training Team are Singaporeans.... mostly quite young.
let's see if these can make it to the 2012 Olympics, by then Li Jia Wei would probably have retired, and Feng Tien Wei should be numero uno in Singapore.
It is impossible for you to understand why. A Liar will always support FAKERY.
Just because your parents taught you to lie and you teach your children lying is very funny, most people do not share your sentiments.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
It is impossible for you to understand why. A Liar will always support FAKERY.
Just because your parents taught you to lie and you teach your children lying is very funny, most people do not share your sentiments.
.... and most people share YOUR sentiments about drchee???
why?http://www.stta.org.sg/profiles/index.php
actually, left to be seen. i think stta will continue with import policy since it is delivering the dough..
i am commenting SGD's comment about working hard the honorable way to achieve results and the despicable way. i don't think stta work all that hard delivering the silver, hence my question.
Originally posted by redDUST:
you tell me.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:you tell me.
see preceding post.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:are you a chinese? If you ask your father, "ä½ çš„ç¥–å›½æ˜¯é‚£é‡Œï¼Ÿ" what would he say?
Dont tell me americans are immigrant by origin. there are also first generation americans, like Singapore. Just that they have strict racist law to prevent racism, and they believe americans are truely equal, whether you are born locally or new immigrant. or is it they are more gracious in accommodating the new comers?
do you think Singapore don't want to send the true blue athleletes huh? show the result first lah.
don't mistake ethnic ties to nationalities. If you mixed the 2 you have arguements; countries goes to war for that reason.
If Jia Wei were to win a individual gold medal. It is singapore national anthems that is playing not chinese.
So this is not about the means of how country justified their identity but at least when they compete internationally they know where is their boundary and identity. But this statement show the confusing aspect of our player.
自己是个北京人, å�ˆæ˜¯ä¸å›½äººã€‚ 我希望能在自己的本土, 自己的地盘上, 能够å�–得一枚奖牌
So my question to you is which come first being Chinese or Singaporean? since you name yourself as SGDIHARD. I figure u r Singapore first.
To answer your question: why would it be important that i am chinese. infact Singapore is a multi ethnic society. So if you were to defend singapore you would be defending your fellow indians, malay and other minority. Biologically isn;t the color of your blood Red.
So does it matter if i am chinese? (FYI yes i'm chinese by race.)
Originally posted by eagle:1) Complain complain complain, in the end stop at there and nothing else
2) Must be kiasu to the point that in exams, lose to friends by 1 mark also can be extremely agitated.
there is a different between rising questions raising awareness. Ideas are generated.
2) in olympics you loose by 1 point is a medals different.
again, I don't disagree with you.... but reality is, if you are a parent, say middle class, have a relatively talented child, will you be more concern with him doing good in his school, PSLE, O Level, A Level, or would you ask him to chase his dream and send him to some remote place to be trained?fact is, reality sucks.
IMO, all the sports that we excel in, swimming, sailing, bowling, is because 阿爸 and 阿妈 got money, can afford to play and engage private tutor.
I think even if LKY himself sponsor, most parents also don't want to do it.
the issue is really policy maker never look at the system of bringing up children.
Look at the past 20 yrs in our system of bring up our young? streaming, what have we produce? The fact is we are all the by product of a system that produce "medicore"
Originally posted by Arapahoe:the issue is really policy maker never look at the system of bringing up children.
Look at the past 20 yrs in our system of bring up our young? streaming, what have we produce? The fact is we are all the by product of a system that produce "medicore"
like in all countries, some things work and some things don't. as long as the garmen is willing to make changes when they don't work. when garmen make changes, it is not because of "martyrs" like drchee, as what andrew will have us believe.
i really don't agree that our system produced mediocre students. are you a mediocre student....?
Originally posted by Arapahoe:don't mistake ethnic ties to nationalities. If you mixed the 2 you have arguements; countries goes to war for that reason.
If Jia Wei were to win a individual gold medal. It is singapore national anthems that is playing not chinese.
So this is not about the means of how country justified their identity but at least when they compete internationally they know where is their boundary and identity. But this statement show the confusing aspect of our player.
自己是个北京人, å�ˆæ˜¯ä¸å›½äººã€‚ 我希望能在自己的本土, 自己的地盘上,能够å�–得一枚奖牌
So my question to you is which come first being Chinese or Singaporean? since you name yourself as SGDIHARD. I figure u r Singapore first.
To answer your question: why would it be important that i am chinese. infact Singapore is a multi ethnic society. So if you were to defend singapore you would be defending your fellow indians, malay and other minority. Biologically isn;t the color of your blood Red.
...now that Jia Wei has said that there will be 4 million Singaporeans rooting for her.... i hope that changes the opinion of her....
...sure, there will still be detractors who'd say that Jia Wei is aware of the boo-boo and will attempt to rectify it.... whatever.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:don't mistake ethnic ties to nationalities. If you mixed the 2 you have arguements; countries goes to war for that reason.
自己是个北京人, å�ˆæ˜¯ä¸å›½äººã€‚ 我希望能在自己的本土, 自己的地盘上,能够å�–得一枚奖牌
Exactly, don't mistake ethnic tie to nationality. When Li or any of us say we are Chinese, we do not mean we are Chinese national. Ever been to China, ask them the same question, they will tell you they are Hunan ren, Shanghai ren.... TEven in Singapore we have Fujian ren, Guangdong ren, that does not say anything about their nationality.
Today young singaporeans have lost their ethnic ties, many don't speak their dialect anymore, except for the cantonese. Many don't even speak proper Mandarin. that is why I ask you to ask your father. Understand the cultural difference.
Whatever it is, you will be recognised as a chinese, Singaporean Chinese, different from HK Chinese, Mainland Chinese,...
How do people recognised us as SINGAPOREAN? Complain complain complain, in the end stop at there and nothing else and Must be kiasu to the point that in exams, lose to friends by 1 mark also can be extremely agitated?
Originally posted by redDUST:actually, left to be seen. i think stta will continue with import policy since it is delivering the dough..
i am commenting SGD's comment about working hard the honorable way to achieve results and the despicable way. i don't think stta work all that hard delivering the silver, hence my question.
You don't think stta work all that hard, hence despicable? do you think you worked very hard in NUS to get your degree?
Globe and Mail
GMA news.tv, Philippines - 7 hours ago
two of three companies found to have melamine in their milk products - have reached the Philippines, according to a television report early Saturday. ...
China's contaminated milk crisis grows as tests show top dairy ...guardian.co.uk
Chinese parents seek answers on tainted baby milk The Associated Press
China company pulled products before going public eTaiwan News
PRESS TV - Christian Broadcasting Network
all 3,739 news articles »
Citizen
National Business Review, New Zealand - Sep 16, 2008
By Allan Swann | Wednesday September 17 2008 - 11:47am Fonterra’s involvement in the Sanlu melamine milk scandal is being put under increased scrutiny, ...
China Finds Chemical in Liquid Milk as Scandal Grows (Update1) Bloomberg
More melamine found in national milk check Shanghai Daily
Most liquid milk in China does not contain melamine Xinhua
Reuters - China Daily
all 221 news articles »
Xinhua
Xinhua, China - 13 hours ago
Melamine, a chemical normally used in plastics, was mixed illegally into themilk powder to raise its protein content. The worst tainted formula of Sanlu ...
Fear of tainted milk grips China Detroit Free Press
Contaminated milk kills fourth baby Stuff.co.nz
Mayor in China fired in baby formula scandal International Herald Tribune
The Australian - Union of Catholic Asian News
all 99 news articles »
3 News NZ
Stuff.co.nz, New Zealand - Sep 16, 2008
Separately, Fonterra's Taiwan business is known to have imported 25 tonnes of the "melamine milk" from Sanlu, with much of it being sold for use in food ...
KOTA BARU: Baby formula milk sold in the country is safe, Health ...Malaysia Star
Melamine Tainted Milk Crisis Spirals in ChinaFood Ingredients First (press release)
Dubious quality milk used in bakery products: health official VietNamNet Bridge
3 News NZ
all 22 news articles »
BBC News
Forbes, NY - 13 hours ago
Chinese authorities initially blamed the chemical melamine for killing four babies and sickening more than 6000 others, with symptoms including kidney...
Melamine found in ordinary milk in China Radio Netherlands
China Issues Mass Recall of Milk Products in AdditionTransWorldNews (press release)
China tainted milk scandal widens WZTV
Zee News - Reuters
all 92 news articles »
CBC.ca
Vancouver Sun, Canada - 9 hours ago
Even the Yili group, one of the premier Chinese sponsors at the Beijing Olympics, has been found selling melamine-tainted milk and milk products....
Major Chinese supermarket chain in Canada pulls yogurt drinks from ...Canada.com
Grocery chain pulls yogurt drinks after milk contamination in China CBC.ca
Chinese supermarket chain in Canada pulls yogurt drinks Canada.com
all 17 news articles »
CTV.ca
CTV.ca, Canada - 7 minutes ago
AP China's tainted milk crisis widened Friday after tests found the industrial chemical melamine in liquid milk produced by three of the country's leading ...
AFP
Christian Broadcasting Network, VA - Sep 17, 2008
China's melamine milk fiasco remains a complex national crisis, dealing with a plethora of issues including business ethics, economic growth, ...
Chinese-Made Sofas Causing 'Painful' Eczema Outbreaks in France FOXNews
Chinese armchairs linked to French eczema outbreak AFP
all 13 news articles »
ABC News
UN News Centre - 4 hours ago
WHO has stated on their website that all these products were most probably manufactured using ingredients made from melamine-contaminated milk. ...
FDA Says No Tainted Chinese Baby Milk Found in US (Update1) Bloomberg
No Evidence of Melamine in UK Milk - FSA FLEXNEWS
Dramatic rise in baby milk victims The Age
China Daily - Natural News.com
all 658 news articles »
Bernama, Malaysia - 10 hours ago
KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 19 (Bernama) -- As a precautionary measure against melaminepoisoning in milk products, the Health Ministry has imposed an import ban on ...
High alert on dairy products from China New Straits Times
all 3 news articles »
What can you expect from a country that tried to fool the whole world that the girl on the left was singing when in fact, the girl on the right was the one singing:
What can you expect from despots that enact an official secrets act so that it would be almost impossible for the people to know if they decide to put their hands into the country's reserves?
Damn, just found out my Uncle Medicine was made in China with melamine tainted...Sorry Uncle, i go sue the china doctor..in the meantime, u be cool ya.
Originally posted by angel7030:Damn, just found out my Uncle Medicine was made in China with melamine tainted...Sorry Uncle, i go sue the china doctor..in the meantime, u be cool ya.
U test samples some isit....
Originally posted by 4sg:U test samples some isit....
No lah, i tested by own milk at Singapore Testing service at Science park, me healthy leh, no melamine lah,...lucky
Originally posted by angel7030:
No lah, i tested by own milk at Singapore Testing service at Science park, me healthy leh, no melamine lah,...lucky
lucky us
we need u here to keep us awake.....
Originally posted by 4sg:
lucky us
we need u here to keep us awake.....
what? are all of u on life supports?? OMG, it so hard to keep u guys awake not the mention standing up.