Originally posted by 4sg:You can't assume that everyone here is the younger generations.
Parn is suggesting to PAP to apprehend all anti-PAP from the streets.
Originally posted by Spartans:
Parn is suggesting to PAP to apprehend all anti-PAP from the streets.
well, that will be more than 33% of the population, as suggested by the results of the last GE...
Originally posted by deathmaster:
heard this sort of things from grandparents before. but not that extreme as "get send back to 'tengsua' ". that's a little unbelievable.the version i heard is that "you want to "cer sua sup" (look for trouble) har?"
I heard before. But you have also understand that the granny/grandpa gen don't open up easily - not even to their grandchildren.
It can be something that happened long time ago n they don't want or too embarass to bring up again.
Originally posted by Spartans:Aiming to put 6.5million population into our tiny island for the sole consideration reason of Economy = 1st Class Government???
Forcing people to take public transport while on the same time increasing the population at unprecedented rate = potential public transport snafu.
With the ordinary Singaporeans off the road, our gahman can have a more enjoyable and faster drive to and fro from work. Do they even bother how people have to wait for a few trains to pass before be able to barely squeeze into the MRT trains during peak hour?
ya lor.
i find the idea of increasing the population to compete with cities like HK is stupid.
being a first class country doesn't mean that you need a big population, nor does it mean that you need more employment. if you want countries with big population with a big working population, look at china and india. clearly, these aren't the defining qualities of first-class countries.
and no point in creating more low quality manufacturing jobs, when the economy had clearly been shifted to a service dominated one. why do you need to get foreign companies here to set up factories fully staffed by foreigners? i have no idea why.
regarding FTs, how many of them are real talents? do we need these "talents"? are we short of people with these "talents"? do we need more foreign engineers when our local-produced engineers are left jobless? why are we getting more foreign doctors from universities less prestigious than NUS, and since there is clearly a shortage of doctors, why are we not training more local doctors? we need 500 more doctors a year, while NUS is only producing 200 of them annually. does that make sense? its not that singapore is unable to afford training more doctors, especially when the government is burning money away, treating the people's money like toilet paper, squandering it away.
GIC had incurred a loss of over US$1bn, 30%-44% of the investment in the US banks (the figures are from Times magazine). and instead of carrying out protective measures to cut down losses, they pump in even more money into these failed banks. is it logical? it is equivilent to you lending money to a bankrupt who have nothing to offer you. and when you know that he is clearly unable to return you any money, you choose to lend him even more money.
with the government busy burning away taxpayers' money at that rate, i can't see why they can't afford to train more local talents like doctors, which we have a real need for, or to increase public welfare. our elderly have to go coffeeshops to compete for drink cans, earning $10 per week. you may say that it promotes environmental awareness, but seriously, is this the proper way to treat our elderly?
in other countries, the plate collectors at food courts, the toilet cleaners are all youngster. only in singapore can you see the elderly cleaning public toilets. can anyone here accept the idea of being a cleaner when you are old?
the government always want to interfere with people's lives, regardless of whether it is proper for them to do so.
Install ERPs at the heartlands, at chinatown. now those shops in those affected areas are going bankrupt one by one. is that good for the economy, is that good for the people? ERP tax goes straight to the government to be squandered away in dumb investments. when shops can't sustain and go bankrupt, not only does the government loses a source of income (the owner can no longer pay income tax), the owner also becomes unemployed, along with a bunch of other people. aggravating the unemployment rate.
so to deal with rising unemployment, the government creates more crappy jobs, like cleaners, sweepers etc. which sane person would choose these jobs? the pay is enough for a foreign labourer to feed himself in singapore, with perhaps some money left over to send back home. here, $500 is not enough to feed a family of 4, where all 4 are living in singapore, where the cost of living is very high. so, no wonder 6/10 jobs created goes to foreigners. and what a big help that is.
rgding organ trading, see that got money involve then want to kah jiao liao. if legalise organ trading, it will become easier for singaporeans to sell their organs, bringing about alot of unnecessary problem. if women can be forced into prostitution by loan sharks, do you think that loan sharks can't force people to sell their organ to repay debts?
look at the newspaper reports of those third world farmers who sold their kidneys. the money they received was quickly spent, not really helping them. also, they lose 1 kidney permanently. in addition, they are weaken with only 1 kidney left, and more prone to illness, e.g. diabetes, kidney failure.
do we want to see all that happening in singapore? better to keep it offshore, and leave the problem to other countries to handle. if people want to buy organs, and since it is for their survival, the government should close 1 eye.
there is a limit to the people's tolerance for governmental interference into personal life.
i find the idea of increasing the population to compete with cities like HK is stupid.
Totally agree.
Don't know what the fuck the PAP regime is thinking.
It seems that the only thing in their minds is money.
Sad to see we have this type of leaders to rule us.
Originally posted by deathmaster:
and no point in creating more low quality manufacturing jobs, when the economy had clearly been shifted to a service dominated one. why do you need to get foreign companies here to set up factories fully staffed by foreigners? i have no idea why.
For taxation reason of course. Other than tax, what else? Remember their salaries are dependent on our economy.
Originally posted by 4sg:You can't assume that everyone here is the younger generations.
Why not? At least I am from younger generation.
I supposed it's just human nature, people from war-torn countries yearned for peace while people from peaceful countries are looking at all sorts of channels to disrupt peace.
People does silly things when they're restless and that's a clear fact, especially in this forum.
Are these people not enjoying peace and social security in their environment?
Are these people not well-fed and sufficiently educated to survive in their society?
Then why are these people not focusing on their lives goals and commit to help others less fortunately people around them if they are truly kind and righteous?
People are evil, sometimes I wondered living in an environment when I'm surrounded by all these "demons", where can I ever find true peace with justice and righteous?
Cease war, promote love, take control of yourself and purge your own inner demons.
This world should be a better place for us to die.
parn, you kowtow to Lee Kuan Yew and PAP political hegemony?
Nope, I kowtow to nobody.
You don't have to be such an extremist.
Old people should go and retire liao.
Lao liao... mai so loh soh.... young people don't like !!
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:parn, you kowtow to Lee Kuan Yew and PAP political hegemony?
Tell me Lee Kuan Yew and PAP political hegemony has inflicted upon you with such a traumatic experience in your life, including your childhood up till now, that you are unable to have a normal life....then I will believe your hatred.
Otherwise, go count the number of good years you had in Singapore and the number of bad years you had in Singapore and tell me you didn't had a good life till now...then I will believe your hatred.
If you can't convince me, then you should start convincing yourself that you do not need to have this hatred.
Nobody's life is supposed to be made up of all these endless aggressions, and I don't believe you should be wasting your life getting personal over issues which are not your concern in the first place.
Why don't you direct your hate towards those violence crimes and criminals that are still going on every minute as we breathe our free air?
Hating someone and whinning about it doesn't brings about changes to this world, and it certainly doesn't makes your life more meaningful.
Originally posted by parn:
Tell me Lee Kuan Yew and PAP political hegemony has inflicted upon you with such a traumatic experience in your life, including your childhood up till now, that you are unable to have a normal life....then I will believe your hatred.Otherwise, go count the number of good years you had in Singapore and the number of bad years you had in Singapore and tell me you didn't had a good life till now...then I will believe your hatred.
If you can't convince me, then you should start convincing yourself that you do not need to have this hatred.
Nobody's life is supposed to be made up of all these endless aggressions, and I don't believe you should be wasting your life getting personal over issues which are not your concern in the first place.
Why don't you direct your hate towards those violence crimes and criminals that are still going on every minute as we breathe our free air?
Hating someone and whinning about it doesn't brings about changes to this world, and it certainly doesn't makes your life more meaningful.
Lol, I wonder, does having peace but being poor equates to having a good life?
Originally posted by shade343:Lol, I wonder, does having peace but being poor equates to having a good life?
I wonder how can one even compare peace with being poor?
Peace is the status of our environment.
Being poor is the status of our ability to seek wealth.
If one is lazy, incapable and stupid, then it's no wonder that person is poor.
Do you see any disabled people coming up here to whine about being poor?
Even disabled people have higher ability to seek wealth.
These whinning poor but able people should be so ashamed of themselves.
it will be furni to see LKY got kick out by lee sian long and then frozen assets and then see him finding cans to have a meal
parn: ppl hate LKY got yr business a not.What seek peace. You ask yrself causway motorist are always fighting. Jam like hell. What measure did they take?
Secondly: What happen to Lim Chin siong and fellow politician?
PAP lock them up.
Thirdly: What happen to Ong Teng Cheong when he ask to audit the country's reserve?
Being forced to step down and the matter close. Till now they cannot give a clear summary of the reserve.
IF you are lackey of PAP, you are not welcome in this threat.
fourthly: NO indication of Re-election in Bukit batok.
Do you mean this is democracy? The MP is not elected by BB Citizen.
You selling or buying ah?
I pay you $200 to see you drill a hole in your brick wall and see you have sex with your brick wall can?
Parn: Are you crazy? U like to practice SM everyday. lolz pervert.
Originally posted by Itedino:You selling or buying ah?
I pay you $200 to see you drill a hole in your brick wall and see you have sex with your brick wall can?
I wonder who is the pervert who stalked my post
Originally posted by Itedino:You selling or buying ah?
At least be a smart pervert to identify between a flame reply and a joke IF you have to stalk me.
I wouldn't do the same to you, cos....Ohhh....you don't even have alot of posts to BEGIN WITH!
Originally posted by Itedino:parn: ppl hate LKY got yr business a not.What seek peace. You ask yrself causway motorist are always fighting. Jam like hell. What measure did they take?
Secondly: What happen to Lim Chin siong and fellow politician?
PAP lock them up.
Thirdly: What happen to Ong Teng Cheong when he ask to audit the country's reserve?
Being forced to step down and the matter close. Till now they cannot give a clear summary of the reserve.
IF you are lackey of PAP, you are not welcome in this threat.
fourthly: NO indication of Re-election in Bukit batok.
Do you mean this is democracy? The MP is not elected by BB Citizen.
Well, first of all if you hate LKY then you should go and tell him straight to the face and not be a KING OF COWARDS and come here to tell me off.
COWARDS like you should simply go and die, go to hell. You don't even deserves to own an opinion in the first place cos you were already biased from the beginning.
Secondly, ARE Lim Chin Siong, Ong Teng Cheong, and all those causeway motorists related to you? IF not, then it's also not your business to bring them out for your quarrels. In fact, people like you aren't even qualified to quote them cos they don't even KNOW you. So don't talk like people knows you when you're just a nobody, acting like somebody is only going to end up making a fool out of yourself.
There is a reason why there wasn't a re-election in Bukit Batok, and you should get out of your chair once in a while to find out the reason. Nobody will feed you with answers if you do not have the desire to seek them out yourselves.
Not happy about our current democracy? Then why don't you get yourselves born earlier???
I think I know what's your problem here, your parents failed to mate and that's why you were unable to born earlier?
Why don't you hate your parents then? Should I go start a thread to talk about it?
IF you're not happy with the way this country is run, then why are you still residing in Singapore?
No place to run away to and yet still dare to talk so much about your Motherland, as a citizen of Singapore, Do you even have any shame for yourself? Do you even know shame?
And if you so don't like this place and unable to run away to another place, why don't you go kill yourself?
You can't, cos you're just a coward....a KING OF COWARDS.
Originally posted by deathmaster:ya lor.
being a first class country doesn't mean that you need a big population, nor does it mean that you need more employment. if you want countries with big population with a big working population, look at china and india. clearly, these aren't the defining qualities of first-class countries.
regarding FTs, how many of them are real talents? do we need these "talents"? are we short of people with these "talents"? do we need more foreign engineers when our local-produced engineers are left jobless? why are we getting more foreign doctors from universities less prestigious than NUS, and since there is clearly a shortage of doctors, why are we not training more local doctors? we need 500 more doctors a year, while NUS is only producing 200 of them annually. does that make sense? its not that singapore is unable to afford training more doctors, especially when the government is burning money away, treating the people's money like toilet paper, squandering it away.
GIC had incurred a loss of over US$1bn, 30%-44% of the investment in the US banks (the figures are from Times magazine). and instead of carrying out protective measures to cut down losses, they pump in even more money into these failed banks. is it logical? it is equivilent to you lending money to a bankrupt who have nothing to offer you. and when you know that he is clearly unable to return you any money, you choose to lend him even more money.
with the government busy burning away taxpayers' money at that rate, i can't see why they can't afford to train more local talents like doctors, which we have a real need for, or to increase public welfare. our elderly have to go coffeeshops to compete for drink cans, earning $10 per week. you may say that it promotes environmental awareness, but seriously, is this the proper way to treat our elderly?
in other countries, the plate collectors at food courts, the toilet cleaners are all youngster. only in singapore can you see the elderly cleaning public toilets. can anyone here accept the idea of being a cleaner when you are old?
the government always want to interfere with people's lives, regardless of whether it is proper for them to do so.
Install ERPs at the heartlands, at chinatown. now those shops in those affected areas are going bankrupt one by one. is that good for the economy, is that good for the people? ERP tax goes straight to the government to be squandered away in dumb investments. when shops can't sustain and go bankrupt, not only does the government loses a source of income (the owner can no longer pay income tax), the owner also becomes unemployed, along with a bunch of other people. aggravating the unemployment rate.
so to deal with rising unemployment, the government creates more crappy jobs, like cleaners, sweepers etc. which sane person would choose these jobs? the pay is enough for a foreign labourer to feed himself in singapore, with perhaps some money left over to send back home. here, $500 is not enough to feed a family of 4, where all 4 are living in singapore, where the cost of living is very high. so, no wonder 6/10 jobs created goes to foreigners. and what a big help that is.
rgding organ trading, see that got money involve then want to kah jiao liao. if legalise organ trading, it will become easier for singaporeans to sell their organs, bringing about alot of unnecessary problem. if women can be forced into prostitution by loan sharks, do you think that loan sharks can't force people to sell their organ to repay debts?
look at the newspaper reports of those third world farmers who sold their kidneys. the money they received was quickly spent, not really helping them. also, they lose 1 kidney permanently. in addition, they are weaken with only 1 kidney left, and more prone to illness, e.g. diabetes, kidney failure.
do we want to see all that happening in singapore? better to keep it offshore, and leave the problem to other countries to handle. if people want to buy organs, and since it is for their survival, the government should close 1 eye.
there is a limit to the people's tolerance for governmental interference into personal life.
deathmaster
I sincerely thank you for bringing the discussion up one notch. You bring many fresh perpectives or old opinions rather but fresh insight into issues we face.
1) increasing population to compete with mega cities may bring higher income to the govt but it certainly does not bring about the quality of life. On the contrary, I believe deteriorating quality of life will result. Just look at HK will do.
2) no point creating manufacturing jobs where the bulk of the workers are foreigners. It make no financial or economic sense. In fact I would rather the govt does the right thing. Take adv of the period of economic growth to restructure the whole economy.
Transform the economy into service industry like the way HK did. Firstly, by setting up 'think-tank's to seek out nich areas. Secondly, by setting up steering committee to plan, implement and nurture those potential areas.
3) I agree with you on installing ERP at heartland. Only a brainless govt would do that, not a first class govt.
The ERP system clearly stands out look a sore thumb for all to see. In fact, I think the ERP system has gone so cancerous that the bloody system needs a total overhaul.
Tell us that the road are jammed due to our blatant usage while the govt incessantly increases the population holds no water.
4) kidney trading epitomises the one lesson the PAP never learns. It should not and cannot always interfere into ppl life. Sometimes, the root of the problem is not the problem itself but the interferrer.
The issue of kidney trading should remain status quo, ie illegal in Singapore. But if the trader is caught - send to an arbitrator to deal with him and not thru' law. There are far too many grey areas, too many scenerios, too many variable factors for a single set of law to deal with it effectively.
Time to tell the PAP that they need some competition in parliament to make them perform better, else.....
Originally posted by parn:Well, first of all if you hate LKY then you should go and tell him straight to the face and not be a KING OF COWARDS and come here to tell me off.
COWARDS like you should simply go and die, go to hell. You don't even deserves to own an opinion in the first place cos you were already biased from the beginning.
Secondly, ARE Lim Chin Siong, Ong Teng Cheong, and all those causeway motorists related to you? IF not, then it's also not your business to bring them out for your quarrels. In fact, people like you aren't even qualified to quote them cos they don't even KNOW you. So don't talk like people knows you when you're just a nobody, acting like somebody is only going to end up making a fool out of yourself.
There is a reason why there wasn't a re-election in Bukit Batok, and you should get out of your chair once in a while to find out the reason. Nobody will feed you with answers if you do not have the desire to seek them out yourselves.
Not happy about our current democracy? Then why don't you get yourselves born earlier???
I think I know what's your problem here, your parents failed to mate and that's why you were unable to born earlier?
Why don't you hate your parents then? Should I go start a thread to talk about it?
IF you're not happy with the way this country is run, then why are you still residing in Singapore?
No place to run away to and yet still dare to talk so much about your Motherland, as a citizen of Singapore, Do you even have any shame for yourself? Do you even know shame?
And if you so don't like this place and unable to run away to another place, why don't you go kill yourself?
You can't, cos you're just a coward....a KING OF COWARDS.
Well, as opposed to one who hides behind the power of a certain authority figure and regurgitates the figure's assertions while fellating him?
Look who's talking about bias. Perhaps I failed to realize that everything the authority figure says is THE TRUTH and anything different is biased, eh?
When one's response to another's opinions is to tell him to leave, without even bothering to counter his arguments, we usually call that person a RETARD.
Wow... quite a heated thread.
I'd say I agree with most of what Parn has said.
Sadly, it seems like not many people here do concur.
Like any normal human being, the PAP (made up of many, many human beings) tend to err. It's quite understandable, actually. As to whether they're making appropriate amends for their errors, I think I shall withold my comments.
But one should not deny or discredit all of the PAP's past achievements just because of these recent errors... that's how I feel.
Like what Parn's said, we have all these time to sit our butts and engage in heated online exchanges because we don't have to worry about:
- our next meal (most people'd probably order a delivery or walk a couple of minutes to a nearby coffeeshop for that)
- finding a sturdy shelter from the rain and sun
- armed outlaws roaming the streets or breaking into ur house the very next minute
- an exploding time-bomb planted nearby by some suicidal terrorist
and many more seemingly fantastical and surreal problems that in the recent years have ceased to exist in Singapore (to the majority of the population, at least).
Be thankful for that, pls.
Because for many, many people who are stuck in their poverty-stricken or disaster-struck homelands elsewhere, they would love to be in ur place - to be born and living in Singapore.
MM - Today’s younger generation does not understand all this
Isn't it better for this old fucker to step down since most people to not agree with him?
Why he like to hold on to power so much?
Funny bastard.
Originally posted by uuei:Wow... quite a heated thread.
I'd say I agree with most of what Parn has said.
Sadly, it seems like not many people here do concur.
Like any normal human being, the PAP (made up of many, many human beings) tend to err. It's quite understandable, actually. As to whether they're making appropriate amends for their errors, I think I shall withold my comments.
But one should not deny or discredit all of the PAP's past achievements just because of these recent errors... that's how I feel.
Like what Parn's said, we have all these time to sit our butts and engage in heated online exchanges because we don't have to worry about:
- our next meal (most people'd probably order a delivery or walk a couple of minutes to a nearby coffeeshop for that)
- finding a sturdy shelter from the rain and sun
- armed outlaws roaming the streets or breaking into ur house the very next minute
- an exploding time-bomb planted nearby by some suicidal terrorist
and many more seemingly fantastical and surreal problems that in the recent years have ceased to exist in Singapore (to the majority of the population, at least).
Be thankful for that, pls.
Because for many, many people who are stuck in their poverty-stricken or disaster-struck homelands elsewhere, they would love to be in ur place - to be born and living in Singapore.
Forgive them when they make mistakes yet be thankful for EVERY SINGLE GOOD THING EVEN REMOTELY CONNECTED TO THEM?
Anyone smell fellatio here? 'Hey, they're human after all and they make mistakes, but otherwise they're PERFECT!'
Without competition there will be no improvement... The reason for democracy is to choose our leaders and stick by them for better or worse.