The reason for democracy is to choose our leaders and stick by them for better or worse.
That is completely wrong.
The reason for democracy is when the leader is incompetent or corrupt, there is a legal way to get rid of him.
Stick by Lee Kuan Yew for worse?
He can go fuck his own backside.
Originally posted by deathwish:Without competition there will be no improvement... The reason for democracy is to choose our leaders and stick by them for better or worse.
oh yea! that was the reason they gave when the decided to let SBS take charge of NEL. i find its plain dumb. compete and improve profits for them? what competition is there for public transportation. don't tell me because SMRT's trains and services are better. someone that lives in punggol will take SMRT trains more.
yet now they are shooting themselves in the foot when it comes to the cabinet.
can someone enlighten me on that?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is completely wrong.
The reason for democracy is when the leader is incompetent or corrupt, there is a legal way to get rid of him.
Stick by Lee Kuan Yew for worse?
He can go fuck his own backside.
in my opinion, whats the point of having the majority people in parliament sing the same tune?
yea, younger generation doesn't understand. its not wonder we have 1 mil of foreigners here.
perhaps even more for those who converted to citizens.
Now I confused by Lee Kuan Yew.
He says in politics PAP is enough, not good if there is competition.
But comes to business, he says must be competitive.
But the cost of PAP cabinet ministers is quite high.
Can we out source the cabinet to PRC cabinet?
Cheaper I think.
Confused by Lee Kuan Yew liao.
Lee Kuan Yew, what the fuck are you trying to say?
oh yea! that was the reason they gave when the decided to let SBS take charge of NEL. i find its plain dumb. compete and improve profits for them? what competition is there for public transportation. don't tell me because SMRT's trains and services are better. someone that lives in punggol will take SMRT trains more.
at least the train facilities and frequency r compared with each other
Fucking bastard you, Lee Kuan Yew.
Originally posted by rooki:Well, as opposed to one who hides behind the power of a certain authority figure and regurgitates the figure's assertions while fellating him?
Look who's talking about bias. Perhaps I failed to realize that everything the authority figure says is THE TRUTH and anything different is biased, eh?
When one's response to another's opinions is to tell him to leave, without even bothering to counter his arguments, we usually call that person a RETARD.
Who are you referring to?
Perhaps you have mistaken that government are made up of humans, not GOD.
If you tried to mix the image of your ideal government with the perfectness of GOD, then it means you must had lived a relatively comfortable life since then. You should be thankful of that, cos if you were born in another poorer country, you wouldn't even have the time nor the imagination to even try to picture the image of a better government, most probably you will be worrying about how to obtain your next meal and where to obtain your next water.
At least you don't need to worry about from which rubbish bin you are going to dig out your next meal, and from which longkang soup you are going to drink for your next meal.
Originally posted by rooki:Forgive them when they make mistakes yet be thankful for EVERY SINGLE GOOD THING EVEN REMOTELY CONNECTED TO THEM?
Anyone smell fellatio here? 'Hey, they're human after all and they make mistakes, but otherwise they're PERFECT!'
So are your parents perfect? Do they make mistakes too?
Are you perfect? Do you make mistakes too?
AT least we have a government that doesn't make critical mistakes.
Haven't you been following up on our country's politics with Malaysia a few years ago?
Tell me you want Mahathir to run Singapore or even swap government with Malaysia.
I would've imagine you hopping mad like a bunny if you were a Malaysian.
Originally posted by parn:
So are your parents perfect? Do they make mistakes too?Are you perfect? Do you make mistakes too?
Haven't you been following up on our country's politics with Malaysia a few years ago?
Tell me you want Mahathir to run Singapore or even swap government with Malaysia.
Yah lor.. Our leaders so good. how come other countries don't try to poach Mr lee go run their country har ?
Why not you go ask Malaysians.. if they will pay Mr Lee 3 million lollars for him to run their country or not leh ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:at least the train facilities and frequency r compared with each other
seriously what facilities our trains have?
frequencies are compared. but whats the use? like i said if i have to take the NEL then i have to take it.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yah lor.. Our leaders so good. how come other countries don't try to poach Mr lee go run their country har ?
Why not you go ask Malaysians.. if they will pay Mr Lee 3 million lollars for him to run their country or not leh ?
Did I mention Mr Lee?
But since you have recommended Mr Lee, shouldn't you be the person to ask the Malaysians?
Our government are the better lot compared to the other governments in our surrounding countries.
Do remember Singapore do not have any natural resources, rubber plantations not included.
Why not? At least I am from younger generation.I supposed it's just human nature, people from war-torn countries yearned for peace while people from peaceful countries are looking at all sorts of channels to disrupt peace.
People does silly things when they're restless and that's a clear fact, especially in this forum.
Are these people not enjoying peace and social security in their environment?
Are these people not well-fed and sufficiently educated to survive in their society?
Then why are these people not focusing on their lives goals and commit to help others less fortunately people around them if they are truly kind and righteous?
People are evil, sometimes I wondered living in an environment when I'm surrounded by all these "demons", where can I ever find true peace with justice and righteous?
Cease war, promote love, take control of yourself and purge your own inner demons.
This world should be a better place for us to die.
I'm also from the younger generation.
It's normal in 'democratic' countries nowadays to dislike people who hold on to power for much too long.
Originally posted by eagle:I'm also from the younger generation.
It's normal in 'democratic' countries nowadays to dislike people who hold on to power for much too long.
Normal does NOT justify Rights and Wrongs.
You do know that there are more negative (incapable, lazy, retarded, defeated) people than positive people in this world, so unless you're one of the positive few, else you would certainly agree with the negative lot out there that MORE = Normal.
Good people are difficult to come by, and that includes Good friends.
Don't you agree?
So are your parents perfect? Do they make mistakes too?Are you perfect? Do you make mistakes too?
We have a govt that doesn't make critical mistakes? Importing of foreigners and fast-tracking them to be citizens, isn't that critical enough? Rote learning in our education system and lacking world beaters worthy to be Nobel Prize winners...and then lacking creativity, innovation that only Creative has emerged as the only world class brand all these years compared to Samsung of S. Korea and Acer of Taiwan among myriad others?
Mahathir champions Malay rights...LKY champions elitism. Any better?
Originally posted by parn:Did I mention Mr Lee?
But since you have recommended Mr Lee, shouldn't you be the person to ask the Malaysians?
Our government are the better lot compared to the other governments in our surrounding countries.
Do remember Singapore do not have any natural resources, rubber plantations not included.
We are first world status now, comparing durians with durians would be more apt, not with rambutans.
Let us not be stuck in the past but look forward as a first world nation.
And S'pore has a fantastic geographical location which other countries in the world can only dream of. Our position among strategic shipping routes has catalysed our growth. That alone is a natural resource that far beats the endowment of rubber or tin.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
We have a govt that doesn't make critical mistakes? Importing of foreigners and fast-tracking them to be citizens, isn't that critical enough? Rote learning in our education system and lacking world beaters worthy to be Nobel Prize winners...and then lacking creativity, innovation that only Creative has emerged as the only world class brand all these years compared to Samsung of S. Korea and Acer of Taiwan among myriad others?
Mahathir champions Malay rights...LKY champions elitism. Any better?
If we don't import foreigners, are Singaporeans supposed to learn from themselves?
How is Singapore going to grow and our citizens able to compete with foreigners on the world level?
Certainly not from a closed-door policy as you have desired. Aren't your "England" more powerful than your asian counterparts? Maybe you're too used to all the perks that you have failed to realise them?
And how critical is that even considered to be a mistake in the first place?
Just because Singaporeans nowadays are too spoon-fed and spoiled that they are unable to compete with foreigners and they turned around and blame the government.
Maybe when you have overcame the foreigners, I would be expecting you to come and give me credit for it.
ya la
to the PAP supporters, if you are in a bad state, it is your fault because you are lazy. If you are in a good state, it's because of the government. Either way, they win
yet to the non-supporters, if you are in a bad state, it's the government's fault. If you are in a good state, it's because you are smarter than the government. Either way, also win
So how?
If we don't import foreigners, are Singaporeans supposed to learn from themselves?How is Singapore going to grow and our citizens able to compete with foreigners on the world level?
Certainly not from a closed-door policy as you have desired. Aren't your "England" more powerful than your asian counterparts? Maybe you're too used to all the perks that you have failed to realise them?
And how critical is that even considered to be a mistake in the first place?
Just because Singaporeans nowadays are too spoon-fed and spoiled that they are unable to compete with foreigners and they turned around and blame the government.
Maybe when you have overcame the foreigners, I would be expecting you to come and give me credit for it.
Foreigners? Learned ones and crucial ones pls. Not any ah mao ah gou, tom dick or harry.
Yes credit to the govt on our level of English. Oh but what was I talking abt? Creativity and rote learning.
Missing the point eh?
Wow, after reading your post, I am so proud my gov don't make critical mistakes. By the way, are they paid their million dollar salaries so as not to make critical mistakes?
Oh yes, they don't make "critical" mistake, only "honest" mistake. But let's move on. ![]()
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
We are first world status now, comparing durians with durians would be more apt, not with rambutans.
And S'pore has a fantastic geographical location which other countries in the world can only dream of. Our position among strategic shipping routes has catalysed our growth. That alone is a natural resource that far beats the endowment of rubber or tin.
Just to clarify with your 'fantastic geo location and the belief that our location considered a natural resource'.
Singapore derives its wealth from industry (est 31%) and services (est 68%).
Compared to Malaysia, agriculture (est 8%), industry (est 34%) and services (est 58%)
Compared to Thailand, agriculture (est 9%), industry (est 45%) and services (est 46%)
Point is, our location alone can hardly be termed as a 'natural resource' as you kindly put it. The only true natural resource is our hardworking and resiliant citizens, raised on meritocracy and not by skin color. It is the citizens who makes a location great and 'fantastic', wherelse those whom have natural resources such as minerals and oil, needs only to shake legs and earn royalties.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Fucking bastard you, Lee Kuan Yew.
I suggest that you tone down a little, kindda worry for you.
I agree with u on tis statement
Many years ago in tis forum, there is a different type of debate. It is about the malays complaining about the chinese. The Malays say the chinese "spoil the market" , they cannot compete with them, asking for help to deal with the problem saying they r the native of the land. Do u know how does the chinese singaporean reponse ? They literally say "f^%k u" and go back and work harder and blame them for being "lazy" and supporting anti competition and unfairness.
Now the retribution had come. People r complaining like the malay do in the past. It is strange how people's point of view change dramatically when they r at the different end of the stick
Originally posted by xtreyier:Just to clarify with your 'fantastic geo location and the belief that our location considered a natural resource'.
Singapore derives its wealth from industry (est 31%) and services (est 68%).
Compared to Malaysia, agriculture (est 8%), industry (est 34%) and services (est 58%)
Compared to Thailand, agriculture (est 9%), industry (est 45%) and services (est 46%)
Point is, our location alone can hardly be termed as a 'natural resource' as you kindly put it. The only true natural resource is our hardworking and resiliant citizens, raised on meritocracy and not by skin color. It is the citizens who makes a location great and 'fantastic', wherelse those whom have natural resources such as minerals and oil, needs only to shake legs and earn royalties.
That your best shot? A better breakdown would have been perfect.
It's linked, dude. Industry/services and our geographical location. Not discounting that it would have not been made possible by as you put it, the diligence of us citizens.
And really, kel kar...shake legs can earn one royalties from minerals and oil? Wow, I'm mortified.
And Lau Lee LKY has even mentioned just weeks back that we owe our success, in no small part to our geo location. That's a natural resource, my fren.
Originally posted by parn:Who are you referring to?
Perhaps you have mistaken that government are made up of humans, not GOD.
If you tried to mix the image of your ideal government with the perfectness of GOD, then it means you must had lived a relatively comfortable life since then. You should be thankful of that, cos if you were born in another poorer country, you wouldn't even have the time nor the imagination to even try to picture the image of a better government, most probably you will be worrying about how to obtain your next meal and where to obtain your next water.
At least you don't need to worry about from which rubbish bin you are going to dig out your next meal, and from which longkang soup you are going to drink for your next meal.
Because, without the almighty GOVERNMENT, Singapore will be nothing but a hunter-gatherer society. ![]()
You know, you should thank the government for the existence of poorer countries. How else can you stroke your pathetic ego if not for such idiotic comparisons? Go on, down on your bended knees now!
So are your parents perfect? Do they make mistakes too?
Are you perfect? Do you make mistakes too?
I don't grovel before my parents and thank them for EVERY SINGLE GOOD THING that has happened to me. Unlike your fellating of the almighty PAP.
So now it's critical mistakes eh? I can probably give you a list of major PAP bloopers, but I'll bet that you, being the asslicker you are, will attempt to explain all of them away as being just honest mistakes.
Tool.