Even though I am a undergraduate, I will still say singapore undergraduates (mostly) only know how to talk cock but do nothing. Many of whom I met is really astonishing... they appear intellectual but inside empty one... best of all, they still think they are very smart...
Nevertheless, there are still good-grade students as well la, I did saw some talents in my course before which I have to say they are really good!
The questions asked in oral examinations pinpoint heavily on your uncertain portions. When the lecturer sense that you are unclear, he will ask more heavily on that portion. Can you tell me that any written examinations that do that?
And tell me, what exam strategies do you think that can apply to oral examinations? You can't skip questions; and you have to understand on the spot.
And are you still telling me that you prefer a graduate who come out not knowing fully everything as compared to one who knows more because he has been more rigourously tested?
As said, it becomes a subjective test. The lecturer always see tis guy attending his lectures and he will be more lenient towards him. The lecturer being tired and want to end the test quickly also will end up asking lesser questions. Tat is why most universities do not rely on oral examinations. Rigously tested ? So u r saying US university students r not rigously tested ? The idea of the oral examination is already an unfair test. As said before, written examination cannot skip questions too
Are you even an engineer or a researcher?
Yes. And your point is ?
Oooooo ... such a sharp tongue .....
I'd like to do her. .. but alas ... I'm a peasant .... one that's not yet made good too .... ![]()
As said, it becomes a subjective test. The lecturer always see tis guy attending his lectures and he will be more lenient towards him. The lecturer being tired and want to end the test quickly also will end up asking lesser questions. Tat is why most universities do not rely on oral examinations. Rigously tested ? So u r saying US university students r not rigously tested ? The idea of the oral examination is already an unfair test. As said before, written examination cannot skip questions too
So you are telling me that the professors they employ are not professional?
In addition, there are two markers. Both will have to discuss on the marks and come to an agreement before giving a final grade.
written examination cannot skip questions too
Rubbish. If you do not know how to answer the question during oral examinations, there's no escape. You will be asked more and more on it.
If you do not know how to answer the question during written examinations, you can choose not to do.
Yes. And your point is ?
That's worse. Your mindset is extremely limited. No wonder you told me you are happy with your $2.5k monthly salary. That's rather sad for a NTU engineer
So you are telling me that the professors they employ are not professional?
U mean the German professors ? It is not about professionalism. It is about human nature.
Rubbish. If you do not know how to answer the question during oral examinations, there's no escape. You will be asked more and more on it.
If you do not know how to answer the question during written examinations, you can choose not to do.
U do not answer the question in written exam, then u do not get the marks. There is no choosing
That's worse. Your mindset is extremely limited. No wonder you told me you are happy with your $2.5k monthly salary. That's rather sad for a NTU engineer
Why the personal insults ![]()
Originally posted by stupidissmart:U mean the German professors ? It is not about professionalism. It is about human nature.
U do not answer the question in written exam, then u do not get the marks. There is no choosing
Why the personal insults
U mean the German professors ? It is not about professionalism. It is about human nature.
There are two markers. Both will have to discuss on the marks and come to an agreement before giving a final grade.
If you do not answer the question in oral examination, then the next few questions will specifically target that portion.
In written exams, you lose that few marks. In oral examinations, you can potentially lose more just because of that.
Thus, you have to be very very very clear on the module you are taking exams for.
Why the personal insults
That's my observations of you, derived especially from your view on education. I can only say I'm glad very little of my tuition students are like you.
There are two markers. Both will have to discuss on the marks and come to an agreement before giving a final grade.
It is still a subjective test because the tester r seen and human factors come into play
If you do not answer the question in oral examination, then the next few questions will specifically target that portion.
In written exams, you lose that few marks. In oral examinations, you can potentially lose more just because of that.
Thus, you have to be very very very clear on the module you are taking exams f
Well then again it shows another problem with oral examination. It can overly emphasis too much on an area in the module. A person can know the rest of the subject well and get bogged down by a small detail and get penalised excessively. Is tat a fair assessment ?
That's my observations of you, derived especially from your view on education. I can only say I'm glad very little of my tuition students are like you.
I am glad u r not my tuition teacher when I am young because u can spew out insults based on limited knowledge
Originally posted by stupidissmart:It is still a subjective test because the tester r seen and human factors come into play
Well then again it shows another problem with oral examination. It can overly emphasis too much on an area in the module. A person can know the rest of the subject well and get bogged down by a small detail and get penalised excessively. Is tat a fair assessment ?
I am glad u r not my tuition teacher when I am young because u can spew out insults based on limited knowledge
It is still a subjective test because the tester r seen and human factors come into play
So till now, you are still telling me you rather a graduate coming out without fully understanding the modules?
And if human factors are going to affect the results so much, you are still telling me that the lecturers employed are not professional?
You are already an adult and a graduate, yet you hold such limited views, worse than that of younger kids.
It's no surprise why all my tuition students showed improvements of at least 3 grades so far; they do not think like you do.
So till now, you are still telling me you rather a graduate coming out without fully understanding the modules?
And if human factors are going to affect the results so much, you are still telling me that the lecturers employed are not professional?
R u gonna tell me u understand every single bit of all your modules u have learned in the years of study ?
R u gonna tell me the professors have gone beyond human and human factors r not gonna affect them a bit ?
You are already an adult and a graduate, yet you hold such limited views, worse than that of younger kids.
It's no surprise why all my tuition students showed improvements of at least 3 grades so far; they do not think like you do.
Limited views ? I don't think disagreeing with u automatically place my views as "limiting".
Originally posted by stupidissmart:R u gonna tell me u understand every single bit of all your modules u have learned in the years of study ?
R u gonna tell me the professors have gone beyond human and human factors r not gonna affect them a bit ?
Limited views ? I don't think disagreeing with u automatically place my views as "limiting". Based on wat can u say tat
R u gonna tell me u understand every single bit of all your modules u have learned in the years of study ?
No, because there's no need to do so to score during exams, and I have the strategies to do so.
Same question back to you. Are you gonna tell me that they are not professional and are going to let human factors significantly affect the results?
I mentioned that it won't affect "so much", and not that it won't "affect them a bit"
Limited views ? I don't think disagreeing with u automatically place my views as "limiting". Based on wat can u say tat
Base on you saying things like
and
The more important skills for an engineer or a research is to come out with the solution or write a world class research paper.
No, because there's no need to do so to score during exams, and I have the strategies to do so.
So r u gonna claim the professors in NUS r so lousy they cannot set a proper exam for u ?
Same question back to you. Are you gonna tell me that they are not professional and are going to let human factors significantly affect the results?
I am gonna tell u tat it is inevitable human factors r gonna come in and significantly affect the result
Have u proved me wrong ? In a paper all the questions r compulsory and u cannot skip question
The more important skills for an engineer or a research is to come out with the solution or write a world class research paper.
And again isn't tat true ? Wat do u think an engineer more important job should be ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:So r u gonna the professors in NUS r so lousy they cannot set a proper exam for u ?
I am gonna tell u tat it is inevitable human factors r gonna come in and significantly affect the result
Have u proved me wrong ? In a paper all the questions r compulsory and u cannot skip question
And again isn't tat true ? Wat do u think an engineer more important job should be ?
So r u gonna the professors in NUS r so lousy they cannot set a proper exam for u ?
Yes. They can teach, but they are not good at setting exam papers. Not at all.
I'm the one who has experienced both sides of teaching. You are the one trying to say things based on your limited view of only experiencing the SG way of education
Well, go to Germany and tell that to the press. See if you get sued by their uni.
You might as well tell the SG government not to include oral examinations for Mother Tongue papers in O levels because "it is inevitable human factors r gonna come in and significantly affect the result".
Read:
Thus, you have to be very very very clear on the module you are taking exams for.
The most important job is to serve and contribute to the community. Coming out with solutions is only part of the equation.
Yes. They can teach, but they are not good at setting exam papers. Not at all.
Then tat is probably your exaiminer problem and not the system of written exams
Well, go to Germany and tell that to the press. See if you get sued by their uni.
You might as well tell the SG government not to include oral examinations for Mother Tongue papers in O levels because "it is inevitable human factors r gonna come in and significantly affect the result".
Based on your arguments, u can try going to US and say their exams sucks because there is no oral exams and see if u get supported or not
Then u should also tell the SG gov to have an oral exam for maths and science as well to be consistent with mother tongue
I see tat u r not answering the point tat I had raised. I claimed written examination do not allow people to skip question and u tell me oral examiniation needs u to be very clear on the module u r taking. Wat is the link ?
The most important job is to serve and contribute to the community. Coming out with solutions is only part of the equation.
They serve and contribute BY coming out with solution and writing papers.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Then tat is probably your exaiminer problem and not the system of written exams
Based on your arguments, u can try going to US and say their exams sucks because there is no oral exams and see if u get supported or not
Then u should also tell the SG gov to have an oral exam for maths and science as well to be consistent with mother tongue
I see tat u r not answering the point tat I had raised. I claimed written examination do not allow people to skip question and u tell me oral examiniation needs u to be very clear on the module u r taking. Wat is the link ?
Then tat is probably your exaiminer problem and not the system of written exams
So either NUS (a local uni) is not as good you have claimed, or the system of written exams sucks. Choose one.
FYI, it's not only one examiner
Are you very sure all of their unis have no oral exams?
They should have it for science. Maths? Obviously you still do not know what is meant by theories and facts vs worked solutions.
Don't be dumb. Go and poll other forumers if what you have said is correct.
Few years ago, on the controversial PSLE questions to sum 1 to 99, there were people who said that those students should skip that question so as not to waste time if they dunno any fast method to do.
Now you tell me written examinations cannot skip questions. WOW.
I'm repeating this to you: What you have said it is only part of the equation.
Ooooo .... Cheltenham Ladies College, Cambridge Uni ....
from the first, must be a rich girl ....... from the second ... must be a smart girl .....
wah ... power combi ... ![]()
ok...
the same simple question again...
who here is from local unis and who from foreign unis...??
Originally posted by Uncertain:Even though I am a undergraduate, I will still say singapore undergraduates (mostly) only know how to talk cock but do nothing. Many of whom I met is really astonishing... they appear intellectual but inside empty one... best of all, they still think they are very smart...
Nevertheless, there are still good-grade students as well la, I did saw some talents in my course before which I have to say they are really good!
sure lah, 10 durians, sure got some good one mah. Anyway, the streets is full of degree holders, you really need to be smart and good to survive and succeed in it, and it come with a bit of luck too.
Some are very successful in their careers and yet some end up a taxis driver??
Originally posted by angel7030:
sure lah, 10 durians, sure got some good one mah. Anyway, the streets is full of degree holders, you really need to be smart and good to survive and succeed in it, and it come with a bit of luck too.Some are very successful in their careers and yet some end up a taxis driver??
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1802/topics/326674
click the above link to find out why...
So either NUS (a local uni) is not as good you have claimed, or the system of written exams sucks. Choose one.
FYI, it's not only one examiner
Maybe I will like to choose oral exaimination is not as good as u think and the written examination from NUS is already adequate
Are you very sure all of their unis have no oral exams?
If u ask me, most university do not offer oral examination for their subject
They should have it for science. Maths? Obviously you still do not know what is meant by theories and facts vs worked solutions.
U can still give oral examination by giving them a simple problem sum on the spot and ask for the solution. Heard of mental sum ?
Don't be dumb. Go and poll other forumers if what you have said is correct
U r avoiding a simple fact. If all the question in the written examination is compulsory, u cannot skip any question. True or false ?
Few years ago, on the controversial PSLE questions to sum 1 to 99, there were people who said that those students should skip that question so as not to waste time if they dunno any fast method to do.
They skip and they lose the marks. If losing marks is an option, then u can just admit u do not know the question to the oral examination and also skip questions
I'm repeating this to you: What you have said it is only part of the equation
Tat is their main job. Coming up with physical solution is their main job. Wat others things do u propose an engineer should do contribute ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Maybe I will like to choose oral exaimination is not as good as u think and the written examination from NUS is already adequate
U can still give oral examination by giving them a simple problem sum on the spot and ask for the solution. Heard of mental sum ?
U r avoiding a simple fact. If all the question in the written examination is compulsory, u cannot skip any question. True or false ?
They skip and they lose the marks. If losing marks is an option, then u can just admit u do not know the question to the oral examination and also skip questions
Tat is their main job. Coming up with physical solution is their main job. Wat others things do u propose an engineer should do contribute ?
Maybe I will like to choose oral exaimination is not as good as u think and the written examination from NUS is already adequate
And I have already told you there's no need to understand fully the modules in NUS to score As for it.
So back to the question you have been avoiding by directing me to your question on the problem being on NUS professors:
You stated it. You should prove it. This is your style.
For Germany, I know for a fact that TUD and TUM have oral examinations; that's 2 out of their 5 technical universities. And Germany has a rather high ranking for engineering.
Still acting dumb or what. Haven't I already told you it is for testing of theories and facts?
Again, I have told you that you will likely get penalised heavily for that. Still missing the point is it?
Some examples can include doing analysis and giving conclusions, and educating other engineers/people.
Not to mention the fact that you seemed to think that someone graduating with an engineering degree must be an engineer since you appear to be very concerned with the education of engineers in the uni being able to satisfy the "main job" requirements of an engineer.
eh guys, can reply in a big and complete passage instead of breaking it up into little bits of quotes and counter quotes ? ....
my eyes are swimming from reading the posts ...
thanks ! ... -_-
Originally posted by Fatum:eh guys, can reply in a big and complete passage instead of breaking it up into little bits of quotes and counter quotes ? ....
my eyes are swimming from reading the posts ...
thanks ! ... -_-
wha! u really read hor??
Forget it. I don't wanna waste time arguing over oral exam or written exam. Tis is going no where and it is on a stupid issue. If u think oral exams r so good, then proposed to NUS to have an oral exam lor
FYI
MIT also has oral examinations. That's in USA.
I won't propose to NUS because I will want (and teach) my sis to exploit it and score well.
Anyway, this thread already shows your limited views. What's more with the statement "written examinations cannot skip questions" -.-"
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Forget it. I don't wanna waste time arguing over oral exam or written exam. Tis is going no where and it is on a stupid issue. If u think oral exams r so good, then proposed to NUS to have an oral exam lor
ya, real stupid, that is why i never read it.