then tell us y the citizens dun want to overthrow PAP govt?
Political games my friend.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Political games my friend.
simple becos sdp doesnt have the citizens' confidence to gear singapore... and csj simply doesnt have the charisma of a leader. he should go for a makeover then... tell that to ur good friend...
That is due to PAP regime political oppression.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is due to PAP regime political oppression.
but WP and SDA got in at least a seat. y not sdp?
Singapore is ruled by one party.
That is completely true.
They don't hold power.
They are not executive power.
They have no influence over policy making.
The power that rules Singapore lies in the inner clique of people within the PAP leadership.
3 people in parliament you call not rule by one party?
That is naive.
-By Poh
Who is the one being naive here?
By your logic and defination of politics, then every nation is one party rule, eg- US ruled by Republicans, Taiwan by KMT, Australia by labour party, etc, etc. So by your defination, every nation is ruled by despots, then what are you complaining about?
Whose fault if they dont have power? In a democracy, it is the majority that wins.
Why did the opposition not do anything to improve the situation by fielding more quality members to be voted in to form a majority that can block any bills or policies implementation?
Oppositions and the ruling parties have no VETO power anyway. That right belongs ONLY to citizens, thru their votes when election times come, either to accept any ruling parties policies or reject by voting against them, placing qualified opposition into parliament. But as it is, how good are the opposition besides those already in parliament?
Originally posted by xtreyier:Singapore is ruled by one party.
That is completely true.
They don't hold power.
They are not executive power.
They have no influence over policy making.
The power that rules Singapore lies in the inner clique of people within the PAP leadership.
3 people in parliament you call not rule by one party?
That is naive.
-By Poh
Who is the one being naive here?
By your logic and defination of politics, then every nation is one party rule, eg- US ruled by Republicans, Taiwan by KMT, Australia by labour party, etc, etc. So by your defination, every nation is ruled by despots, then what are you complaining about?
Whose fault if they dont have power? In a democracy, it is the majority that wins.
Why did the opposition not do anything to improve the situation by fielding more quality members to be voted in to form a majority that can block any bills or policies implementation?
Oppositions and the ruling parties have no VETO power anyway. That right belongs ONLY to citizens, thru their votes when election times come, either to accept any ruling parties policies or reject by voting against them, placing qualified opposition into parliament. But as it is, how good are the opposition besides those already in parliament?
good point, further explaination expansion of mine too. thank u.
I also do not agree with SDP tactics of not focusing on elections.
See:
Singapore's 'Martyr,' Chee Soon Juan
...But one charge made by the government does stick: Mr. Chee is not
terribly concerned about election results. Which is just as well,
because his Singapore Democratic Party did not do very well in the May
6 polls. It would be foolish, he suggests, for an opposition party in
Singapore to pin its hopes on gaining one, or perhaps two, seats in
parliament. He is aiming for a much bigger goal: bringing down the
city-state’s one-party system of government. His weapon is a campaign
of civil disobedience against laws designed to curtail democratic
freedoms.
“You don’t vote out a dictatorship,” he says. “And basically that’s
what Singapore is, albeit a very sophisticated one. It’s not possible
for us to effect change just through the ballot box. They’ve got
control of everything else around us.” Instead what’s needed is a
coalition of civil society and political society coming together and
demanding change—a color revolution for Singapore...
http://www.feer.com/free-interviews/2006/october/singapores-martyr
By your logic and defination of politics, then every nation is one party rule, eg- US ruled by Republicans, Taiwan by KMT, Australia by labour party, etc, etc
The political situation is different in those countries.
That is a simplistic comparision xtreyier.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:The political situation is different in those countries.
That is a simplistic comparision xtreyier.
whats simplier than getting citizens to vote for sdp in a GE, than being a public nuisance at any time of the year to gain publicity for the wrong reason...
than being a public nuisance at any time of the year to gain publicity for the wrong reason...
Without SDP do propaganda work for democratic cause, you think PAP regime will relax rules on political rights in Singapore?
Don't be naive.
You have a narrow view on SDP.
One-party state? No thanks, i believe in political balancing instead of going political extreme. Who will there to question the government when PAP comes out with so called GST is to help the poor and more GST to push down your throat in future? Democracy is not perfect because human are imperfect. If the saints always become kings i don't mind monarchy or aristocracy ,but this is not the story if you refer back to history of mankind. That's why democracy should be staying for checks and balancing instead of one party state.
Look at the PAP during last election their party was directed to vote for someone who is not considered the best to be PM. You still want one party state to compromise Singapore?
One person stay in power for 50 years like Lee Kuan Yew is also a disastrous way to rule a country.
Younger generation don't share the same views and outlook on life as Lee Kuan Yew, but the bastard is still in power.
So there is alienation.
Alienated already, not happy, migrate.
All due to this one bastard in power.
This type of fucking political system can go and fuck off.
Even PRC changes leader every ten years.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Without SDP do propaganda work for democratic cause, you think PAP regime will relax rules on political rights in Singapore?
Don't be naive.
You have a narrow view on SDP.
yes this is true, although CSJ has made a fool out of himself, he has raised the awareness of the whole world. so now pap is starting to feel the pressure and are adapting to the situation.
But something tells me that this relaxation of political rights are just for show which they wont practice anyway.
Of course.
That is obvious.
With Lee Kuan Yew still alive, there won't be any real changes.
That is why I want Lee Kuan Yew to die.
yes we need that to happen real soon.
did anyone realise that the national day rally where lee hsien loong talk about online politics, he managed to indirectly encourage viewers to engage in political discussions on government controlled media websites like straits times forum CNA etc.
Progressive forces in Singapore would want Lee Kuan Yew to die off quickly.
That is true.
I hope that day can come soon.
I want to see Lee Kuan Yew die.
when that happens. singaporeans will start having more children, their children will grow up to be creative people, not robots. there will be no mroe trafic congestions and lame excuses for newly opened ERP gantries. There will be more variety of media, tv stations, radio and news. better quality programmes and less propaganda. then singapore born people will start winning medals at the olympics. People can retire earlier and enjoy their well deserved CPF earlier.
That is something we can look forward to or work towards.
Rather than the decay that we have now.
Originally posted by ivebeenhad:when that happens. singaporeans will start having more children, their children will grow up to be creative people, not robots. there will be no mroe trafic congestions and lame excuses for newly opened ERP gantries. There will be more variety of media, tv stations, radio and news. better quality programmes and less propaganda. then singapore born people will start winning medals at the olympics. People can retire earlier and enjoy their well deserved CPF earlier.
talk cock lah...
humans, u, me, everyone die one day... when deng xiao ping and mao ze tong died, China is still a communist country now. what's there to Singapore when LKY dies of old ripe age...
But Mao's China is different from Deng's China.
most imptly there are either hopes for leader like deng xiaoping or leader like kim jong il that's the difference...each of the above-mentioned leaders' like would bring sg to different paths
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:But Mao's China is different from Deng's China.
but still under Chinese Communcist Party (CCP)... under different leaders, some changes / reforms... like when a new boss take over ur department, u do expect some changes there and here... but... is the company yours....
Originally posted by kengkia:most imptly there are either hopes for leader like deng xiaoping or leader like kim jong il that's the difference...each of the above-mentioned leaders' like would bring sg to different paths
then like this u guys talking... then ask csj to join PAP and rise to be a PM within PAP...
If a progressive leader appears in PAP that is willing to carry out progressive reforms, I will support him or her.
Originally posted by Rednano:
then like this u guys talking... then ask csj to join PAP and rise to be a PM within PAP...
....then CSJ can rise until he at chiam's age also haven become PM candidate...