Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Would Singaporeans prefer another 45 years without an Olympic medal with our local players or greater sporting successes with FT? It's the same issue with the import of foreign scientists, doctors, musicians and fund managers.
for the scientist, doctors, talents, etc , if done properly and with good enough discretion, it's to keep our economy up and improve our standards. Thus ensuring survival or standards of living.
It's not the case for these medals. Getting these medals do not benefit singapore other than as a talking point or for the people to feel proud (or patriotism, etc) of. It's essentiallynot needed and thus comes the question of why do we need to spend so much and spend on foreign talents for it. Using local talents would also instil more pride.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Then me better go learn how to read the stock markets and economy better,..at least it guarantee a future, for sport,..very vague. Singaporeans are smart pple, they plan and do thing that are worth to earn money, as for sport, there is no guarantee of fame and money.
We have been singing praises for the Table Tennis gals/aunties, how about the badminton guy, that Susilo, what a waste of our investment.
i agree, sports is not for you (or for me)
there are alot more `waste of our investments' than susilo. what you don't read about doesn't mean it doesn't happen here in singapore.
Originally posted by freedom4ever:for me i dont mind waiting. no medal then no medal lor. worse come to worse is dun participate in olympic if we dont have the people to participate. our country is study first place, the rest is not important. with good education then will have good career and good life in the future.
Originally posted by Cheowyonglee:I am not against foriegn talents.Not against China for sure.I am against the STTA.
Why?Here's why.....
I am a table tennis player myself.I heard alot of inside stories about STTA.I dont want to get into any lawer letters, so i will not say the stories.But the fact i still had to say is,STTA real motive is to get more medals to please the PAP MP so that they will get more seed money,but where the money go to?Make a guess!STTA are not taking the time to groom local sport talents, but prefer to use ready make players for battle.Fullstop!!!
Oh Both Li Jia Wei and Fang Tien wei made into Quarter final lah.
Today 6 and 7 pm wow....
here are their respective results in this morning last round before
Quarter Final.pl note Li had to fight the 7 th game!~!
ZHANG Yining 4-1 (11:5 11:2 11:5 9:11 11:8 ) vs FENG Tianwei 4-1 (7:11 13:11 11:7 11:5 11:4 )
@@@@@@@@@@2
WANG Chen 4-3 (11:9 9:11 11:8 10:12 6:11 11:9 11:5 ) vs LI Jia Wei 4-3 (4:11 14:12 10:12 11:8 5:11 11:9 13:11 )
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/TT/C75A/TTW001000.shtml#TTW001404
click Next
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/TT/C73A/TTW001404.shtml#TTW001404

Li Jia Wei just said ''Fight in my 地盘----(territority)'',not HOME COUNTRY
can u guys listen carefully .If not so sure,pl check with pple
good at Chinese.
http://vsearch.cctv.com/plgs_play-CCTV4prog_20080626_6347118.html
the video last for 30 mins.
If u refer to the interview i post here,i did not hear Li Jia Wei mentioned
HOME COUNTRY or Home Land.what she mentioned was it is my TERRITORITY--
i quote her:地盘----
one of forumer alredai said this term.
well.she was born and grew up in Beijing till aged 13 or 14 before
she came to SG.So,it is her Beijing.Dunt blacken her.Ok?
SG and their efforts made them Top 10,not PRC's effort
When Li and Fang joined SG team 15 years and last year,
they have no place in world table tennis .
If they were Top 20 when they came to SG,then u can say
SG bought them over to win medals.
But they were very low ranking or not in ranking
when they came.
3 came to SG when not so succeful
Li came direct from Beijing when she found not much hope
got into Main team15 years ago.Did SG pay very well to her
or spent much effort in table tennis then?I forgot lah.
Fang went to Japan to play in 2005 when she found no hope
getting into PRC Main Team.Together with Wang,Fang were
persuaded by SG coach Liu in Japan.
If they already made to the Main Team of PRC,they needed not come
to SG lah,stupid!!You know it is easy make into PRC Main Team Ah??
U have Top in City,Province,selections ,Second team.Youth team
etc before are in Main Team.u think just becos Li stayed in Beijing
then she could make to Main Team easier then others?
Dunt insult them and yourself
i hope it is a honest mistake by alleging Li said''i fight in Home Land'
If not,u guys is insulting yourself.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:before i respond,pl noteOh Both Li Jia Wei and Fang Tien wei made into Quarter final lah.
Today 6 and 7 pm wow....
here are their respective results in this morning last round before
Quarter Final.pl note Li had to fight the 7 th game!~!
ZHANG Yining 4-1 (11:5 11:2 11:5 9:11 11:8 ) vs FENG Tianwei 4-1 (7:11 13:11 11:7 11:5 11:4 )
@@@@@@@@@@2
WANG Chen 4-3 (11:9 9:11 11:8 10:12 6:11 11:9 11:5 ) vs LI Jia Wei 4-3 (4:11 14:12 10:12 11:8 5:11 11:9 13:11 )
click Next
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/TT/C73A/TTW001404.shtml#TTW001404
ha do u think 15 years is ready?Do u know Li Jia Wei etc came to SG when they were nothingin table tennis?Li came to SG 15 years ago,Fang 1 years and Wang 3 years.They were NOT PRC National Second Team or Youth Team.U have to show result before gavaman give u more funds.Watch their story here.If SG pple have half of their fighting spirit,then SG sure havea better future.Li and dadLi Jia Wei just said ''Fight in my 地盘----(territority)'',not HOME COUNTRY
can u guys listen carefully .If not so sure,pl check with pple
good at Chinese.
http://vsearch.cctv.com/plgs_play-CCTV4prog_20080626_6347118.html
the video last for 30 mins.
If u refer to the interview i post here,i did not hear Li Jia Wei mentioned
HOME COUNTRY or Home Land.what she mentioned was it is my TERRITORITY--
i quote her:地盘----
one of forumer alredai said this term.
well.she was born and grew up in Beijing till aged 13 or 14 before
she came to SG.So,it is her Beijing.Dunt blacken her.Ok?
SG and their efforts made them Top 10,not PRC's effort
When Li and Fang joined SG team 15 years and last year,
they have no place in world table tennis .
If they were Top 20 when they came to SG,then u can say
SG bought them over to win medals.
But they were very low ranking or not in ranking
when they came.
3 came to SG when not so succeful
Li came direct from Beijing when she found not much hope
got into Main team15 years ago.Did SG pay very well to her
or spent much effort in table tennis then?I forgot lah.
Fang went to Japan to play in 2005 when she found no hope
getting into PRC Main Team.Together with Wang,Fang were
persuaded by SG coach Liu in Japan.
If they already made to the Main Team of PRC,they needed not come
to SG lah,stupid!!You know it is easy make into PRC Main Team Ah??
U have Top in City,Province,selections ,Second team.Youth team
etc before are in Main Team.u think just becos Li stayed in Beijing
then she could make to Main Team easier then others?
Dunt insult them and yourself
i hope it is a honest mistake by alleging Li said''i fight in Home Land'
If not,u guys is insulting yourself.
OIC
Out of 16 players in Round 4,the last round before Quarter Final,
13 carry Chinese names representing PRC,SG,USA,DOM,Holland.Austria etc.
The reminders are native Koreans and Japanese.
Some races are good at certain games,like Aussie ,American in swimming etc
Originally posted by lionnoisy:http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/TT/C75A/TTW001000.shtml#TTW001404
Out of 16 players in Round 4,the last round before Quarter Final,
13 carry Chinese names representing PRC,SG,USA,DOM,Holland.Austria etc.
The reminders are native Koreans and Japanese.
Some races are good at certain games,like Aussie ,American in swimming etc
If they get gold this time, can they sing the majullah singapura song anot??
Originally posted by angel7030:
If they get gold this time, can they sing the majullah singapura song anot??
pretend pretend can liao.....
open/close mouth like goldfish chewing can liao......
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Would Singaporeans prefer another 45 years without an Olympic medal with our local players or greater sporting successes with FT? It's the same issue with the import of foreign scientists, doctors, musicians and fund managers.
would u want the same argument 45 yrs from now about using foreigner to get medals?
Originally posted by hisoka:
I think the main interest is the benefits it would get us. and whether we need the medal in the first place.for the scientist, doctors, talents, etc , if done properly and with good enough discretion, it's to keep our economy up and improve our standards. Thus ensuring survival or standards of living.
It's not the case for these medals. Getting these medals do not benefit singapore other than as a talking point or for the people to feel proud (or patriotism, etc) of. It's essentiallynot needed and thus comes the question of why do we need to spend so much and spend on foreign talents for it. Using local talents would also instil more pride.
Sporting success can unify a nation...just look at the number of native Singaporeans who were rooting for our table-tennis players. With the influx of foreign-born citizens in recent years, success at the Olympics by new citizens can help reduce the enmity against them, whipped up by many in this forum. As long as the majority of Singaporeans feel proud that a foreign-born citizen raises the Singapore flag at sporting events, then this foreign sporting talent policy will be supported.
I heard at the coffee shop, on uncle said that these PRC gals from China came here to play ping pong must first made a vow and sign a clause: "In time, if you compete with your natural born country, you must not win". This clause is compulsory to acknowledge before they can be released to join other countries citizenship.
No wonder they promise us a medal only, never go for Gold.
Originally posted by angel7030:I heard at the coffee shop, on uncle said that these PRC gals from China came here to play ping pong must first made a vow and sign a clause: "In time, if you compete with your natural born country, you must not win". This clause is compulsory to acknowledge before they can be released to join other countries citizenship.
No wonder they promise us a medal only, never go for Gold.
ahhh another conspiracy theory....I like....some more?
With the anticipated influx of chinese athletes to Singapore after hearing Li Jia Wei's and friends' successes in Olympics and substantial material wealth. We would be able to win a few more medals the next time round in London.
So we better start raising GST by 1-2% for a sporting kitty fund. Until the day when we start winning gold medals, silvers and bronzes and pay millions of dollars for this meaningless symobolic act of getting "foreign singaporeans" to hoist the Singaporean flag during the medal ceremony, perhaps then maybe the materialistic singaporean will think ..hmm.. tolong tolong .. don't win more olympic medals liao and root for our teams to lose.. I would prefer lower taxes!! =)
i dunt know the past of STTA.
But i am little trouble of the New Chair Ms Lee handling on
Gao Ning incident---without a coach in the Game match.
She first aired her angry right after Gao's lost match.
Today ST reported she sacked Team Manager and
''I have a new team and will have a new CEO and technical
Director.It is best that the manager is chosen by them''
OMG!! Does she want to build STTA from stretch,
when we just wins a Silver Medal and she sitting on the seat for
a month?
Even the soft spoken SG IOC member Ng Ser Miang said:
''I am shocked at the timing as well as the manner in which
this decision has been made.''
''I am quite puzzled as to how a decision like that can be made
by The STTA president ,who has been in office for just over a month.''
Manager Antony Lee said he was not told about the firing nor asked
to explain the incident.He said he deserved a little bit of respect.
I agree with Mr Lee,even SG did not win any medal.
He should had been asked to explain after
tomorrow Celebration Party.There was no human touch
and lack of communications in the handling of this case.
The timing and manner need to be investigated.
We just wins a medal and she want to get new CEO and Technical
Director for STTA!! What are the grounds?She better explain
to all stake holders,including LHL!!
I think Sports Council,SG Olymlics Committee,MCYS and
even LHL shall look into this matter.
It was wrong to bark right after the match of Gao Ning
http://preview.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_270893.html
What troubled me was not that he lost, but the outburst by Ms Lee Bee Wah, president of the Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) about her unhappiness over the absence of a coach on the sidelines while Gao Ning played. As the new president of the association, I suppose Ms Lee must have high expectations of her team and I can understand her frustration when things did not go as planned. But to speak to the Press in a post-game interview in an accusing manner was totally uncalled for, especially knowing that our player is still in contention for a medal. If I were on the coaching staff, I am sure my morale would be affected; how would I be able to carry on doing a good job with the remaining games? Ms Lee should have aired her displeasure behind closed doors with the board of the STTA after the Olympics and not on national television. If we want to continue to celebrate more successes, we urgently need to learn how to manage our failures.'
Lack of human touch and without hearing explanations
http://news.asiaone.com/News/the%2BStraits%2BTimes/Story/A1Story20080824-83872.html
In a shock announcement, Singapore Table Tennis Association president Lee Bee Wah told The Sunday Times yesterday that the services of team manager Antony Lee are not needed anymore.
Some view as not only too rash but also harsh, is sure to put a dampener on the team's scheduled celebrations when they arrive back in Singapore tomorrow.
Ms Lee, who took over as STTA president, her first foray into sports, said: 'I have a new team and will have a new CEO and technical director. It is best that the manager is chosen by them. Antony is welcome to apply for the position when we ask for applications.' But a clearly upset Mr Lee, 39, did not take kindly to the news.

http://www.stta.org.sg/profiles/index.php
where is Fang Tien wei photo?
Well well well, I still think China won both the Gold and Silver in the woman team event. All imported "Talent" my foot. Look at Susilo, drop out of study on the pretext of wanting to do well in badminton, I think he spend more time in BEDmintion. Always excuse for losing. 1 win against China number one is his only talk of topic and I guess that will be his only talk for a long long time.
The Table Tennis is a joke, Feng just became citizen this year Jan and spend her training in China for 3 years or more. The other two, haha keep losing to ranking lower then them. Li JW ranked 6th in the world and lost to Korean rank 11th. Both time in major events...what a joke. Our man team, what a shame, cry because no coach and did not even try. Throw away the game and put the blame on no coach. Come on, he is better off saying is nanny is not there.
Bottom line, if we want ot win Gold, try giving enough money to Michael Phelps and we will have 8 or more in the next Olympic. No glory when everyone buying "talent" and very blind doing it or maybe money not enough.
I wonder at the rate this dismissal of the coach, what is the govt going to say on this?