Wah imagine those who have Old Communicator or O2 model fones! Terrible la...Aftr that walk like cowboy liao!!
Eh thot this thread was to see comments on migrating youngsters? ...how come become vibrator talk...hahahaha
The main reasons cited for such a move included the desire to have a slower pace of life, lower cost of living and a more pleasant environment.
May i add... Overcrowding, no sense of belonging, no end of work in sight, persistent incoming threat to ricebowl.
600k sgd should be enough to survive in a country where everything is cheaper and life is slower right?
Actually to me 600k also enoughjt for retirement in singapore, even with spouse... prob is.. I cant imagine myself accumulating that amount...
Originally posted by whiskers:prob is.. I cant imagine myself accumulating that amount...
can one....here's how
1. believe
2. work at it..
3. visualize.
when you eventually got your $600k, or even more, look back and you'll see all 3 elements come to play.
me? i dun need so much for now, just a bit less and i am there already. my bar is set low.....
not surprise at all.
i definitely one. come on gals, give PAP more babies for replacement!!
Originally posted by Beautiful951:
you mean he left his mother in s'pore?
Yes, the mother is lookin after the sick father in Singapore. She considers herself old to migrate to be with her daughter in the US.
It is very common these days to have kids who migrated overseas to get their parents to join them. YOU have in mind to migrate?
Originally posted by reyes:not surprise at all.
i definitely one. come on gals, give PAP more babies for replacement!!
Both males and females are responsible for babies, not females alone. In singapore, we must do some calculations before couples say yes or no to having babies.
well, making babies is the easy part. raising it is expensive business, and not just in financial terms.
Originally posted by burg:well, making babies is the easy part. raising it is expensive business, and not just in financial terms.
And the heartbreaking part is the stinking meritocracy.
Bring them into this world, only to be behind the long queue of FT.
Originally posted by 4sg:
And the heartbreaking part is the stinking meritocracy.
Bring them into this world, only to be behind the long queue of FT.
I wonder if bringing in foreign professional really create employment for local as claimed by govt?
A HDB flat in this country can enable a local to buy two houses in Perth, Australia.
Originally posted by will4:
I wonder if bringing in foreign professional really create employment for local as claimed by govt?
1) Revenue......
2) compliant and grateful FT who can make their bundle of money here and who are willing to vote for PAP so that they can keep their margin of safety of votes at 10% above 50% ie above 60%.
Originally posted by angel7030:
i use my handphone silent mode vibrator can liao.
i luv those vibes :)
Just like to get comments from all you forumites here.
is it considered breaking any law to call new immigrants, of say Australia, who removed all their cpf from singapore LOSERs?
My naughty cousin keep saying that to my another cousin.
Originally posted by 4sg:
1) Revenue......2) compliant and grateful FT who can make their bundle of money here and who are willing to vote for PAP so that they can keep their margin of safety of votes at 10% above 50% ie above 60%.
1) I think u might b refreing to those foreign professional under work permit as their employers need to pay levy n more expensive for those not skilled personnel.
2) I happened to bump into ungrateful foreign profesional n they mentioned work under local not happy.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
i luv those vibes :)Just like to get comments from all you forumites here.
is it considered breaking any law to call new immigrants, of say Australia, who removed all their cpf from singapore LOSERs?
My naughty cousin keep saying that to my another cousin.
U really need to ask urself what is the meaning of loser? If local migrated to other countries losers, the govt might not b asking them
to come back. There is an article which mentioned this country as a golden cage by the local staying abroad for many years.
1) I think u might b refreing to those foreign professional under work permit as their employers need to pay levy n more expensive for those not skilled personnel.
2) I happened to bump into ungrateful foreign profesional n they mentioned work under local not happy.
1) not just the collection of direct tax such as work permit levy but also road tax, ARF etc. Also the collection of indirect tax such as GST, ERP, entertainment tax etc. Generally, more FT, more collection of all kind of taxes.
2) But you should also see another pic. I had with me foreign classmates, all are Master, MBBS, PhD in a class of local dip and basic deg. We will work under them and not they work under us, you know.
Originally posted by 4sg:1) not just the collection of direct tax such as work permit levy but also road tax, ARF etc. Also the collection of indirect tax such as GST, ERP, entertainment tax etc. Generally, more FT, more collection of all kind of taxes.
2) But you should also see another pic. I had with me foreign classmates, all are Master, MBBS, PhD in a class of local dip and basic deg. We will work under them and not they work under us, you know.
1) I kind to agreed to ur statement.
2) I read from some articles or heard from my fren some of the foreign professional are troublemakers.
U really need to ask urself what is the meaning of loser? If local migrated to other countries losers, the govt might not b asking them
to come back. There is an article which mentioned this country as a golden cage by the local staying abroad for many years.
Losser is a name the govt given to label the ex-sg to shame them. The govt realizes that the foreigners who migrate here are also loser to their home country. So they stop using such term now.
I cam across an article, not sure if it is the same as yours. These locals are staying abroad because they've accumulated lower wealth and poorer skill sets over the years. Therefore, they dare not come back.
Imagine this, you use two linear curves one steep, one not. The steeper one would be the income if they stay and the other if they work overeas.
I know some would dispute with me. But please understands that not all who works overeas are professional. I personally know ppl who have only O levels and were forced to work overseas, esp the recession period.
Sadly, this is the group that is fearfully of coming back.
1) I kind to agreed to ur statement.
2) I read from some articles or heard from my fren some of the foreign professional are troublemakers.
2) You bet, you should go to another thread where I talked about how my FT classmate chased my local classmate girl - no respect, no 'hiu' on things local, no discretion in tactics, 'I-better-than-u' attitude. I tell you, I really control, control like hell......
Another guy, we were good friend but for some strange reason behave like a gangster....
All these ppl got Master, MD one, u know?
Originally posted by will4:A HDB flat in this country can enable a local to buy two houses in Perth, Australia.
True true. . . . . . and with S$200k you can buy land and build house in Denmark.
4sg,
I disagree with your point that overseas Singapore accumulated poor skill sets and as such will be at a disadvantage when they return to Singapore.
Since Jan this year, the Singapore Goverment has been organising overseas meetings among Singaporeans who have been working overseas in UK and US and the meetings has been taking place in cities like London, New York and cities in Australia.
I was fortunate enough to be attending one of these meetups and met many Singaporeans in London who are in very well known companies in UK. After the gathering we were also invited for lunch and I got a chance to network with the overseas Singaporeans based in UK. I can assure you that if you are in excellent financial companies like Lehman Brothers, Goldman Sachs or Citigroup, you are in a much better position than most Singaporeans working in banks.
You have no idea the degree of competition required in order to obtain a job in such an organisation because you have to compete with the top students from Cambridge and Oxford and the talented foreigners from the Ivy League Unis in the US for a job. When you inside such an organistion, you have to demonstrate assertiveness, courage to speak out, and express yourself like a gentlemen. This is not something that can be done without hard work and perseverance and especially cannot be learnt and taught in Singapore schools.
Therefore I personally feel that Singaporeans who are working overseas represent Singapore in their own way. I must admit that I was initially disappointed with being labelled losers when I first heard about it. However I am quite sure the truth will prevail eventually, and the fact is that if you do live and work in Singapore, you will have limitations unless you are in a field thoroughly encouraged by the Goverment.
People who migrate due to no like the condition here
is good for the majority as this minority is becoming even more minor.
Soon, all dissent is gone.
And incoming the influx.
come here means like it here.
guess what that mean?
Extinction.