Originally posted by angel7030:Renting is less permanent then 99years leasing, at any moment, the landlord can ask you to leave, without any compensation.
Almost correct.
99year lease .. you compensate to the banks already.
Originally posted by redDUST:is a freehold apartment in singapore truly freehold?
if so, then the angmos' can buy these and not the 99yr leasehold in angmokios...
you got me there reddy boy.
What's the big diffy if both are same same ah ?
Originally posted by baby hunter:i still dun get ur pt y we shd support CSJ?
althought i'm nt PAP supportor either! i only support which ever party that can talk sence, with great idea & really can do somethings for the ppl.
nt those " siao gao" that make use of public's fun & only kn how to kpkb & without any better idea to serve the ppl.
Because only Dr Chee is the only one making any real changes in Singapore.
He is the only one standing up to the despots which forces them to increase Progress Package, for example and forcing them to relax the internet podcasts.
If Singapore has only the dogs supporting the despots and the compliant opposition, together with the controlled media, nothing will change and it will only get worse.
The youths of Singapore will only become more and more pitiful where they will have their "future earnings" extracted from them by government policies and no one to do anything about that.
At least Dr Chee will protest the high cost of living even if the despots put him in jail.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Almost correct.
99year lease .. you compensate to the banks already.
at least it is counted as an asset that contribute to the mini sum required for CPF withdrawer mah. And even if you decided to sell it, you still fetch good income for you, but for rental, you got nothing.
Originally posted by angel7030:
at least it is counted as an asset that contribute to the mini sum required for CPF withdrawer mah. And even if you decided to sell it, you still fetch good income for you, but for rental, you got nothing.
Fetch good income ? True in those days when Singapore was still developing lor.
But now that development saturated already ... some people no longer making much from lease resale.
The younger generations are getting the shorter end of the stick leh.
Also.. anything with an expiry date sure got depreciation one. Only HDB market can defy economic logic. 9th Wonder of the World.. really.
So hor.. is it really still so worth it to lease 99 years vs just get rental from HDB ?
Is our gahmen in denial .. or we the people are in denial ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Fetch good income ? True in those days when Singapore was still developing lor.
But now that development saturated already ... some people no longer making much from lease resale.
The younger generations are getting the shorter end of the stick leh.
Also.. anything with an expiry date sure got depreciation one. Only HDB market can defy economic logic. 9th Wonder of the World.. really.
So hor.. is it really still so worth it to lease 99 years vs just get rental from HDB ?
Is our gahmen in denial .. or we the people are in denial ?
but at least you got an asset to hold on to it. As far as i know, in the earlier years, most singaporeans rent flat build by HDB, then LKY said all singaporean will own a house and a roof on their head. So HDB start selling house on 99 lease, and now, we go back to rent again??? Wow!
Like this, i also want to rent out my 2nd storey rooms lor...
Originally posted by angel7030:but at least you got an asset to hold on to it. As far as i know, in the earlier years, most singaporeans rent flat build by HDB, then LKY said all singaporean will own a house and a roof on their head. So HDB start selling house on 99 lease, and now, we go back to rent again??? Wow!
Like this, i also want to rent out my 2nd storey rooms lor...
Asset must be in fixed asset/property meh ? No mah.
Assets in savings or other form of investment also can mah.
Renting also a roof over our heads leh.Nowadays with the enbloc sagas.. leasing or renting same same lor.. where got security ? So renting from HDB is same as leasing from HDB wat.
Somemore.. renting.. you only pay month by month... "leasing" must outfront so much leh.
Your second story room.. is store room har ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Asset must be in fixed asset/property meh ? No mah.
Assets in savings or other form of investment also can mah.
Renting also a roof over our heads leh.Nowadays with the enbloc sagas.. leasing or renting same same lor.. where got security ? So renting from HDB is same as leasing from HDB wat.
Somemore.. renting.. you only pay month by month... "leasing" must outfront so much leh.
Your second story room.. is store room har ?
But is still part of an asset mah, be it tangible or intangible, of cos you can hv other assets, however the psychology here is, you feel owned by having a house, a feeling of belonging and most of HDB owners (99 years only) can rent his/her flat to make more money too.
So let balance the sheet, rental, no return. And leasing, return depend on market rates. Rental pay in cash, Leasing by CPF. Long term, rental, no gain and goes up. Leasing, long term, housing may appreciate and decrease in payment as liability sum get smaller.
Not my store room lah, my toilets for rental.
Originally posted by angel7030:
But is still part of an asset mah, be it tangible or intangible, of cos you can hv other assets, however the psychology here is, you feel owned by having a house, a feeling of belonging and most of HDB owners (99 years only) can rent his/her flat to make more money too.So let balance the sheet, rental, no return. And leasing, return depend on market rates. Rental pay in cash, Leasing by CPF. Long term, rental, no gain and goes up. Leasing, long term, housing may appreciate and decrease in payment as liability sum get smaller.
Not my store room lah, my toilets for rental.
Aiyo.. it's all how the policy is being worded mah.
If HDB allow renters to pay rent with CPF.. is sama sama mah.
Pay interest rates vs pay rent.....
You own only the lease.. then you sub lease... to other renters. Or you rent.. and then sub-rent to other renters.. ... what's the diff ? Only thing is ..HDB no allow sub-rent.. but can sub-lease... harlow... like allow you to shit.. vs not allow you to shit in their toilet only wat.
Then how much should we pay for a lease for a 3 room flat that only has 10 years left on it ? Current market rate for 3 room flat ... say... $200K ? Cannot be mah.
Then you paying interest on a asset that has a depreciation due to a expiration.. like that is making meh ? Even the HDB wants to buy back your remainder lease so you can top up your minimum sum.. they apply a straight line depreciation on the value.
Machiam a con job leh....bery confused.
Then you put 100K in the HDB.. consider asset.. I put the difference in not paying the interest in other investments to earn money.. is also asset..the only difference is I control the asset and all asset in my own name.. but for you.. is HDB control the asset..because the property is still belong to HDB leh. So technically speaking hor.. your asset is only in the lease ownership.
Oh , you want to rent out how much ? I consider..business must be good for a toilet jagar job.. your location is very prime.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
one of my dad's friend bought a 2 room HDB for $20,000 about maybe less than 20 years ago, today it's worth $210,000.
but he can't sell it, else no place to live, it's a feel good effect that you own such an expensive property.
what's so expensive when everyone else is living in one....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
At least Dr Chee will protest the high cost of living even if the despots put him in jail.
.... and after that when dr chee is successful, the cost of living will go down....
.... might as well send dr chee to OPEC.... the petrol cost will also go down....
good source of revenue for govt thru HDB. Buying a HDB flat is subject to the whimps and fancies of the govt. Subject to be asked to get lost and accept en bloc.
Originally posted by Fantagf:good source of revenue for govt thru HDB. Buying a HDB flat is subject to the whimps and fancies of the govt. Subject to be asked to get lost and accept en bloc.
Come to think about it.
If you are caught throwing litter from your flat or commit some housing related offence, apparently the HDB can take back your flat.
So the flat I guess, is technically not yours. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:
Come to think about it.
If you are caught throwing litter from your flat or commit some housing related offence, apparently the HDB can take back your flat.
So the flat I guess, is technically not yours.
they ban u from buy/rent higher floors lah, force u to live in lower floors
Originally posted by Fantagf:good source of revenue for govt thru HDB. Buying a HDB flat is subject to the whimps and fancies of the govt. Subject to be asked to get lost and accept en bloc.
Actually.. smart lease owners will get rid of the lease before the 50 year mark.
Because when the reality of depreciation sets in, somebody's gonna start losing money.
Originally posted by charlize:
Come to think about it.
So the flat I guess, is technically not yours.
My neighbour committed the offence of throwing packets of water, was found out by the police but still own the flat.
What the authority told me was the walls outside the flat belong to the govt, so if anyone vandalise it, will be charged. Very ridiculous. So the owners of HDB do not own the outside walls surrounding their units, unreasonable, unbelieveable.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Actually.. smart lease owners will get rid of the lease before the 50 year mark.
Because when the reality of depreciation sets in, somebody's gonna start losing money.
Unfortunately, not many know about this. Some of them own both flats and private properties. They rent their flats for extra income.
Originally posted by Fantagf:My neighbour committed the offence of throwing packets of water, was found out by the police but still own the flat.
What the authority told me was the walls outside the flat belong to the govt, so if anyone vandalise it, will be charged. Very ridiculous. So the owners of HDB do not own the outside walls surrounding their units, unreasonable, unbelieveable.
its quite reasonable actually because if you owned the wall and decide to do some graffiti on your own wall, might not be fair to those who share the same lift lobby or corridor in which they pass by everyday. and some people who are unfortunate enough to purchase corner flats might not have much wall to do their art as you have.
But personally, i feel that if i could, i would like to have my own wall and vandalise it.
Originally posted by ivebeenhad:its quite reasonable actually because if you owned the wall and decide to do some graffiti on your own wall, might not be fair to those who share the same lift lobby or corridor in which they pass by everyday. and some people who are unfortunate enough to purchase corner flats might not have much wall to do their art as you have.
But personally, i feel that if i could, i would like to have my own wall and vandalise it.
You are talking crap and slapping yourself.
Originally posted by ivebeenhad:its quite reasonable actually because if you owned the wall and decide to do some graffiti on your own wall, might not be fair to those who share the same lift lobby or corridor in which they pass by everyday. and some people who are unfortunate enough to purchase corner flats might not have much wall to do their art as you have.
I think Changi Prison got many walls.
Originally posted by jojobeach:
I think Changi Prison got many walls.
Unfortunately, he can't own the walls in Changi Prison.
Originally posted by Fantagf:My neighbour committed the offence of throwing packets of water, was found out by the police but still own the flat.
if you own the flat outside the walls, you can make changes to it.... different color, different surfaces....
i believe even for condos, you cannot vandalise the outside walls.
Originally posted by Rednano:
no money, rent a room lah...
in fact, the british govt copied singapore's move of getting citizens to own their own houses when LKY set up HDB, instead of the popular renting of flats in britain. saw this in a documentary on discovery channel.
LKY said this during his days as PM, "the govt give u food, shelter and a job. citizens just work for the economy to rise"
i still remember i paying the rotiprata i ate this morning myself... give me food? joking right u?
Originally posted by youyayu:i still remember i paying the rotiprata i ate this morning myself... give me food? joking right u?
They are used to telling lies. It is in the nature of despots.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
They are used to telling lies. It is in the nature of despots.
yeah right..... mr author, when is your book coming out? or are you also a liar?