Originally posted by sgdiehard:The singapore table tennis team, the STTA have shown Singaporean that we have the facilities, we have the world standard training, world class coaches and everything you need to be a world class table tennis players, are singaporean inspired, motivated, enough to do your own part for the game, especially those true blue Singaporean, born in Singapore? If somebody can do it with just one year as Singaporean, what more can you do, having born and grow up in Singapore?
Its a silly to think the Tennis players relied only on one or half a year here to improve. These atheletes came this year and another mid year and they spent their whole life training outside Singapore. It only shows how good china is at training Table Tennis Players, or at best how goos Singapore is at buying Table Tennis player. Can Singapore produce atheletes and export them like China?
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:The general public is ruled by emotions, more than rational.
I guess LBW will never have a chance to clarify her stand.
There will never be any better time to sack the manager.
If she need to reform some system in her association, she have the right and decision to do so.
I believe that there must be some things that have prompted her to take such drastic and unpopular actions.
As I mentioned before, she is actually doing her job during her stay in peking instead of looking like a siao cha bor in front of TV.
Unlike her fellow poodles and especially prata man who have no reason to be there except to eat peking duck.
I guess she must have mingled around with the players to understand how they operate and any area that requires any changes.
So, I guess patience is required.
It is better than some mini-ster saying some jobs may be lost, but higher paying job will also be created at the same time.
How can high paid job be created in a company that is practising retrenchment ??
What a piece of crap !!!!
The general public is ruled by emotions, more than rational.
Especially when nobody can see the rational beside the decision.
I hope the team manager and the head coach have the chance to explain themselves also.
but this is the worst time ever, win silver medal still sack the coach and the manager, are we looking for Gold?
If she need to reform some system in her association, she have the right and decision to do so.
I believe that there must be some things that have prompted her to take such drastic and unpopular actions.
actually everybody know what are the good reasons for such as drastic decision.
As I mentioned before, she is actually doing her job during her stay in peking instead of looking like a siao cha bor in front of TV.
May be is it her job to be a siao cha bor. this is not the first time she acts like that.
Fully agree.
How can high paid job be created in a company that is practising retrenchment ??
Absolutely, you can't run a sport association like running a profit oriented company.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:The general public is ruled by emotions, more than rational.
Especially when nobody can see the rational beside the decision.
I hope the team manager and the head coach have the chance to explain themselves also.
but this is the worst time ever, win silver medal still sack the coach and the manager, are we looking for Gold?
actually everybody know what are the good reasons for such as drastic decision.
May be is it her job to be a siao cha bor. this is not the first time she acts like that.
Fully agree.
Absolutely, you can't run a sport association like running a profit oriented company.
that's what s'pore are "good" at mah......
they're even running a country like running a profit making coy liao...
Originally posted by baby hunter:
CEO of Apple need not kn how to manufacture a 3G iPhone.not necessary for Bil gate to kn how to design a 'Window" program.
Bill gate did programmed window.
I had always enjoyed TOC's articles now and then when i want some off-beat amusements. It's articles are filled with fantasizes and delusions akin to UK tabloids of elvis sightings, UFOs, alien abduction and the what nots.
But the latest article on the MP Lee sarga irks me much in their deluded attempts to portray themselves as serious alternative voices, which every serious alternative political parties and supporters should avoid and distance themselves away from. In their hate for the ruling party, they had allow that hatred to consume them and forgotten what alternative views are about - the Nation, our country.
To spare all reading the delusional diatribe from TOC, here's a summary of what that article posted on Page 3 is all about:-
a.) MP Lee BW has no integrity nor any accountability
b.) MP Lee BW had been high-handed in her approach.
In their hatred of the ruling party, they once again as often, ignored facts.
a.) Gao Ning battled ALONE a 'so-called' mediocre opponent whom won.
b.) Out of 5 coaches. not even 1 was present for a running match to provide analysis and support, at an Olympic level and not a friendly neighbourhood competition.
I am a neutral political person, take no sides, but I certainly would and had made a stand on MP Lee's decisions. I am glad she stood up for our player, wearing our flag, first as a citizen, then the President of the player's association, and finally, an accountable public figure as an MP.
She had shown her courage and mettle, to stand up for the common guy represented by the player under her charge, and based on irrefutable facts of negligence under public eyes, to chastisize those responsible for the unforgivable negligence.
She did it without a care or wit who it was, what they had contributed, without fear or favour, or hiding anything. as should we all, being a nation of equals, proves her integrity to her oath as an MP.
That she decided to let the matter rest, shows her accountability as the President of her Association. She had that power as a President to hire and fire, and rather than to hang the team manager in public, the response was the manager would not have his contract renewed, but allowed to reapply again, under the responsibility of the new CEO. Her compassion showed.
Thus TOC had been blind to call her actions high handed. A wrong had been committed and her response was swift. To call her high handed would mean TOC, supposedly an alternative voice,is advocating making decisions behind close doors. kissing butts, sweeping mistakes under the carpet. This is not democracy. This is worse than N.Korean authoritarian methods.
The writer ought to be sacked for advocating such means.
I for one, am glad there are people like MP Lee BW around, without fear and favour to denounce what is so obviously wrong and clear cut.
We want medals and success, but we will not compromise our principles for it. We may fudge a little, for it is not written on stone, with the concepts, but it's core remains, had done so and been guided by this doctrine for the past 43 years, from nothing to something of today.
Originally posted by xtreyier:I had always enjoyed TOC's articles now and then when i want some off-beat amusements. It's articles are filled with fantasizes and delusions akin to UK tabloids of elvis sightings, UFOs, alien abduction and the what nots.
But the latest article on the MP Lee sarga irks me much in their deluded attempts to portray themselves as serious alternative voices, which every serious alternative political parties and supporters should avoid and distance themselves away from. In their hate for the ruling party, they had allow that hatred to consume them and forgotten what alternative views are about - the Nation, our country.
To spare all reading the delusional diatribe from TOC, here's a summary of what that article posted on Page 3 is all about:-
b.) Out of 5 coaches. not even 1 was present for a running match to provide analysis and support, at an Olympic level and not a friendly neighbourhood competition.
I am a neutral political person, take no sides, but I certainly would and had made a stand on MP Lee's decisions. I am glad she stood up for our player, wearing our flag, first as a citizen, then the President of the player's association, and finally, an accountable public figure as an MP.
She had shown her courage and mettle, to stand up for the common guy represented by the player under her charge, and based on irrefutable facts of negligence under public eyes, to chastisize those responsible for the unforgivable negligence.
She did it without a care or wit who it was, what they had contributed, without fear or favour, or hiding anything. as should we all, being a nation of equals, proves her integrity to her oath as an MP.
That she decided to let the matter rest, shows her accountability as the President of her Association. She had that power as a President to hire and fire, and rather than to hang the team manager in public, the response was the manager would not have his contract renewed, but allowed to reapply again, under the responsibility of the new CEO. Her compassion showed.
Thus TOC had been blind to call her actions high handed. A wrong had been committed and her response was swift. To call her high handed would mean TOC, supposedly an alternative voice,is advocating making decisions behind close doors. kissing butts, sweeping mistakes under the carpet. This is not democracy. This is worse than N.Korean authoritarian methods.
I for one, am glad there are people like MP Lee BW around, without fear and favour to denounce what is so obviously wrong and clear cut.
We want medals and success, but we will not compromise our principles for it. We may fudge a little, for it is not written on stone, with the concepts, but it's core remains, had done so and been guided by this doctrine for the past 43 years, from nothing to something of today.
X1 well said ![]()
Originally posted by zennyzen:
Bill gate did programmed window.
i never said he din, I said nt necessary ![]()
& I dun think he still doing the programming for the past 10 yrs.
what Im trying to emphasize is, nt necessary for a head of an organisation to kn or to do what their ppl doing, most important is to get the rite ppl to do the rite job.
dun tell me ur coy hire a CEO to do sales? or to run a machine? ![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Well, depends to whom you give the glory for the medal. Singapore worked for 48 years, STTA have been working for don't know how many years, then come this Silver medal. and the players, come here one year and get silver medal in olympics, they must be good, but even they don't take the whole credit for themselves.
Yes, some of the players are new in our team, but they have taken the decision to fulfil the dream even to the extent of migrating to the country who accept their dream. They have gone a long way in fulfilling their dream. Many players work their whole life but win nothing, guess they had wasted their time lah... this is not sporting spirit.
Tiger Woods started playing golf at 2 yrs old, Michael Phelps started swimming at 7...what they went through, lost time for social life, studies, vigourous training, overcoming injuries....if they don't make it, you won't know they exist. Now you know there is a Li Jia Wei, Feng Tian Wei, Wang Yue Gu, and Tan Hao Liang, at least in Singapore.
Somebody wrote in the papers today, "In olympic, big countries look for results, small countries value their participation; The real Olympic spirit values involvement more than winning medals; in life, how you live your life matters more than what you achieve." and being involved is more than just going there, join in the opening and closing ceremony .
The singapore table tennis team, the STTA have shown Singaporean that we have the facilities, we have the world standard training, world class coaches and everything you need to be a world class table tennis players, are singaporean inspired, motivated, enough to do your own part for the game, especially those true blue Singaporean, born in Singapore? If somebody can do it with just one year as Singaporean, what more can you do, having born and grow up in Singapore?
If these people can't, then they can argue against FT, call it fake medals, blah blah blah, until their face turned green, nobody will remember who they are, true blue singaporean with green face, hahaha.
In the mean time, the three paddlers will be remembered, together with Tan Hao Liang, as Singapore's olympic medalists, in the new history of Singapore, and Singaporean, born here or otherwise, will continue to rejoice with them.
you write much but says little.
1. "singapore worked for 48yrs to get a olympic medal". you claim to be living in singapore all these while? singapore, until is last 8 years or so, literally `bo hiu' sports. the "sports for all" motto says it all.
2. "Many players work their whole life but win nothing, guess they had wasted their time lah... this is not sporting spirit." with this kind of comment, i take it that you don't do sports at all. that much is revealed about you.
3. players train their whole life. you write it well. singapore got them over, at least the 2 of them, and in less than 12 months, claim credit for its success. that goes against what you said. this is a (BIG) loophole in the rules. the international table tennis association should at least impose a 12months stay period for eligibility. singapore did well to spot this loophole.
4. correction, tan howe liang is remembered only once every 4 years.
rogue trader, jordan belfort once wrote something to this effect, " when i first cross the line (committed the crime), i was a little vary of it. but after a while, i was so far out from the line that my instinct tells me to heck it and go all the way". btw, jordon got caught; wrote an amazingly funny, tell all book called the "wolf of wall street". singapore is in a similar predicament. it cross the line (though not illegally) by getting all foreigners, 2 of which are literally newly minted citizens to help her win an olympic silver. after a while, these sports policy maker will think that it is not so bad at all, since glories is what is the end state. when the mojority of singapore sports then start to rain in the medals, all but using foreigners, then singapore will be numbed to all these `quick fixes'. personally, i won't celebrate such success.
Originally posted by xtreyier:I had always enjoyed TOC's articles now and then when i want some off-beat amusements. It's articles are filled with fantasizes and delusions akin to UK tabloids of elvis sightings, UFOs, alien abduction and the what nots.
what's TOC? sorry, i am still `asleep'...
just curious, are we all just looking at tip of iceberg and yet we are so ready to cast our judgement??
just goes to show how fast we condemn people here.
Originally posted by iceFatboy:just curious, are we all just looking at tip of iceberg and yet we are so ready to cast our judgement??
just goes to show how fast we condemn people here.
If a TV programme that is watched by 4 billion people, some in Live Telecast as well, to make a judgement on what is blatantly happening in front of each 8 billion eyeballs and incapable of making one simple assesment, then it goes to show how inept and low down in principles one is.
TOC:- a blog site.
I think that LBW certainly screwed up the handling of the saga and should have shown more EQ. And not appear like someone who makes unfair and rash decisions.
On the other hand, isn't the team manager the one to organise the team, including the coaches? Shouldn't he be aware of the match being delayed and the need to reassign coaches? In that case Anthony has certainly made a serious screw up, one bad enough to call for sacking.
Originally posted by nonameguy:I think that LBW certainly screwed up the handling of the saga and should have shown more EQ. And not appear like someone who makes unfair and rash decisions.
On the other hand, isn't the team manager the one to organise the team, including the coaches? Shouldn't he be aware of the match being delayed and the need to reassign coaches? In that case Anthony has certainly made a serious screw up, one bad enough to call for sacking.
so....what's urs view? ![]()
Agreed wif the decision from LBW?
or the Anthony deserve to be sack?
Originally posted by Tigosing:dun think see know wat is ping pong ball.
TIGOSING - Why you sent me a private message and F uck me ? Had I cross your line ? we have even never chat before ...
Originally posted by baby hunter:so....what's urs view?
Agreed wif the decision from LBW?
or the Anthony deserve to be sack?
Should sack both of them.... Anthony for not doing his job and LBW for not acting professionally.
Originally posted by redDUST:you write much but says little.
1. "singapore worked for 48yrs to get a olympic medal". you claim to be living in singapore all these while? singapore, until is last 8 years or so, literally `bo hiu' sports. the "sports for all" motto says it all.
2. "Many players work their whole life but win nothing, guess they had wasted their time lah... this is not sporting spirit." with this kind of comment, i take it that you don't do sports at all. that much is revealed about you.
3. players train their whole life. you write it well. singapore got them over, at least the 2 of them, and in less than 12 months, claim credit for its success. that goes against what you said. this is a (BIG) loophole in the rules. the international table tennis association should at least impose a 12months stay period for eligibility. singapore did well to spot this loophole.
4. correction, tan howe liang is remembered only once every 4 years.
rogue trader, jordan belfort once wrote something to this effect, " when i first cross the line (committed the crime), i was a little vary of it. but after a while, i was so far out from the line that my instinct tells me to heck it and go all the way". btw, jordon got caught; wrote an amazingly funny, tell all book called the "wolf of wall street". singapore is in a similar predicament. it cross the line (though not illegally) by getting all foreigners, 2 of which are literally newly minted citizens to help her win an olympic silver. after a while, these sports policy maker will think that it is not so bad at all, since glories is what is the end state. when the mojority of singapore sports then start to rain in the medals, all but using foreigners, then singapore will be numbed to all these `quick fixes'. personally, i won't celebrate such success.
your mind is prejudiced with the little you know. anything else you don't agree means nothing to you. Typical.
1. Singapore 'bo hiu' sports in the past and only 'hiu' since 8 years ago?
Singapore's focus on sport was mainly in soccer, swimming, and probably water polo... because of what we could do in Seap games, SEA games, then Asian games, these were where we could compete a little. we had great atheletes like Patricia Chan, Junie Sng, Joceslin Yeo, Ang Peng Siong. Never had the standard to talk about Olympic. Tan How Liang's photo is on the wall of Singapore Sport Council, the Weight Lifting Association... what you don't see doesn't mean they never exist. you live in Singapore all these while? probably too young to know, or simply never hiu? I don't care if you are in any sports or just play computer games, with your kind of attitude towards sports and sportsmen, it is no wonder singapore sports could go far in the past.
2. We follow International Olympic Committee rulings, and other international bodies on who are qualified to represent us in such international meets. and we are only interested in their games and their rulings.
You can set your own ruling and play with yourself.
We never miss people like you in our celebration.
Originally posted by kilua:Its a silly to think the Tennis players relied only on one or half a year here to improve. These atheletes came this year and another mid year and they spent their whole life training outside Singapore. It only shows how good china is at training Table Tennis Players, or at best how goos Singapore is at buying Table Tennis player. Can Singapore produce atheletes and export them like China?
Unlike some other sports in some other countries, the paddlers of Singapore only showed their potential, but have not achieved anything internationally before they came to Singapore. There is no certificate of warranty that they will succeed and win.
What really is important is that we have the facility, the coach, the program and most importantly, the environment to allow them to develop further their potential. That is why the credit is not to the athelete alone.
Imagine we buy in a marathon runner, he will have to practice alone all the time. hahaha...
Can we produce atheletes for export? we are too small, too few people to choose from, and we don't have the tradition to select and train good sport. Indonesia has the tradition (including the coach, the environment..) to come out with good badminton players, Malaysia is also very good. We are good in swimming, but we need to bring the standard to new height.
Well, Rome is not built in one day, but we must have the dream, and the confidence.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:your mind is prejudiced with the little you know. anything else you don't agree means nothing to you. Typical.
1. Singapore 'bo hiu' sports in the past and only 'hiu' since 8 years ago?
Singapore's focus on sport was mainly in soccer, swimming, and probably water polo... because of what we could do in Seap games, SEA games, then Asian games, these were where we could compete a little. we had great atheletes like Patricia Chan, Junie Sng, Joceslin Yeo, Ang Peng Siong. Never had the standard to talk about Olympic. Tan How Liang's photo is on the wall of Singapore Sport Council, the Weight Lifting Association... what you don't see doesn't mean they never exist. you live in Singapore all these while? probably too young to know, or simply never hiu? I don't care if you are in any sports or just play computer games, with your kind of attitude towards sports and sportsmen, it is no wonder singapore sports could go far in the past.
2. We follow International Olympic Committee rulings, and other international bodies on who are qualified to represent us in such international meets. and we are only interested in their games and their rulings.
You can set your own ruling and play with yourself.
We never miss people like you in our celebration.
ahh......such graceful reply...
1. i am not denying that we have good athletes. i am saying that it is not the gahmen's policy to promote sports excellence until recently. there is distinct difference between the 2. do you even know when you type this reply? we win waterpolo in sea, so what (with due respect to the w/polo team)? outside of sea, we are minnows. duh, put photos of athletes in ssc office means something? how about something more tangible? i hope at least you got a photo of your mum in at your home. it sure means something to you. but your mum might be slighted becos maybe that's all you do, nothing much else.
have you spoken to these athletes in person to ask them what kind of support they get as they pursue their dreams? i have, including some of the luminaries you named above.
2. again, i am not saying we broke the rules to win. so, what's your point, really? write just for the sake of writing?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
Unlike some other sports in some other countries, the paddlers of Singapore only showed their potential, but have not achieved anything internationally before they came to Singapore. There is no certificate of warranty that they will succeed and win.What really is important is that we have the facility, the coach, the program and most importantly, the environment to allow them to develop further their potential. That is why the credit is not to the athelete alone.
Imagine we buy in a marathon runner, he will have to practice alone all the time. hahaha...
Can we produce atheletes for export? we are too small, too few people to choose from, and we don't have the tradition to select and train good sport. Indonesia has the tradition (including the coach, the environment..) to come out with good badminton players, Malaysia is also very good. We are good in swimming, but we need to bring the standard to new height.
Well, Rome is not built in one day, but we must have the dream, and the confidence.
again, sports exellence has nothing to do with size of population.
it is the system and the `software' that makes the difference, amongst others.
jamaica has a population of just under 3m. how do you explain their recent success?
what about croatia? 4.4m and a soccer powerhouse.
Dumb and disconnected reply for pete's sake....![]()
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Dumb and disconnected reply for pete's sake....
If you still don't realize it by now, i would like to distance myself from you. You are not here for intellectual debate, judging from your posts. You are debating more for EGO's sake, your own hugely overflated one, with your caveliar dismissal of other's opinion.
I have no wish to engage with ego debaters, for i do find it hard to follow their twisting and turning 'roti-prata' logic.
Originally posted by xtreyier:If you still don't realize it by now, i would like to distance myself from you. You are not here for intellectual debate, judging from your posts. You are debating more for EGO's sake, your own hugely overflated one, with your caveliar dismissal of other's opinion.
I have no wish to engage with ego debaters, for i do find it hard to follow their twisting and turning 'roti-prata' logic.
Distance yourself from yourself pls. You obviously haven't read today's sports section in the New Paper huh.
Pple who spew too much hot air should be put in their place. I just do what I can while I'm having my breaks. :D
Originally posted by maurizio13:
she was quite unhappy after gao ning lost the game to croatia, she said on tv that there was no coach present during that game, despite the fact that they brought 5 coaches for the olympic games. there were 2 games going on at that time.
she's sounds abit retarded in her malaysian english.
A bit out of topic...but why bring "malaysia" into this? From your statement, you seemed to be inferring that she sounded a bit "retarded" because she was originally from Malaysia?
Being in the hot seat for only a month, if she had spoken woman to man with Antony Lee, then consulted Project 0812 for their opinions and then make a decision and still decide to do away with Antony Lee's services.....Then I rest my case.
DUE PROCESS, few understand huh. U towkay, got absolute power but if u just sack as u alone deem fit, u think people respect u?
And yesterday, she blamed the fiasco on Peh Shing Huei but today's ST reiterated its stand on the version of events. Haha clown la.