Whatever it is, nobody, not even the despots in Ang Mo Kio GRC thinks that a silver medal won by FAKERY is worth anything and those that participated in the FAKERY should rightly be let go ASAP....
In fact ALL those in the Ang Mo Kio GRC
should hold themselves accountable for the FAKERY and F-off ASAP....
Originally posted by redDUST:ahh......such graceful reply...
1. i am not denying that we have good athletes. i am saying that it is not the gahmen's policy to promote sports excellence until recently. there is distinct difference between the 2. do you even know when you type this reply? we win waterpolo in sea, so what (with due respect to the w/polo team)? outside of sea, we are minnows. duh, put photos of athletes in ssc office means something? how about something more tangible? i hope at least you got a photo of your mum in at your home. it sure means something to you. but your mum might be slighted becos maybe that's all you do, nothing much else.
have you spoken to these athletes in person to ask them what kind of support they get as they pursue their dreams? i have, including some of the luminaries you named above.
2. again, i am not saying we broke the rules to win. so, what's your point, really? write just for the sake of writing?
Of course we don't break rules, but whose rules? we send our representatives according to the rules, if IOC and other world organisations accepted our players as representives of our country, we don't have to follow any rules by some self righteous idiots on who are qualified to represent Singapore. An olympic silver medal is a silver medal, on it nothing is said about quick fix or local born. Hope this is clear enough.
Well, well, talking about "something more tangible". very sad lah, Tao Li is not entitled to anything tangible for this olympic, if anything were to be given to her it is for training her for better future for Singapore. But she is happy because she set new Singapore record, her own best timing, and is the first Singaporean to swim in the final of an olympic event, and we rejoice with her. It is not something more "tangible" that she is receiving.
I am sure Junie Sng didn't put in all her effort to swim for whatever tangible rewards Patricia Chan had received, and Joceslin Yeo certainly was not swimming to achieve anything tangible that is better than what Junie had, and what was Ang Peng Siong swimming for, something more tangible? Or are you saying that they could had done better if the government had provided "something more tangible"? Dont insult our atheletes!
Did Jamaica have "something more tangible" for their atheletes?
It is very sad that we should link every damn thing to "something more tangible". I hope this is not typical Singaporean, and NUS graduates would not want to be associated with such attitude. It is sad that you blame the government for not doing enough but ridicule singapore for being a nanny state. you forgot that it is your mom who gave birth to you, not your nanny. May be its time to put your mom's photo on the wall.
Originally posted by redDUST:again, sports exellence has nothing to do with size of population.
it is the system and the `software' that makes the difference, amongst others.
jamaica has a population of just under 3m. how do you explain their recent success?
what about croatia? 4.4m and a soccer powerhouse.
This I agree. if not Indonesia and India would be harvesting medals. But at the same time, this is a clear demonstration of the "software" that is necessary for training world class sportsman and woman.
Now we know Singapore has the software to train good sportswoman to world standard, that is clearly demonstrated when we see our lady paddlers receiving the silver medals at the olympic. The IOC recognised our standard, they din't say anything about quick fix or local born.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Being in the hot seat for only a month, if she had spoken woman to man with Antony Lee, then consulted Project 0812 for their opinions and then make a decision and still decide to do away with Antony Lee's services.....Then I rest my case.
DUE PROCESS, few understand huh. U towkay, got absolute power but if u just sack as u alone deem fit, u think people respect u?
And yesterday, she blamed the fiasco on Peh Shing Huei but today's ST reiterated its stand on the version of events. Haha clown la.
x 2....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Whatever it is, nobody, not even the despots in Ang Mo Kio GRC thinks that a silver medal won by FAKERY is worth anything and those that participated in the FAKERY should rightly be let go ASAP....
how come I saw your "despots" riding on the open top bus celebrating with our silver medalists? you dreaming again huh... or despots are only some ghosts possessing you...time for you to find an exocist lah....
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Of course we don't break rules, but whose rules? we send our representatives according to the rules, if IOC and other world organisations accepted our players as representives of our country, we don't have to follow any rules by some self righteous idiots on who are qualified to represent Singapore. An olympic silver medal is a silver medal, on it nothing is said about quick fix or local born. Hope this is clear enough.
Well, well, talking about "something more tangible". very sad lah, Tao Li is not entitled to anything tangible for this olympic, if anything were to be given to her it is for training her for better future for Singapore. But she is happy because she set new Singapore record, her own best timing, and is the first Singaporean to swim in the final of an olympic event, and we rejoice with her. It is not something more "tangible" that she is receiving.
I am sure Junie Sng didn't put in all her effort to swim for whatever tangible rewards Patricia Chan had received, and Joceslin Yeo certainly was not swimming to achieve anything tangible that is better than what Junie had, and what was Ang Peng Siong swimming for, something more tangible? Or are you saying that they could had done better if the government had provided "something more tangible"? Dont insult our atheletes!
Did Jamaica have "something more tangible" for their atheletes?
It is very sad that we should link every damn thing to "something more tangible". I hope this is not typical Singaporean, and NUS graduates would not want to be associated with such attitude. It is sad that you blame the government for not doing enough but ridicule singapore for being a nanny state. you forgot that it is your mom who gave birth to you, not your nanny. May be its time to put your mom's photo on the wall.
your selective reading prowess is astounding!
i admit i cannot keep up discussing with you with your tangent replies. i could rebut you point by point but obviously it is not going to do any good becos obviously you didn't get it.
however, i will touch on the `tangible' part. this refers to rewarding howe liang specifically for his olympic silver. reward for performance. if peng siong wins an olympic medal, then i think he deserves it. however, all of them that you mentioned did not win anything at the olympic level. and it has nothing to do with what the preceding athlete has achieved. so, your reply is completely out of context and incomprehensible. and i doubt it is deliberate on your part. it is just you.
as for the rest, i leave it to you basking your glory with your warp views. i can tell you are at your very best when it comes to fitting a square peg in a round hole.
btw, i treat my mum way better, judging by your ineptitude reply.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
apologies - double post....
double post.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:This I agree. if not Indonesia and India would be harvesting medals. But at the same time, this is a clear demonstration of the "software" that is necessary for training world class sportsman and woman.
Now we know Singapore has the software to train good sportswoman to world standard, that is clearly demonstrated when we see our lady paddlers receiving the silver medals at the olympic. The IOC recognised our standard, they din't say anything about quick fix or local born.
i think you forgot the word `imported' somewhere in your reply.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:It is very sad that we should link every damn thing to "something more tangible". I hope this is not typical Singaporean, and
why spite yourself again? you did raise a good point.
pls tell snoc and ssc to remove the `tangible' part, and see if your heroines, jiawei and companies will continue to wear the flag on their hearts.
lol.
Li Jiawei is considering playing for and study at Peking University next year.
Forget about ping pong.
That jamban MP is right with the classic PAP phrase: " Let's move on" ![]()
Should anyone still have doubts over MP Lee BW's handling of the anthony affair. let me shed some insights to the 'bigger picture'.
In the US, the congressional senate oversight committee is an arm of the US government as a check and balance to oversee intelligence operations. funded by taxpayers, and conducted by agencies such as CIA, NSA, etc.
As these intelligence agencies uses unorthodox methods to gather intelligence, at times it goes against the very principles of their constitution. such as assasinations. Thus, while national security is crucial and would certainly require unorthodox means to aquire them, there is no such thing as unlimited power to pursue such means, by installing the oversight committee to overlook and ensure absolutely their operations are vital and necessary to the methods employed, as well as to ensure there are no fallout to national interest and society.
In Singapore, an example of unorthodox and rather undemocratic organisation, using public funds, is our SAF. It is more a training institution than an operational one, trainning thousands of young men to defend our country. There is no democracy or even its ideals present in that institution.
It is fully authoritarian and a form of necessary trainning for preparedness of war. There is no voting in SAF. No parent can complain their son is ill=treated or allowed to be taken out of training as and when they wish.
But it is a necessary sacrifice every singapore citizen accepts. No one can predict what the future is like, and would be better to train our young men to be prepared for any eventualities that may harm our very own loved ones.
As unorthodox in their methods as they are, its head - Chief of Staff, holds no political power, even with his fully ready and armed military might. He answers to civilian elected democratic officials - Ministry of Defence. No decision can be made unless authorised and approved by the civilian authority Mindef, answerable to citizens.
Similarly, STTA uses unorthodox methods with taxpayers fund to achieve an intense national goal - an olympic medal. Their training is intense and would draw the ire of many a parent of today. However, it is deemed a necessary sacrifice for the volunteer dedicated and talented players as well as the coaches.
MP Lee BW is the President with a crucial and critical role to play - to ensure our taxpayers hard end monies are well invested and that their unorthodox methods are kept within limits - agreeable to sacrifices but never to the extreme whereby the players are harmed physically or abused beyound measure mentally. Human life is precious. Her role is to make sure our investments' welfare are taken care of. And it is no surprise she would jump at anthony.
anthony lee
Spore is well known for producing world class pragmatic managers, but anthony must be an odd one out and a disgrace to our country. I need not repeat what is already made known to the press and reported. No one individual person in Spore has unlimited powers, even our PM have to report to the cabinet for decisions and his powers is limited to 4 years.
But anthony as a manager had made dubious powerful olympic decisions that affected our no1 investment in the men's TT team, for example; he should have reported to the President on the state of affairs in the team, or to SSC if he could not make a decision to either drop or continue with the men's team, rather than to continue with the farce we saw on the Olympic stage.
But he misused his authority and allowed things to come to a boil. He is the one fully answerable for the dampened celebratory mood of our long awaited medal as well as the low morale of our men's team.
Coach Liu
He had done well with the women's team, but at the expense of the men. If i was him, i would have done as what he had done - use the men to train the girls. What better way than to get first class paddlers as sparing partners?
But i would not have done it at the expense of the men's team. They were paid by taxpayers and had their own aspirations too. They were not told that they were only to be sparing partners. This is tantamount to cheating and conning them here! We Singaporeans do not like to be cheated nor do we cheat others!
Coach Liu's failure as a head coach was that he failed to take into consideration of the men's team aspirations, and anthony's failure in this issue is that why are taxpayer's investment be made as sparing partners? Could cheaper alternatives be found instead? And were the men informed that they were to be sparing partners only? And if so, why even bothering to get our citizens hope high for a good show at the Olympic for a men's TT team?
Proposed Solution
MP Lee BW - we stand with her on this issue. It is based on principle, and had probably angered some within her own political party, but she held firm. Standing by her will send a loud and clear message from citizens to everyone - THERE WILL BE NO SWEEPING UNDER THE CARPET on issues.
athony lee - leave STTA and pursue his own interest. He may perhaps had help the women team won the medal, but the STTA is more than just the girls team, there's the men as well. If he remains, it would affect the overall performance and morale of our teams as they had lost confidence with his leadership.
Coach Liu - He be retained, but not as head coach, only as a coach to the girls. He obviously have no talent nor confidence to lead a men's team. It is a waste of money to pay more. We will need to find a better and confident coach.
Gao Ning - He has my unreserved apology as a citizen to my fellow citizen for his shabby treatment as well as nutcases calling him a 'wimp'. I had worked as a team player before, both in business and sports, and understand his frustration and tears with inept and clueless managers who are deluded enough to believe leadership and decision making comes 'naturally' and a 'birthright'.
I sincerly hope MP Lee can help put things right, and that Gao Ning might continue to do his best as our citizen to help us achieve a medal, if not a medal, at least a good show in the next Olympic.
wat a bitch
coach liu was quoted as that he rather have a 2nd place(w) and 16th place(m) finish rather than a 4th/4th for the men and women's team as a justification to focus on the women and`ignore' the men's team.
a. that kind of comment is not befitting a head coach. as a leader, your job is to ensure an inclusive and impartial treatment for all. imagine lhl tell the `o' level folks, "sorry laggards, my priority is the grads. you can die for all you want".
b. the individual match started after the team event. singapore has already `won' silver, so what is he talking about? the flow of event is flawed based on his explanation.
c. if singapore is a ping pong powerhouse, shouldn't it have enough coaches and resources to go to beijing? again, due to a sickness, the system broke down. i find it hard to believe.
he is just giving excuses.
I used to represent my school in table tennis. Let me say this, if you feel that your coach didn't support you, you'll play badly, even though your skills may be good. Competition in sports is very much a mental game. That's why the countries who do well in sports, they all engage sports psychologists for their players.
The team manager didn't do his job, the head coach is also to be blamed. The team manager is supposed to make sure that when the coach supporting a player is sick, another coach is assigned immediately especially when the player is competing.
There were 2 free coaches. Gao Ning only need 1 coach to support for an hour or so. That hour would not make a difference to the women players who were not competing yet.
It seemed to me that there are many people who don't understand that without the players, there wouldn't be a need for a coach nor a team manager! What irritated me is the team manager seemed to think that HE WAS THE ONE WHO WON THE MEDAL, LOL.
It's disgraceful for SINGAPORE, as he is playing under the Singapore flag. The other players and officials at the games will think Singapore is taking the games lightly, bohchap... or think the player is hopeless and will lose for sure!
Did anyone stop to think how Gao Ning feels? He came to Singapore and was conned to think he would be groomed to win a medal, but was asked to spar with the women team instead. He has to share a room with 2 others when the women team got a room each. Then his coach did not show up at the competition. This is Olympics and not some constituency games!
How would you feel if you were him? Put yourselves in his shoes first. I am a born and bred Singaporean, but if you ask me to move to another country, I would make very careful considerations. It's a big step for him to come to Singapore, very courageous. Would you move to another country and take such a risk as him? There is a saying, treat others the way you would want people to treat you.
her methods were definitely wrong, but maybe we should focus on whats best for our table tennis team as well. she did it the wrong way, but it does not mean something should not be done.
the mens players are part of the foreign talent scheme also. they are also here on tax payers money and sent to compete for Singapore. you mean we are going to heck care about them? won't it be a waste of our resources to hire them and not give them the training and coaching? if even the china born men are getting so little, how about our young local players who are training and hoping to make it one day? even worse i think.
lee bee wah, antony lee, liu guodong and gao ning all should stay. none of them has done something so badly wrong as to lose their jobs. whether u agree or disagree with their methods, the fact is all of them are committed to winning for Singapore. but perhaps another coach of liu's calibre should now be hired to help the men's team.
gao ning is not a wimp. if what he has said is true, then he was given poor treatment not only during the match itself, but all the way from the time he arrived in Singapore until now.
plenty of singaporeans give up easily anyway so who are we to judge him? those who call him a wimp are only saying so just cos he did not win like the girls.
its what Singapore has become. we just want to see results. those who get results for us are seen as kings but those who do not, we don't even want to look at them. its everywhere, and not just in table tennis.
Here's my take on the issue and sorry if they dont agree with some of you folks.
1. Has our society esp people in position of power has no tolerance for mistakes?? Assumed that someone goofed this time, must we cry for blood and forget what this someone's contributions??? What sort of graceless people have we become???
2. We are still learning the ropes of sport management. Mistakes are inevitable on the path to greatness, its really no big deal. If someone is to blamed, that it is STTA itself. The whole organization is tasked to plan for all scenarios, even however remote they are to an extend. How can the blame goes to the team managers and the coaches alone????
Besides, I am sure this is a painful decision to be make for them as well and possible they have consulted all others in the decision making loop where it is possible.
If you go to a leadership training course, or read a book on it. They always say real leaders blame themselves 1st and that speaks volumes about the leadership of a certain mp
3. With most due respect to Gao Ning, if I were him, I will be proud to think that it is his sacrifice for the sake of the team that led to harsh and invaluable lesson learnt by our associates and councils of various sports in sport management. His sacrifice is beyond a good medal itself.
Originally posted by Mid9Sun:Here's my take on the issue and sorry if they dont agree with some of you folks.
1. Has our society esp people in position of power has no tolerance for mistakes?? Assumed that someone goofed this time, must we cry for blood and forget what this someone's contributions??? What sort of graceless people have we become???
2. We are still learning the ropes of sport management. Mistakes are inevitable on the path to greatness, its really no big deal. If someone is to blamed, that it is STTA itself. The whole organization is tasked to plan for all scenarios, even however remote they are to an extend. How can the blame goes to the team managers and the coaches alone????
Besides, I am sure this is a painful decision to be make for them as well and possible they have consulted all others in the decision making loop where it is possible.
If you go to a leadership training course, or read a book on it. They always say real leaders blame themselves 1st and that speaks volumes about the leadership of a certain mp
3. With most due respect to Gao Ning, if I were him, I will be proud to think that it is his sacrifice for the sake of the team that led to harsh and invaluable lesson learnt by our associates and councils of various sports in sport management. His sacrifice is beyond a good medal itself.
1. Oh, our top elite peoples sure have tolerance for mistakes, it is a chance for them to show and stamp their power and authority. On the other hand, they want to show to the public that singapore civil management system cannot tolerance rubbish and poor behavior. Very good discipline. However, they have never blame themselves, and even do, its a close door lecturing.
2. When our elite peoples who are also the chief of the organisation and also govt, never blame themselve in the public, how on earth can we blame the whole organisation??
3. True Sportmen only cry when they win. But to hv a player crying over losses and lack of a coach around, it really a shame, he can complain, but he must not cry. He dun deserve a Gold medal, he deserve to understand that he is not so important than the other contestants. But if without a coach, he managed to wins a medal, he will be special.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
In fact ALL those in the Ang Mo Kio GRC
should hold themselves accountable for the FAKERY and F-off ASAP....
..uncle..do u include the opposition ??
while i would not go to the extent of calling gao ning a whimp, the fact is that he's no.12 in the world and his opponent is ranked 43rd. Even with no coach, its is appalling that he lost 0-4 to his opponent, not even winning a single game.With this mindset, it is practically difficult if he is to win against the reigning chinese players who are both mentally and technically better. its is understandable but regrettable that liu focused solely on getting a medal, even at gao's expense, but if we put ourselves in his shoes and its either this or that, he would definitely choose the medal over the men's team.just like jose mourinho who chose to win by 1-0 instead of playing the beautiful game, he still got sacked. maybe sometimes we're asking too much..and anyway the table tennis team men also promised to help the women get their medal since they were singapore's only hope after tao li's 5th placing.looks like some of them are eating their words.
I am really curious, how sick was the coach that he could not even sit to watch a 50min game?
Who will be next from the AMK GRC to create headlines? ![]()